8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Hobbies The Bright Side V4, Malaysian Flashaholic Community

RookieDaddy
post Apr 12 2010, 08:44 PM

160 posts

pseudoblue, thanks for all the hard work and greatly appreciate efforts you and others put in to organize our gatherings. cheers.gif

i see more flashlights coming your way... brows.gif
RookieDaddy
post Apr 13 2010, 08:26 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(old newspaper @ Apr 12 2010, 11:43 PM)
320 lumens [ not sure this is the OTF lumens or not ], but the runtime surely does amaze me!  thumbup.gif
4 hours? Like Tiablo, they will advertise runtime numbers that are hard to achieve. If the previous M20 model is any indication, this will be semi-regulated(?) using 18650 with diminishing output, that's one reason I'm still running primaries in mine. sweat.gif

QUOTE(csshih @ Apr 13 2010, 04:29 AM)
hey.. let's take a quick look a the Olight M20's specs..
320 lumens for 4 hours? I assume that is not OTF.
Thus, 320 lumens requires ~ 0.9A, 3.016Watts.
assuming NO losses at all.. a 2.6Ah AW cell will be able to run that light for.. 3.19 hours.  unsure.gif

(at higher drive currents, I believe the AW cell would be 2.4Ah, too!) hmm.gif

so.. to get 4 hours, it must be some sort of non-flat runtime!
Though, honestly, that may not be too bad of a thing, seeing as only a drop in ~40% is extremely noticeable.
I hope you will get one soon to publish the runtime and beamshots. Can't wait for it to test in bigchelis's "sphere of truth". biggrin.gif

There is another model M20S (M20 Warrior Special Operation), with side switch located at the tail-cap. According to the advertisement, the output...
- Low -- 5 Lumens -- 600 hours
- Mid -- 55 Lumens -- 22 hours
- High -- 320 lumens -- 4 hours
- Strobe -- 320 lumens -- 8 hours

5 Lumens for 600 hours!!! shocking.gif shakehead.gif
RookieDaddy
post Apr 13 2010, 05:43 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Apr 13 2010, 05:27 PM)
It doesn't seem to show a side switch  hmm.gif
The side switch belongs to another model M20S.
RookieDaddy
post Apr 14 2010, 09:56 AM

160 posts

so no more MC-E Maelstroms... no more wait... no more hype... no more myth... wonder if the XP-G version still coming hmm.gif

QUOTE(4sevens)
Yes we canned MC-E (M500) simply because it's lack of efficiency.  The LED's been around for a while and it hasn't kept up in efficiency.  So this thread is not really relevant anymore - but I didn't start this thread.
RookieDaddy
post Apr 14 2010, 07:45 PM

160 posts

a couple of hours ago, i returned from GW2U with this... sweat.gif

Fenix E10

compare to AA battery

inside the body

the head

a white wall beam shot

wub.gif
RookieDaddy
post Apr 14 2010, 09:55 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(gadgetworld2u @ Apr 14 2010, 08:57 PM)
Congratz rookiedaddy you're the first in Malaysia to own an Fenix E10. I think in the whole of Asia as well since many supplier does not carry stock of this model yet.
and thanks to you (Mr. Foong, Gwen, Dannie)... i got my first 'C' series and my first SF HA... oh... love it... wub.gif

RookieDaddy
post Apr 15 2010, 10:19 PM

160 posts

ok... here's one more picture to share on E10. size compare to other flashlights...

Fenix TK20, NiteCore D10, Eneloop AA, Fenix E10, NiteCore EZ AAw, ZebraLight H501w, AW 18650 LiIon 2600

it's been a while since I get so excited about a Fenix release, and this is something really different (and special), not only the tint is Vanilla white, the anodizing finish is simply awesome. you simply have to handle it yourself to appreciate it.

a few more images copy from official document...

the machining on the thread is very good, buttery smooth, the tactical forward clicky is very responsive and click-on action feels good. The light running extended hours is not hot to the touch.
Guys/gals, you have got to see it in person. Just pay a visit to GW2U and try it out. I think the price is a steal... seriously.

btw, while you are at GW2U, ask Dannie and Gwen to show you some of their new toys... brows.gif what's missing now is an automatic coffee/tea maker... whistling.gif
RookieDaddy
post Apr 16 2010, 01:03 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Apr 16 2010, 12:29 AM)
Rookiedaddy, now Fenix didn't necessarily needed to come out with that "Swordman" as the name right? doh.gif Fenix E10 would have been just fine. LOLz
beats me man... I was actually shocking.gif rclxub.gif sweat.gif doh.gif for a moment when I saw that name. my guess is there was plans to make some body engraving like the bronze sword shown on the picture... lust.gif
RookieDaddy
post Apr 16 2010, 08:46 AM

160 posts

Wow! Manny, that's very kind of you. Thank you! That's the spirit of CPF! rclxms.gif thumbup.gif

