Astro B.yond V3.0, HD Content Available
RAMChYLD
Jan 26 2010, 01:59 PM
QUOTE(smileguy @ Jan 26 2010, 01:58 PM) Please note that Astro supersport HD is only showing selected matches from ASN and is Off air most of the time  Ok. The channel that ASSP HD is leaching on 99% of the time if they're on-air then. QUOTE(smileguy @ Jan 26 2010, 01:55 PM) Lets not cast too many expectations on ESPN HD it may not be as expected just Wait N See ! Astro assured ESPN HD but remember the schedule could be a surprise or could be a dissappointment. I guess the schedule terms is causing the delay .As it is we have Asian versions and now even malaysian versions so hold on please !  I'm betting that it's something run from Astro's own transmitter, they just license the name only. Unless we're going to be the first in Asia to get the channel... QUOTE(Qash-M @ Jan 26 2010, 01:56 PM) AXN HD now in Portogal only.  Then dun need to expect it for now lor. Portugal means that it's only relayed to European satellites. Must wait for a AXN HD Asia. Which is unlikely because we dun even have AXN Beyond after that promo phase. Singapore has it oredi. This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 26 2010, 02:17 PM
smileguy
Jan 26 2010, 02:01 PM
QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Jan 26 2010, 01:59 PM) I'm betting that it's something run from Astro's own transmitter, they just license the name only. Unless we're going to be the first in Asia to get the channel... Then dun need to expect it for now lor. Portugal means that it's only relayed to European satellites. Must wait for a AXN HD Asia. Which is unlikely because we dun even have AXN beyond. I too bet its gonna be a ESPN/Astro JV OR just another SIMULCAST of ESPN SD This post has been edited by smileguy: Jan 26 2010, 02:15 PM
gaarared
Jan 26 2010, 02:10 PM
QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Jan 26 2010, 01:48 PM) http://mio.singtel.com/miotv/channels-on-demand_channels.asphttp://www.starhub.com/tv/moreforyourtv/hd...ml#tabcontrol-2MioTV: - HD5 - Li - We TV - Sundance Starhub: - HD5 - Nat Geo HD - Discovery HD - History HD - Sports HD - ASN HD (the channel Astro Supersports HD is leaching off 99% of the time) - HBO HD Hmmm, looks like Singapore has no ESPN HD after all... Does this channel really exist or did Astro pull the name out of thin air? Also, where's AXN HD?  Why dont astro include discovery HD too??
RAMChYLD
Jan 26 2010, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(gaarared @ Jan 26 2010, 02:10 PM) Why dont astro include discovery HD too?? Nobody knows why. Most people on this forum demand for the channel anyway. This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 26 2010, 02:12 PM
gaarared
Jan 26 2010, 02:21 PM
QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Jan 26 2010, 02:12 PM) Nobody knows why. Most people on this forum demand for the channel anyway. Maybe discovery channel more expensive than nat geo, but i prefer discovery than nat geo.
RAMChYLD
Jan 26 2010, 02:23 PM
QUOTE(gaarared @ Jan 26 2010, 02:21 PM) Maybe discovery channel more expensive than nat geo, but i prefer discovery than nat geo. Maybe. But this really show how short term their thinking is. It's more expensive, but will get more people to sign up/upgrade, and they break even faster right? Or do they still have a decoder shortage problem (which also show how shortsighted they are)? Like the Smart TAG, always out of stock one... This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 26 2010, 02:29 PM
harmeet15
Jan 26 2010, 02:32 PM
QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Jan 26 2010, 01:48 PM) Hmmm, looks like Singapore has no ESPN HD after all... Does this channel really exist or did Astro pull the name out of thin air? i have a reason to believe that they maybe leasing it frm skysports hd im just guessing/assuming it..
eMKs
Jan 26 2010, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Jan 26 2010, 02:23 PM) Maybe. But this really show how short term their thinking is. It's more expensive, but will get more people to sign up/upgrade, and they break even faster right? Or do they still have a decoder shortage problem (which also show how shortsighted they are)? Like the Smart TAG, always out of stock one... They roll out earlier because they want to break even faster (I think la). Also they want to pioneer HDTV market in Malaysia (TM IPTV schedule to launch in Jan this year, but still not available). Eventhough only 4 channel avaialable & they are not fully prepared in term of installer, but subscribers numbers boom already. Maybe it's commercial issue on Discovery HD & some of other channel, who knows. Remember how desperate Astro to sign an exclusive right when they know MiTV planned to launch their PayTV. Maybe we need competitor to make it more faster.
gaarared
Jan 26 2010, 03:04 PM
QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Jan 26 2010, 02:23 PM) Maybe. But this really show how short term their thinking is. It's more expensive, but will get more people to sign up/upgrade, and they break even faster right? Or do they still have a decoder shortage problem (which also show how shortsighted they are)? Like the Smart TAG, always out of stock one... agreed..haha very good comparison..
Lone*Wolf
Jan 26 2010, 03:09 PM
apexg2 - why u merge the poll here?
TSapexg2
Jan 26 2010, 03:12 PM
im trying to play with the applications but suddenly cannot edit..hehe....how to disable/edit eh?sorry!!
m_imrun
Jan 26 2010, 03:29 PM

