121 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

Hardware Apple iPad Discussion Thread | V1, Everything about iPad

Voxe
post Jan 31 2010, 12:58 AM

Daft Punker
815 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Jan 30 2010, 07:54 PM)
I've decided, iPad should be same as Kindle category; eBook Reader. 

It's like the iPod, which can use for web browsing, download app and gaming though it's part of Music Player category.
Truthfully, iPad would be more suitable to be classified as a Tablet Media Player because of the fact that it does everything but none of it are perfect. Web browsing is limited because lack of Flash support, Video only supports up to 640x480 and with 4:3 ratio, a lot of videos have to be crop or panned, the screen and battery life limits the reading capability.
dinodog_Jr
post Jan 31 2010, 01:07 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

P88.

http://shanghaiist.com/2010/01/29/p88-chin...-sues-apple.php

See how thick it is if we want those ports thing.. It's a beast but it ain't a beauty anymore.

Couldn't imagine if Apple release a toaster design like this.. I rather have a "pad" design.

Maybe some guys will calm down a little bit now after have a look at P88 design to 'fulfill' customers need.

stringfellow
post Jan 31 2010, 01:51 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I dont have to see that link, I already own such a thing, in the form of the Viliv X70.

The good thing is, I think I made the right choice. Which would you rather have, a slim svelte device that does things half-baked, or a half-laptop thickness tablet that does things proper? I don't want to say this, but why is Apple treating its target audience for the iPad as dumb hicks who knows nothing about a simple program-install on a normal laptop OS, so much that they are handholding you with the stripped down and simplified iPhone OS?

Like I said before, slimness has its price. Apple's assuming everyone's willing to trade form factor over function.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jan 31 2010, 02:28 AM
Nic87_Lowyat
post Jan 31 2010, 02:11 AM

46 posts

actual price get it alraedy ??
stringfellow
post Jan 31 2010, 02:36 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Apple updates iPad Ads to remove Flash content.

Guilty much, Apple? rolleyes.gif
jiidaineko
post Jan 31 2010, 09:07 AM

579 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Jan 30 2010, 07:54 PM)
I've decided, iPad should be same as Kindle category; eBook Reader. 

It's like the iPod, which can use for web browsing, download app and gaming though it's part of Music Player category.
while it does have pros over kindle, as an ebook, kindle is clearly better because of the e-ink, way lighter and battery life

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jan 30 2010, 11:38 PM)
They DON'T do 'scale-down' Mac. They DON'T cater for the low budget group. as simple as that. Steve mentioned it some time back.
yea i do agree with you. 500USD min for a piece of thing that doesnt serve much purpose to most ppl is indeed high-budget lol

QUOTE(Edoras @ Jan 30 2010, 11:40 PM)
True enough... Apple is trying to cater the "missing group"...
this group prolly was lost in the blackhole

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Jan 31 2010, 12:11 AM)
it's been years, Intel Atom still sucks
well at least it is powerful enough for me to multitask, watch movies above 640x480 etc. you are prolly gonna flame AMD athlon neo next

QUOTE(kokokranc @ Jan 31 2010, 12:53 AM)
want better option? get an IdeaPad U8.
u mean the U1 Hybrid? i couldnt find anything on U8

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jan 31 2010, 01:51 AM)
Like I said before, slimness has its price. Apple's assuming everyone's willing to trade form factor over function.
by everyone, it only applies to the diehard-apple fans haha. most ppl with some consciousness in them wouldnt

This post has been edited by jiidaineko: Jan 31 2010, 09:29 AM
cRazYee
post Jan 31 2010, 10:43 AM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(kokokranc @ Jan 31 2010, 12:53 AM)
define sucks?

if you want performance then clearly out of question since atom's primary design goal is to increase performance per watt ratio.

and latest atom isn't that bad. at least for mobile processor that touts the lowest energy consumption.

to quote;
Atom therefore represents a partial revival of the principles used in earlier Intel designs such as Intel P5 and the i486, with the sole purpose of enhancing the performance per watt ratio.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_Atom

dont expect atom to run gta4 full reso. no one would play that game on a miniscule netbook lcd screen anyway.

