141 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Bottom

Studying in Australia (V 3.1), Please use proper English

Hikari0307
post Dec 26 2010, 10:41 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Dec 26 2010, 10:16 PM)
Ok, thank you so much, much appreciated!

Added on December 26, 2010, 10:23 pmExcuse me again, how long after the medical is visa granted?
Thanks in advance
For me my visa got approved in 2 days. I did my online visa application on Monday, did my medical check up of Tuesday and my student visa got approved on Thursday though that was early this month, not that many people are doing their student visas yet. Now with a lot of students already having full offers etc. they will be a whole bunch of people applying for student visa now increasing immigration's work load so it could take up to 10 working days.
treble27
post Dec 26 2010, 10:48 PM

39 posts

Hello!
May I know if anyone is planning to buy a broadband in Perth, Australia?
Is it necessary to buy it?
How to buy the broadband?

I'm clueless...Thanks in advance for your attention and help smile.gif

Hikari0307
post Dec 26 2010, 11:03 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(treble27 @ Dec 26 2010, 10:48 PM)
Hello!

I'm clueless...Thanks in advance for your attention and help  smile.gif
you want to buy broadband? wow you got a lot of money ahahaha whistling.gif
if your think you can live without internet and the internet your university provide you is enough to do assignments then no need though that's very limited, how about some entertainment, social stuff etc. ^^
Go google around there's a lot of types. Search for the one most suitable for you.
treble27
post Dec 26 2010, 11:19 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(Hikari0307 @ Dec 26 2010, 11:03 PM)
you want to buy broadband? wow you got a lot of money ahahaha whistling.gif
if your think you can live without internet and the internet your university provide you is enough to do assignments then no need though that's very limited, how about some entertainment, social stuff etc. ^^
Go google around there's a lot of types. Search for the one most suitable for you.
hehe, I'm not that rich..uumm, so it is not encouraged then..Thank you, Hikari! biggrin.gif
btw, love your pic
alip_11
post Dec 27 2010, 12:02 AM

232 posts

QUOTE(december88 @ Dec 25 2010, 05:11 PM)
If you're talking about incoming flight to Australia for quarantine, then yes packed and wrap all your foods in one bag nicely either as hand luggage or just inside your main luggage.
It depends as well, sometimes they will ask you to open your main luggage for inspection even if you carry your food as hand luggage, no biggie just take your time packing everything back ones you're cleared from quarantine.
Nowdays, I do not bring food from Malaysia because almost everything is here, BUT I always buy chocolate in KLIA and carry it as hand luggage because the quarantine inspection at Adelaide airport is faster if you declared you're bringing food in.
Anyway a little tip about the custom declaration if in doubt just tick yes, always.
well then.. I guess I'll be bringing some food in my hand luggage. biggrin.gif

still have one week before I can apply for visa.. gonna be a bit hectic in early Jan i supposed.. sweat.gif
december88
post Dec 27 2010, 12:53 AM

479 posts

My advise for newbies when you arrived in Australia do not rush to get your broadband especially if you're signing a contact, especially true for 3G broadband.
But compare to previous years, this year have been a really competitive price/service wise in the broadband industry, heck even Telstra's Bigpond broadband looks tasty.
Scout around and ask questions here but please do your research first.
On a personal note my broadband plan values changed 3 times this year, first 10 dollars price cut, then data increased from 50GB to 70 GB then to 150 GB at the same price point.

QUOTE(alip_11 @ Dec 27 2010, 12:02 AM)
well then.. I guess I'll be bringing some food in my hand luggage.  biggrin.gif
still have one week before I can apply for visa.. gonna be a bit hectic in early Jan i supposed..  sweat.gif
Enjoy your time back home and I am sure you're looking forward to be in Australia. smile.gif
gome
post Dec 27 2010, 07:59 AM

488 posts

QUOTE(treble27 @ Dec 26 2010, 10:48 PM)
Hello!

I'm clueless...Thanks in advance for your attention and help  smile.gif
I think you mean subscribing to a broadband package biggrin.gif. I'm heading to Perth too, and I've been told that if you're without Internet...you're screwed (to boredom). But Internet seems rather expensive, like a prized commodity in aussie. Heck, my university-to-be used to charge students for using Internet inside the campus shakehead.gif. If you're looking for adsl, naked dsl and tpg seems to be the popular ones.
daccorn
post Dec 27 2010, 08:19 AM

411 posts

I'm about to leave back to Malaysia after 5 years so let me say good luck and have fun studying in Australia.

Internet is important but I also enjoy spells of down time to do other stuff really tongue.gif
FTK
post Dec 27 2010, 05:09 PM

Hi,all. First of all,thanks for the guides posted here,really useful and appreciate that.

I am currently studying in Monash Sunway Campus,Malaysia (Bachelor of Business and Commerce,majoring Accounting and Finance). I just finished my year 1 and next year will start my year 2 sem 1.
Anyway,I am thinking to transfer to Australia next year. I am stuck between a few choices (Monash Claufield,Melbourne U,University of Sydney and UNSW).
At first,I decided to just continue in Monash Claufield,but I have heard some negative comments from my friends. My friends and coursemates are encouraging me to go for a better uni as my results are actually above average.

Well,I love Accounting and Finance (love Finance more =p) and I am thinking to pursuit a CFA after degree.
So,my main concern is the degree from which of universities I mentioned above is accredited by CFA?

and if possible,do tell me which university is more suitable for a person like me? Who have passion in finance,competitive (can call me "kiasu"),independent,goal-oriented(I set goals and achieve them from time to time) and moderately sociable(cold at beginning,easily get hot once familiar with me).

