7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Studying in Australia (V 3.1), Please use proper English

Hikari0307
post Jan 23 2010, 01:15 AM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(DaViDcHiN @ Jan 22 2010, 03:30 PM)
I think it's not easy to get 7.0 is IELST though. Working Experiences? I don't have. Sigh...
don't worry about IELTS it's quite easy to score.I just flip through a few examples also can get band 8.0
Hikari0307
post Jan 25 2010, 12:31 AM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(manking91 @ Jan 24 2010, 07:02 PM)
hhey,everyone!! Can anyone let me know what's the difference between the bachelor of acturial science in melbourne univeristy which is under bachelor of commerce and the bachelor of acturial science in ANU?? PLS help me!!
Don't think there is much difference in the subjects you learn just a different name. The one from Melbourne uni is a Bachelor of Commerce where you major in Actuarial and the other bachelor of actuarial studies. Not much difference in terms of what you study maybe a bachelor of commerce is more flexible on which electives you can take ^^ in the end the end the difference just the name of your Bachelor Degree.Melbourne Uni will give you a Bachelor of Commerce while ANU give you Bachelor of Actuarial Studies =)

This post has been edited by Hikari0307: Jan 25 2010, 12:32 AM
Hikari0307
post Feb 4 2010, 03:58 AM

平成の光
4,541 posts

Hey guys I have a question.Can I drive with a P license in Australia or can I only drive with a full license? and if I could do I need to go get an official english translation?
Hikari0307
post Mar 11 2010, 04:35 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(liwei92 @ Mar 11 2010, 03:38 PM)
Hi im just got my result..

i have 5As 5Bs for my result

Which 1 can i apply for any university of australia?

im interested in art
I think with that result you can go to almost any foundation program there.Why you want to go there straight?Go do SAM or something in Taylor's or Ausmat in Sunway or something first before heading to Australia =)
Hikari0307
post Mar 11 2010, 06:09 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(liwei92 @ Mar 11 2010, 05:22 PM)
I want to go for art..but the SAM in taylor doesnt have
What kind of art are you interested in?A lot of Art Degrees can be entered by taking no matter what subject in Pre-U.So my advice is do a pre-u here and choose subjects that you are very confident you can score so you can get into uni as art degrees don't usually have pre-requisites. Or if you have the money nobody can stop you =) choose a very good uni and take their foundation to be sure you can enter their degree.If you want to go straight to Australia I would recommend you to go and discuss your options with IDP.They give the best advice on going to Aussie to further your studies ^^
Hikari0307
post Mar 11 2010, 11:26 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(liwei92 @ Mar 11 2010, 10:33 PM)
Thanks...Really appreciate that..

I wanna try phsychology XD
Actually if you want to try Psychology at pre-u level Taylor's SAM does have it in their subject combination.

There are two combos that has Psychology in SAM
ESL,Mathematical Studies,Accounting studies,Economics and Psychology
The other combo is ESL,Accounting Studies,Economics,Legal Studies and Psychology

and the Cambridge A-Levels at the Hartamas Campus also offer Psychology in two of their combos in the march intake
Mathematics,Economics,Accounting and Psychology
Mathematics,Economics,Law and Psychology
Hikari0307
post May 1 2010, 04:21 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(awoot @ May 1 2010, 04:16 PM)
so might as well go study in the uk then? lol
totally depends on the person, not everybody likes the UK ^^
some like Australia better and stuff ^^
The systems between the two are different as well so depends on what you prefer =)
Hikari0307
post May 8 2010, 11:47 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(alex890628 @ May 8 2010, 11:29 PM)
hmmm i have a lot things duno about study abroad to Australia for my further studies. wat are the requirement study ther if my programme is 2+1? does the Deakin University good in business programme such as Finance / Commerce / Business Management? i'm student from UCSI, and Deakin University is 1 of my UCSI partner university. wat is all the points as limeuu said
you should check with UCSI on that ^^"
you have to accumulate enough of those points in order to get a PR in Aussie
Hikari0307
post May 23 2010, 10:49 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(YapKJ @ May 23 2010, 10:39 PM)
Just some questions here.Is it better to study Actuarial Science or Engineering in Australia?And which is the top University suggested to go for these two courses?
Define: better

those courses you can go to any Group of 8 Uni is find or for Actuarial Macquarie is a really good University as well.

