Astro B.yond V4.1, WELCOME TO THE NEW WORLD OF HD

writesimply
post May 8 2010, 12:10 AM

933 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ May 7 2010, 11:53 PM)
About Astro next PVR, how do you think much is it for rent? (reasonable price) hmm.gif

It won't be available for "rent" as I believe Astro's current model would be one decoder for watching or recording. If you want to record, you can pay a monthly fee (likely) or a one-time activation fee (unlikely). They could use proprietary HDDs (unlikely since they would have to provide extra support) or they could let the end user choose the size of their own HDDs (likely since the end user will have to figure the HDD problems out themselves).

So in two years time, everybody will get the B.yond box. Whether you want to activate the HD channels or recording capability, that is your choice.

fuad
dxjb
post May 8 2010, 01:56 AM

807 posts

EPL Global Channel

Great news for EPL fans perhaps?
If Astro take the channel la..
John Dykes of ESPN will leave at the end of the season to join this channel..
Qash-M
post May 8 2010, 09:40 AM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(dxjb @ May 8 2010, 01:56 AM)
EPL Global Channel

Didn't expect that coming.. whistling.gif
GothFebrio
post May 8 2010, 10:52 AM

too long...did not read
1,304 posts

why suddenly today i got copy protection failed on my hd channels....
klseet
post May 8 2010, 10:52 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(dxjb @ May 7 2010, 04:15 PM)
yeah..is so payah i will just get myself a DVD recorder for my Byond..
if Byond functions turns out to be better than the DVD recorder, i will put the DVD recorder with my 2nd normal Astro decoder
QUOTE(Qash-M @ May 7 2010, 11:53 PM)
About Astro next PVR, how do you think much is it for rent? (reasonable price) hmm.gif
If Astro want to charge extra, if just few ringgit may be don't mind, otherwise I'll need to re-consider again .....
With DVD-HDD recorder become more affordable & loads of features+functions now a day, I seriously doubt I want to pay another fix monthly fee again la....
Most likely I'll invest on another piece of recorder device seem to be more viable since it's 1-off investment only, furthermore can move around and also use it for other purposes.

But my personal view is that, Byond box should have come with the recording function with the already RM20 monthly charges.
Without that, it seem to render Byond box as "incomplete", it's really hard for me to say "you complete me" in terms of TV viewing experience tongue.gif

Just my 2cents smile.gif

Qash-M
post May 8 2010, 11:06 AM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(GothFebrio @ May 8 2010, 10:52 AM)
why suddenly today i got copy protection failed on my hd channels....
I also have similar problem last midnight too. After reconnection, seems back to normal. First time. sweat.gif
spikey2506
post May 8 2010, 12:32 PM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

QUOTE(dxjb @ May 8 2010, 01:56 AM)
EPL Global Channel

I expect the channel will be on board Astro. From next year, all matches will be live right? So that channel should be in. But hopefully it will not be an excuse for Asssterung to hike the fee for sports package.

BTW, ESPN without John Dykes?? That's like Hannah Tan without her assets. Half the fun. tongue.gif
CP-MH
post May 8 2010, 01:28 PM

42 posts

guy .. just want to know .. does normal channel looks better using this beyond ? or just same like before ..
AjkR06
post May 8 2010, 01:38 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(CP-MH @ May 8 2010, 01:28 PM)
guy .. just want to know .. does normal channel looks better using this beyond ? or just same like before ..
sorry to say, but normal channel just same as before.. same like when u use SD decoder.... notworthy.gif
only HD channels have very obvious changes.... tongue.gif
choobee
post May 8 2010, 03:04 PM

69 posts

hi guys, i dunno if anyone has brought this up before. but i find it really annoying so lemme vent and rant ok? smile.gif

isn't it silly that the damn ESPN HD channel just shows the next programme at what time, without any breaks, without any movement/animation, i.e. jsut burning your panel. who knows, there are ppl who just want to wait for the match an hour in advance haha tongue.gif
dxjb
post May 8 2010, 04:08 PM

807 posts

QUOTE(spikey2506 @ May 8 2010, 12:32 PM)
I expect the channel will be on board Astro. From next year, all matches will be live right? So that channel should be in. But hopefully it will not be an excuse for Asssterung to hike the fee for sports package.

BTW, ESPN without John Dykes?? That's like Hannah Tan without her assets. Half the fun.  tongue.gif
I doubt that the channel will carry the LIVE matches though..
Take a look:

New Premiere League Channel

I think Astro will do copy the Sky Sports UK version in showing the 380 matches
So if there are matches at the same time, we can pick the match of our choice pressing Red button on the remote
Astro will either hike the price or repackage the Sports package I think..