i dont have any justification to own an ipad now or ever. i love iphone but i hate ipad.

want better option? get an IdeaPad U8.
well compare to ARM Cortax A9
atom sucks

see this!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W4W6lVQl3QA...player_embedded

Added on January 31, 2010, 10:51 am
QUOTE(jiidaineko @ Jan 31 2010, 09:07 AM)
while it does have pros over kindle, as an ebook, kindle is clearly better because of the e-ink, way lighter and battery life
yea i do agree with you. 500USD min for a piece of thing that doesnt serve much purpose to most ppl is indeed high-budget lol
this group prolly was lost in the blackhole
well at least it is powerful enough for me to multitask, watch movies above 640x480 etc. you are prolly gonna flame AMD athlon neo next
u mean the U1 Hybrid? i couldnt find anything on U8
by everyone, it only applies to the diehard-apple fans haha. most ppl with some consciousness in them wouldnt
still early judge it's fail or not
but i see great potential in future

the A4 chip is based on ARM Cortex A9, it's powerful for sure
up to date, iphone OS can runs OpenGL
so, it's just problem of time for iphone OS development

Added on January 31, 2010, 10:53 am
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jan 31 2010, 02:36 AM)
well, story behind flash is quite messy one
i think apple wont implement flash in iphone os in this short time.

This post has been edited by cRazYee: Jan 31 2010, 10:53 AM
dvlzplayground
post Jan 31 2010, 12:06 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jan 31 2010, 01:51 AM)
I dont have to see that link, I already own such a thing, in the form of the Viliv X70.

The good thing is, I think I made the right choice. Which would you rather have, a slim svelte device that does things half-baked, or a half-laptop thickness tablet that does things proper? I don't want to say this, but why is Apple treating its target audience for the iPad as dumb hicks who knows nothing about a simple program-install on a normal laptop OS, so much that they are handholding you with the stripped down and simplified iPhone OS?

because not everyone knows how to use windows or OSX. someone said it might be the Wii of computers. probably wont entice geeks like us, but may bring old people to the internet ;p
rexa13
post Jan 31 2010, 12:10 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jan 31 2010, 12:06 PM)
because not everyone knows how to use windows or OSX. someone said it might be the Wii of computers. probably wont entice geeks like us, but may bring old people to the internet ;p
ipad just oversize ipod.. only apple fan boys will buy it, even iSHIT come out they will buy it biggrin.gif
nawzi
post Jan 31 2010, 12:46 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(Voxe @ Jan 31 2010, 12:58 AM)
Truthfully, iPad would be more suitable to be classified as a Tablet Media Player because of the fact that it does everything but none of it are perfect. Web browsing is limited because lack of Flash support, Video only supports up to 640x480 and with 4:3 ratio, a lot of videos have to be crop or panned, the screen and battery life limits the reading capability.
Video support up to 720p

http://www.apple.com/asia/ipad/specs/
Voxe
post Jan 31 2010, 12:52 PM

Daft Punker
815 posts

QUOTE(nawzi @ Jan 31 2010, 12:46 PM)
Video support up to 720p

http://www.apple.com/asia/ipad/specs/
H.264 video up to 720p, 30 frames per second, Main Profile level 3.1 with AAC-LC audio up to 160 Kbps, 48kHz, stereo audio in .m4v, .mp4, and .mov file formats; MPEG-4 video, up to 2.5 Mbps, 640 by 480 pixels, 30 frames per second, Simple Profile with AAC-LC audio up to 160 Kbps, 48kHz, stereo audio in .m4v, .mp4, and .mov file formats
My mistake but isn't MP4 is the default container for Apple PMPs? Looks like you need to convert all your iPhone MP4 files.

