Astro B.yond V4.1, WELCOME TO THE NEW WORLD OF HD

spikey2506
post Mar 30 2010, 09:35 AM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

I've seen the ad for Discovery HD also. Just now on Discovery Travel and Living. This is too often to be a blunder by Astro censors right? The ad shows splashing water, looks like the balls and paints ad on NatGeo HD, to highlight the HD capabilities.

Astro also does not confirm nor deny about this on their FB page, any insiders from Astro can confirm?
spikey2506
post Mar 31 2010, 07:51 PM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

This is Astro's reply from their FB page. Just one day before 1st April, finally they replied.

Hi, this is the response from Discovery Networks – Thank you for your interest in Discovery HD. Unfortunately, Discovery HD is not available on the Astro platform at the moment. Discovery HD is currently only available in selected countries in Southeast Asia.

In the past week, Discovery Networks ran some teasers to introduce the rebrand of Discovery HD to Discovery HD World on 1st April. As the feed for Discovery Channel, Animal Planet and Discovery Travel and Living goes across all of Southeast Asia, viewers in Malaysia also saw the spot. The spot was meant to introduce the re-brand for countries where Discovery HD is already available as Discovery's HD service has not been introduced in Malaysia yet.

Discovery Networks apologises for any confusion caused.

spikey2506
post Apr 3 2010, 09:19 AM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Apr 3 2010, 08:35 AM)
AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  drool.gif 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Direc...nited_States%29

(wonder if one day Astro will be like that... I sure, one day we can be like them... Malaysia Boleh!  thumbup.gif )
I want to subscribe to channels 589 to 599. When will Astro offer them? biggrin.gif
spikey2506
post Apr 3 2010, 10:53 PM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Apr 3 2010, 11:46 AM)
hmm... 30rd century maybe....  blush.gif  notworthy.gif
QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ Apr 3 2010, 11:51 AM)
Impossible maybe...  rclxms.gif
QUOTE(cam40729 @ Apr 3 2010, 10:22 PM)
200% not possible
Hahaha. I know. Not in a million years. A man can dream though. tongue.gif
spikey2506
post Apr 9 2010, 07:15 PM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

QUOTE(king_kenny @ Apr 9 2010, 06:53 PM)
Astro FB say got suprise for 'soccer' fan this Sunday & advise us to leave our decoder in standby mode.

World Cup channel is ready?

P/S : Why refer football as soccer, we are not American?
CH804, a dedicated preview channel for World Cup. No mention of HD, so it should be SD.

As the leading sports content provider and the official Pay-TV broadcaster of the 2010 South Africa FIFA World Cup™, Astro is pleased to introduce Astro SuperSport+ (Channel 804) a preview channel dedicated to the FIFA World Cup™, beginning on Sunday, 11th April 2010 at 0001hrs to 10th June 2010 (Thursday) at 2359hrs for Astro Sports Pack subscribers.

The channel which will feature FIFA World Cup™ supporting programs, qualifiers as well as friendly matches is set to excite die-hard football fans amongst the Astro customers. Through this channel, fans will get to know the participating countries better as they relive the exciting moments of their FIFA World Cup™ journey to South Africa. Astro is proud to be the home of sports with 6 dedicated sports channels in our Sports package.

This channel will feature:
• FIFA World Cup Supporting programs such as FIFA Official Films, FIFA World Cup Magazine, FIFA World Cup Stories and FIFA Classic Matches to name a few.
• Matches of the World Cup Qualifiers played from June 2009 until the big Playoff.
• International Friendly Matches from June 2009 till this year.
• Football Greatest which will offer profiles of some of our past and present football legends
• Destination South Africa – a profile of each team that has made it to the finals
• Football Rivalries where you can catch a glimpse of the heat between the teams, their players and the coaches.

Astro SuperSport+ is available to all Astro Sports pack subscribers beginning Sunday, 11 April 2010 until Thursday, 10 June on Channel 804 at no additional cost.

spikey2506
post Apr 15 2010, 10:26 PM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

I wonder how will the firmware of the Byond box handles the recording later. Will it follow the start and stop times in the EPG? If that's the case, some programs will lose the endings, as lately many programs end after the scheduled end time, sometimes up to five minutes. Hopefully Astro will address this.
spikey2506
post Apr 22 2010, 01:07 PM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

Pleaseeeee, no subs. Close captioned yes. I despise the hard subs in Astro!
spikey2506
post Apr 26 2010, 11:34 PM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