Hikari0307
post May 23 2010, 11:47 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(YapKJ @ May 23 2010, 11:39 PM)
Trying to mean the quality produced in these two course. Which one has a higher quality come to other countries like UK and US. My friends telling me that UK good for engineering and US good for actuarial science. Any idea about Australia?

And,do you know how many papers are exempted from IAA in each university?
Generalizing by Country is not such a good Idea.You got to be University specific. There are really good Universities and bad Universities in each country and this also would depend on how you measure quality.If you want to go by ranking the Group of 8 Universities in Australia is ranked pretty high some higher than a lot of Universities in the UK and US.
Depends on what type of recognition your looking for and so on.Research centered Universities,technical Universities etc. That's why I asked to define better as using such a term is way to general.

you should check the IAA website or the University's website if you want to know more on that ^^"
Hikari0307
post Jul 7 2010, 10:59 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(win20679 @ Jul 7 2010, 09:42 PM)
i thought IDP is only for IETLS... but i have consulted by some agencies at subang... sound not so convincing... that why i might try my luck by asking you guys here...
IDP is one of recommended agents around. They do not only handle IELTS. If you have went to the one in Subang the one on the ground floor is where you can have consultations and whatnot to apply to Universities, while the IELTS center is on the first floor.
Hikari0307
post Aug 15 2010, 03:29 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 15 2010, 02:50 PM)
hmm, i am totally fine by pointing out my mistakes but the "pointing out" statement from him kinda like looking down on me..thats what i feel
so should i be happy if some1 pointing out my mistakes + looking down or sounds harsh? guess not..
i dont mind if u just reply "i dont understand your query,try again?"
but from the way i read and understand your post?sorry dude, that post not comfortable for me...

thats all...

p/s: my English really sucks compare with you guys but at least I still learning...and to be honest,I never type a proper English in Internet especially forum..can say as my "bad style"
You say your learning to improve your English but instead of trying to use proper English everywhere necessary you do not try and improve yourself by writing proper English be it Australian English or whatever when asking a for help? If you don't ask the right questions you will never get the right answers. Why aren't you typing proper English when using the Internet? Do you think it is inappropriate or irrelevant? The internet is among the best place to try and improve yourself without people knowing who you are.

You should use proper English wherever is necessary in order to improve your Language so that this kind of situation don't happen and in this context where it has been warned to use proper English when asking for help here it is totally necessary to use proper English.
Hikari0307
post Aug 20 2010, 12:09 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(v2Rustie @ Aug 20 2010, 11:50 AM)
how about rmit? i heard they have an entrance exam/ essay thingy...is it hard? any rmit students mind sharing some information? btw my cgpa for mass comm foundation is only 2.99...damn emo weyh...dunno can enter rmit or not now...T_T
hum what foundation did you do? hum I never heard Aussie unis have entrance exam or writing essays like US and UK unis before.
Hikari0307
post Aug 20 2010, 03:01 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Aug 20 2010, 01:43 PM)
Actually, contrary to popular belief, there are special entrance requirements for some specialised courses. To do music/dance in QUT requires an audition. To do visual arts they look at a portfolio rather than the standard Year 12 results. Film making requires one to make a pitch in a video uploaded to Youtube.

The only thing is that most Malaysians do the same boring courses of Engineering/Science/Law/Business/Commerce/Accounting, which are generally non-critical. The only exception i can think of is education, but then the interview is more of to make sure you're not a child molester than any entrance exam.

I can't say for any mass communication course, but i wouldn't be surprised that academic requirements are given a back seat to more practical means of vetting.

What i am interested through, is what kind of foundation program member Rustie is going through. In the absense of more specific information, no one give the full picture, so to speak.
yeah I know that just that talking in context of v2Rustie I am not aware of Mass Comm students having to go through any special stests ^^"
Though we need to know what Foundation is he/she doing ^^" and well he got to first check whether that foundation is even accepted by the university.

