Hobbies The Bright Side V4, Malaysian Flashaholic Community

polkiuj
post Apr 13 2010, 09:29 AM

337 posts

Signing in! Good work Allan! Whoohoo!

Edit: Using this to keep track of my lights.

Current list (in possesion, stock/OTF lumens unless otherwise noted)
1. Fenix LD10 (XP-G R5, standard driver, optic from Osram Golden Dragon cabinet LED (with custom squiggles, resistored tailcap, 2 modes, direct drive Max, fully regulated low, Hidden SOS/strobe, est. >250L full batt, olive drab bezel/tail/body, black 'driver' area) [#001 - click for details & pics]
2. Eagletac T10LC2 with T10C2 body (solid but no 18650 support XR-E Q5) - up for sale RM 170 delivered
3. Lummi Wee (~40L neutral white XR-E Q3-5A)
4. Lummi Raw (~40L/200L XR-E R2)
5. Lumens Factory Seraph SP-9 with Surefire P91 (on 2 x IMR 18500, est. ~450L)
6. Quark Ti (flame anodized, blue/purple/brown/gold/bare XP-G R5)
7. Ultrafire WF-008 Recoil thrower (added aluminum foil for heat transfer)
8. ICON MODUS I (XP-G R5 direct drive with 0.5 ohm resistor ala Electrolumens DeCree XP-G, ~230 lumens) [#002 - click for details and pics]

On the way (or not made yet)
1. Electrolumens DeCree XP-G (custom driven for me)
2. QMiNi CR2 warm white (XP-G Q5-7A3/7B4)

Wished goodbye to
1. Inova T1 (sent for warranty but never made it back, miss u dearly)
2. Quark AA neutral white (XP-E Q3-5A, miss you dearly too)
3. Tank 007 M20 Magnetism (rebuilt, brown tail/orange body/gold head XR-E Q2-WC)
4. Inova T1 (bought from CPF, hope new owner loves it)
5. ICON MODUS I (in pristine condition, please love her lots! =D)

Yay! I've listed them all! Will update here so easy!

P.s. stock = boring =D

edit: Yes! I gave away my other MODUS! It's safe from being gutted for now. Down to 8 Allan and David!

This post has been edited by polkiuj: May 10 2010, 12:30 PM
polkiuj
post Apr 15 2010, 04:55 PM

337 posts

BREAKING NEWS!

OUR PRESIDENT HAS JUST BEEN POISONED BY A LYN & CPF MEMBER!

Poor president's wallet is now slightly lighter. He's also pretty stoked about being poisoned.
polkiuj
post Apr 15 2010, 09:20 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(susuman @ Apr 15 2010, 05:11 PM)
Care to elaborate more?  drool.gif
Mr. President, care to share your story with some pics? =D

QUOTE(uncle wong @ Apr 15 2010, 08:52 PM)
When will 4Sevens Maelstrom coming to town ???  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
I have absolutely no idea. Like I always like to say,

You probably know as much or more than me. Heh~
polkiuj
post Apr 16 2010, 09:19 AM

337 posts

Aha! 4Sevens WARM WHITE (not neutral) now (might be) released. You can see my thread for more info hehe.

polkiuj
post Apr 16 2010, 11:05 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Apr 16 2010, 10:15 AM)
This is very kind of you Manny! thumbup.gif Anyone interested? I don't think we'll see the XL100 in Msia so soon.
Ooo, XPG warms are finally here.
Btw, I did a general runtime test on the Fenix E10 by obeservation until the output dropped noticeably around 50% (Fenix E10 runtime on specs is 3.5 hours). Using an Imedion AA (2.1AH) which was fully charged and kept for a month. I played with the light for abit, and compared tints with my other lights drool.gif The rebel LED's tint is beautiful! It's in the cool white category but leaned more to the yellow side! And it seemed as though it has a neutral tint! After playing, I let it on a continuous run:

