Astro B.yond V2.0, HD Content Available

dxjb
post Jan 7 2010, 01:41 AM

807 posts

plz help me..can d new byond dish be used with 1 byond decoder and one old decoder? i have 2 accounts..
SpongeY
post Jan 7 2010, 02:12 AM

105 posts

1. apexg2
2. kelvin (Penang)
3. torreto (Subang Jaya/Kelantan)
4. rayfoo
5. l_berd (Penang)
6. RAMChYLD (Klang)
7. Cyberian (Sepang)
8. azri (U5, Shah Alam)
9. teikwing (Taiping, Perak)
10. AjKR06 (Bgn Serai, Perak)
11. horray (Petaling Jaya, Selangor)
12. LCP (Penang)
13. pknride (pekan,pahang)
14. dsubra (Klang)
15. tHeRiDdLeR (Serdang, Selangor)
16. economist (PJ,Sgor)
17. honamd77(Kuantan,Pahang)
18. zwanvedder(meru, setia alam) just finished installation by ASTRO
19. ape (Shah Alam)
20. Iman210 (Pinggiran USJ, Subang Jaya)
21. kuekss (Sunway SPK Damansara,KL)
22. crossmaniac (saujana utama sg buloh)
23. ssyam ( dungun, Terengganu )
24. edthrax (ttdi, KL)
25. twL (Klang)
26. maja_5365(Nilai)
27. pirateguy
28. stimix
29. tailesley (Bukit Jalil)
30. suffeylp (Shah Alam)
31. sun_flower5 (Cheras,Selangor)
32. wcloh111 (Bkt. Mertajam, Penang)
33. seed80 (Seremban)
34. allenultra (Gunung Rapat, Ipoh, Perak)
35. yanhui95 (Petaling Jaya, Selangor)
36. ScienceFreak (Gombak)
37. low98944 (Kuching, Sarawak)
38. R.ap7or (Penang)
39. Ares187 ( Pandan Indah )
40. darenlks (Cheras, Selangor)
41. Putih (USJ, Selangor)
42. anfieldude (Penang)
43. Donald G.H Tan (Klang)
44. rhemo (Kuching,Sarawak)
45. mlthum (Puchong, Selangor)
46. hoffmeister (Bandar Baru Bangi, Selangor)
47. yonggoh (Kuching, Sarawak)
48. tchwang (Hijauan Residence, Cheras Selangor)
49. stryfox (kuching, sarawak)
50. snake1x (Bandar Seri Putra, Kajang)
51. maxpudding (KK, Sabah)
52. fly1968 (Cheras, KL)
53. jackdon
54. Ninja (Ampang, Selangor)
55. kaspersky-fan (hartamas, kl)
56. jeanspearly (JB, Johor)
57. ocdetective (Bukit Damansara, KL)
58. amirsubhi (Taman Seri Gombak, Selangor)
59. cycloneopp (Taman Sri Bahagia, Cheras)
60. Shevagol (Tmn. Lestari Putra, Sri Kembangan)
61. Morpheuzneo (Seri Kembangan)
62. auronthas
63. vickyrao (sunway)
64. edmundq (kuching, sarawak)
65. eldrow (Puchong, Selangor)
66. zephyrous (Setia Alam, Shah Alam)
67. MR_alien (Tuaran, Sabah)
68. SpongeY (Subang Jaya, Selangor)

btw guys, i feel like the sound quality is pretty good, not hearing any echos as such mentioned by some of u guys. just got it installed today, after 20 days since subscription.
SiriuslyCold
post Jan 7 2010, 04:26 AM

1,976 posts

QUOTE(dxjb @ Jan 7 2010, 01:41 AM)
plz help me..can d new byond dish be used with 1 byond decoder and one old decoder? i have 2 accounts..
you have to tell them you are using two decoders, and they will give you a LNB with 2 output jacks
RAMChYLD
post Jan 7 2010, 04:48 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Jan 6 2010, 11:47 PM)
from reading forumer's post I believed that HD decoder is capable of selecting particular satellite by altering "entry point", "1" for measat 3, "18" for measat 3A
I think the post about Astro decoder receiving HD from 3A and SD from 3 might have some truths to it. Since according to Astro, SD decoder will lose signal if a dish is shared with a regular receiver and the b.yond is tuned into HD signal. I cannot try since I only have one decoder and one dish.

