Hardware Apple iPad Discussion Thread | V1, Everything about iPad

xaw5126
post Jan 13 2010, 12:48 PM

3,488 posts

maybe you open your own shop?

its hard enough to keep track of the hundreds of casings for current iPod / iPhone. you want accessories for a product that was never sold in Malaysia ... that's not gonna happen.

I do sympathise with those who have iPod touch 1st gen, and the screen covers n casings are almost totally sold out. OTOH, production is limited... since the accessory makers are also worried that Apple will come out with a new model, they don't keep producing accessories after the product has been discontinued.

we have some iPod touch G1 & iPod nano G3 & G4 accessories on clearance in machines 1 Utama, for under RM100 ... do drop by and take a look...
xaw5126
post Jan 15 2010, 10:02 PM

3,488 posts

here's my wishlist for iSlate / iTablet / iPad / God-&-Steve-only-know-what-its-gonna-be-called :

oleophobic screen,
onscreen keyboard (on demand only like iPhone)
additional 3 + 4 finger gestures,
1 USB port
audio out
video out (miniDisplay is good enough)
Mac OS X (not iPhone OS)
bluetooth + wifi.

here's what would make it killer :
sandbox iPhone apps (run them like widgets) *but then how the accelerometer and GPS*
docking / syncing accessory for Mac users.

xaw5126
post Jan 16 2010, 11:51 AM

3,488 posts

nah, i dun want a stylus. we can always buy a capacitive stylus. that's why I said oleophobic screen... so that we can use our God-given styli (all 10 of them) and do some really cool stuff.
xaw5126
post Jan 29 2010, 12:40 PM

3,488 posts

guys... the one reason y'all are complaining is the price.
I tell you what, why don't you complain when Apple actually sells 10 million units.

this is not a miniaturised Mac. its a tablet, not even a tablet Mac.

its a portable companion to your main computer (Mac or PC) ...

if that's unacceptable, don't buy it!

complain here, too expensive la, Apple margin too high la, its not a netbook la, I can get the same spec somewhere else la...

get a grip. Steve doesn't care about your whining. If your points are true, a year from now, the product will be discontinued, like the iPod HiFi ...
xaw5126
post Jan 29 2010, 03:35 PM

3,488 posts

er... I'm hardly a fanboi. I only own a iPhone 3G. my own Mac is a 6 year old TiBook.

I'm just tired of the complaining without facts to back it up.

For US$ 499, trust me, millions of desktop PC & Mac users will get one. it also means people can get a iPod / iPhone experience without signing a contract, and with a 9.7 inch screen.

again, this is not a full-blown computer. Steve is trying to find out where the sweet-spot is, how much can you strip down OS X and still sell a mass-market (not fanboy) product smile.gif
xaw5126
post Jan 29 2010, 04:44 PM

3,488 posts

btw, if y'all haven't realised, Steve doesn't care what people expect, or who is having a kerbau.

if the Tablet is so good, the idea so cool, explain to me why in the last 5 years, not one single company has turned a profit on this product line?

I have a running bet, I will bet RM500 against anyone else, that iPhone OS *will not* support Adobe Flash playback. Don't ask me why, go read up ... I have 4 good reasons smile.gif

can we please stop comparing netbooks to iPads smile.gif ... the simple fact is that Steve & co can't find a way to do a Mac netbook... but maybe the iPad is a step in that direction...
xaw5126
post Jan 29 2010, 06:55 PM

3,488 posts

please go read this first.

http://cruftbox.com/blog/archives/001592.html#001592
xaw5126
post Jan 29 2010, 07:37 PM

3,488 posts

@Only_Human
that's never happened... the main reason its expensive to buy iPods here in Malaysia is the luxury tax.

still need to wait for the pejabat kastam to review it, then for SIRIM to approve it... so estimate 70 / 80 days for the WiFi version... additional 30 days for the 3G version... don't forget this is still version 1.0 ...
if it can do what you need, get it.
for me, I will get an iMac for home use, and get this for those times when I want to show a video or a bunch of photos to some buddies at a cafe or home.

