126 Pages « < 121 122 123 124 125 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v5, Share your joy and your pain here ;)

nimrod323
post Jul 29 2010, 05:19 PM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Jul 29 2010, 04:51 PM)
if already purchased macbook pro online... if i wanted to change HDD or ram can i do it myself with out voiding the warranty? or need to look for machines / epicentre etc.. how much is the charges?
it doesnt void the warranty, just that the macbook pro warranty wont cover the upgraded RAM and HDD any longer its the same as installing K&N air filter in your myvi, perodua wont give you warranty on that of course.

This post has been edited by nimrod323: Jul 29 2010, 05:19 PM
milky
post Jul 29 2010, 05:23 PM

- King -
4,743 posts

QUOTE(Jing-leBelle @ Jul 29 2010, 05:16 PM)
Nope, it doesn't void the warranty with HDD and RAM, i just changed my RAM thou. =)
Impossible to stick with my 2GB ram for 4 years right? If thats void warranty. haha
QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jul 29 2010, 05:19 PM)
it doesnt void the warranty, just that the macbook pro warranty wont cover the upgraded RAM and HDD any longer its the same as installing K&N air filter in your myvi, perodua wont give you warranty on that of course.
icic.. means that the warranty jus cover the whole MBP except the HDD & ram that has been upgraded only..but that is also quite ok what..
nimrod323
post Jul 29 2010, 05:52 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Jul 29 2010, 05:23 PM)
icic.. means that the warranty jus cover the whole MBP except the HDD & ram that has been upgraded only..but that is also quite ok what..
but you knowla some malaysians still will go to service center and expect free service for this doh.gif
hiroshi87
post Jul 29 2010, 06:52 PM

206 posts

lol .. i don't know the machines IT worker misunderstood my inquiry or what .. he offered me Rm3942 for the 128GB SSD...got stunt for awhile when i saw the price.
xaw5126
post Jul 29 2010, 06:55 PM

3,488 posts

wah. RM3492 can buy a new Mac liao... but yeah, SSD is quite expensive.
check here for pre-installed SSD pricing and calculate from there.
http://store.apple.com/my/configure/MC374Z...mco=MTc0NjkwMDg
nimrod323
post Jul 29 2010, 06:59 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(hiroshi87 @ Jul 29 2010, 06:52 PM)
lol .. i don't know the machines IT worker misunderstood my inquiry or what .. he offered me Rm3942 for the 128GB SSD...got stunt for awhile when i saw the price.
you ask the technicians, of course they will quote you an apple branded OEM 128GB SSD Harddisk which is expensive, get the SSD from owc.com la, cheaper and DIY.
wyyam
post Jul 29 2010, 07:00 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(gurus @ Jul 28 2010, 07:00 PM)
u will never get to buy it if u think it this way...just go get it NOW!  icon_rolleyes.gif
QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jul 28 2010, 06:35 PM)
Buy now or miss the fun... Things get outdated anyway...
QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jul 28 2010, 06:34 PM)
buyersguide.macrumors.com

also, current MBP was launched in April this year, so we're about halfway through... maybe will have new model in January ... if I were you, I'd buy it now smile.gif
QUOTE(prasys @ Jul 28 2010, 06:09 PM)
Thats how Apple product works. If you want wait , wait for 3-4 years and you'll get a new one. Its either now or never.
Ok then.. i will buy it this saturday,
1st time an Mac user ..lol

Dunno got rdy stock at machine or not?
goin up from mlk to buy...
hiroshi87
post Jul 29 2010, 07:02 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jul 29 2010, 06:55 PM)
wah. RM3492 can buy a new Mac liao... but yeah, SSD is quite expensive.
check here for pre-installed SSD pricing and calculate from there.
http://store.apple.com/my/configure/MC374Z...mco=MTc0NjkwMDg
yeah I did it on the website and it still costs under 1k for a 128gb ssd.. just that my existing hdd is a 320gb hdd and i wanna change it to ssd. i expect the price will be around +- 1k. -.-

Added on July 29, 2010, 7:04 pm
QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jul 29 2010, 06:59 PM)
you ask the technicians, of course they will quote you an apple branded OEM 128GB SSD Harddisk which is expensive, get the SSD from owc.com la, cheaper and DIY.
ok will try to look for it. lol 3.9k for a 128gb ssd? im wondering what super-brand is that.