May is near already. We should be hearing about which carriers that will carry AXN HD Asia soon.
spikey2506
post Apr 27 2010, 10:39 AM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

Anybody used Byond with an older dish? My parents' house has Astro that was installed back in 2000. I wonder if the dish will work with Byond.
spikey2506
post Apr 27 2010, 03:45 PM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

QUOTE(king_kenny @ Apr 27 2010, 02:42 PM)
he wants to bring the byond decoder to his parent's house whenever he balik kampung la
Yes, precisely. Anyhow, will try when I go back next month. Hopefully it won't fry the 10 years old LNB back home. sweat.gif
spikey2506
post Apr 28 2010, 07:41 AM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

QUOTE(dxjb @ Apr 28 2010, 03:22 AM)
To those who said online application is fast, then u have an example of what I have said..
No..online application is not fast..might be for some but not for this poor friend..
Bro..get on the phone and call them..sometimes online application is useless..
Calling them would be faster..
I am going to balik kampung to my grandparents home this weekend..
They dont have HDTV so no HDMI port..
They do have astro and use normal TV]
I want to bring my Byond decoder back
I know I wont get HD quality but my package is better than my grandparents
So if I bring my Byond box, remote, and smart card with me, how do i set up?
Other than connecting satellite cable to Byond decoder, what cables should I connect from TV to decoder?
What colour?
Can any sifu help?
Just use normal composite should do. The yellow/white/red.
spikey2506
post May 1 2010, 01:16 PM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

Tune to Ch 980, an HD test channel. Anybody wanna bet that it will be AXN HD?
spikey2506
post May 1 2010, 07:01 PM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ May 1 2010, 06:54 PM)
rclxm9.gif  what program available there? or just a blank channel??
Currently not at my home now... going holidays with my friends for 3 days....  rolleyes.gif
Can't even see the content actually, the message that the channel is not under subscription will come out. But the HD icon is there.
spikey2506
post May 1 2010, 08:11 PM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

QUOTE(kayly @ May 1 2010, 07:54 PM)
grrrr...there's no live telecast through espn hd for the game of man city vs. aston villa tonite!!!!
Yea man. That is a super important match. Show Birmingham City for what??
spikey2506
post May 4 2010, 08:30 AM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

The thread will only be active if there's an issue with Byond(stretch vs 4:3) or there's a new channel. Without either one, it will be veeeerrrrrryyyyy quiet. tongue.gif
spikey2506
post May 4 2010, 11:39 PM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ May 4 2010, 09:53 PM)
May be we should start more detail on those HD channels in detail ... let start with the NatGeo HD.....
This evening, after watching so very detail & so very enlargement on those home insects, my wife was so surprised why I suddenly eat so little, somemore with green face ph34r.gif .....
Bloody hell, those insects are soooooo real, never in my life see so fine detail, really feel like vomit wacko.gif
Aha, Bug Brother, on Nat Geo HD. I managed to watch only half of it this morning. Will wait for the repeat at 1.30 am after this. Surreal man, those fleas look reaaaaaaaaaaaaallllyyy scary up close. sweat.gif
But awesome in HD though. thumbup.gif
spikey2506
post May 6 2010, 02:43 PM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

Audience measurement data? I wonder how do they do this. As they have mentioned before that they decoders are only capable of one way traffic only, they do not transmit back.
spikey2506
post May 8 2010, 12:32 PM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

QUOTE(dxjb @ May 8 2010, 01:56 AM)
EPL Global Channel

Great news for EPL fans perhaps?
If Astro take the channel la..
John Dykes of ESPN will leave at the end of the season to join this channel..
I expect the channel will be on board Astro. From next year, all matches will be live right? So that channel should be in. But hopefully it will not be an excuse for Asssterung to hike the fee for sports package.

BTW, ESPN without John Dykes?? That's like Hannah Tan without her assets. Half the fun. tongue.gif
spikey2506
post May 11 2010, 09:18 PM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

Ah, so two mysteries have been solved. One carrier will be Starhub and the launch date will be 25th May. Will the other carrier be Astro? Pleassssssseeeeeeee. Let it be Astro!
spikey2506
post May 12 2010, 01:44 PM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ May 12 2010, 11:55 AM)
Finally got my Byond after waiting for 3 weeks! mad.gif

But boy oh boy is it nice. I almost gave up hope of watching Monaco GP in HD oredi. Luckily it came today.
U will still be disappointed this weekend bro. Coz F1 in ESPN HD is upscaled only, not a true HD. But still better than SD la.

0.0249sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:02 PM