Hobbies The Bright Side V4, Malaysian Flashaholic Community

huislaw
post Oct 29 2019, 09:12 AM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(refnulf @ Oct 28 2019, 11:16 PM)
Hi guys, I'm new here. Please recommend me a light for day to day usage.
What type of usages?
darosk
post Oct 29 2019, 09:17 AM

95 posts

Is there any seller in Malaysia who sells Convoy products? Bought from the Aliexpress store, quite pleased with price to performance quality - but waiting 1 month+ for shipping quite sien...
WingNut
post Oct 29 2019, 11:24 AM

QUOTE(huislaw @ Oct 29 2019, 09:12 AM)
What type of usages?
yeah... lots of variables to consider. primarily size, stamina, beam pattern and colour.

the olight i1r eos is pretty much my edc and one that i have on me at any given time. not too concerned about the runtime as it would get me to one of my other lights should the need arise. my trusty u12 follows me on my treks (usually paired a keychain light) whilst my traveling edc would be the olight s1r turbo s.
Justin.Loong
post Oct 29 2019, 11:37 AM

8,326 posts

QUOTE(shanjeev @ Oct 26 2019, 02:05 AM)
Hi, I work as an electrical engineer. Where require this flashlight during shutdown or repair works inside confined space, do need to verify cable colours and yes hands on job from time to time. Also a bit of car DIY hobby works and hiking when time permits. Any advise?
Did check out both the flashlight and looks good but can't find any link to local seller.
If like that, then a headlamp would be a better choice so that you may be able to use your hands.
Avoid Cool White torchlights and choose Neutral White for better colour rendition.
Something like the below.
Click here --> Source: Olight H2R Neutral White XHP50 headlamp
Also with a 18650 battery, you'll also have long runtimes. nod.gif

IINM, sifu RookieDaddy is the one of the most reliable to get more accurate advise. icon_question.gif thumbsup.gif
Justin.Loong
post Oct 29 2019, 11:37 AM

8,326 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Oct 26 2019, 12:06 PM)
On small torces.... What do you think of nitecore tit?
Eh? Nitecore tit? blink.gif shocking.gif
WingNut
post Oct 29 2019, 12:06 PM

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Oct 29 2019, 11:37 AM)
Eh? Nitecore tit?  blink.gif  shocking.gif
something like this, perhaps? whistling.gif

This post has been edited by WingNut: Oct 29 2019, 12:07 PM
Justin.Loong
post Oct 29 2019, 01:09 PM

8,326 posts

QUOTE(WingNut @ Oct 29 2019, 12:06 PM)
something like this, perhaps?  whistling.gif

doh.gif sorry, i'm not sure. shakehead.gif

But Nitecore NWS10, I know la. brows.gif drool.gif
surefire v LED
post Oct 29 2019, 01:25 PM

Never Say Never But Say Never 2 Proton
4,349 posts

Olight headlamp is good but the battery is proprietary.
Justin.Loong
post Oct 29 2019, 02:15 PM

8,326 posts

QUOTE(surefire v LED @ Oct 29 2019, 01:25 PM)
Olight headlamp is good but the battery is proprietary.
Are you talking about the H2R's bundled battery? hmm.gif
refnulf
post Oct 29 2019, 05:01 PM

I love Hulu
7,937 posts

QUOTE(huislaw @ Oct 29 2019, 09:12 AM)
What type of usages?
Just day to day, go to bathroom at night, check for robbers, noise outside, look at engine at night when you hear knocking sound driving home from work, etc

Justin.Loong
post Oct 29 2019, 05:58 PM

8,326 posts

QUOTE(refnulf @ Oct 29 2019, 05:01 PM)
Just day to day, go to bathroom at night, check for robbers, noise outside, look at engine at night when you hear knocking sound driving home from work, etc
For bathroom at night, choose a torchlight that has moonlight mode. By the time you wake up to go toilet, your eyes are already adjusted to darkness so you don't need high lumens. ph34r.gif yawn.gif
refnulf
post Oct 29 2019, 08:57 PM

I love Hulu
7,937 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Oct 29 2019, 05:58 PM)
For bathroom at night, choose a torchlight that has moonlight mode. By the time you wake up to go toilet, your eyes are already adjusted to darkness so you don't need high lumens.    ph34r.gif  yawn.gif
I see, any recommendations?
huislaw
post Oct 30 2019, 08:15 AM

1,344 posts

If robbers are a concern , might need high power strobe to stun them. But, run away if you can. U know lah the law here.