1st hour: Body felt slightly warm, light output still good.
2nd hour: Body felt slightly warmer to the touch. Light output seems to maintain  (although if it dropped by a few percentage, it's not noticeable)
3rd hour: Body temp seemed to maintained like the 2nd hour. At 45 mins, output noticeably dropped at estimated 50% and noticeably dimmer every minute. After 10 minutes, it seems to give somewhere around 2 - 5 lumens (compared with another light). And I switched the light off. Quickly took a reading on the battery @ 0.9v and climbing back up. brows.gif

So, it's okay to say that you can get at least 3 solid hours from an LSD NiMH, like Imedions and possibly an Eneloop.
Will you do a 14500 run-time test too? =D
Put it in water then you can test it's waterproofness as well! =D
Lol.

QUOTE(strinq @ Apr 16 2010, 10:43 AM)
Oooo, the uniqueness of getting a warm white quark is very very tempting.
But 28% is a very large drop in output.
But i'm very sure the orders will be met easily.
The desires of Flashaholics are insatiable. smile.gif

BUT i know one flashaholic who wouldn't get this...
Old newspaper!
We should poll money and buy him one unit! Ahahahahahaha!!
polkiuj
post Apr 16 2010, 11:42 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(strinq @ Apr 16 2010, 11:34 AM)
polkiuj, u mentioned that the E10 can be modded into a 2 mode light.
May i know how this works?
Change modes by soft touch? or tailcap loosen/tighten?
Add a resistor to the tailcap. Value you have to calculate or you can use trial & error.

Bridge the connection with a resistor so that when the switch is off, current will flow thru the resistor, getting you a low mode. When the switch is on, it will be driven in the normal "ON" mode. Loosen the tailcap to off the light. =)

It'll be sort of like my LD10, but simpler.

Pseudoblue: can check with you something (If you can test for me). When the battery is very low and you off the light, can it be turned on again?

Thanks!
Walter
polkiuj
post Apr 16 2010, 02:38 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(susuman @ Apr 16 2010, 12:56 PM)
May I suggest ..... ALL?

Added on April 16, 2010, 12:58 pm
Is there a Quark AA WW ??? (I have too many quarks, guess this one still missing from my collection) blush.gif
Haha, sorry. You're out of luck =(

QUOTE(jchong @ Apr 16 2010, 01:41 PM)
I'm looking for something compact-ish and bright. The Thrunite Catapult is not bad, but then the S1200 might be even nicer. Still eagerly awaiting more news and specs. If they had a neutral white version... wow...

For those of you with neutral white lights, is it that much better than the normal one? I don't have any NW lights yet.
Depends on ur application.

If you want to blind ppl, cool white is the best.

NW is very soothing to the eyes so it's nicer to use.

I have not seen a difference in rendering outdoors (trees/branches). It still looks dead and very 2D.
polkiuj
post Apr 16 2010, 03:18 PM

337 posts

INTERESTING DISCOVERY!

Hi guys! I just took apart a spoiled mouse and "harvested" the resistors out.

And here is an amazing discovery!

A 50 ohm resistor, run in series to the Fenix E10 will net you a lumen rating VERY CLOSE to my 47 123^2 moonlight mode.

That's ~0.2 lumens with a ~1.42V Ikea alkaline. Unfortunately, the circuit will not power by itself. It has to be switched on max 1st then to moonlight.

Can we say 2 mode twisty.
55L general mode
0.2L moonlight mode

Wee!

OK, time to harvest more.

Added on April 16, 2010, 3:48 pm
QUOTE(polkiuj @ Apr 16 2010, 11:05 AM)
We should poll money and buy him one unit! Ahahahahahaha!!
Since some has shown interest,
If you guys wanna do this, drop me a PM. =D But do it quick yea?
I'd laser engrave his nick on it too! Mwahaha!

