104 Pages « < 92 93 94 95 96 > » Bottom

The Official Subwoofer Thread v3, Everything you need to know about bass!

toratorabluray
post Dec 13 2011, 08:46 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Nov 27 2011, 09:45 PM)
The additional output from Y-splitter is just the same effect as turning up the volume knob. So there is no need to waste money getting the splitter. Remember the splitter is not magically increasing the capability of your sub.
Yes HTkaki mentioned about this also

posting on the subwoofer thread for the 1st time
TShtkaki
post Dec 15 2011, 11:06 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Your current system is quite a big leap compares to your previous system. Now, you have a very capable sub. Anyway, welcome to the subwoofer club too. smile.gif

I bet that you will be watching quite a number of movies again with your new HT system.

SunofaBeach
post Dec 15 2011, 11:30 PM

413 posts

Sorry guys have been busy with exams and assignments laugh.gif

Thanks for the info jchong

QUOTE(Hwoarang45 @ Dec 13 2011, 02:06 PM)
yay finally brought my new sub after soooooooooo long... suffering from roger boomy sub...
Velodyne EQ-Max 10 user reporting here... sound awesome for my tiny room~~! any other owners of this sub can share your settings?

wanna ask i set my sub to 180 phase, and i place my sub to i palce middle of room sideway , is it correct?
====================================
hmm i been wondering about tat too, thanks for clearing it up
what receiver or amp u using, i just finally tune my set up nicely , since i upgrade my receiver to Yamaha RXV771  and Velodyne EQ-Max 10, what i does is i set my sub to 50% volume ,eq off, and let yamaha YPAO sound optimisation to tune my set up, end up, the cut off to sub is about 120hz volume -2db, but i increase it to +2db , sub volume at 45%... so far its tight and no boomy sound for my small room, i have a 4m x 3m room . hope this helps...
I am using the LX82, my room size is about your room size, I'll have a go with your suggested tweeking whenever I got a chance . X'mas is near and still got loads assignment and phase test coming up doh.gif but thanks for the info thumbup.gif
Hwoarang45
post Dec 19 2011, 05:41 PM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

haha i taught im the only one has small room for my av set up, suck right ?
i have problem now, when my sub goes low , a part of my ceiling vibrates.. haiz... dunno which pieces.. need to nail it in..... sad.gif anyone has this problem? im living in a single story, using those old 4x6 ceiling board.. made of cement i think..
SunofaBeach
post Dec 21 2011, 12:13 AM

413 posts

QUOTE(Hwoarang45 @ Dec 19 2011, 05:41 PM)
haha i taught im the only one has small room for my av set up, suck right ?
i have problem now, when my sub goes low , a part of my ceiling vibrates.. haiz... dunno which pieces.. need to nail it in..... sad.gif anyone has this problem? im living in a single story, using those old 4x6 ceiling board.. made of cement  i think..
Having small room is not all bad , at least could save some money for the cables thumbup.gif

Added on December 24, 2011, 3:25 amGuys,

I reposition my sub and tried my setting with all speakers set to small, bass improved, at least no longer boomy(previously placed at room's corner, now moved to front, placed in between front and centre speaker)

However, I notice some instruments sound in some certain music i am familiar with become not so clear when all the speakers set to small and now I am a bit dont know what to do.. doh.gif For pop/rock musics, all speakers set to small sounds great with sub kicks in but for some oldies where bass is not as much, instrument become bit lacking sad.gif

I dont really fancy changing the setting all the time when listening to different musics. Any advice for me guys??

This post has been edited by SunofaBeach: Dec 24 2011, 03:26 AM
Hwoarang45
post Dec 24 2011, 12:38 PM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

yeah save alot on cables, hmmm maybe u can try different cut off frequency, from 120hz to 80hz and see..
SunofaBeach
post Dec 24 2011, 02:24 PM

413 posts

QUOTE(Hwoarang45 @ Dec 24 2011, 12:38 PM)
yeah save alot on cables, hmmm maybe u can try different cut off frequency, from 120hz  to 80hz and see..
Thanks. I have not tried with different cut off freq yet, but I doubt that will solve my problem hmm.gif
klimal
post Dec 24 2011, 06:14 PM

1,136 posts

When listening to music you can either set Audyssey to Flat or ByPass L&R speakers.
See if you like the sound.
I usually set to ByPass L&R for music videos.
SunofaBeach
post Dec 26 2011, 07:26 AM

413 posts

QUOTE(klimal @ Dec 24 2011, 06:14 PM)
When listening to music you can either set Audyssey to Flat or ByPass L&R speakers.
See if you like the sound.
I usually set to ByPass L&R for music videos.
I think my amp doesnt do Audyssey sad.gif
ckf8829
post Dec 27 2011, 01:02 AM

192 posts

Want to ask where can i buy a remote control for velodyne spl ultra series. Mine 1 was missing. Is there any other device can replace? Thanks alot
SunofaBeach
post Dec 27 2011, 08:54 AM

413 posts

QUOTE(ckf8829 @ Dec 27 2011, 01:02 AM)

Want to ask where can i buy a remote control for velodyne spl ultra series. Mine 1 was missing. Is there any other device can replace? Thanks alot
Ebay perhaps ??
Hwoarang45
post Dec 27 2011, 10:46 AM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

QUOTE(SunofaBeach @ Dec 26 2011, 07:26 AM)
I think my amp doesnt do Audyssey  sad.gif
what receiver u using? i think properly set the ideal cut off for your front and sub will balance out the ideal listening bass u seeking...try it ..most simple options now..