This post has been edited by Hikari0307: Aug 20 2010, 03:43 PM
Hikari0307
post Aug 20 2010, 03:52 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(v2Rustie @ Aug 20 2010, 03:16 PM)
sorry my bad. its not called an entrance exam but rather a supplementary form is needed to be filled in order to send in your application to RMIT. in it, few questions such as why u wanna study in RMIT/AUS and also a few related to mass communications is needed to be answered in order to complete your application. so my question is how many ppl sat for this supplementary form or 'EXTRA REQUIREMENTS FOR THE SELECTION OF INTERNATIONAL STUDENTS' and actually failed to get an offer from rmit..i just wanna noe whether i stand any chance to enter this uni...btw i just found out im not qualified to enter UQ.. that is so sad, i could try to send in my application but the chances are i wont be able to land myself with a seat. now i noe why ppl say 'better study ah~!' now i noe = = start to regret adi...

P/S i did my foundation in taylors. its the foundation of mass communication
hum I'm not aware if the Foundation in Communication in Taylor's is recognized in other places. Guess you would have to contact RMIT to know if they recognize or not. Last July I got a friend who just finished Foundation in Communication as well and she wanted to try and apply to other IPTS but she said it wasn't recognized by any of the ones she asked. You'd have to contact the Universities directly to know whether they recognize it or not.Have you went and consulted Taylor's Placement Center,IDP or any agent?

Alternatively why don't you just join the Taylor's twinning programme with UniSA,score good scores this time first during your first year and then try for a credit transfer from there.
Hikari0307
post Aug 22 2010, 01:37 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Aug 22 2010, 08:38 AM)
Re member Rustie: is this what you are currently studying?

http://www.taylors.edu.my/courses/comm/com...ding.php?id=111
yup that's the only Foundation relating to Communication in Taylor's so that is what he should be studying I think. Since the programme is still relatively new I don't know how well accepted it is.
Hikari0307
post Aug 22 2010, 09:39 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(v2Rustie @ Aug 22 2010, 09:29 PM)
yep thats the course i took..ahaha dun noe whether can enter RMIT or not now..hmm, in dilemma now
like I said before if you can't get in alternatively you can just join the UniSA twinning in Taylor's and score well in your first year. Then you can try to credit transfer to RMIT or some other universities in the second year.

This post has been edited by Hikari0307: Aug 22 2010, 10:17 PM
Hikari0307
post Aug 26 2010, 02:48 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(toobad @ Aug 26 2010, 02:43 PM)
anyone knows how to convert ATAR score from CGPA?

ATAR of 90 equivalent to CGPA???
why do you need to convert?For application purposes? What qualification do you hold? It is not possible as far as I know to convert ATAR to CGPA as the way you get the same ATAR is not the same each year.

This post has been edited by Hikari0307: Aug 26 2010, 02:52 PM
Hikari0307
post Aug 26 2010, 10:52 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(toobad @ Aug 26 2010, 04:47 PM)
erm because my transcript is in CGPA, received an offer letter from macquarie ( conditional )it says minimum ATAR of 90, so i need to know is there a possible conversion for this.

bachelor of business, 1st year, doing credit trasnfer.
ohh okay thank you
hum that's weird asking for ATAR from somebody trying to do a credit transfer ^^" Did you state that in your application form? ^^"
usually most Aussie unis asked for Weight Average Marks rather for cases like that as far as I know. You should email Macquarie to clarify the matter.
Hikari0307
post Aug 30 2010, 11:18 AM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(JasonMania @ Aug 29 2010, 11:40 PM)
I was wondering, with a bachelor degree and few years work experience what kind of jobs I can find in Melbourne while I am doing my masters , and what would be the average monthly salary that I can make?

Is it possible to fully pay my living expenses by working ?
well since your studying for a Masters. You will be on your Student Visa and that would limit you to working 20 Hours a week during academic semesters to comply with student visa regulations. So you most probably only can do the same kind of part time works undergrads do that doesn't require you to have a degree or much or no experience to do ^^"

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:27 AM