Yup..no John Dykes- no fun.. No assets - Not Hannah Tan..hehehe

This post has been edited by dxjb: May 8 2010, 06:30 PM
AstroCreep
post May 8 2010, 08:21 PM

104 posts

Anyone tried using Samsung TV remote to control Astro Beyond receiver? Been trying most of codes, but still couldn't find the right one (!) Help !

Qash-M
post May 8 2010, 08:49 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(AstroCreep @ May 8 2010, 08:21 PM)
Anyone tried using Samsung TV remote to control Astro Beyond receiver? Been trying most of codes, but still couldn't find the right one (!) Help !
Have you tried this?:

http://www.astro.com.my/byond/smartuserguide.asp

This post has been edited by Qash-M: May 8 2010, 08:50 PM
dxjb
post May 8 2010, 10:59 PM

807 posts

QUOTE(AstroCreep @ May 8 2010, 08:21 PM)
Are u trying to control ur Samsung TV with Byond remote or trying to control Byond with the Samsung remote?
If I'm not mistaken, most of us are using Byond remote to control TV not the other way around like ur saying
AstroCreep
post May 8 2010, 11:46 PM

104 posts

Yes, I was thinking the other way round, TV remote to control Astro, limited though.
I've programmed the Astro remote to control TV, but volume still can't be controlled? Sorry, nube question.

dxjb
post May 9 2010, 12:17 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(AstroCreep @ May 8 2010, 11:46 PM)
Yes, I was thinking the other way round, TV remote to control Astro, limited though.
I've programmed the Astro remote to control TV, but volume still can't be controlled? Sorry, nube question.
Not sure about how to programme the TV remote..
But to control volume with Astro remote, try this
Hold down OK and VOL+ until the remote blinks twice
To remove this option try
OK and VOL- until the remote blinks 4 times

I think u should be able to control volume after doing the first step..

This post has been edited by dxjb: May 9 2010, 12:19 AM
writesimply
post May 9 2010, 01:14 AM

933 posts

Jurassic Park and The Lost World will be on HBO HD, starting at 9:45AM today (Sunday). Hopefully it will be in HD and with 5.1 audio.

fuad
klseet
post May 9 2010, 01:59 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(choobee @ May 8 2010, 03:04 PM)
hi guys, i dunno if anyone has brought this up before. but i find it really annoying so lemme vent and rant ok? smile.gif

isn't it silly that the damn ESPN HD channel just shows the next programme at what time, without any breaks, without any movement/animation, i.e. jsut burning your panel. who knows, there are ppl who just want to wait for the match an hour in advance haha tongue.gif
Me too, so far I didn't manage to watch ESPN HD yet as most of the time I'm rather "lucky" to see "next programe schedule ...." sweat.gif
So after sometime I almost forgot this channel laugh.gif

QUOTE(AstroCreep @ May 8 2010, 11:46 PM)
Er, I don't think you can use the TV remote to control Astro, unless you get some kind of "all-in-1" universal remote control, eg like this type:
http://www.chunghop.com/en/products_view.asp?id=137
That way you may keep all remote controls and just use 1 to control all nod.gif

With regards to the volumn, I asked the same question before and was told by forumer here that the Astro volumn control has no impact if output through HDMI.
So you only need to use Astro volumn control if you are not using HDMI output to your TV.

This post has been edited by klseet: May 9 2010, 02:02 AM
TallJustin
post May 9 2010, 01:59 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ May 7 2010, 10:24 AM)
Sorry bros, the more I read the more I get confused now ..... rclxub.gif
So is it so sort of "firmware" upgrade to the current Byond box withe the "record/burn" application, so we just plug in HDD through USB and press "Record" button? What format? Can later play on PC? So we just leave the Byond on 24 hrs from now to update?? blink.gif
The firmware is still in testing and not released yet.

Oh ya ah, TallJustin's new born baby should be full moon liao right ?!  tongue.gif
Hope he can help to clarify further.
We had a girl and she's great, surprised you mentioned it actually.

I'm testing the system now but I can't clarify a lot of things until astro makes a press release about it. Where I can I will answer questions. Yes it is just a firmware update to get the service.

Many years ago before the DVD recorder, I was using some kind of video capture device/card to record into PC, but it was expensive and the result is not so good.  With technology advancement, I'm trying to check around what kind of PC recording solution which possibly can either replace my current setup. But that will take time, so definitely I'll keep my recorders for time being.

Hope some sifu out there also can provide some idea/suggestion on movie/video recording solution nod.gif
HDCP over HDMI prevents the recording of HD quality but if you use composite cables there are lots of devices out there that can record but it's only recording SD quality. I'm using a Pinnacle Hybrid TV Tuner with EyeTV software.

dxjb
post May 9 2010, 02:12 AM

807 posts

yyeeeeaaahhhh!!!!

WELCOME BACK AND CONGRATULATIONS SIFU TALLJUSTIN!!! notworthy.gif

108 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top