1,798 posts

Hi, I saw the iPad model Wi-Fi + 3G model specs below:

* UMTS/HSDPA (850, 1900, 2100 MHz)
* GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)
* Data only2
* Wi-Fi (802.11a/b/g/n)
* Bluetooth 2.1 + EDR technology

Is that mean i can use it as a phone to call someone? Or just can use 3G service only?

This post has been edited by rstusa: Jan 30 2010, 02:32 PM
stringfellow
post Jan 30 2010, 02:32 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Jan 30 2010, 02:01 PM)
i think apple has become a victim of its own 'greatness'...in a way. whenever there's a new product launch, people will anticipate and expect apple to deliver OUT OF THIS WORLD product. but for iPad, i see it more like a necessity, more than OUT OF THIS WORLD.

i'm from the publishing n printing industry (but i'm IT guy la) and i can see where the trend is moving - it's moving away from prints and papers. so Apple with this iPad and the new online book store, is gonna be the pioneer. Sure, Kindle is already there but....seriously....i feel like i gonna sleep when i look at Kindle.

Also, there are a lot of things that iPad can do even by using the existing iPhone SDK (3.2 of course). imagine having an interactive book. yes, there's 1 company doing that already in the States.

so to say i'm disappointed with this iPad...not really. i'm quite happy with what it has to offer and quite okay with the price (it's IPS panel..not cheap also). and most importantly, i see this as a shift in the publishing industry and a push for more contents in the future...which is good for consumers like us. smile.gif

just my 2 cent
For someone from that said industry, you fail to realise one important thing: Reading on an LED/LCD screen, especially on bright daylight, or outside in the park, or in libraries, where ambient light is involved, the very glare you get from the environment around you will detract from an enjoyable reading experience. Which is why, no matter how "sleepy" the Kindle looks, it succeeds in delivering the right reason of why people read the books in the first place: Readability. E-Ink screens, yes with that "sleepy" looking 16 shades of grey look is NECESSARY to emulate the look and the experience of reading an actual book. Pixel-Qi is where the eBook reading screens are going next, with the ability to switch between color LCD and simulating e-Ink without stressing the eyes. Have you ever tried reading an eBook for extended period of time on an LED/LCD screen? I have, and I get stinging sensations and tiredness as I pass the 1 hour mark reading from my Viliv or the Macbook Air screen. You don't get that from the "sleepy" looking Kindle, because it emulates the actual experience of reading a book, with its "sleepy" looking 16 shades of grey. Amazon did not simply choose this screen out of convenience to them, or budget cuts, they looked into the reading habits of avid readers and what they want for their own enjoyable reading experience. I sure enjoy reading my Kindle for extended period of time, I read it before going to bed, just like how I do them on an actual physical book. Question is, is that "sleepy" remark made due to the look of the Kindle, or have you even tried a Kindle before?

I'm right up there when it comes to the cutting edge. I've tried it all. Stanza, Kindle,.....even audiobooks from Audible and Random House. Nothing can measure up to reading an actual print-n-paper physical book, but Kindle got it right with its choice of screen, "sleepy" or otherwise.

Added on January 30, 2010, 2:36 pm
QUOTE(fyire @ Jan 30 2010, 02:28 PM)
And are OS X users really being ignored to that extent? Seriously though, what's stopping you from getting a 3rd party BD drive and hooking it up via firewire anyways?

Added on January 30, 2010, 2:29 pm
Yup. External BD drives are only capable of acting as data storage/writing devices. No application in Mac OS X is able to play a BD movie. It's like Apple giving access to one and denying access to the other.

I'm not going down that road about BD adoption rate. Enough to say that at this juncture, while other companies provide BD CTOs for their higher end lineup, Apple does not, for reasons only known to them. And since they're not talking, doesn't stop people from speculating. And part of the speculation stems from protecting their own revenue from sales on iTunes vs BD playback.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jan 30 2010, 02:36 PM
Vervain
post Jan 30 2010, 02:39 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

Question. Does the browser support flash? If not then I shall stick with iPhone.
Shoki
post Jan 30 2010, 02:40 PM

2,139 posts

Currently no Flash yet.
fyire
post Jan 30 2010, 02:53 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(rstusa @ Jan 30 2010, 02:32 PM)
Hi, I saw the iPad model Wi-Fi + 3G model specs below:

* UMTS/HSDPA (850, 1900, 2100 MHz)
    * GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)
    * Data only2
    * Wi-Fi (802.11a/b/g/n)
    * Bluetooth 2.1 + EDR technology

Is that mean i can use it as a phone to call someone? Or just can use 3G service only?
data only. but the possibility of VOIP calls using skype is there
rstusa
post Jan 30 2010, 03:13 PM

1,798 posts

I'm not quite familiar with Apple OS, but i would like to ask that the setup.exe software can be install in the iPad?

Added on January 30, 2010, 3:14 pmI'm not quite familiar with Apple OS, but i would like to ask that the setup.exe software using in the windows can be install in the iPad?

