Astro B.yond V2.0, HD Content Available

edmundq
post Jan 5 2010, 03:29 PM

46 posts

Installer Called for appointment at noon tomorrow. Cant wait.

Location Kuching, Sarawak. Nice chap.
edmundq
post Jan 6 2010, 02:32 PM

46 posts

Add me in list

edmundq - kuching, sarawak.

got my b.yond installed. Cant watch yet cause ASTRO service centre too busy, and installer cannot get through to activate. he told me a couple of things:

the black dish are for those who need 2 LNB's, 2 seperate decoders. he installed a new 'white' dish and i got a signal of 215. Have i been told right on this?

All ASTRO smartcards will be paired to their decoders, so no more swapping. New and Old, HD and SD.

Got screwed by my previous installer. thinking of complaining to ASTRO about it.He wired the ODU to the 'low quality' concealed wire for simple antennae. So my signal for the old system was about 45 only. He says can use, no problem. Didnt check cause not activated for a few hours, and my 1st ASTRO, so know nothing.
edmundq
post Jan 6 2010, 03:24 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jan 6 2010, 03:21 PM)
finally...i got my astro b.yond installed
Registered on 15th dec
T&C on 15th dec
after many complain
installed on 5th january

it's still activating and software update
they didn't change the cable or the satellite dish...but they leave it to us..it's all here
signal is 220-222

but the weird thing is they didn't take back anything.....they say their boss told them not to take back anything
my installer had a list of things he needed to take back. took all, cable, dish, decoder, smartcard. didnt take the AV cable though. it might come in handy in future.

mine not activated yet. installer didn't call me back inform about activation. ASTRO call centre swamped with calls to activate.
edmundq
post Jan 7 2010, 11:31 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(AstInst @ Jan 6 2010, 09:46 PM)
You need to report the installer to Astro, he is not doing his job right.

With the slightest rain you will loose signal.

45 is terrilble you should get 200+

Some of the less honest installers do a bad install then charge you to come out to fix it! For them it is a nice little business!

Report as soon as you can!

(I am assuming that you did not force him to use concealed cable, if you did then you cannot complain to Astro as the wire is your responsibility)
It was the old system. 45 / 100max. He said it is ok to use the concealed. I did not know anything then, so i assume he knows what he is doing. I'll write a complaint and see what ASTRO's response is.

I dont need slightest rain. Good cloud cover, i'll loose reception on some channels.

with b.yond, things are looking good for me.

Added on January 7, 2010, 11:37 am
QUOTE(pay2buy @ Jan 6 2010, 11:08 PM)
I'm in the same boat also.

The installer definitely installed a new white dish instead of the dark grey one. I asked him politely about it and he said there is no dark dish. If you want you could wait some more or call astro to cancel this order (in a bossy tone). wah lau...  shakehead.gif unbelievable!

The smartcard also not activated yet until now. The installer say it wont be long to be activated, he waited for some time and then leave. Call Astro CS 8 hrs later, they said the installer suppose to activate the smartcard after installation directly.  doh.gif  Great.... Now I cant watch any channel and they said : Sorry.. you need to wait for 24 hrs to resolve the problem.  cry.gif

Is there by any chance your installer called Mr Lim?
My installer is Mr. Bong. Nice chap.

Did the activation as soon as he could. I called him to check and it was already done by 3pm. ASTRO sucks, they did not upgrade their call centre to handle the amount of orders. you cannot activate it, must be done by installer, cause need to key in installer ID, smartcard no and decoder no into the system for activation.

I am the only 1 in my row of houses who have new dish, its slightly darker grey. I'll try post it tonight for your info.

This post has been edited by edmundq: Jan 7 2010, 11:39 AM
edmundq
post Jan 7 2010, 07:46 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(danielcps @ Jan 7 2010, 06:07 PM)
Just change channel to #18
Now heavy rain in Kuching, Astro still can watch!!! thumbup.gif

Thanks guys
During heavy rain in kuching, on no.1 setting, signal strength 185 quality is 0. On no.18 strength 185, quality is 100%. All sd channels can watch. HD channels on and off. But much improved from old system.

edmundq
post Jan 8 2010, 08:54 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(shahzad86 @ Jan 8 2010, 08:50 AM)
i havent tried using the 9-9-1 method, i cant off the tv using the (tv)power button at the beyond's remote.
will test again after work later.

U guys are using setting 720p or 1080i? i dun see any difference...but i heard 720p is better than 1080i  hmm.gif
Another Survey in the Making: 720p or 1080i?

for me: 720p.

I feel pictures not so jumpy. I felt a bit dizzy watching 1080i esp football. Maybe its my tv. do not have 100hz or true motion or those gimmicks.

what you all think?

This post has been edited by edmundq: Jan 8 2010, 08:55 AM
edmundq
post Jan 8 2010, 09:49 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(pirateguy @ Jan 8 2010, 09:31 AM)
I think 720p can produce better framerates so maybe that is why it feels less jumpy?
i feel that the 1080i needs to be de-interlaced, and the process creates the 'jumpiness'.

expert opinions??
edmundq
post Jan 8 2010, 10:07 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 8 2010, 09:56 AM)
Ehhh you all really hv sharp eye...Me no see jumping-jumping & anything wrong using 1080 output..BTW, my panny P42X10K not a FullHD sumore..
its not because of my sharp eyes. you are using Plasma, I'm using LCD. yours is better at moving images. LCD not so good. prefers progressive scan.

ok ok, need to modify survey

720p or 1080i on LCD or Plasma.
edmundq
post Jan 14 2010, 12:50 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(cyberian @ Jan 14 2010, 11:51 AM)
I am the new Astro Subscriber.. started end of December 2009, on the day they installed the normal Dish/DMT, I applied Astro Byond and it get me installed Byond just in 5 days time (including weekend)
took the RM30 package (Installation Charge only)
Condition : 2 years contract and subscription cannot less then RM55.xx if not mistaken.
dunno if i kena con or not.. just now Astro call me to ask if I want to subscribe Astro On Demand..
2 months promotion : RM25 each month
Can cancel it after the promotion period....

Haih... just now didnt think too much and agree with the deal.. sad.gif
No con, i got that mid last year, they only call chinese customers for that deal.

yes, they only charge you RM25, instead of usual 54.95.

but when u cancel after 2months, you pay RM10 for cancellation fee.

and of course you want to finish that drama before cancellation, so the days and weeks after the 2months is pro-rated using the full rate. so they dont actually loose out a lot.
edmundq
post Jan 19 2010, 09:17 AM

46 posts

watched Nat Geo HD's "Inside" (Freedom of the Seas) at 9.30pm last night and ASTRO forgot to censor the f***-ing word. Was a subtitle cause the highly 'high' woman was murmuring and without the subs, we wont have a clue of what she is saying.

Was ASTRO caught napping?
edmundq
post Jan 19 2010, 09:42 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Jan 19 2010, 09:21 AM)
More like Nat Geo napping. Astro is most likely not allow to temper with the incoming video stream. I had a colleague who worked with Astro back when I was working for a college in 2006, and she said that Astro is not allowed to censor the video, only relay. Censoring is done by source (i.e. HBO, Nat Geo). If they even so cut off a programming to insert advertisements at wrong time, they can get into trouble.

Why would you complain tho? Shows that our country is finally progressing forward.
Just want to gauge feedback from the community, isn't astro even allowed to blur the word, instead of snipping the whole video frame out?

0.0373sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:04 AM