Astro B.yond V2.0, HD Content Available

stimix
post Jan 1 2010, 10:12 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Don't forget to update the list of users which is currently stood at 30..i think there are more..probably all eyeeing for good no liao.

1.apexg2
2.kelvin (Penang)
3.torreto (Subang Jaya/Kelantan)
4. rayfoo
5.l_berd (Penang)
6.RAMChYLD (Klang)
7 Cyberian (Sepang)
8. azri (U5, Shah Alam)
9. teikwing (Taiping, Perak)
10. AjKR06 (Bgn Serai, Perak)
11. horray (Petaling Jaya, Selangor)
12. LCP (Penang)
13. pknride (pekan,pahang)
14. dsubra (Klang)
15. tHeRiDdLeR (Serdang, Selangor)
16.economist (PJ,Sgor)
17.honamd77(Kuantan,Pahang)
18. zwanvedder(meru, setia alam)
19. ape (Shah Alam)
20. Iman210 (Pinggiran USJ, Subang Jaya)
21. kuekss (Sunway SPK Damansara,KL)
22. crossmaniac (saujana utama sg buloh)
23. ssyam ( dungun, Terengganu )
24. edthrax (ttdi, KL)
25. twL (Klang)
26. maja_5365(Nilai)
27. pirateguy
28. stimix
29. tailesley (Bukit Jalil)
30.suffeylp (Shah Alam)
stimix
post Jan 1 2010, 07:11 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Just notice the new Granada TV on Astro 735..am I slowpoke or this really a new channel hmm.gif Too bad it's not HD sad.gif

Added on January 1, 2010, 7:16 pmDiscussed extensively in V1 dy.. U can connect to another LCD using RCA cable; RCA- AV-RF conveter>RF or a wireless AV transmitter. smile.gif

QUOTE(mlthum @ Jan 1 2010, 06:58 PM)
was wondering non of the forumer using parellel connection and now subscribed to byond... curious!
This post has been edited by stimix: Jan 1 2010, 07:16 PM
stimix
post Jan 1 2010, 11:07 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Bcos of astro byond, me starting to watch History HD & darn...now showing the ice trucker...fuuuu super lenglui (lisa) driving super truck..
stimix
post Jan 2 2010, 12:10 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Hehe..most of us here are consider loyal subsribers bcos there are the only Satleite pay4view operator here biggrin.gif

QUOTE(auronthas @ Jan 2 2010, 10:37 AM)
I even asked Astro CS is any privilege for pioneer subscribers like myself (member since 1998 :haha ), she told me that Astro may have promotions for loyal subscribers.  I wish they will keep to their promise, they should not aim for new subscriber but also to 'maintain' their existing subscriber though there are the sole satellite TV service provider currently.
stimix
post Jan 2 2010, 04:23 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

ehh actually all of us getting the same offer-lah free everything till Apr 2010...mana ada only for pioneer subscribers..u kena con by them liao.
stimix
post Jan 5 2010, 10:34 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

How to install & update this firmware version: 1.0.1.001 dec 23 2009.
stimix
post Jan 5 2010, 11:11 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Tnx will check this evening...I switched off entirely since Y'day.. blush.gif
QUOTE(tHeRiDdLeR @ Jan 5 2010, 11:04 AM)
just leave it on standby mode. my software updated early this morning(around 1am). managed to see the updating progress.  smile.gif
yup, u are right. there is no "download channel list" option. hope will have this option again. maybe in next software update.
stimix
post Jan 5 2010, 02:36 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

They only change the DTU to Dish cable. Still can use the old one if conceal..Problem is u dun get the new one saja-loh
stimix
post Jan 5 2010, 03:56 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Mine not even 2 minutes after the installer called Astro..put down the phone, playing wth the remote & was telling me that it will takes ~20min b4 I can watch..B4 even he teach me how to use the remote further..suddenly the HD & other SD channels activated.. rclxms.gif
QUOTE(auronthas @ Jan 5 2010, 03:40 PM)
How long does it take to activate from installation completed? Mine completed around 1.50pm

I called Astro CS a hour ago , smart card activation is in process, need to wait within 24 hours. WTH !
stimix
post Jan 5 2010, 05:28 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Haha..Astro & intallers always having this coordiantion problem..Mine was delayed almost 4 days after they sort out their mistake...Lucky still within 10 days bcos the installer called me on the 3rd day & suppose to install on 4th day but due to address mismatch, he only installed on the 7th day after I registered online.
stimix
post Jan 5 2010, 08:47 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

There is asignal amplifier available by the installer for RM25.. One of MSM member manage to install that & the signal increased from 180 to 250..i.e the max!!

http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewtopi...=169834#p169834
QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Jan 5 2010, 07:35 PM)
my astro installer didnt change my cables because they are concealed... the signal is at most 195 during the day and 205 at night.... should i call them to come and change the cable? will the change of cable help boost signal strength? ...today it rained and as usual service currently not available.
stimix
post Jan 6 2010, 07:29 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Wow I tested #18 measat 3A & to my suprise getting the max of 255 thumbup.gif
Normal #1, I'm getting only 220-225

QUOTE(pknride @ Jan 5 2010, 11:34 PM)
i'm from pekan...