Besides,I having trouble in checking whether can my current credits be all successfully transferred to the universities I mentioned above. I have try to search through all the universities website,yet I cant really find any of them. Can any seniors here help me in this?
limeuu
post Dec 27 2010, 06:31 PM

12,290 posts

for transfers, you will not find any info in the websites.........you will need to get a transcript from monash msia, and contact the respective unis directly, give them your transcript, and see if they are willing to accept you as a transfer student, and how much exemption they will allow........
FTK
post Dec 27 2010, 06:40 PM

QUOTE(limeuu @ Dec 27 2010, 06:31 PM)
for transfers, you will not find any info in the websites.........you will need to get a transcript from monash msia, and contact the respective unis directly, give them your transcript, and see if they are willing to accept you as a transfer student, and how much exemption they will allow........
Thanks for your reply!
btw,do you think those international education services provider such as IDP can help me in this? I mean contact the university.
Anyway,do you have any idea whether that degree from which of the University I mentioned above is recognized by CFA? As for Monash,it is confirmed recognized and accredited as I am studying there. but,I am not sure about UNSW and Melbourne U. can help?
rickrick
post Dec 27 2010, 06:51 PM

Perth please be good to my business !!
505 posts

for people coming to perth for studies, trust me get a ADSL2+ broadband plan.
I'm with 3 wireless broadband 2gb and seriously it's not enuf man.
Trust me you'll need the GB's ! Going to sign up with internode naked s t-shirt plan after finding a new house to stay : )

This post has been edited by rickrick: Dec 27 2010, 06:52 PM
treble27
post Dec 27 2010, 08:22 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(gome @ Dec 27 2010, 07:59 AM)
I think you mean subscribing to a broadband package biggrin.gif. I'm heading to Perth too, and I've been told that if you're without Internet...you're screwed (to boredom). But Internet seems rather expensive, like a prized commodity in aussie. Heck, my university-to-be used to charge students for using Internet inside the campus shakehead.gif. If you're looking for adsl, naked dsl and tpg seems to be the popular ones.
which university are you going to?

Added on December 27, 2010, 8:23 pm
QUOTE(rickrick @ Dec 27 2010, 06:51 PM)
for people coming to perth for studies, trust me get a ADSL2+ broadband plan.
I'm with 3 wireless broadband 2gb and seriously it's not enuf man.
Trust me you'll need the GB's ! Going to sign up with internode naked s t-shirt plan after finding a new house to stay : )
hello! how much does it cost? brows.gif

This post has been edited by treble27: Dec 27 2010, 08:23 PM
Tony C
post Dec 27 2010, 08:37 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(FTK @ Dec 27 2010, 08:40 PM)
Thanks for your reply!
btw,do you think those international education services provider such as IDP can help me in this? I mean contact the university.
Anyway,do you have any idea whether that degree from which of the University I mentioned above is recognized by CFA? As for Monash,it is confirmed recognized and accredited as I am studying there. but,I am not sure about UNSW and Melbourne U. can help?
IDP should be able to help you with this, or at the very least provide you with sufficient guidance. As for accreditation information, they are all on the uni websites. Go to their websites and sniff around for a bit. It's important to look out for and understand some of these information yourself as you will be investing a fair amount of money in it.
podrunner
post Dec 27 2010, 09:29 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(alip_11 @ Dec 27 2010, 12:02 AM)
well then.. I guess I'll be bringing some food in my hand luggage.  biggrin.gif
still have one week before I can apply for visa.. gonna be a bit hectic in early Jan i supposed..  sweat.gif
Why do you still have one week? Are you also waiting for your eCOE? I'm chasing like crazy.
[S]ignature ¾
post Dec 27 2010, 10:20 PM

231 posts

hows the iphone package there ?
Shooterz
post Dec 28 2010, 12:19 AM

abcdefaiz
2,538 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Dec 27 2010, 09:29 PM)
Why do you still have one week? Are you also waiting for your eCOE? I'm chasing like crazy.
we are asked to do our visa in january
Hikari0307
post Dec 28 2010, 12:38 AM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(Shooterz @ Dec 28 2010, 12:19 AM)
we are asked to do our visa in january
why? You can do your student visa as early as 120 days before course commencement. If you have everything ready you should do right away, it's more convenient to do it before the whole crowd comes in.
mushroomgirl
post Dec 28 2010, 02:06 AM

27 posts

hi, do u guys buy your textbooks in Aus? Or buy them in M'sia and bring em over to Aus? I've been told that the books in Aussie costs a bomb yawn.gif

This post has been edited by mushroomgirl: Dec 28 2010, 02:06 AM
Tony C
post Dec 28 2010, 07:30 AM

258 posts

QUOTE(mushroomgirl @ Dec 28 2010, 04:06 AM)
hi, do u guys buy your textbooks in Aus? Or buy them in M'sia and bring em over to Aus? I've been told that the books in Aussie costs a bomb yawn.gif
Purely personal preference. Books are heavy and you have a weight limit to stick to. What I used to do was to wait until the second or third lecture to suss out whether or not the textbooks are needed for the course. Some courses are based largely on textbooks, then yes I will buy - but I'll try to look for second hand books, or buy it from seniors who are getting rid of their old books.

141 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Top

0.0234sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:54 PM