126 Pages « < 115 116 117 118 119 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v5, Share your joy and your pain here ;)

danni_boy
post Jul 21 2010, 04:12 PM

48 posts

Can somebody help me?
Just bought a new MBP 13.
I tried using the Disk Utility to create a dmg image from a dvd.
The process stopped half way with an error and ejected the dvd automatically.
When I inserted the dvd again, the drive refuse to detect it.It seem to be ok after a restart, but I dont dare to redo the process (afraid to spoil the drive).
Anyway, during the ripping process, it was super drive was loude than usual, but I assume that's normal.
Have anybody faced this problem before?

ddww
post Jul 21 2010, 09:44 PM

~DoDy~
908 posts

reformat macbook with original mac os x but it ended up with 'Mac OS X can't be installed on this computer'

google around d but it doesnt seem to has one exact way to fix this...

any bro has experienced this before? and fix? just started using macbook here...
evanswiftoxophy
post Jul 22 2010, 01:40 AM

22 posts

MBP 17" i7 reporting in....
wub.gif wub.gif
Eithanius
post Jul 22 2010, 01:45 AM

::+::KukuNius(tm)::+::
3,952 posts

QUOTE(evanswiftoxophy @ Jul 22 2010, 01:40 AM)
wub.gif  wub.gif
jelesnya aku... sad.gif sad.gif
inachi
post Jul 22 2010, 02:27 AM

i don troll
1,097 posts

wub.gif  wub.gif
can u feel the heavines? =)
senbonzakura
post Jul 22 2010, 09:53 AM

244 posts

wub.gif  wub.gif
woot..!! congrats congrats. loving it?
nimrod323
post Jul 22 2010, 10:30 AM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(inachi @ Jul 22 2010, 02:27 AM)
can u feel the heavines? =)
its only about 3KG not that heavy compared to many other 17inch laptops from other PC vendors, for example Dell's Alienware M17X weighs in at 5.3KG(thats heavy)
gurus
post Jul 22 2010, 11:17 AM

1.get up! 2.survive! 3.go back to bed!
1,242 posts

QUOTE(mememe12 @ Jul 21 2010, 12:13 PM)
omg.. that's crazy!  doh.gif  doh.gif
have u tired that? my MBP still dont hv screen protector yet.. but then i am planning to buy one.. but i m worry that the screen protector will downgrade the screen output?
i'm using one now laugh.gif
it does do the antiglare job but kinda leave some watermarks on the screen....
yezhacolic
post Jul 22 2010, 11:32 AM

iPhone specialist
2,574 posts

QUOTE(gurus @ Jul 22 2010, 11:17 AM)
i'm using one now  laugh.gif
it does do the antiglare job but kinda leave some watermarks on the screen....
IMO, its better off without any SP i guess. Macbook screen hardly get scratches unless intentionally wanna leave some marks there.
nimrod323
post Jul 22 2010, 12:23 PM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(yezhacolic @ Jul 22 2010, 11:32 AM)
IMO, its better off without any SP i guess. Macbook screen hardly get scratches unless intentionally wanna leave some marks there.
i second this, even the new MBP LCDS are housed in a protective glass enclosure, you can avoid teh glossy feel by not putting the screen directly near a light source
TSmememe12
post Jul 22 2010, 03:12 PM

Nikon + MBP i7 :)
2,849 posts

anyone uses monitor calibrator (such as Spyder 3 Elite) to calibrate your MBP LCD before?
Mavik
post Jul 22 2010, 03:23 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(mememe12 @ Jul 22 2010, 03:12 PM)
anyone uses monitor calibrator (such as Spyder 3 Elite) to calibrate your MBP LCD before?
I only used ColorEyes and Spyder 2 express, never tried with the Spyder 3 Elite. You are facing issues?
lexcorp
post Jul 22 2010, 06:21 PM

197 posts

Do you guys use any anti-virus or spy ware for your mac?
Jing-leBelle
post Jul 22 2010, 07:00 PM

Very New Member
2,003 posts

I only use CleanMyMac and Onyx once in a while.

Added on July 22, 2010, 7:01 pm
QUOTE(Mavik @ Jul 22 2010, 03:23 PM)
I only used ColorEyes and Spyder 2 express, never tried with the Spyder 3 Elite. You are facing issues?
Actually what's with the calibration software for ar? hehe sorry ar..i dono..

