Sub25... must do a comparison to Submersive. Congrats!!!
The Official Subwoofer Thread v3, Everything you need to know about bass!
Nov 4 2010, 10:04 PM
1,308 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Penang & Ipoh |
Sub25... must do a comparison to Submersive. Congrats!!!
Nov 4 2010, 10:05 PM
4,403 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Johor Bahru |
QUOTE(pierreye @ Nov 4 2010, 10:18 AM) I've opened it up..no not spider...seems OK..QUOTE(gilbertlhl @ Nov 4 2010, 12:35 PM) If hapens exactly the same scenes, and with lower volume too.. Could be, I need to analyze this, I've collected those problematic movies...Then i would say it might be the source(disk) got proble... QUOTE(choontoy @ Nov 4 2010, 01:50 PM) most probablyQUOTE(arremie @ Nov 4 2010, 02:00 PM) step by step ma. if straightaway from cap ayam to svs then they wont know how to appreciate the price they have paid hehe..thanks for the recommendation... |
Nov 4 2010, 10:38 PM
4,865 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Nov 4 2010, 11:16 PM
hmm, can anyone recommend me a way to check Audio frequency of DTS and DD?
I need to check the LFE frequency...seems like for some movies there is a clipping sound on DTS..i doubt its my Subwoofer is the problem cause I've dismantle it, check for physical, problems and also tried with other bass heavy movies. i did try to google for 'Audio Frequency Checker' etc...but mostly I got is more to external Sound analyzer..not 5.1 Channel analyzer. i want to check internal MKV audio freq that is DD or DTS. Please dun ask me to download Sony Vegas...that one needs a degree in Computer Engineering to use Thanks in advance This post has been edited by azbro: Nov 5 2010, 08:36 AM |
Nov 5 2010, 08:16 AM
3,569 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
Congr's to Shuto on the acquisition of new toy. :thumb:
This sub 25 is piano black or rosenut? Looking forward to see more pics and reviews from you. |
Nov 5 2010, 08:35 AM
3,858 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
QUOTE(azbro @ Nov 4 2010, 11:16 PM) hmm, can anyone recommend me a way to check Audio frequency of DTS and DD? There is a dolby encoded test disc that reproduces the frequencies that u need to test to see if there is a problem with ur sub. Its at the AVS forum and is a free download. I will see if I can find the link, else I will pm u and we can see how I can pass u the disc.I need to check the LFE frequency...seems like for some movies there is a clipping sound on DTS..i doubt its my Subwoofer is the problem cause I've dismantle it, check for physical, problems and also tried with other bass heavy movies. i did try to google for 'Audio Frequency Checker' etc...but mostly I got is more to external Sound analyzer..not 5.1 Channel analyzer. i want to check internal MKV audio freq that is DD or DTS. Thanks in advance |
Nov 5 2010, 09:05 AM
5,989 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
QUOTE(anfieldude @ Nov 5 2010, 08:35 AM) There is a dolby encoded test disc that reproduces the frequencies that u need to test to see if there is a problem with ur sub. Its at the AVS forum and is a free download. I will see if I can find the link, else I will pm u and we can see how I can pass u the disc. Not sure, but I think azbro wants a software that can analyze the DD or DTS core within a MKV file. |
Nov 5 2010, 09:05 AM
QUOTE(anfieldude @ Nov 5 2010, 08:35 AM) There is a dolby encoded test disc that reproduces the frequencies that u need to test to see if there is a problem with ur sub. Its at the AVS forum and is a free download. I will see if I can find the link, else I will pm u and we can see how I can pass u the disc. Well, I've googled around and still can't get that test disc..While google, i read that AVIA is best for this (I have AVIA), but the setup is more for speakers set as 'Small' . Mine is set all to large (except the center) cause using Floorstanders capable of reaching 50hz. i hope you can get the links...thanks.. QUOTE(jchong @ Nov 5 2010, 09:05 AM) Yes, if got better cause I'm really not sure which is broken, Sub?, the source itself?...I can't be spending money on another sub when the source is actually the problem.I think Sony Vegas can do it, but to operate it, seems like needs a computer degree to understand..haha This post has been edited by azbro: Nov 5 2010, 09:10 AM |
Nov 5 2010, 09:37 AM
386 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
Nov 5 2010, 09:39 AM
QUOTE(azbro @ Nov 5 2010, 09:05 AM) While google, i read that AVIA is best for this (I have AVIA), but the setup is more for speakers set as 'Small' . Mine is set all to large (except the center) cause using Floorstanders capable of reaching 50hz. Even front speakers is capable of 30hz, recommended setting is still to set it small and channel LFE to sub.Floorstanders cant produce 30hz @ 100dB. There is limitation. |
Nov 5 2010, 09:54 AM
14,193 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Sbn / KL |
Ronald is right. Moreover it will be taxing for avr to produce low freq. My front goes down to 38Hz, center 49Hz and front wide at 48Hz. I set all to small.