i can get 220 - 225 (#1 measat 3)

and 240 - 245 (#18 measat 3a)
stimix
post Jan 6 2010, 08:43 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Yeah at 1st it was like dat..I tested b4 last week & as u said blank screen..but wth the latest info, I tried again. 1st still blank screen. I go back & press the channel "+"/"-" button and once other channel OK, I go back to recheck the setting..yeap still #18 & getting 255 rclxm9.gif

Hopefully the blank screen will not come bck again & phsycologically, blush.gif I feel much better PQ in both HD & SD channels.. biggrin.gif
QUOTE(pirateguy @ Jan 6 2010, 08:00 AM)
If you tune to #18 measat 3a, you won't be getting any shows at all?
stimix
post Jan 6 2010, 09:46 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Ehh I think the meaning of locked is locked to the signal kua? bcos mine also showing locked but I strill can change to #18. Thereafter also showing "Locked" sign but satelites stayed at #18

Well I dun really care bcos now getting Max 255 liao.. rclxm9.gif or is it bcos of Y'day firmware update hmm.gif ..Probably need to switch back to satelite #1 to test back the signal hmm.gif

QUOTE(auronthas @ Jan 6 2010, 09:33 AM)
I can test CH 18 but it's locked, how do you get unlocked status? Even my default channel 1 is locked too. Please advise.
stimix
post Jan 6 2010, 11:03 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Try again.. I think the "Locked" is actually locked to the signal. No problem of selecting #18 although mine also showing "Locked" biggrin.gif
QUOTE(auronthas @ Jan 6 2010, 10:56 AM)
Yes, the software is the latest 23 Dec, but ch 18 and ch 1 (default) are locked. There are unlocked channels but signal strength is 0.
stimix
post Jan 6 2010, 02:41 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Tnx for the interesting enlightenment. I was also thinking of the same logic too i.e It will be better if no distortion in between all the connection. Well mine is direct for sure..& less than 2M long bcos the decorder to the dish is close to each other (My DTU is inside my master bedroom & the dish just located outside...Me getting 255 dy...The earlier recommendation is only for those complaining getting less than 200.. biggrin.gif
QUOTE(AstInst @ Jan 6 2010, 02:26 PM)
Sorry to disappoint you but the increase in signal is not a true increase, all that has happened is that the amplitude of the signal has increased.

For satellite signals the most important measurement is "Carrier to Noise Ratio", this is the magnitude of difference between the actual signal and the noise (interference). For example, if you have a signal of 200 with a "noise" level of 20 and adding an amplifier increases the signal to 250 then the underlying noise will have gone up to 25.

What this means is that the signal will appear stronger but as soon as it rains the signal will disappear just the same as with no amplifier installed.

To reduce rain drop out there are four ways to improve the "Carrier to Noise Ratio".

1. Align the dish properly
2. Use a bigger dish
3. Use a LNB with a better "Carrier to Noise Ratio"
4. Run the cable direct to the decoder, no breaks, no splitters and no concealed wiring.

From the forums, it looks like Astro are trying to improve rain drop out by improving all 4!

If anyone has not allowed direct cable to decoder connection or even worse, kept their old dish / LNB then you have really lost out!

Most ppl here seem to get a major improvement in signal strength without an amplifier, whatever your installer says don't let him sell you an amplifier, it amplifies the signal and the noise giving no real improvement other than better numbers on the screen.

The best thing to do is to get the install done correctly and not to let the installer do a poor installation!

Think about it, the installer does a bad install with a poor signal, then he sells you an amplifier!
stimix
post Jan 6 2010, 02:57 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Since you are using RF cable earlier..I think youi forgotten about the AV-RF converter dy.. smile.gif
QUOTE(utellme @ Jan 6 2010, 02:21 PM)
b4 Byond installed.  S-video to TV plasma (Hall ground floor) ,  RF to Hall ( 1st floor) +  Room (2nd floor) ,  AV to DVD Recorder.
Now,  HDMI to Plasma TV , AV --> splitter (1 to 2 ) -->  Plasma TV (for SD programme) + DVD recorder,  Byond Component works nothing..  cry.gif  cry.gif
stimix
post Jan 6 2010, 03:52 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Ehhh Actually at 1st, I installed using cheapo AV-RF converter & as u said worst than ever PQ. but a day later, I changed to a better AV-RF converter (Get those >RM30)...Suprisingly the PQ is not as bad & actually better than just direct RF.. rclxms.gif Well not sure about it bcos previously my 2nd TV was CRT, now it's LCD dy blush.gif

QUOTE(utellme @ Jan 6 2010, 03:30 PM)
Since we pay RM20 monthly just for the HD, what the point that faithfull customer like us since 1999 need this work-around eqmt. why so messy, having those uncessary supporting device around the decoder and display device,  perhaps their 2nd decoder programme didn't got well respond, therefore the RF is not included in this new Byond decoder. I'm abit regret now, as I expect much handy/smarter decoder earlier.

Using AV-RF converter expect worst pic quality.  doh.gif
stimix
post Jan 7 2010, 02:12 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Wah those staying in Perak & Northern Klang Valley got the hisghest beam...
stimix
post Jan 7 2010, 03:46 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Wecome to the clan deani77, All the while I tot u're in mersing or Sarawak. Migrated to N9 dy?

0.0437sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:55 PM