Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v5, Share your joy and your pain here ;)

Eithanius
post Apr 15 2010, 02:37 PM

::+::KukuNius(tm)::+::
3,952 posts

QUOTE(bontotalan @ Apr 15 2010, 02:26 PM)
OMG !!!~ what the hell, i din customize the new mac and still

Shipment Date:
15/04/2010

Delivers by:
22/04/2010

Wow, 1 week to deliver?
You ordered a 13"...?

I thought I read somewhere that the 13" was so well-received, that currently there's a shortage in supply...
Eithanius
post Apr 15 2010, 02:42 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(mememe12 @ Apr 15 2010, 02:40 PM)
bcoz they using standard courier lor.. at first i tot that my MBP takes only 2 - 4 days to arrive.. but shipped means apple send the item out.. delivery is how many days the courier company will take.. sad.gif
from my experience, they ship from China in the evening, receiving it here evening next day... maybe mine was an urgent case from AppleCare... sweat.gif
Eithanius
post Apr 16 2010, 05:10 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Apr 16 2010, 05:09 PM)
I think Dua Hari Lambat (DHL) is keeping my MBP overnight again .. sad.gif
Not Delivery Halfway Lost (DHL)...? brows.gif brows.gif
Eithanius
post Apr 16 2010, 06:01 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(jonrwg @ Apr 16 2010, 05:58 PM)
just came back from pc fair.. WD HDD is the cheapest.. RM299 1TB 3.5"..  cool2.gif
Is that the Green or Blue...?
Eithanius
post Apr 26 2010, 08:10 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(siaukia @ Apr 26 2010, 08:06 PM)
hey guis,

i just got my macbook (c2d 2.0ghz) from machines to check,
the mb is already like...3 years old?

now they diagnose and say the fan is broken (thus random shutdown) and the keyboard broken (top case, can't type shiat)
all those fix need around 600++, so....what would you do?

1. fix the damn mb, with 600++
2. sell it...for like..how much?
3. burn it
4. give it to me... whistling.gif
Eithanius
post May 9 2010, 11:50 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(cyberixus @ May 9 2010, 07:10 PM)
So fast!! I was told ... that my MBP will hv to go back to china, where they'll check it and then send me the replacement. They say it might take approximately 2-3 weeks
before I get the replacement unit of MBP!!
QUOTE(wei @ May 9 2010, 11:04 PM)
That's BS. I suggest you get your unit back and send to proper Apple Service Center ASAP.
I'm afraid that's how it works here... The last time Apple agreed to replace my Mac Pro, they had to ask the AASP to send it back to either China or Australia, which I can't remember... Only when they received the defective unit as a complete set, then they can process a replacement... If it's a standard model, probably less than a week, but if it's a custom model like mine, slightly over a week... doh.gif

Wei, you're into Mac service, I find it kinda surprising you don't know well regarding AppleCare's replacement procedures... blink.gif

Added on May 9, 2010, 11:52 pm
QUOTE(cyberixus @ May 9 2010, 11:43 PM)
I bought it online through apple store malaysia.  And I am in Ipoh.  Do you mean I can just walk in into any of the Apple Premium Resellers like Machines or Switch and have it exchanged?
Actually I intend to call them again tmrw morning.
I suggest you to call AppleCare. If it warrants a replacement, then they'll assign you a case number and give you an idea of what to do next... either send it to a nearest AASP, or they assign a courier to pick it up from you... but since you're in Ipoh, I suppose the latter...

This post has been edited by Eithanius: May 9 2010, 11:52 PM
Eithanius
post May 10 2010, 12:11 AM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(wei @ May 10 2010, 12:01 AM)
Your case doesn't meant everyone's case.
I say it could be done in 5-10 working days. Which is not 2-3 weeks.

And please not quote me if you are not sure the situation. Dont try to challenge me on ACP knowledge.
relax dude... I'm not here to steal your business. However I find it discomforting over your bossy postings lately... If you wanna show off whose the boss, be my guest, but this is a public forum, and everyone is entitled to their own opinion...
Eithanius
post May 10 2010, 12:29 AM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(wei @ May 10 2010, 12:20 AM)
So you finally voice up your true reason of recent quotes. If you got hurt by my posting here, I apology. If you like it, i will open up a thread just to apologize to you should that make your felt better. I believe I threat technical question technically and won't bring personal emotion into it. My intention are always to help. But some might get the answer wrong way, or trying to sway my intention other way round. If you or more member think my posting here is un-welcome, I will gladly shut the f*ck up.
Nobody has doubt that your intentions here are sincere, in fact I'm sure your contributions here merits enough to deserve an Elite tag... tongue.gif

However I find your approach to such situation rather too emotional at times, especially when ppl question you, just like I did just now. This is not the first time. And you really think that I challenged you, or rather me insulting your intelligence...? If it is then I offer my sincere apology...
Eithanius
post May 15 2010, 10:17 PM

3,952 posts

New MacBooks coming soon.... brows.gif

MacRumors.com

Eithanius
post May 16 2010, 02:01 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(Hanifah H. @ May 16 2010, 01:32 PM)
maybe not 15inch la bro, 17 inch perhaps...

on 15 inch, it can be 1600 x 900.... also ok for work what...

i mean the iMac has already gone 16:9...

MBP should be next right?

i see some Dell Laptops also 16:9..

Samsung Monitors also i see everywhere is mostly 16:9...

there is a high chance that the next update will be 16:9 right?

What do you guys think?
icon_rolleyes.gif
Are you kidding...? high-res 1680 x 1050 vs 1600 x 900... I'll stick with the former as I favor more real estate over real aesthetics...