QUOTE(AstInst @ Jan 6 2010, 11:51 PM)
Astro has really timed it right as DVB-S2 is relatively new as are HD encoders that can do "better than USA" HD at 8Mbits/s. If Astro had done HD a year ago they could only do 2 channels per transponder which I think they would charge us more than 20RM per month! (Sky in the UK have had HD for 4 years, have 30 channels but charge almost 60RM per month and the decoder cost over 1000RM which you had to buy!)
So Astro is actually already using S2 with b.yond? Awesome. Gonna put this on Wikipedia.

On the topic of Wikipedia, tho, anyone know who put up that thing about Astro planning to offer 20 HD channels by end of year? I think that's unrealistic, given that there's not even that many channels available in the Asian region. Heck, their SD offering is also so behind other countries.
SpaThuGz
post Jan 7 2010, 08:34 AM

141 posts

anyone here knows how to connect the b.yond to 2 tvs(1 plasma, 1 crt)?

used to work with the old decoder. i asked the installer, he said the new decoder can't do that anymore. not sure he was telling the truth or simply just wanna get the job done faster. really appreciate the help.
RAMChYLD
post Jan 7 2010, 09:10 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(SpaThuGz @ Jan 7 2010, 08:34 AM)
anyone here knows how to connect the b.yond to 2 tvs(1 plasma, 1 crt)?

used to work with the old decoder. i asked the installer, he said the new decoder can't do that anymore. not sure he was telling the truth or simply just wanna get the job done faster. really appreciate the help.
How were the TVs connected on the old box? Did you use composite or S-Video for Plasma TV and RF for CRT TV like others here?

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 7 2010, 09:28 AM
kelvin
post Jan 7 2010, 09:53 AM

467 posts

You have to demand the installer to install this LNB for you:

New Astro Dish
edmundq
post Jan 7 2010, 11:31 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(AstInst @ Jan 6 2010, 09:46 PM)
You need to report the installer to Astro, he is not doing his job right.

With the slightest rain you will loose signal.

45 is terrilble you should get 200+

Some of the less honest installers do a bad install then charge you to come out to fix it! For them it is a nice little business!

Report as soon as you can!

(I am assuming that you did not force him to use concealed cable, if you did then you cannot complain to Astro as the wire is your responsibility)
It was the old system. 45 / 100max. He said it is ok to use the concealed. I did not know anything then, so i assume he knows what he is doing. I'll write a complaint and see what ASTRO's response is.

I dont need slightest rain. Good cloud cover, i'll loose reception on some channels.

with b.yond, things are looking good for me.

Added on January 7, 2010, 11:37 am
QUOTE(pay2buy @ Jan 6 2010, 11:08 PM)
I'm in the same boat also.

The installer definitely installed a new white dish instead of the dark grey one. I asked him politely about it and he said there is no dark dish. If you want you could wait some more or call astro to cancel this order (in a bossy tone). wah lau...  shakehead.gif unbelievable!

The smartcard also not activated yet until now. The installer say it wont be long to be activated, he waited for some time and then leave. Call Astro CS 8 hrs later, they said the installer suppose to activate the smartcard after installation directly.  doh.gif  Great.... Now I cant watch any channel and they said : Sorry.. you need to wait for 24 hrs to resolve the problem.  cry.gif

Is there by any chance your installer called Mr Lim?
My installer is Mr. Bong. Nice chap.

Did the activation as soon as he could. I called him to check and it was already done by 3pm. ASTRO sucks, they did not upgrade their call centre to handle the amount of orders. you cannot activate it, must be done by installer, cause need to key in installer ID, smartcard no and decoder no into the system for activation.

I am the only 1 in my row of houses who have new dish, its slightly darker grey. I'll try post it tonight for your info.

This post has been edited by edmundq: Jan 7 2010, 11:39 AM
Deani_77
post Jan 7 2010, 12:40 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

Just get called today form the installer today, unfortunately he call my office and I was not there.