QUOTE(RookieDaddy @ Apr 16 2010, 12:00 PM)
strinq, beside using polkiuj method, by default... you can get 2 modes by...
1. Using Alkaline, NiMH -- 1.5V >> 50ish lumens
2. Using LiIon -- 3.7V >> 100ish lumens (just a guest, could very well be more, but at your own risks... sweat.gif )
I'd say Li-ion is FAR brighter than that.

If the Fluke and Fenix is to be trusted, crunching some numbers tells me that the Rebel is driven ~190mA with AA.
I'm assuming a lot of things here.
Li-ion is drawing >1A at tail. Should be somewhat direct.

Crunch numbers, holla holla holla,
If AA is 55 lumens, then the Li-ion will be ~175 lumens.

Now that is kinda scary

This post has been edited by polkiuj: Apr 16 2010, 03:48 PM
polkiuj
post Apr 16 2010, 05:01 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(old newspaper @ Apr 16 2010, 03:57 PM)
Mini US Shopping Spree quick update....15th April 2010

parcel arrived ! my mom  wub.gif called and informed me that there's one parcel arrived !  rclxm9.gif [ yeah, parcel was sent to my parent's home in Kajang cos my mom will be at home most of the time to receive it ]

i'll pick it up from her on sunday [ sorry ya guys, i was extremely tight on a project schedule this few days otherwise i'll pick it up earlier ] and please allow me 2-3 days to repackage it and reship it to you guys,.....i'll be going to GW2U on Monday / Tuesday, so those want it delivered by hand can pick it up there  laugh.gif

and yes, there's no customs tax involved ! [ saved at least RM350 ++ on taxes, based on 10% tax of USD1,000 ]....so James & Jerome will be glad to hear this  tongue.gif  biggrin.gif

- mission accomplished -  sweat.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
Congrats! I say you deserve a WARM white light for your efforts.
What time will you be there?
polkiuj
post Apr 17 2010, 02:33 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Apr 16 2010, 05:13 PM)
Yeah, I did consider also those 1x 18650 lights. The T20C2 Mk II is in my sights. This will be more for general use. But I'm also looking for a very bright (like above 700 lumens) thrower for distance use, hence something like the Catapult or upcoming S1200.
Thanks for sharing your experience.
I don't think the S1200 will be a crazy thrower. Then again, what do I know? I have no experience with the SST LEDs. =D

QUOTE(makuyo @ Apr 16 2010, 08:04 PM)
tint of my brand new Fenix E10 is almost the same with my Fenix L2D Rebel 100....
with 14500 in it, the E10 is a little bit brighter than may L2D Rebel 100... brows.gif

L2D rebel 100 stated 175 lumens at max with 2 fresh eneloops..
so E10 should be at least 180 lumens?? hmm.gif

but let me remind u, this is "Fenix Lumens" we're talking.. so u get the picture  biggrin.gif
My est. is 175 lumens for the E10. It is drawing around 1A. =D
polkiuj
post Apr 18 2010, 04:15 PM

337 posts

OMG you have 4!?

I know I know! 2 has nice-ish beams and 2 has not so nice-ish beams. =D
polkiuj
post Apr 19 2010, 09:28 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(old newspaper @ Apr 18 2010, 08:32 PM)
here's my new toys captured using my wife's new Canon EOS 550D [ this is my first ever click/shot with dslr camera  doh.gif  ]

maglite xl100 & novatac storm [ with UCL lens and stainless steel bezel installed ]  wub.gif
VERY nice! Heh~ Is this the bezel I got for U or another one? Looks like a different one right?
polkiuj
post Apr 19 2010, 10:54 AM

337 posts

Hi! Just found the tint difference between the cool and warm whites.

Roughly only la since it's a slightly different tint.

(From CPF)

**We still need more to get newspaper's warm. =D**
polkiuj
post Apr 20 2010, 09:11 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(strinq @ Apr 19 2010, 10:59 AM)
The warm really 'panas'.
Even yellower than incan?
I have no idea. Check the color temp. of incans. This warm should be close to 3100K. It should be warmer than overdriven incans tho.