I like what John Gruber has to say (www.daringfireball.net) ...
its like the first automatic transmission cars. once you have an auto... you don't think about the clutch or gearbox.

like that, the iPad makes the 'computer' part disappear... go read first...

This post has been edited by xaw5126: Jan 29 2010, 07:38 PM
xaw5126
post Jan 29 2010, 08:12 PM

3,488 posts

@ Only_Human
I don't know how you calculate...
its RM 747 in Singapore ...

@stringfellow
as usual, Apple is showing off that if the iPad SDK is used 100%, then the device becomes more useful.
did you read the 2 posts by John Gruber @ daringfireball.net ? you of all people would get what he's talking about.
xaw5126
post Jan 29 2010, 08:36 PM

3,488 posts

sure... we have our opinions. after seeing what the iPad can do *live and in person* ... I will make my judgement.
xaw5126
post Jan 30 2010, 04:26 PM

3,488 posts

I'm gonna let you guys keep arguing about it... I'll reserve my judgements & comments till the actual thing is in my hands & I've tried it.

so far, a few journalists I respect & trust have said some very nice things, especially after trying it out for a few minutes. lets wait n see, k? smile.gif
xaw5126
post Jan 30 2010, 05:04 PM

3,488 posts

@ Voxe,
daringfireball.net has the links smile.gif
xaw5126
post Jan 30 2010, 05:40 PM

3,488 posts

@ Voxe
Steve would disagree with you, cos that's what works. even for the average car or TV owner, they don't care what picture tube or what engine is inside.
xaw5126
post Jan 30 2010, 07:56 PM

3,488 posts

@ Voxe
did you read the linked posts? Steve obviously threw out the past prototypes cos he (and the executive team at Apple) saw more potential in this product.

Let me quote from the keynote itself
"Netbooks aren't better at anything, they're just cheaper".

Do you really think its a lazy execution? instead of focusing on all the things it can't do for *you* and *I* ... who are admittedly geekier than most, perhaps Steve is trying to get our non-geek friends, who otherwise would never even consider carrying around a netbook / tablet Mac OR PC ... if they would get one, I'd count the iPad a success.

If Steve and the Apple crew find a way to build a tablet Mac, I'd be overjoyed too. I do find the keyboard a hassle to carry around, and I don't need the performance of a 2.4 GHz Mac all the time. Most of the time, I can do my computing just fine with a 2.0 smile.gif
xaw5126
post Feb 4 2010, 05:44 PM

3,488 posts

email smile.gif
xaw5126
post Feb 13 2010, 03:48 PM

3,488 posts

@dattebayo
how to say if the iPad can be a productivity tool? no one has tried it yet !!
xaw5126
post Feb 19 2010, 05:45 PM

3,488 posts

alah... no problem. can always get another SIMcard and trim it to fit.
xaw5126
post Mar 3 2010, 11:48 AM

3,488 posts

officially, no news... the resellers as usual are making up the answers so they don't get yelled at...
xaw5126
post Mar 3 2010, 12:33 PM

3,488 posts

@keyven
where please? AFAIK, there's no Apple official store here in Malaysia, only APR & AAR (Premium & Authorised reseller respectively)
xaw5126
post Mar 17 2010, 11:45 AM

3,488 posts

@azxel
yes, like iPod touch. only USB cable. wall charger is not ready yet (new 10w adapter)

personally, I would wait and get it here, for warranty stuff to be easier, as Apple has not mentioned if the warranty is worldwide or local. (/me goes off to check)
nope, not mentioned on iPad page, re: warranty.

RM2345 ... means you're paying RM343 for duty + shipping? just wait a little more and get the 3G model... that's what I'm gonna do smile.gif

0.0444sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:53 AM