I heard that PQ of the SD channel become poor when watching astro byond. Is this true? How about the other SD channel, are we till get in 4:3 format or 16:9?
TSapexg2
Jan 26 2010, 03:32 PM
maybe bcoz u have watch the HD quality then the eyes will get cheated when watch back the SD channel...just my opinion...
JOR23N
Jan 26 2010, 03:36 PM

Which SD channels giving the BEST quality? Added on January 26, 2010, 3:44 pmQUOTE(marky @ Jan 26 2010, 11:34 AM) mine show DD also but if i actually go to the rear speaker no sound 1 >< can you try? ASSP HD's surround no sound one unless the HBO promo comes out, then only u are 'surrounded' or the nice Byond commercial. For Byond commercial, you can hear the leopard roaring only on HD while on SD, i couldn't hear anything or barely. History HD also no surround but NATGEO HD do carry the surround, and i have to turn down my sub woofer's gain. But my AVR do have DD sign when i tuned to HD channels. This post has been edited by JOR23N: Jan 26 2010, 03:44 PM
m_imrun
Jan 26 2010, 03:59 PM

How about the other SD channel, are we still get in 4:3 format or 16:9?
marky
Jan 26 2010, 04:32 PM
@JOR23N
Thanks...finally got a confirmation on this...
TallJustin
Jan 26 2010, 04:34 PM

QUOTE(JOR23N @ Jan 26 2010, 03:36 PM) Which SD channels giving the BEST quality? Added on January 26, 2010, 3:44 pmASSP HD's surround no sound one unless the HBO promo comes out, then only u are 'surrounded' or the nice Byond commercial. For Byond commercial, you can hear the leopard roaring only on HD while on SD, i couldn't hear anything or barely. History HD also no surround but NATGEO HD do carry the surround, and i have to turn down my sub woofer's gain. But my AVR do have DD sign when i tuned to HD channels. Regarding 5.1 it totally depends on the programme. it is not a channel setting. Not all programmes on HD channels have 5.1.
eMKs
Jan 26 2010, 04:37 PM
QUOTE(m_imrun @ Jan 26 2010, 03:59 PM) How about the other SD channel, are we still get in 4:3 format or 16:9? yes, still in 4:3 same as its native resolution. btw, you can stretch it to 16:9 which is not recommended or just leave it in 4:3 with pillar box (black bars at left & right)
RAMChYLD
Jan 26 2010, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(eMKs @ Jan 26 2010, 02:53 PM) They roll out earlier because they want to break even faster (I think la). Also they want to pioneer HDTV market in Malaysia (TM IPTV schedule to launch in Jan this year, but still not available). Eventhough only 4 channel avaialable & they are not fully prepared in term of installer, but subscribers numbers boom already. Maybe it's commercial issue on Discovery HD & some of other channel, who knows. Remember how desperate Astro to sign an exclusive right when they know MiTV planned to launch their PayTV. Maybe we need competitor to make it more faster. We do have competitors. Problem is their PQ is even worse than Astro because they're using IPTV and you cannot get good PQ through a 1Mbps stimix line. And IPTV status still huru-hara, so far all ISPs with capping will count IPTV traffic towards the quota. That, and the competitors are not taking the business seriously, only targeting niche market (FineTV? All Malay programming. DeTV? All China/Taiwan channels, will only appeal to Chinese/Taiwanese expats). QUOTE(m_imrun @ Jan 26 2010, 03:29 PM) I heard that PQ of the SD channel become poor when watching astro byond. Is this true? How about the other SD channel, are we till get in 4:3 format or 16:9? So far, I dun see that. SD still looks reasonable. I agree with the other members tho, maybe your eyes used to HD already that suddenly switching to SD will become noticable and irritating. This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 26 2010, 05:00 PM
Ah Wing
Jan 26 2010, 05:09 PM
QUOTE(enemyofgod @ Jan 26 2010, 11:55 AM) Does it still work under the rain condition? I wonder this could encourage myself to get one..  Yes, it does work when it's raining heavily . I didn't encounter any signal lost at all and I am pretty impressed, man