QUOTE(MetalZone @ Apr 19 2010, 01:44 PM)
IMHO, our eyes won't see what the camera sees with the white balance locked. Our brains have "automatic white balance" and I guess it won't look that bad in real life.
Ur right. =D

QUOTE(strinq @ Apr 19 2010, 02:02 PM)
eh, metalzone, i didn't know you like flashlights?
alan, speedy recovery, in the meantime you can meddle with your lights. smile.gif
R U kidding? He's the [insert whatever appropriate word here] who got me into so much trouble!

QUOTE(damonlbs @ Apr 19 2010, 02:37 PM)
it onli took you 3 hours onli to learn how to take nice pic with ur new camera  notworthy.gif

mayb i should start brain washing old newspaper into getting nicer and expensive lens for his dslr

you need a better lens for ur dslr so you can take pretty pic of your pretty lights,
people said the kit lens is useless one  laugh.gif
Hahaha! The poison master strikes again!
I love my kit lens. =D
polkiuj
post Apr 21 2010, 02:02 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Apr 21 2010, 10:56 AM)
OOoo, inside info? brows.gif Did you get any dibs on any protos? biggrin.gif muahaha
It's in the forums. Hehe. David says that G500's are in production.
S(the big one) is almost ready for production. Pre-production cmpleted.
S1200 still need tuning. =(

Haih..

QUOTE(klshutterbug @ Apr 21 2010, 11:56 AM)
Theres another website in Malaysia that sells Fenix flashlights at www.MooMooCow.com.my

Prices seems to be pretty good too !

To the flashlight sifu's out there, which is better?  Fenix flashlights or EagleTac ?
Actually the prices are kinda high. 10 - 20 RM higher than gadgetworld2U. Not even counting shipping yet =(
Which is better depends on what you are looking for.
I like his website though, nice. =D

**ehem** iPod Touch 8GB
MYR 949.00
iPod Touch - 8GB 1,750 songs 10 hours
Even apple is selling for 7++ only. Tsk tsk..

This post has been edited by polkiuj: Apr 21 2010, 02:03 PM
polkiuj
post Apr 22 2010, 09:24 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(old newspaper @ Apr 21 2010, 06:49 PM)
it seems everyone has received their new toys d [ some confirmed thru sms ]!  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

....now i can have a peaceful zZzzzzZZZZ time.....  sweat.gif  laugh.gif

ooh, btw i'll be meeting Dannie, Gwen & Walter later in Subang for yumcha session......to check out the new zebralight  drool.gif and also a long throw showdown between Tiablo A9 with aspheric head vs my new thrower light [ ...the 0.01% Surefire Hellfighter lookalike .... hahaha ]  brows.gif

icon_rolleyes.gif
Ur "Hellfighter" is so cute. It should not have a name like "Hellfighter". xD It should be called cutie pixie or cutepiefighter or something. xD ehehhee.

QUOTE(RookieDaddy @ Apr 22 2010, 04:13 AM)
The small SC30w is a little hand-warmer running on high  sweat.gif , i guess same for SC50w if runnig with 14500 LiIon cell.
Try the color chart thing with an incan, see if it's better?
The SC30 is far hotter with a LiFePo than a SC50 with LiCo. =D
polkiuj
post Apr 23 2010, 09:20 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(moxie15 @ Apr 22 2010, 11:33 AM)
cry.gif My favorite light - 2 year old Fenix TK10 (OP) showed signs of "burned" mark at the center of the LED. Now it has an ugly brownish donut hue. My normal usage is 10-15 mins max set at normal mode, never on high for over 5 mins. I've been very careful and used only Soshine RCR-123. I thought TK10 has a regulated circuit to prevent overheating.  Any one has experienced this before?
Can any sifus help me to repair/replace the Q5 LED or anywhere to get a replacement head????
Too sayang this light. TQ in advance!
Hey moxie, this is not a battery problem. The TK10 can easily accept any li-ion. If 2 x 3.7V Li-ion's voltage is too high, the light will be insanely bright (for a while) then instant death.
5 mins on high should not even be close to an issue unless the light is already hot to begin with.
This is definitely a problem with the thermal transfer of the LED.
You can ask CEJ what to do about it or look for gadgetworld2U. Beg them to help you. Heh~