I call back CS and they gave me the installer number... Called the installer and he told he tried to contact me since yesterday but using my old contact number (astro didn't update my new contact number). He will scheduled back my installation. Hopefully it will not take too long...

minimize
post Jan 7 2010, 12:56 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(Deani_77 @ Jan 7 2010, 12:40 PM)
Just get called today form the installer today, unfortunately he call my office and I was not there.

I call back CS and they gave me the installer number... Called the installer and he told he tried to contact me since yesterday but using my old contact number (astro didn't update my new contact number). He will scheduled back my installation. Hopefully it will not take too long...
Hahaha, how many days u are waiting for this call?
Deani_77
post Jan 7 2010, 01:00 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(minimize @ Jan 7 2010, 12:56 PM)
Hahaha, how many days u are waiting for this call?
CS called for T&C on 31st Dec, I anticipated they will call me today if not tomorrow I will start kacau them... since they already promised me before 10th (Sunday).... They still kept their promised ler... tongue.gif

Added on January 7, 2010, 1:16 pmThe installer just called me... He on the way to my house... Hopefully tonight I can watch Astro HD... rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by Deani_77: Jan 7 2010, 01:16 PM
minimize
post Jan 7 2010, 01:19 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(Deani_77 @ Jan 7 2010, 01:00 PM)
CS called for T&C on 31st Dec, I anticipated they will call me today if not tomorrow I will start kacau them... since they already promised me before 10th (Sunday).... They still kept their promised ler...  tongue.gif
At least u still lucky bro. I still waiting and today is my 22 days since T&C on 18th Dec. sad.gif
Klang valley user also very late to get install.
Deani_77
post Jan 7 2010, 01:22 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(minimize @ Jan 7 2010, 01:19 PM)
At least u still lucky bro. I still waiting and today is my 22 days since T&C on 18th Dec.  sad.gif
Klang valley user also very late to get install.
Perhaps number of installer and number of subscriber playing part on this matter... hmm.gif

Anyway, perhaps you can start kacau2 CS like other ppl used to do...
aceedburn
post Jan 7 2010, 01:33 PM

Crazy Musicphile!
563 posts

my signal strength reading with entry point #1 was 214-217 and after changing to entry point #18, i get 255.
neb
post Jan 7 2010, 01:47 PM

2,234 posts

measat 3A has more powerful beam, peaked at 58 dBW

measat 3 ku-band footprint

measat 3A ku-band footprint

This post has been edited by neb: Jan 7 2010, 02:00 PM
stimix
post Jan 7 2010, 02:12 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Wah those staying in Perak & Northern Klang Valley got the hisghest beam...
takr
post Jan 7 2010, 02:13 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(Deani_77 @ Jan 7 2010, 01:22 PM)
Perhaps number of installer and number of subscriber playing part on this matter...  hmm.gif

Anyway, perhaps you can start kacau2 CS like other ppl used to do...
Mine was also late. I subscribed on 11 Dec (on the launch day) and same time somebody confirm T&C. After hassling them then somebody call again to confirm T&C on 28th. After almost daily calls, the installer only coming tomorrow... Sigh
amirsubhi
post Jan 7 2010, 02:16 PM

The Power Is IN Your Hand!
1,472 posts

yes you are..but notify the astro that u have 2 account so they give u the dual output lnb.

I have the same situation as u...n its working great currently...One is Byond..one is the old decoder
JOR23N
post Jan 7 2010, 02:21 PM

147 posts

You are having 1 ACCOUNT, 2 SMARTCARDS.
auronthas
post Jan 7 2010, 02:22 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 7 2010, 02:12 PM)
Wah those staying in Perak & Northern Klang Valley got the hisghest beam...
Look like Genting Highland, Cameron Highland will get the best reception, and Temerloh is at the centre core of satellite beam ?

Got a call from Astro tech dept, they clarified as long as the satellite signal is locked (CH 1 , CH 18), you are able to watc; I asked them what about the satellite signal strength value below the left bar, they told there should not be any value, did they know what my question? *sigh*

101 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0217sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:26 AM