=============
Some news from 4Sevens front... "Limited-run WARMS"...
read here >> XP-G Warm White Pre-orders! w/ GREEN Packaging!
drool here >> Limited-Run WARMS
but order here >> [WTS]High quality flashlights!, 4Sevens authorized distributor
RookieDaddy
post Apr 16 2010, 10:43 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Apr 16 2010, 10:15 AM)
So, it's okay to say that you can get at least 3 solid hours from an LSD NiMH, like Imedions and possibly an Eneloop.
I remember Fenix quoting their runtime using Ni-MH 2500mAh batteries. So looks like 3.5 hours is achievable... thumbup.gif
RookieDaddy
post Apr 16 2010, 12:00 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(strinq @ Apr 16 2010, 11:34 AM)
polkiuj, u mentioned that the E10 can be modded into a 2 mode light.
May i know how this works?
Change modes by soft touch? or tailcap loosen/tighten?
strinq, beside using polkiuj method, by default... you can get 2 modes by...
1. Using Alkaline, NiMH -- 1.5V >> 50ish lumens
2. Using LiIon -- 3.7V >> 100ish lumens (just a guest, could very well be more, but at your own risks... sweat.gif )
RookieDaddy
post Apr 16 2010, 03:03 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(uncle wong @ Apr 16 2010, 02:42 PM)
Btw ....Anyone know the estimate price for S1200 ??
just put the letter U infront of the S1200...
hahahaha... just kidding... cheers.gif
RookieDaddy
post Apr 16 2010, 10:42 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(makuyo @ Apr 16 2010, 08:04 PM)
tint of my brand new Fenix E10 is almost the same with my Fenix L2D Rebel 100....
it is using Rebel 100... according to them... smile.gif
let us know if anything goes *poof*... according to them (again), board design to run on max 3V... sweat.gif but it could be their cya statement.

"them" == Fenix

This post has been edited by RookieDaddy: Apr 16 2010, 11:07 PM
RookieDaddy
post Apr 17 2010, 05:25 PM

160 posts

i didn't expect such a little single mode light can be so much fun to play with... rclxm9.gif

now say it with me... "All for One, and One for ... ... ..."

a visual challenge, notice any difference in these reflectors?

ok... one last one...

This post has been edited by RookieDaddy: Apr 17 2010, 05:26 PM
RookieDaddy
post Apr 18 2010, 09:01 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(polkiuj @ Apr 18 2010, 04:15 PM)
OMG you have 4!?
I know I know! 2 has nice-ish beams and 2 has not so nice-ish beams. =D
sweat.gif
the left 3 has nice beams, the right most have not so nice (ringy) beams... all wonderful tints. rclxm9.gif
i like the rendering result of this E10. close to mid-day sunlight IMO.

QUOTE(old newspaper @ Apr 18 2010, 08:32 PM)
maglite xl100 & novatac storm [ with UCL lens and stainless steel bezel installed ]  wub.gif
old newspaper, that's nice... really nice... drool.gif
RookieDaddy
post Apr 19 2010, 01:31 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Apr 19 2010, 01:23 PM)
Sorry won't be joining your XL100 Party sad.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  I'm down with high fever..
oh man... wish you speedy recovery. cheers.gif
RookieDaddy
post Apr 19 2010, 05:25 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(jwyj @ Apr 19 2010, 04:45 PM)
The A2, (I'm an A2 addict now)  I feel that these are one of the the most elegant lights. 2 white, 1 yellow and 1 green.
James... notworthy.gif

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Apr 19 2010, 04:48 PM)
that Polarion PH50 looks like shooting a phase cannon (a trekkie weapon...) rclxub.gif

RookieDaddy
post Apr 20 2010, 03:47 PM

160 posts

guys, i was told E10 is available to "selected" channels only. shocking.gif
and that is one reason why it's not publish to the official website. hmm.gif
RookieDaddy
post Apr 21 2010, 09:23 PM

160 posts

a short trip to Subang today...

recessed button
these new switch that used in SC model require some getting used to. the press and short hold to activate low mode is longer compare to H501.

love the clips... wish ZebraLight will update the SC30w clip area to shape flat like SC50w...

very beautiful beam shape. more so when it's neutral white... brows.gif

EDIT: oops... the white balance is a little off...

This post has been edited by RookieDaddy: Apr 21 2010, 09:25 PM
RookieDaddy
post Apr 22 2010, 04:13 AM

160 posts

my 1st attempt to colour chart... tongue.gif (not a successful one cry.gif )

control

Quark AA² Neutral Regular, Fenix E10
user posted image user posted image

Quark Turbo 123², SureFire E2DL

ZebraLight SC30w, ZebraLight SC50w

Edit/Note: it may not be clear in these images, but Fenix E10, despite at 55 lumens, does render the colour more closely to the actual printed colour.

Ceiling bounce, ZebraLight SC30w (Sanyo CR123A) vs SC50w (Panasonic Evolta Alkaline)

The small SC30w is a little hand-warmer running on high sweat.gif , i guess same for SC50w if runnig with 14500 LiIon cell.

This post has been edited by RookieDaddy: Apr 22 2010, 07:08 AM

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.3692sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 07:48 PM