post May 12 2010, 07:50 PM

160 posts

EagleTac PN Series... just a few teaser pics... brows.gif

I can't believe the beam profile and tint of these PN series... more details will be available in CPF soon... rolleyes.gif
damonlbs
post May 12 2010, 10:48 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(RookieDaddy @ May 12 2010, 07:50 PM)
EagleTac PN Series... just a few teaser pics...  brows.gif

I can't believe the beam profile and tint of these PN series... more details will be available in CPF soon...  rolleyes.gif
how r they campare to the 47 preons?
uncle wong
post May 12 2010, 11:41 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(eow1973 @ May 12 2010, 05:14 PM)
Received the Thrunite dropins from Uncle Wong today.

Here they are:
From left: Stock reflector, 2.7-9V w/SMO and 18650 only with OP reflector.
The emitter of the 18650 is very off-center.

Left: Eagletac T20C2 XPG (1 X 18650)  Right: Thrunite XPG 2V-9V (2 X 18500)

Left: Dereelight 1SD R2 (1 X 18650)  Right: Thrunite XPG 2V-9V (2 X 18500)

This thing is very bright and throws good in a smooth reflector thumbup.gif .  However, it gets really hot after a few seconds.  Thanks again to Uncle Wong.  If only the Thrunite Catapult came in parallel battery configuration....
Three of my Drop -in emitter off set too but i m very satisfied with the brightness
RookieDaddy
post May 12 2010, 11:44 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(damonlbs @ May 12 2010, 10:48 PM)
how r they campare to the 47 preons?
unlike Fenix LD05 vs 4Sevens Preons, IMHO PN series are of different breed. It's unique in its own way.
They are both good lights.

Let me try:
Preons has bigger hotspot (XP-G vs XP-E).
PN20a2 throws further and have brighter spills.
PN20a2 support momentary-on.
Preons have a couple of hidden modes while PN series is a simple 2-mode light.

Let me know if there are specific area that you would like me to comment on between the two. biggrin.gif
damonlbs
post May 12 2010, 11:54 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(RookieDaddy @ May 12 2010, 11:44 PM)
unlike Fenix LD05 vs 4Sevens Preons, IMHO PN series are of different breed. It's unique in its own way.
They are both good lights.

Let me try:
Preons has bigger hotspot (XP-G vs XP-E).
PN20a2 throws further and have brighter spills.
PN20a2 support momentary-on.
Preons have a couple of hidden modes while PN series is a simple 2-mode light.

Let me know if there are specific area that you would like me to comment on between the two.  biggrin.gif
who can take the abuse of EDC or will last longer whistling.gif
RookieDaddy
post May 13 2010, 12:03 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(damonlbs @ May 12 2010, 11:54 PM)
who can take the abuse of EDC or will last longer whistling.gif
haha... I'm not sure... but I still hold the LiteFlux LF2XT as the best single cell AAA EDC flashlight... whistling.gif
strinq
post May 13 2010, 12:27 AM

PhD in Philosophy of Head Damages
602 posts

QUOTE(RookieDaddy @ May 13 2010, 12:03 AM)
haha... I'm not sure... but I still hold the LiteFlux LF2XT as the best single cell AAA EDC flashlight...  whistling.gif
Not many will argue with you i think. smile.gif

old newspaper
post May 13 2010, 12:34 AM

if it ain't broke, don't fix it !
1,245 posts

thanks uncle wong for the fast delivery of the thrunite XP-G drop-in thumbup.gif

....but mine came with the led off-centered cry.gif , but anyway it wasn't obvious when it blasting out the lumen juices.... biggrin.gif

here's the beamshot comparison of the thrunite drop-in [ in Xeno G5 host ] vs ET T20C2 Mark ll

beamshot; [ my first beamshot attempt.... sweat.gif ]

.....i still prefer the ET T20C2 Mark ll as it has tighter hotspot [ for better throw biggrin.gif ], and brighter spill and also it run cooler compare to the thrunite drop -in.... laugh.gif

uncle wong
post May 13 2010, 01:01 AM

104 posts

Bro old newspaper , Thanks for the beamshot
The Thrunite drop-in hot spot is bright & nice thumbup.gif
For a pocket size flashlight , i prefer more spill over throw .
eow1973
post May 13 2010, 07:59 AM

Just found out that the Thrunite's emitter can be moved.

