107 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

Nexus One LYN Official thread V2, everything abt nexus one -Android

CyberKewl
post May 28 2010, 07:57 PM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(peelfresh @ May 28 2010, 07:47 PM)
I got a question! i'm using Nexus one on postpaid maxis.
If i do use the APN settings on the 1st page on this topic, there's a 3G logo up in my hp.

Will it charge to my bill? coz u know some app they have advert and i realize that its working and scare they charge me ehh..
if not mistaken yes, for 2.1 i have faced before, even if the apn username is changed, still can connect..so i just delete the APN and recreate it when needed. For 2.2 u can just disable the mobile data option in the settings page so it wont connect to the internet via 3g
hye
post May 28 2010, 08:05 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(peelfresh @ May 28 2010, 07:47 PM)
I got a question! i'm using Nexus one on postpaid maxis.
If i do use the APN settings on the 1st page on this topic, there's a 3G logo up in my hp.

Will it charge to my bill? coz u know some app they have advert and i realize that its working and scare they charge me ehh..
Possibly some bandwidth is used there coz the advert is dynamic. No way to avoid this unless you switch to no ads version.
I use 3G Watchdog to monitor my bandwidth use.

Played with the Desire today and I am not very comfortable with the interface. Maybe used to N1 already.

This post has been edited by hye: May 28 2010, 08:06 PM
davidwyl
post May 28 2010, 08:52 PM

155 posts

Master master sekalian....
how can i update my adw launcher?
new version http://www.droid-life.com/2010/05/26/adw-l...ngs-some-froyo/
i adb push the new launcher.apk file in, but still show old version (0.7rc1) in the setting.

thinking of uninstall it and push the new launcher.apk in, but not sure how to uninstall.
tried adb uninstall Launcher.apk, but fail.
how can i uninstall the launcher.apk??
CyberKewl
post May 28 2010, 10:21 PM

2,900 posts

finally had time to test out apps2sd on my unrooted N1. For those who want to try (I shall not be held responsible if anything breaks in your phone, but it works on my stock N1 with Froyo), here are the instructions:

1. Get the android SDK for 2.2 froyo (google it)
2. Install the SDK
3. Follow the instructions here: http://theunlockr.com/2009/10/06/how-to-se...ndroid-devices/, for those using Windows 7 (like myself), get the usb drivers there (there's a link to it), install it via your system hardware tab in Win 7.
4. On your phone, go to settings > applications > development > usb debugging -> enable it.
5. Plug in your phone to your usb cable, make sure it is turned on like how you would normally transfer files to your SD card.
6. Go to the android SDK\tools folder in your C: with start -> run -> cmd
(ex: cd\android-sdk-windows\tools when in CMD mode)
7. Type adb devices, make sure there's something like:

List of devices attached
HT********* device

shown in the list. If yes then you have installed the drivers correctly, otherwise, go back to the page in step 3 and install the drivers properly again. Then try again.
8. After that, type adb shell in the command prompt (CMD)
9. then type pm setInstallLocation 2 (this is case sensitive, type it exactly with the case).
10. You should get something like this after typing it in:

$ pm setInstallLocation 2
pm setInstallLocation 2

11. You may then verify that the command was executed properly by typing:

$ pm getInstallLocation
pm getInstallLocation
2[external]

12. Once done, type exit to exit the adb shell. Then type adb kill-server and press enter. This will kill the daemon, if you dont kill it, you wont be able to disconnect your usb via windows "safely remove usb" option.

After that is done, you may remove your usb cable from your phone and try to install some apps that are large in size, games such as raging thunder works best. After installing, you can go to settings -> applications -> manage apps and go to the apps on sd to check if the app/game is indeed in the sd. You will notice that the space shown there is the ACTUAL amount of space used by the app in your memory. So in short, not all the space will go to the SD card, but MOST of it will. For example a 5 mb game may have 1mb in memory and remaining 4mb in the sd card, so you still have lots of space. Do this for most of your apps and you will have LOTS of free space on your phone memory!

Take note that for widgets and keyboard replacements you SHOULD NEVER EVER use the apps2sd feature. Always set your location back to default by typing:

pm setInstallLocation 0 in the adb shell to revert back to the default storage method, then you may install your widgets/keyboard replacements. Then when you want to install apps to the SD, just do pm setInstallLocation 2 again. I have rebooted my phone a few times and the apps still stays there in the launcher, so far no issues. Hope guide this helps!

BTW this works for apps in the market too. Some apps may go into force closed mode, if it does, try it with the default install location (0) and install the app again.