QUOTE(susuman @ Apr 22 2010, 11:53 AM)
1st it was my P3D, then Pseudoblue's TK40 (?), now its yours TK10  rclxub.gif

Anyway, I don't know fenix has thermal sensor to cut over heating, I guess no. NovaTac has it, it I am correct.

PS : Soshine RCR123 is working at 3.6V , so it is 20% higher than the primary 3V; while LifePO4 is around 3.35V , about 10% higher.

So be careful on this, most of Fenix is design to use Primary only (sigh  mad.gif )
Opening the Fenix head is very hard, use a hair dryer or coffee make warming pad to heat up the head, then use an antislip mat (those use in car) to open the head.

Search for my post in V1 or V2, I did explain how I end up a Warm LED in the P3D. icon_rolleyes.gif
Don't forget my LD10. =D

QUOTE(old newspaper @ Apr 22 2010, 10:25 PM)
oohh.......... seem like everyone was infected with the 'zebralight's fever' lately  shakehead.gif  laugh.gif

damn, i was infected too  doh.gif

[....sorry for the not so good quality pic..... sad.gif - still in the learning curve.... sweat.gif  ]
Nice pics, heh~ Stop saying it's not nice xD

QUOTE(jwyj @ Apr 22 2010, 10:47 PM)
Fo those who are involved in the LUMAPOWER D-MINI VX ULTRA SST-50 GB by old newspaper, is there anyone who wants to let go your flashlight.  smile.gif  I absolutely love it and I am looking for another and I have the following lights to exchange with you.

1)TLS-T2( new) + nitecore EZ CR2 (new)
2) Surefire C2(new, unopened) + minimag (no box)
3) Surefire E2DL (used, no box)
4) Nitecore SR3 (new) + EZ CR2 (new)

You can choose any of the above, either 1 or 2 or 3 or 4.
GWEN! Where are you!! This is calling you!!
polkiuj
post Apr 24 2010, 12:52 AM

337 posts

Field testing the MODUS!

Good news:
This thing has a heat sink! The metal inside conducts to the metal in the body of the light. After running on high, the inside gets hot!

Bad news:
There is nowhere else for the heat to sink to as plastic is really bad at conducting heat. The battery gets hotter than the outside of the light.

I conclude the holding and not holding the light makes negligible difference. The head does get warm so I guess it helps just a tiny little bit. Run for 5 - 7 mins without problems. I think I'll want to limit it to 10 mins run, max.

Next to test that regulation thing. Maybe it will help the light keep cool? I've never seen it step down!!
polkiuj
post Apr 24 2010, 03:44 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(strinq @ Apr 24 2010, 12:44 PM)
So sorry for missing the gathering yesterday.
Last minute was issued an ultimatum...sigh...
Apologies again...you wouldn't know how bad i wanted to see all the new lights sigh...
Uh oh..

QUOTE(Zen|th @ Apr 24 2010, 01:56 PM)
Wow its been soooooo long since i came in here.. haha

So sorry Walter, still have not paid u for ur Deoxit... =< really tied up in church
=D
polkiuj
post Apr 26 2010, 09:54 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(jwyj @ Apr 26 2010, 09:00 AM)
moneyflies.gif  moneyflies.gif  moneyflies.gif  Hey, any Olight dealers in Malaysia having this light in stock?  hmm.gif
Not that I know of, sorry. I'm sure someone could help bring it in. =D

MODUS update:
I have killed the driver. It no longer has a boost circuit or PWM. It no longer runs on alkalines. Only li-ion direct drive. =D

1 mode only left.

rclxms.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0812sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:04 PM