This post has been edited by htkaki: Nov 5 2010, 09:55 AM |
Nov 5 2010, 10:42 AM
1,263 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Kuching, Sarawak. |
Extracted below from Chris Kyriakakis, CTO Audyssey Lab to comment on "LARGE" & "SMALL" Happy reading. Hi everyone, I thought I could jump in and offer some explanations about Audyssey MultEQ and the crossover issue that is being discussed here. First, some background. The Large and Small differentiation can be attributed on Audyssey's co-founder and Chief Science Office, Tomlinson Holman. When he started the THX program many years ago he proposed the use of these terms to describe whether a speaker should be bass managed or not. When discussing speakers designed to the THX spec that meant that if a speaker has a -3 dB cutoff point of 80 Hz or above it should be called Small and if it can go below 80 Hz it should be called Large. This terminology is now widely used by manufacturers even if the speakers are not THX. This is the case in the Onkyo receiver. Onkyo specified that the decision for Large or Small will be based on 80 Hz. So, when Audyssey MultEQ runs it measures each speaker's response and reports the -3 dB point to the Onkyo bass management system. The problem is that when a speaker has a -3 dB point of, say, 79 Hz, MultEQ will call it "Large" to follow the rules. The Onkyo bass management system then sets it to Large and bass below 79 Hz is not sent to the sub because it is assumed that the speaker will handle it. We are working hard to convince manufacturers to change their thinking about the default settings of their bass management. Some have already done so and have lowered the criterion to 40 Hz. The 705 doesn't do that automatically, so the simple solution is to manually set the speakers to Small after the calibration is finished. When you do that, the crossover values that were found by MultEQ will be applied to all speakers and the bass will be properly redirected to the subwoofer. This manual step is a small inconvenience, but it doesn't have any negative effect on the performance of the room correction filters produced by MultEQ. I hope this helps clear up things. Please let me know if I can answer any other questions about Audyssey. Best regards, Chris Kyriakakis Founder and CTO Audyssey Laboratories |
Nov 5 2010, 11:27 AM
5,989 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
QUOTE(azbro @ Nov 5 2010, 09:05 AM) Yes, if got better cause I'm really not sure which is broken, Sub?, the source itself?...I can't be spending money on another sub when the source is actually the problem. To test the sub, do you have access to test tones or a test sweep? You can then play the tones to see if any funny sounds come from the sub. I think you might be able to download REW and use it just to output to the sub and listen for funny sounds.To test if it is the source, go to a friend's house, play the same scene and listen if his sub makes that funny noise. Personally I doubt if it is the source. It is possible the source might have a very strong bass level, and if you turn up the volume it might cause the amp to clip or driver to bottom out. But this is not a fault of the source, more like the other equipment cannot handle the source. |
Nov 5 2010, 11:28 AM
1,814 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
Nov 5 2010, 12:12 PM
Logit, where is your sub 25?
Nov 5 2010, 12:20 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Nov 5 2010, 09:54 AM) Ronald is right. Moreover it will be taxing for avr to produce low freq. My front goes down to 38Hz, center 49Hz and front wide at 48Hz. I set all to small. OK, I'll try out 'Small' Pity, nice floorstanders...hope i get the same midbass punch using 'Small'QUOTE(mikapoh @ Nov 5 2010, 10:42 AM) Extracted below from Chris Kyriakakis, CTO Audyssey Lab to comment on "LARGE" & "SMALL" Thanks, but seriously, dun understand at all Happy reading. QUOTE(jchong @ Nov 5 2010, 11:27 AM) To test the sub, do you have access to test tones or a test sweep? You can then play the tones to see if any funny sounds come from the sub. I think you might be able to download REW and use it just to output to the sub and listen for funny sounds. I check the Avia II disc and it has freq sweep even for the Subs..so I tested it...seems OK...no funny cracking sound.To test if it is the source, go to a friend's house, play the same scene and listen if his sub makes that funny noise. Personally I doubt if it is the source. It is possible the source might have a very strong bass level, and if you turn up the volume it might cause the amp to clip or driver to bottom out. But this is not a fault of the source, more like the other equipment cannot handle the source. I can't be sure if it is the Source or not. I have 3 problematic movies for the bass. True Legend (CHD) : The bass cracks at certain parts even when I turn down the volume soft. Thats for DTS, when i change to DD, it sounds a bit different, but there were no crack sound. Avatar Last Airbender (cbgb): The bass cracks at 1 scene. Couldn't change audio as it came with DTS only. Legend of Boneknapper Dragon Untouched: There were 2 parts were the Boneknapper Dragon started having voice coming out from the Sub! Thats for DolbyTrueHD, but normal AC3 it was fine. In all occasion, even making the volume softer didn't change anything. Can still hear go crack sound. Anyway, see how it goes.. This post has been edited by azbro: Nov 5 2010, 12:21 PM |
Nov 5 2010, 12:59 PM
Nov 5 2010, 01:07 PM
QUOTE(logit85 @ Nov 5 2010, 12:59 PM) i dont have sub 25 logit, confusing u ah people 1.because big problem i need play longer time for 10hours++ everday music songs for bass louder but i dont want woofer burned like voice coil burned i think sub 25 not suite movie Said music listering u for 10hours++ bass louder boomy boom boom. Then, you said movie suite u not. Movie or Music listering?! |
Nov 5 2010, 02:04 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Nov 5 2010, 01:07 PM) logit, confusing u ah people 1. when i want watch movie that i dont want bad sound bassSaid music listering u for 10hours++ bass louder boomy boom boom. Then, you said movie suite u not. Movie or Music listering?! let say i get big room i take big screen projector full hd 1080p so i need two subwoofer front corner left and front corner right This post has been edited by logit85: Nov 5 2010, 02:04 PM |
Nov 5 2010, 02:35 PM
QUOTE(logit85 @ Nov 5 2010, 02:04 PM) when i want watch movie that i dont want bad sound bass How big is your room? 40m x 60m? I doubt small your room is since music listering you at 140dB. Must be like a concert hall. Else, deaf u become 10hours music listering you loud boomy boom boom.let say i get big room i take big screen projector full hd 1080p so i need two subwoofer front corner left and front corner right Bad sound bass come out no from Sub25. Sub25 is King of Sub for below RM20k. Worry no that it sound as ridiculous bass loose and crap like Z5500 Time for you to walk the talk |
| Change to: | 0.0326sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:08 AM |