And now, it's centered.

The Thrunite pill in a Dereelight reflector for really centering of emitter.

The Thrunite P60 dropin is really bright. For that kind of price, Uncle Wong should do another round of GB for this dropin. thumbup.gif

old newspaper
post May 13 2010, 08:43 AM

if it ain't broke, don't fix it !
1,245 posts

QUOTE(uncle wong @ May 13 2010, 01:01 AM)
Bro old newspaper , Thanks for the beamshot
The Thrunite drop-in hot spot is bright & nice  thumbup.gif
For a pocket size flashlight , i prefer more spill over throw .
yeah, this drop in has a very huge and smooth hot spot and a huge spill too thumbup.gif [ but i prefer a thrower than a spiller tongue.gif ] imho, this is so much better than the DX's drop in.....anf for the price we're getting, this is definitely the steal deal !

QUOTE(eow1973 @ May 13 2010, 07:59 AM)
Just found out that the Thrunite's emitter can be moved.

And now, it's centered.

The Thrunite pill in a Dereelight reflector for really centering of emitter.

The Thrunite P60 dropin is really bright.  For that kind of price, Uncle Wong should do another round of GB for this dropin. thumbup.gif
ooh.....thanks for the discovery rclxms.gif gonna centered it later.....just wondering how come it can be move ? hmm.gif
polkiuj
post May 13 2010, 09:45 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(old newspaper @ May 13 2010, 08:43 AM)
yeah, this drop in has a very huge and smooth hot spot and a huge spill too  thumbup.gif [ but i prefer a thrower than a spiller  tongue.gif ] imho, this is so much better than the DX's drop in.....anf for the price we're getting, this is definitely the steal deal !
ooh.....thanks for the discovery  rclxms.gif gonna centered it later.....just wondering how come it can be move ?  hmm.gif
My guess is that the emitter is mounted on a board, which has thermal paste beneath it but no epoxy. Hence it is not stuck and can be moved.

The plastic disc should be pushing the board to ensure a better thermal path.

However, for the sake of the LED, using a board might not be the best idea..

Someone needs to get a pseudo IS soon. =D I wonder where to get circular styrofoam balls.. Hmm...

@Rookie: How come the PN 1xAAA has such a huge neck?? O.o!! rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by polkiuj: May 13 2010, 09:47 AM
uncle wong
post May 13 2010, 09:48 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(old newspaper @ May 13 2010, 08:43 AM)
yeah, this drop in has a very huge and smooth hot spot and a huge spill too  thumbup.gif [ but i prefer a thrower than a spiller  tongue.gif ] imho, this is so much better than the DX's drop in.....anf for the price we're getting, this is definitely the steal deal !
ooh.....thanks for the discovery  rclxms.gif gonna centered it later.....just wondering how come it can be move ?  hmm.gif
Yes , we can have another Group Buy for Thrunite Drop-in .
Minimum order must be 10pcs
strinq
post May 13 2010, 11:36 AM

PhD in Philosophy of Head Damages
602 posts

QUOTE(polkiuj @ May 13 2010, 09:45 AM)

Me no likey too...

RookieDaddy
post May 13 2010, 01:22 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(polkiuj @ May 13 2010, 09:45 AM)
QUOTE(strinq @ May 13 2010, 11:36 AM)
Me no likey too...
Haha... I have no idea guys. I wasn't sure about that initially either, but now I'm thinking of getting another one or two. wub.gif
polkiuj
post May 13 2010, 04:20 PM

337 posts

Lookie what arrived today?

This post has been edited by polkiuj: May 13 2010, 04:22 PM
uncle wong
post May 13 2010, 04:55 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(polkiuj @ May 13 2010, 04:20 PM)