This post has been edited by Voxe: Jan 31 2010, 12:53 PM
satsugai
post Jan 31 2010, 01:07 PM

303 posts

its basically a portable itunes store.....

meh, i prefer getting stuff like movies music and software for free tongue.gif
cRazYee
post Jan 31 2010, 01:10 PM

2,642 posts

well, there is one rule by apple
as long as you stick you ass with them, with paying money
you will get very easy acess

buying those movie from itunes, you can transfer straight (if i'm not mistaken, had one experience)
nawzi
post Jan 31 2010, 01:13 PM

156 posts

Look carrefully at iPad home button, it is same with iPod touch,
I mean it's smaller compare to iPhone which is bigger and better to press.
Hopefully iPad doesn't have yellowish screen like iPhone.
cRazYee
post Jan 31 2010, 01:24 PM

2,642 posts

whatever argument we have here
thing gonna change after new OS loaded
Edoras
post Jan 31 2010, 01:27 PM

1,134 posts

QUOTE(rexa13 @ Jan 31 2010, 12:10 PM)
ipad just oversize ipod.. only apple fan boys will buy it, even iSHIT come out they will buy it biggrin.gif
Just wondering - Have you ever own any Apple products?

fumjusta
post Jan 31 2010, 02:15 PM

62 posts

Guys, I just wanna share this with you. Before the launch of the iPad, I read 2 articles that thoroughly explain why Apple is going to adopt (which they did) iPhone OS, instead of Mac OSX.

Computers Should Be More Like Toasters

The Apple Tablet Interface Must Be Like This

and from the iPad video at, Jonathan Ive, Apple design guru, said

"In many ways this defines our vision, our sense of what's next."

They really think that this is the way forward. Let's see the adoption rate for the first year shall we.
nawzi
post Jan 31 2010, 02:41 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(rexa13 @ Jan 31 2010, 12:10 PM)
Really? Time will tell...

rstusa
post Jan 31 2010, 02:54 PM

1,798 posts

8 reasons you won't choose iPad:

Big, Ugly Bezel
Have you seen the bezel on this thing?! It's huge! I know you don't want to accidentally input a command when your thumb is holding it, but come on.

No Multitasking
This is a backbreaker. If this is supposed to be a replacement for netbooks, how can it possibly not have multitasking? Are you saying I can't listen to Pandora while writing a document? I can't have my Twitter app open at the same time as my browser? I can't have AIM open at the same time as my email? Are you kidding me? This alone guarantees that I will not buy this product.

No Cameras
No front facing camera is one thing. But no back facing camera either? Why the hell not? I can't imagine what the downside was for including at least one camera. Could this thing not handle video iChat?

Touch Keyboard
So much for Apple revolutionizing tablet inputs; this is the same big, ugly touchscreen keyboard we've seen on other tablets, and unless you're lying on the couch with your knees propping it up, it'll be awkward to use.

No HDMI Out
Want to watch those nice HD videos you downloaded from iTunes on your TV? Too damned bad! If you were truly loyal, you'd just buy an AppleTV already.

The Name iPad
Get ready for Maxi pad jokes, and lots of 'em!

No Flash
No Flash is annoying but not a dealbreaker on the iPhone and iPod Touch. On something that's supposed to be closer to a netbook or laptop? It will leave huge, gaping holes in websites. I hope you don't care about streaming video! God knows not many casual internet users do. Oh wait, nevermind, they all do.

Adapters, Adapters, Adapters
So much for those smooth lines. If you want to plug anything into this, such as a digital camera, you need all sorts of ugly adapters. You need an adapter for USB for god's sake.

Update: Why stop at 8? Here are more things we are discovering that suck about the iPad.

It's Not Widescreen
Widescreen movies look lousy on this thing thanks to its 4:3 screen, according to Blam, who checked out some of Star Trek on one. It's like owning a 4:3 TV all over again!

Doesn't Support T-Mobile 3G
Sure, it's "unlocked." But it won't work on T-Mobile, and it uses microSIMs that literally no one else uses.

A Closed App Ecosystem
The iPad only runs apps from the App Store. The same App Store that is notorious for banning apps for no real reason, such as Google Voice. Sure, netbooks might not have touchscreens, but you can install whatever software you'd like on them. Want to run a different browser on your iPad? Too bad!
nimrod323
post Jan 31 2010, 05:12 PM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

nice copy and paste,bravo
http://gizmodo.com/5458382/8-things-that-suck-about-the-ipad

is it just me or is there a sudden surge of apple bashers in this thread? that normally arent as active on any of our threads here,hmm.

121 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0187sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:59 PM