This post has been edited by hiroshi87: Jul 29 2010, 07:04 PM
nimrod323
post Jul 29 2010, 07:14 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(wyyam @ Jul 29 2010, 07:00 PM)

call them up and reserve for yourself?
Jing-leBelle
post Jul 29 2010, 08:26 PM

Very New Member
2,003 posts

Over 1k for 128GB SSD is so expensive to me T_T
Is the speed really change alot? Compare to normal harddrive?
dvlzplayground
post Jul 29 2010, 09:23 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

above 1k is okay2 la.... but 3.9k is wayyy over +_+

the change is quite a lot la especially launching apps. source:youtube tongue.gif
nimrod323
post Jul 29 2010, 11:23 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(hiroshi87 @ Jul 29 2010, 07:02 PM)
yeah I did it on the website and it still costs under 1k for a 128gb ssd.. just that my existing hdd is a 320gb hdd and i wanna change it to ssd. i expect the price will be around +- 1k. -.-

Added on July 29, 2010, 7:04 pm

ok will try to look for it. lol 3.9k for a 128gb ssd? im wondering what super-brand is that.
if you havent notice, apple service parts are quite expensive because this things will be covered by original hardware warranty, even your specs in Apple's database will be updated, that is why people DIY this is nothing new ask around.
SheepMekk
post Jul 30 2010, 01:02 AM

314 posts

Woohoo just installed windows the other day laugh.gif working well and it asked me to install some anti-virus for it. Should I? I mean if my windows gets virus, will it affect my mac?
hiroshi87
post Jul 30 2010, 02:59 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jul 29 2010, 11:23 PM)
if you havent notice, apple service parts are quite expensive because this things will be covered by original hardware warranty, even your specs in Apple's database will be updated, that is why people DIY this is nothing new ask around.
ok noted. thx for telling bro.
limyc77
post Jul 30 2010, 06:38 AM

163 posts

http://www.fixthehinge.com/
come here and sign up everyone!!

we pay so much for a stupid hinge=.=
cRazYee
post Jul 30 2010, 06:49 AM

2,642 posts

haha
you're so wrong
this hinged is design to be like this

this is the trick for 15" and above LCD can open with single hand

digilife
post Jul 30 2010, 07:29 AM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

QUOTE(SheepMekk @ Jul 30 2010, 01:02 AM)
Woohoo just installed windows the other day laugh.gif working well and it asked me to install some anti-virus for it. Should I? I mean if my windows gets virus, will it affect my mac?
wat version is your Mac?

mac book white or mac book pro?

bluetooth, webcam and sound all working?

i installed Win7 direct to my 2008 mac book white ( not the bootcamp )

only webcam and bluetooth not working sweat.gif
TSmememe12
post Jul 30 2010, 08:08 AM

Nikon + MBP i7 :)
2,849 posts

QUOTE(wyyam @ Jul 29 2010, 07:00 PM)

congrats!! and welcome to the family..

Added on July 30, 2010, 8:09 am
QUOTE(limyc77 @ Jul 30 2010, 06:38 AM)
erm.. will they end up selling our emails to third party? just wonder.. offense.. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by mememe12: Jul 30 2010, 08:09 AM
nimrod323
post Jul 30 2010, 08:11 AM

2,664 posts

just install antivirus for your windows la, since when .exe virus files hurt your mac ?
dvlzplayground
post Jul 30 2010, 08:57 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

if ur windows gets virus, it'll just affect ur windows, not ur mac.

however, rmember that u might transfer an infected file into mac. it still wont affect ur mac, but if (in OSX) u share the infected file with someone else, they can get infected

QUOTE(limyc77 @ Jul 30 2010, 06:38 AM)
1st of all, u are really outdated tongue.gif ppl were complaining about this regarding the late 2008 macbook pro, the 1st gen unibody ones. the thing is, im using that exact model and i dont experience this issue. even when i was using the speck casing (thus heavier weight), my mbp lid never closed down by itself. even after >1.5 years of usage

cRazYee is right, the smoothness of the hinge lets us open the lid with one hand only. did u notice on most laptops u need two hands to pry it open? one hand to lift the lid, another to hold down the body. however, due to the complaints, apple has ALREADY 'FIX' this. if u compare the late 2008 models with the newer ones, the newer ones are slightly harder to open. it's still possible to open with one hand, but not as smooth anymore. apple shouldn't have listened to those complaints +_+

heck, i get 90% of those signing at the petition doesnt even own, or plan to own, a MBP

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Jul 30 2010, 08:58 AM

126 Pages « < 121 122 123 124 125 > » Top

0.0286sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:38 PM