QUOTE(SQL INJECTION @ Jan 20 2010, 11:35 AM)
Signal dead or alive? This post has been edited by low98944: Jan 20 2010, 01:34 PM
Astro B.yond V2.0, HD Content Available
Jan 20 2010, 01:33 PM
5,533 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: Area 51 |
Jan 20 2010, 01:56 PM
647 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Klang |
QUOTE(TallJustin @ Jan 20 2010, 11:38 AM) As a beta tester and an astro employee I'll try and do a few blog posts dedicated to B.yond and try and wrap up most of the major questions that are being repeated on here. Hi, good you're here. I have 2 q.I don't work in our programming or marketing devisions so I'm sorry I'm not able to answer questions about installers, channel line up and pricing. Plus it just wouldn't be appropriate for me to do so. I will, when I get the chance, answer questions related to broadcast and tech. Drop a question on my blog if you like and I'll try to cover that topic in future posts Cheers Justin 1. What is the main reason to change the dish from ODU 60 to ODU 65? It still VSAT dish with 1 way (downlink) & not possible for uplink comm right? 2. Should we really need to change the cable from ODU to decoder? My installer inform me that if I use other than original Astro cable, only then they will change to new cable. |
Jan 20 2010, 02:10 PM
3,542 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Puchong, Selangor |
If too heavy also died wan-lah...but major improvement to older DTU liao...less signal loss except really heavy thunderstorm...This time me also sked, switch off evberthing
QUOTE(low98944 @ Jan 20 2010, 01:33 PM) Added on January 20, 2010, 2:16 pmBut what i need to know is how much is the improvement? It's tremendous improvement & u will get atlest 20% better SQ or a mere 2% improvement that normal ear/noob like me can't really differentiate...I remembered getting the expensive RCA/AV cable wth gold plated to replace my AV connection to my AVR years ago...& I dun really hear any diff between the cheapo RM6 AV cable & the RM6o AV cable.. QUOTE(tigerporc @ Jan 20 2010, 01:08 PM) There is a difference, for digital, you need optical or coaxial. This post has been edited by stimix: Jan 20 2010, 02:16 PM(And reading the Astro B.yond connecting Sony AVR/TV post, it is necessary for dolby 5.1) I recommend just getting the ones sold at ACE hardware, not so expensive and there is some quality. |
Jan 20 2010, 02:30 PM
QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 20 2010, 10:08 AM) I think you should tell them that Stamp duty act requrement is only for new account opening and not switching of plan..Like that, everytime add or delete a package also RM10 stamp duty!! Stamp duty is paid to Government...If they collect it without following to stamp duty act, we can complain to IRD! I think the stamp duty is for 12 month contract for byond. In case you terminate byond within 12 month grace period, u need to pay termination fee. If you resist to pay, Astro can legally take this matter to the court.Unless, they inform you this is their Admin or service charge Of course it take effect eventhough u dont pay the Stamp duty, because Astro has paid it on behalf of u. So, u need to pay them back. |
Jan 20 2010, 02:47 PM
Nah let them take to the court for a small petty RM10..haha...I remembered challenged them for not waiving the crazy RM10 late payt charges which is ridicolous just bcos they received the chq late or u paying using Maybank2U & they updated late!...
I reluctant to pay the "Ah Long interest" for mths & the RM10 became RM60 after 6mths bcos charging late charges upon late charges...After numerous..screwing, They reluctantly waived all the 6 nth late pyt charges!...Nowadays after so many complain on the "Ah Long interest" they no longer charge RM10 dy although u're few days late.. |
Jan 20 2010, 02:49 PM
1,042 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(eMKs @ Jan 20 2010, 02:30 PM) I think the stamp duty is for 12 month contract for byond. In case you terminate byond within 12 month grace period, u need to pay termination fee. If you resist to pay, Astro can legally take this matter to the court. dont think so. i did get rm10 charges when i subscribe to byond. i only get charges when i subscribe to astro (new subscriber). unless they dint mention to me (since the byond bill only come on April)Of course it take effect eventhough u dont pay the Stamp duty, because Astro has paid it on behalf of u. So, u need to pay them back. |
Jan 20 2010, 02:50 PM
34 posts Joined: Feb 2009 From: Klang Valley |
Jan 20 2010, 03:06 PM
1,241 posts Joined: May 2009 From: Kl, Putrajaya |
Jan 20 2010, 03:10 PM
16 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Anyone experiencing wierd behaviour with their subwoofers with astro.byond? It's wreaking havoc on mine with unnecessary signals. So bad I have to turn it off totally. Is there anything I should be aware of? Incorrect cross over frequency perhaps? Suggestions most welcomed.
This post has been edited by Eldrow: Jan 20 2010, 03:10 PM |
Jan 20 2010, 03:11 PM
Jan 20 2010, 03:16 PM
1,241 posts Joined: May 2009 From: Kl, Putrajaya |
Micheal jackson...always in my heart.....
bro...im waiting for f1 season start in march....if they broadcast it in hd...pergh!!!!with the tv technology...sure boom...sound blast...sorry, i just one of the f1 hard fan |
Jan 20 2010, 03:19 PM
Jan 20 2010, 03:24 PM
1,042 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
if thunderstorm, better switch off all the electronic component. there's no guarantee the surge protector able to 100% protect your electrical stuffs..
Jan 20 2010, 03:28 PM
QUOTE(l_berd @ Jan 20 2010, 03:24 PM) if thunderstorm, better switch off all the electronic component. there's no guarantee the surge protector able to 100% protect your electrical stuffs.. 100% agreed Added on January 20, 2010, 3:30 pm QUOTE(apexg2 @ Jan 20 2010, 03:16 PM) Micheal jackson...always in my heart..... yeahh...but I frusted Australian Open in star sports..demmmmbro...im waiting for f1 season start in march....if they broadcast it in hd...pergh!!!!with the tv technology...sure boom...sound blast...sorry, i just one of the f1 hard fan This post has been edited by SQL INJECTION: Jan 20 2010, 03:30 PM |
Jan 20 2010, 03:33 PM
QUOTE(apexg2 @ Jan 20 2010, 03:16 PM) bro...im waiting for f1 season start in march....if they broadcast it in hd...pergh!!!!with the tv technology...sure boom...sound blast...sorry, i just one of the f1 hard fan Don't think so, F1 normally will be broadcast in Star Sport. Just don't want to put high expectation. ESPN HD also uncertain when it will be available, so what u expect more? But the certain thing is, World Cup will be in HD. Waiting for that day. |
Jan 20 2010, 03:54 PM
582 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
did u guys read the paper today? we will b able to watch the world cup in HD first in asia.. izit true? i tawt country like spore, korea n japan oredy got HD long time ago..
Jan 20 2010, 03:58 PM
8 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
Can someone please confirm weather beyond smartcard can use in non beyond decoder. If I remember correctly, someone already confirm non-beyond card can use on beyond decoder. I have an old decoder upstairs without an active account that I use for the kids to watch.
Jan 20 2010, 03:59 PM
807 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(l_berd @ Jan 20 2010, 11:15 AM) The agreed date here for ESPN HD is by the end of JanuaryMaybe 31st January U cant wait for MU vs AC Milan? MU sure lose maa...last nite Tevez killed them Vs MilaN, Beckham will come back and beat the Devils..! |
Jan 20 2010, 04:03 PM
147 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
Jan 20 2010, 04:09 PM