This post has been edited by CyberKewl: May 28 2010, 10:34 PM
Andrewtst
post May 29 2010, 01:06 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(davidwyl @ May 28 2010, 08:52 PM)
Master master sekalian....
how can i update my adw launcher?
new version http://www.droid-life.com/2010/05/26/adw-l...ngs-some-froyo/
i adb push the new launcher.apk file in, but still show old version (0.7rc1) in the setting.

thinking of uninstall it and push the new launcher.apk in, but not sure how to uninstall.
tried adb uninstall Launcher.apk, but fail.
how can i uninstall the launcher.apk??
New ADW Launcher v0.7 final is out on Market, just remove your current one and download the market version and install. It run perfectly on Froyo include fully support of New Google Search Widget.

user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: May 29 2010, 01:11 AM
dreamwar
post May 29 2010, 01:57 AM

281 posts

bro andrew..
biggrin.gif where did you find such nice wallpaper?market?
Andrewtst
post May 29 2010, 02:12 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(dreamwar @ May 29 2010, 01:57 AM)
bro andrew..
biggrin.gif  where did you find such nice wallpaper?market?
From Flikie Wallpapers HD app.
rahuldave
post May 29 2010, 06:10 AM

FAFC 'Forever Android Fan Club'
1,241 posts

QUOTE(rahuldave @ May 28 2010, 06:30 AM)
Bro, Andrewtst

Remember you have posted about ADW Launcher, and I saw that you have quite a number of widgets of your 7 pages screen.

Does it run in background ie when you select running application, do you see for eg. retro clock or battery widget running? Does consume more battery power than usual?

I have installed ADW Launcher with some widgets such as 3G Watchdog, Retro Clock / Date, Battery Widget, Memory Widget, SetCPU, Facebook, Twitter, Power Control and etc. From my experience it really consumes the battery, sometimes It only last for 8hrs.

FYI, I'm on CM 5.0.6. I have also installed Advanced Task Killer and set it to kill selected application every 30 minutes, but still the same.

So, maybe when you are free just leave some comments.
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 29 2010, 01:06 AM)
New ADW Launcher v0.7 final is out on Market, just remove your current one and download the market version and install. It run perfectly on Froyo include fully support of New Google Search Widget.
Bro, you have damn nice wallpapers + widgets.

Does the widgets runs in background? Ie you can see it in running applications? How long does your battery last after installing those widgets?
faizpsp89
post May 29 2010, 08:51 AM

///M
1,169 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 29 2010, 02:12 AM)
+1...I get my wallpapers from there too rclxms.gif
scpt
post May 29 2010, 11:41 AM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 29 2010, 02:12 AM)
Very nice! Definitely has better quality wallpapers than Backgrounds & Zedge which I've been using.
kpchow75
post May 29 2010, 01:29 PM

219 posts

Andrewtst sifu,

Where can i get the enhanced power control widget like you used now?
Andrewtst
post May 29 2010, 02:07 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(rahuldave @ May 29 2010, 06:10 AM)
Bro, you have damn nice wallpapers + widgets.

Does the widgets runs in background? Ie you can see it in running applications? How long does your battery last after installing those widgets?
Battery life ah, if maybe 1.5 to 2 days.

Added on May 29, 2010, 2:13 pm
QUOTE(kpchow75 @ May 29 2010, 01:29 PM)
Andrewtst sifu,

Where can i get the enhanced power control widget like you used now?
It is call SwitchPro widget.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: May 29 2010, 02:13 PM
redzanime
post May 29 2010, 04:46 PM

355 posts

RealPlayer beta is out in Android Market! Tested, and I like how it manage videos, pictures and music. But I dont like when playing video, I cannot hide the onscreen button manually. Still testing.
kpchow75
post May 29 2010, 05:18 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 29 2010, 02:07 PM)

Added on May 29, 2010, 2:13 pm
It is call SwitchPro widget.
Do you know how to ban an incoming call in the Froyo stock rom setting?
gmhafiz
post May 29 2010, 05:22 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(kpchow75 @ May 29 2010, 05:18 PM)
Do you know how to ban an incoming call in the Froyo stock rom setting?
I want to know this as well.

However I have a workaround. Assuming you are not using voice mail, save the number you are banning into contacts. Edit it and redirect the call into voicemail. You won't get any call from that number again.
hye
post May 29 2010, 05:33 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Guys ... if you want to block calls, why don't you consider using CallFilter or SPC ?
dreamwar
post May 29 2010, 05:36 PM

281 posts

after updated to froyo from stock rom i found that the gps locking is superbly faster than 2.1...
kpchow75
post May 29 2010, 05:49 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ May 29 2010, 05:22 PM)
I want to know this as well.

However I have a workaround. Assuming you are not using voice mail, save the number you are banning into contacts. Edit it and redirect the call into voicemail. You won't get any call from that number again.
Thanks. Unfortunately, i have the voice mail.

QUOTE(hye @ May 29 2010, 05:33 PM)
Guys ... if you want to block calls, why don't you consider using CallFilter or SPC ?
Ok, will try this app. Thanks.

Anyone have the problem when playing mp4 format video in Froyo rom?
i got error message saying that the video is illegal file (this video file play well in CM rom)
shenmui
post May 29 2010, 07:39 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 29 2010, 01:06 AM)

user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image
Bro how do u set big icon on LAB and RAB
Andrewtst
post May 29 2010, 08:26 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(shenmui @ May 29 2010, 07:39 PM)
Bro how do u set big icon on LAB and RAB
New version 0.7.1 support on it.

107 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top