QUOTE(ckf8829 @ Dec 27 2011, 01:02 AM)

buy a cheap logitech universal remote, then map from a velodyne or see if they got supported in their list itself, cheaper and more practical than order on-line, u can control multiple stuff too
cslee007
post Dec 27 2011, 11:39 AM

33 posts

Hi all sifus,

Currently i owned a set of Jamo S606. But the bass is kind of weak as it only have 2 x 8" passive subwoofer.
Thinking of getting an active subwoofer preferably works for movies & music (50/50%)
Want to have have ur opinons on below sub:

1. Infinity PS210MKII (offer RM 1399) - had an audition but i think is kind of boomy for music and Ok for movies based on my limited knowledge & experience.

2. Paradigm PDR100 (offer RM 1499) - not yet audition. But check spec it only have 120W RMS power, is it enough to cover my living + dining area (open concept) of 18ft x 24ft area?

3. Is CHT-10Q good for movies & music as well? Saw a lot of forum members use this sub. Not asking for an excellent musicality sub. Is it well enough to handle normal / entry level?

4. SVS PB10NSD - should be very good as i found out a lot of comments and articles from net. But not sure the price.

Hope sifus on there can give some guide / comments.
TQ

Added on December 27, 2011, 11:45 amHow about Paradigm DSP 3100? Good for music & movies?
How much?

This post has been edited by cslee007: Dec 27 2011, 11:45 AM
klimal
post Dec 27 2011, 12:23 PM

1,136 posts

For such a large area, you will need a bigger sub with more power.
Also as you listen to music half the time, it more likely you would prefer a sealed sub for it's musicality.
What is your budget that you have set for the subwoofer?
IIANM, there is a pre-owned sealed SVS SB12-NSD for sale.
This will definitely be a good option.
cslee007
post Dec 27 2011, 01:01 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(klimal @ Dec 27 2011, 12:23 PM)
For such a large area, you will need a bigger sub with more power.
Also as you listen to music half the time, it more likely you would prefer a sealed sub for it's musicality.
What is your budget that you have set for the subwoofer?
IIANM, there is a  pre-owned sealed SVS SB12-NSD for sale.
This will definitely be a good option.
Tight budget, 2.1k max.
I'm just at the entry level. No need SVS SB12 for the moment.
Just start & at the stage of exploring & enjoying HD audio & HT.

So, for this kind of budget, what is the best choose to go for?
1. Velodyne CHT-10Q (roughly 2.2k)
2. Paradigm DSP-3100 (not sure how much yet)
3. Paradigm PDR-100 (RM 1499)
4. Infinity PS210MKII (RM 1399)

Among these, which is the best for movies & music?

Checked online & found out the best subwooder for the range of US 399 - 550, the ranking as below
1. BIC F12 (US 499)
2. Emotiva Ultra Sub 10 (US 329)
3. Elemental A3S-250 (US350)

Any comments on these few models?
DannyOP
post Dec 27 2011, 02:08 PM

5,220 posts

Then don't buy first until you've saved enough. Just because of the few hundred rm you have to sacrifice an inferior sub, and later sell it off to buy one that satisfy your need. it's better to be pound wise than penny wise.

As for the US subs, they run on 110v. After shipping taxes and buying a transformer it'll cost much more.

If you can wait a bit, Rythmik new entry 12in sub will be here in a few months, expected to be rm1800-2000.

This post has been edited by DannyOP: Dec 27 2011, 02:13 PM
SunofaBeach
post Dec 27 2011, 09:06 PM

413 posts

QUOTE(Hwoarang45 @ Dec 27 2011, 10:46 AM)
what receiver u using? i think properly set the ideal cut off for your front and sub will balance out the ideal listening bass u seeking...try it ..most simple options now..
buy a cheap logitech universal remote, then map from a velodyne or see if they got supported in their list itself, cheaper and more practical than order on-line, u can control multiple stuff too
Im using LX82
toratorabluray
post Dec 28 2011, 11:12 AM

314 posts

would this be a good place to ask which CD / music is great in terms of bass?
TShtkaki
post Dec 28 2011, 03:44 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Basstronics - 'I Love You, Bass'
Bass Mekanik - 'Subsonic Beat'
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Dec 28 2011, 04:32 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(toratorabluray @ Dec 28 2011, 11:12 AM)
would this be a good place to ask which CD / music is great in terms of bass?
U can try Blue Man Group 5.1DTS, Crystal Method 5.1DTS. Bass Mechanik is also good to try out ur bass. biggrin.gif

104 Pages « < 92 93 94 95 96 > » Top

0.1308sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:07 AM