And I don't think Apple will put in a 16:9 screen without a redesign of the entire form-factor... and if an upcoming 27" 16:9 ACD is to complement the MBPs, I don't think Apple even cares...

BTW, anyone here with a high-res MBP 15" care to check if there's any setting on the MBP for 1600 x 900...? If there is, that basically kills the idea of a 16:9 screen ratio form-factor...
Eithanius
post May 29 2010, 03:31 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ May 29 2010, 01:19 PM)
w00t. just got my macbook today. tongue.gif
the new macbook white..?

post some pics here...

QUOTE(BRY7 @ May 29 2010, 03:27 PM)
just want to ask, how long does the macbook pro 13' battery last?
mine could only last 7 hours max sad.gif
7 hours buat apa tu...? watch porn (video)...? surf porn (wifi)...? encode porn (CPU)...? or play hentai games (GPU)...?
Eithanius
post Jun 1 2010, 08:53 PM

3,952 posts

ok, my Mac Pro's finally out.... rclxm9.gif doh.gif sad.gif cry.gif

looking at either the 17" MBP Core i7 or the 15" MBP Core i7...

I've already got a 24" Dell to complement the upcoming MBP, so now it's just a matter of your guys convincing me which one I should go for... doh.gif

decisions decisions... unsure.gif unsure.gif

This post has been edited by Eithanius: Jun 1 2010, 08:54 PM
Eithanius
post Jun 1 2010, 09:29 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jun 1 2010, 09:19 PM)
Ok go for 15inch i7, upgrade to high resolution display and the 500gb HDD to 7200rpm. It'll cost you RM7689 vs MBP 17 with i7, 500GB hdd 7200RPM = RM8315

price difference is = RM626 for 1 additional USB port, pcie slot, bigger screen, heavier laptop. You decide if its worth it or not  brows.gif
I was planning for 17" CTO i7 with 500GB 7200rpm from a reseller, but few weeks without computer to use... rclxub.gif

And I've yet to see how good is a HR 15" screen compared to a normal res 15"...
Eithanius
post Jun 1 2010, 09:44 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Jun 1 2010, 09:25 PM)
17" is really heavy when you travel alot. Consider that instead of the spec. I think both 15" & 17" will perform rather well as a laptop. And please include ACPP into your budget by any means.
I've owned 3 Macs so far, neither one of them went without ACPP... sweat.gif

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jun 1 2010, 09:37 PM)
i know wat you mean, my old mb is dying slowly(i give it a few weeks), planning to get a mbp soon 15 at least. but from my experience they take longer hehe, anyways the 600++ saved is half of the ACPP, heed wei's advice! brows.gif
I guess I have to build a PC first while waiting for the MBP... My GPU work is all gonna be on the PC side...

This post has been edited by Eithanius: Jun 1 2010, 09:46 PM
Eithanius
post Jun 1 2010, 10:12 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Jun 1 2010, 10:02 PM)
Hehehe, i would get a 17" for occasional travel + a low end 13" for daily travel, or even an iPad if it get the job done. Even 15" is heavy for amount of stuff I have to carry around. But then again, that's me. One can always disagree. Just aim at what you really need, not want. Laptop get replaced much faster than the desktop. I don't really see the point to invest too much. Unless you keeping for the next 3-4 yrs or don't mind about resell.
I've been using a Mac Pro for 3 years.... Two Mac Pros in fact... And I've no complain about performance, let alone keeping it for years to come..

The only reason I go portable is because of the shifting in direction of distributive computing from CPU to GPU, and Apple's somewhat PITA about Mac Pro GPUs, plus those crappy drivers and lack-lustre OpenCL implementation - might as well salvage whatever I have thanks to my ACPP on the first Mac Pro, sell it off to build a cheap PC with high-end GPU for that...
Eithanius
post Jun 3 2010, 02:44 AM

3,952 posts

Posting from my 15" MBP Core i7... tongue.gif

Need a little getting use to after downgrading from the mighty 8-core Mac Pro... doh.gif

Added on June 3, 2010, 3:13 ambtw, anyone here purchased and installed OptiBay for MacBook Pro to accommodate a second HDD...?

even stock 500GB macam tak cukup... doh.gif

This post has been edited by Eithanius: Jun 3 2010, 03:13 AM
Eithanius
post Jun 3 2010, 12:08 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jun 3 2010, 08:49 AM)
is this a stock unit? hmm lol dont think u went for the higher end display or the 7200rpm HDD
can't wait for weeks on CTO, so i went stock... later can upgrade hdd, maybe seagate momentus xt at least ... brows.gif

as for hi-res, i don't feel i need it since i'll be connecting it to a 24" dell... but i did regret not getting the 17" at times... anyone with a 17" Core i5/i7 wanna trade with my 15"...? brows.gif

This post has been edited by Eithanius: Jun 3 2010, 12:11 PM
Eithanius
post Jun 3 2010, 08:12 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jun 3 2010, 08:09 PM)
Harloo Harlooo new MBP 15 user reporting in!
apa spec...? brows.gif

CTO ar...?
Eithanius
post Jun 6 2010, 11:46 AM

3,952 posts

After using my MBP for days now, I'm still not using SMCFanControl because I can see the fans work their way quite satisfactory by themselves...
Eithanius
post Jun 6 2010, 01:06 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jun 6 2010, 01:00 PM)
that is your problem right there, smc cant help you on the windoze side anyway, its a mac only app if i remember correctly.
Only...

But theoretically he can set the fan speed using SMCFanControl on Mac side, then reboot into windows without powering down his MB... (MazeLaughing my ass outL, read this, do not power down)... That should keep the fan speed on SMC-FC setting... I know it works on a Mac Pro, but since I don't Boot Camp on my MBP, I can't be certain if the same applies on portables...

0.0379sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:37 PM