This post has been edited by rstusa: Jan 30 2010, 03:14 PM
fyire
post Jan 30 2010, 03:17 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(rstusa @ Jan 30 2010, 03:13 PM)
I'm not quite familiar with Apple OS, but i would like to ask that the setup.exe software can be install in the iPad?

Added on January 30, 2010, 3:14 pmI'm not quite familiar with Apple OS, but i would like to ask that the setup.exe software using in the windows can be install in the iPad?
No.
Voxe
post Jan 30 2010, 03:22 PM

Daft Punker
815 posts

QUOTE(rstusa @ Jan 30 2010, 03:13 PM)

Its like the iPhone, all your applications are from the AppStore where Apple filters all the apps that goes through and takes a chunk of the price as tax.
SUSdattebayo
post Jan 30 2010, 03:56 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jan 30 2010, 02:32 PM)
Yup. External BD drives are only capable of acting as data storage/writing devices. No application in Mac OS X is able to play a BD movie. It's like Apple giving access to one and denying access to the other.

I'm not going down that road about BD adoption rate. Enough to say that at this juncture, while other companies provide BD CTOs for their higher end lineup, Apple does not, for reasons only known to them. And since they're not talking, doesn't stop people from speculating. And part of the speculation stems from protecting their own revenue from sales on iTunes vs BD playback.
because if they do, it would violate their philosophy, every piece of software developed by Apple must have perfect integration with Apple hardware, its their insistence. No official BD hardware, means no official support in the OS either. The only way to watch BD movie -- Run Windows on the iMac and connect an external BD via USB/Firewire. It sure will be laughed by Windows guys though

its not about adoption rate and costs involved, it is downright clear that they want to stay off from competition.
xaw5126
post Jan 30 2010, 04:26 PM

3,488 posts

I'm gonna let you guys keep arguing about it... I'll reserve my judgements & comments till the actual thing is in my hands & I've tried it.

so far, a few journalists I respect & trust have said some very nice things, especially after trying it out for a few minutes. lets wait n see, k? smile.gif
Voxe
post Jan 30 2010, 04:38 PM

Daft Punker
815 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jan 30 2010, 04:26 PM)
I'm gonna let you guys keep arguing about it... I'll reserve my judgements & comments till the actual thing is in my hands & I've tried it.

so far, a few journalists I respect & trust have said some very nice things, especially after trying it out for a few minutes. lets wait n see, k? smile.gif
Care to share the very nice things?
limyusiong
post Jan 30 2010, 04:38 PM

2,815 posts

i agreed with u...my onli concern nw is when i can have tis toy???dun k is US, euro, SG, NZ, or AUS, i can bring it in...any idea and advice??
Voxe
post Jan 30 2010, 05:02 PM

Daft Punker
815 posts

Video puts iPad's features to perspective.
http://www.funnyordie.com/videos/11f2afbd5...ipad-commercial
xaw5126
post Jan 30 2010, 05:04 PM

3,488 posts

@ Voxe,
daringfireball.net has the links smile.gif
stringfellow
post Jan 30 2010, 05:14 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Wise, but I cant shake this feeling of "missed opportunities" that could have been possible if the damned thing uses MAC OS X.
Voxe
post Jan 30 2010, 05:18 PM

Daft Punker
815 posts

From what I read, most of the articles focusing on the fact iPad simplifying or the usability of computers using the iPhone UI for non-tech savvy. I don't think that the answer to the future computing product is to dumb down and make Fisher-Price-esque interface because some demographics are too lazy or scared to learn how to use a proper computer.
xaw5126
post Jan 30 2010, 05:40 PM

3,488 posts

@ Voxe
Steve would disagree with you, cos that's what works. even for the average car or TV owner, they don't care what picture tube or what engine is inside.
Voxe
post Jan 30 2010, 06:00 PM

Daft Punker
815 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jan 30 2010, 05:40 PM)
@ Voxe
Steve would disagree with you, cos that's what works. even for the average car or TV owner, they don't care what picture tube or what engine is inside.
It might work but this product very un-Apple-ish in my opinion. The tablet was supposed to be in works for at least 7 years and Jobs has thrown out all the prototypes created over the time and this is the end result.

A lazy execution of what seems to be an enlarged iPod Touch with no revolutionary or innovative features which can't do any of its set goals properly. What happened to the magic that Apple had when they unveiled the iPhone? Has innovation run dry at Cupertino?
Vervain
post Jan 30 2010, 06:07 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

I like the stargazing feature. You just switch on the gps the place the ipad towards the sky. It can list Down the stars you're looking at. Also I noticed it supports google streetview.
Leo the Lion
post Jan 30 2010, 07:54 PM

6,358 posts

I've decided, iPad should be same as Kindle category; eBook Reader.

It's like the iPod, which can use for web browsing, download app and gaming though it's part of Music Player category.

121 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0267sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:05 AM