Check out what I meant.
https://youtu.be/uWxWxhFp0oY

This post has been edited by huislaw: Oct 30 2019, 08:17 AM
Justin.Loong
post Oct 30 2019, 08:28 AM

8,326 posts

QUOTE(refnulf @ Oct 29 2019, 08:57 PM)
I see, any recommendations?
Actually, no I'm afraid. sad.gif
Because it's largely up to you to decide if you want AAA, AA, 14500, 16340 / RCR123, 18650 battery type. And also your budget. moneyflies.gif

For me, I restrict to using AA (14500) and 16430 batteries which means I'm using my Olight S1A and S1 regularly. blush.gif

huislaw
post Oct 30 2019, 08:30 AM

1,344 posts

If weight is a concern for day to day, may consider small keychain light like nitecore tip2.
But the battery doesn’t last long.
refnulf
post Oct 30 2019, 09:04 AM

I love Hulu
7,937 posts

You guys have been very helpful, thank you thank you
WingNut
post Oct 30 2019, 09:10 AM

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Oct 30 2019, 08:28 AM)
Actually, no I'm afraid.  sad.gif
Because it's largely up to you to decide if you want AAA, AA, 14500, 16340 / RCR123, 18650 battery type. And also your budget.  moneyflies.gif

For me, I restrict to using AA (14500) and 16430 batteries which means I'm using my Olight S1A and S1 regularly.  blush.gif

i regularly use my s1r turbo s so yes, the s1 series is a good edc. but if going to the toilet is gonna be its regular usage, i would say the manker u12 would be an excellent choice as the battery indicator glow makes it easy to locate in the dark. it doesn't have to be the u12 but one with a soft glow location indicator will come in very handy in the dark.

and no, strobes no matter how easily accessible, would not be of much use in a surprise attack situation. it would be difficult to disorientate a person who already has a target lock on you, and you're more likely to blind yourself in such a situation than your assailant. it would, if you have it ready and anticipate an attack in the dark. just my two sen.

p.s. more importantly, keep a tab on your budget whistling.gif

This post has been edited by WingNut: Oct 30 2019, 09:13 AM
Justin.Loong
post Oct 30 2019, 11:26 AM

8,326 posts

QUOTE(WingNut @ Oct 30 2019, 09:10 AM)
i regularly use my s1r turbo s so yes, the s1 series is a good edc. but if going to the toilet is gonna be its regular usage, i would say the manker u12 would be an excellent choice as the battery indicator glow makes it easy to locate in the dark. it doesn't have to be the u12 but one with a soft glow location indicator will come in very handy in the dark.

and no, strobes no matter how easily accessible, would not be of much use in a surprise attack situation. it would be difficult to disorientate a person who already has a target lock on you, and you're more likely to blind yourself in such a situation than your assailant. it would, if you have it ready and anticipate an attack in the dark. just my two sen.

p.s. more importantly, keep a tab on your budget  whistling.gif
oh, nice! thumbsup.gif
WingNut
post Oct 30 2019, 04:41 PM

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Oct 30 2019, 11:26 AM)
oh, nice!  thumbsup.gif

if you think that's nice... wait till you check out this vid:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JSNhlx3IyVc

whistling.gif
Justin.Loong
post Oct 30 2019, 04:56 PM

8,326 posts

QUOTE(WingNut @ Oct 30 2019, 04:41 PM)
if you think that's nice... wait till you check out this vid:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JSNhlx3IyVc

whistling.gif
20700 battery... patut la power... flex.gif

Price also not too bad at RM280. moneyflies.gif party.gif moneyflies.gif
Gadgetworld Shopee Manker U12 (XHP 50 NW)

147 Pages « < 128 129 130 131 132 > » Top

0.0270sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:28 PM