This post has been edited by Jing-leBelle: Jul 22 2010, 07:01 PM
dvlzplayground
post Jul 22 2010, 07:08 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Jul 21 2010, 08:49 AM)
this model dun hav the connector ribbon, i juz nid to push in the HDD fr the battery bay, the HDD is fastened to a bracket wif a "pull out tape"
it will lock in place wif a small push........

i think he meant try plugging in the stock HDD juz to make sure the connection is okay, so we only have to worry about the specific HDD

if the stock drive works, then faulty hdd lah. back to the shop and get an exchange smile.gif

QUOTE(shanecross @ Jul 21 2010, 11:28 AM)
Hey guys,

Ive been using the headphone jack to connect to my speakers and today its not working anymore. There isn;t any sound output. Ive already checked all the settings. The internal speaker works though. Is this the beginning of my MBW deterioration ? lol
1. make sure ur speaker works? hehe
2. plug in ur speakers, go to system preferences > sound, go to the output tab. does it recognize ur speaker?

QUOTE(mememe12 @ Jul 21 2010, 12:13 PM)
omg.. that's crazy!  doh.gif  doh.gif
have u tired that? my MBP still dont hv screen protector yet.. but then i am planning to buy one.. but i m worry that the screen protector will downgrade the screen output?
downgrade a bit... some RGB noise. i prefer RGB noise compared to glare though
cRazYee
post Jul 22 2010, 09:19 PM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(Jing-leBelle @ Jul 22 2010, 07:00 PM)
I only use CleanMyMac and Onyx once in a while.

Added on July 22, 2010, 7:01 pm

Actually what's with the calibration software for ar? hehe sorry ar..i dono..
actually is the hardware does the thing
Mr.Lonely
post Jul 22 2010, 09:25 PM

I Don't Give a Damn
1,304 posts

erm any macbook user come across this thing b4?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y4Tm4uysglY&feature=related
a 2ndary HDD for macbook (internally) but the down side is giv up the optical bay
digilife
post Jul 22 2010, 09:31 PM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jul 22 2010, 07:08 PM)
i think he meant try plugging in the stock HDD juz to make sure the connection is okay, so we only have to worry about the specific HDD

if the stock drive works, then faulty hdd lah. back to the shop and get an exchange smile.gif

but the stock drive spoilt and tats why i buy this HDD to replace the spoilt drive sweat.gif

anyway, i will bring this newly bought HDD back to the seller and see wat he says abt it

btw, is there any HDD specifically for a MacBK ?

thx
prasys
post Jul 22 2010, 11:15 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Any HDD will work , 2.5" SATA that is

Anyway i found a neat tool for those who wanna get more of their hybrid MacBook Pro graphics (9600GT/9400GT or 330M/Intel). There is this tool which allows you to switch on the fly (even for 9600gt/9400gt , no more logout/login) . Its called gfx card status , i got it and its working great

http://codykrieger.com/gfxCardStatus/

Some neat find

When my MBP is on Intel graphics

When my MBP is using nVidia Graphics. It seems that its able to output sound via HDMI , notice Audio Device - nVidia

dvlzplayground
post Jul 23 2010, 12:11 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Jul 22 2010, 09:31 PM)
but the stock drive spoilt and tats why i buy this HDD to replace the spoilt drive sweat.gif

anyway, i will bring this newly bought HDD back to the seller and see wat he says abt it

btw, is there any HDD specifically for a MacBK ?

thx
oh i see haha. how about like this...do u have an external hdd enclosure? boot from ur OSX dvd, go to disk utility...n plug in ur hdd to the USB port. can detect or not? if can, probably something wrong with ur mac

QUOTE(prasys @ Jul 22 2010, 11:15 PM)
Any HDD will work , 2.5" SATA that is

Anyway i found a neat tool for those who wanna get more of their hybrid MacBook Pro graphics (9600GT/9400GT or 330M/Intel). There is this tool which allows you to switch on the fly (even for 9600gt/9400gt , no more logout/login) . Its called gfx card status , i got it and its working great

http://codykrieger.com/gfxCardStatus/

Some neat find

When my MBP is on Intel graphics

When my MBP is using nVidia Graphics. It seems that its able to output sound via HDMI , notice Audio Device - nVidia
thanks for sharing! sounds cool... i hate logging out n in juz to change gpu. will give this a try smile.gif

126 Pages « < 115 116 117 118 119 > » Top

0.0275sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:34 PM