Next Gen Console: PS3 vs XBOX 360 vs. Wii, Next Gen speculation discussion

mzaidi
post Dec 1 2006, 01:35 PM

Jerk
1,484 posts

Real PS3 Power Usage Figures

When sitting idle at the crossbar navigation system, the equivalent to the Xbox 360 dashboard or the Wii's home menu, the PS3 used anywhere from 185 to 205 watts. When doing similar work the Xbox 360 uses 145 watts and the Wii just 15-20.

Now, for the gaming. We tested with three games and found consumption to be lowest when playing Tiger Woods 07, registering at 185-190 watts, and highest when playing Formula One Championship Edition, which demanded a rather more disconcerting 217 watts on average. By comparison the Xbox 360 comes in at 165 watts during gameplay with the Wii using only around 120. Finally, during Blu-ray playback the PS3 continued to draw a surprising 205 watts, just to spew the rather craptacular Ricky Bobby to my HDTV.

Source
SUSMatrix
post Dec 1 2006, 07:10 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Cross Platform Games Graphics comparison:
Round 1: XBOX360 knocked out PS3

Just check out IGN.com.

Read the reviews on COD3, NFS Carbon and Marvel Ultimate Alliance.

It looks like the overpriced PS3 is worst than the older and cheaper XBOX360 in terms of graphics.

I don't care about those games, and they're not the games that push the platform, but it does say something, feels like the previous gen again....PS3 overhyped and underperformed....hee-hee.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 1 2006, 07:11 PM
empire23
post Dec 1 2006, 11:21 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Nov 21 2006, 07:32 PM)
Oh, now only I know. But why there will be final fantasy for ps3 and not on xb360 ? The developer got bribe ? I love japanese RPG games. Too bad not many japanese RPG for xb360
Obviously. You don't think Sony butters Konami or Square's hands with some green? You must be kidding.

The only advantage the PS3 has is it's so called "Killer List" of games, which i really haven't seen yet, atleast the 360 only came with the power brick fluke, the PS3 rides in with enough flukes to best Windows 98.

When it comes to games, if microsoft were to pay as much to publishers and developers as Sony did, why can't they whupp the PS3's arse? It's easier to program, has better development tools, more graphics power (RED TEAM WINS!), consumes less power, it more mature and heck being backed by a software firm like Microsoft, any development comes with far better support than Sony gives.

If Sony's future rides on this, then Sony's future is going down. (My advice is to buy their Stock now or until next week, and sell it when MGS4 comes out, but if Gayden comes back as a playable character, consider your money lost)
pirateguy
post Dec 2 2006, 12:02 AM

1,409 posts

COD3
www.gametrailers.com/player.php?id=15368&type=wmv
-X360 version seem to have better textures

Marvel: Ultimate Alliance
www.gametrailers.com/player.php?id=15399&type=wmv
-PS3 version have framerate issue
munky
post Dec 2 2006, 08:27 PM

1,971 posts

It's a new console. Wait for a couple of months, and i think they will overcome the problems
pirateguy
post Dec 3 2006, 06:10 PM

1,409 posts

QUOTE(munky @ Dec 2 2006, 08:27 PM)
It's a new console. Wait for a couple of months, and i think they will overcome the problems
Yes, Xbox was a new console right after PS2 yet had no problem showing its graphical advantage over PS2.

tongue.gif
xxboxx
post Dec 4 2006, 08:22 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(pirateguy @ Dec 3 2006, 06:10 PM)
Yes, Xbox was a new console right after PS2 yet had no problem showing its graphical advantage over PS2.

tongue.gif
spot on! rclxms.gif
SUSMatrix
post Dec 5 2006, 09:42 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(pirateguy @ Dec 3 2006, 06:10 PM)

tongue.gif
Exactly. It is so embarassing for SONY. USD600 piece of junk and it can't do a better version of COD, NFS:Carbon, Marvel Ultimate Alliance....and these games are not even games that push the system to the limit!!! doh.gif

somemore have to pad in junk files to pad the BluRay disc with over 20GB of rubbish just make the game looks heavy.... doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
redken
post Dec 5 2006, 11:54 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

SONY is bargaining hard for profit. They have been in the red for 2 consecutive years, it's not surprising that the will snoop so low.

Over the years, SONY have really gone out of touch with the gaming society. They have forgoten y they succeeded with the PS1 in those days. First they were late, second they were new. The sold not because their hardware was better, the graphics were marvellous or because of fancy franchises. They managed because the PS1 entry cost was low.

Anyhow, my definition of Blu Ray is = Truly Hyped-Definiton a.k.a JUNK.

This post has been edited by redken: Dec 6 2006, 12:00 AM
SUSMatrix
post Dec 6 2006, 02:47 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(redken @ Dec 5 2006, 11:54 PM)
SONY is bargaining hard for profit. They have been in the red for 2 consecutive years, it's not surprising that the will snoop so low.

Over the years, SONY have really gone out of touch with the gaming society. They have forgoten y they succeeded with the PS1 in those days. First they were late, second they were new. The sold not because their hardware was better, the graphics were marvellous or because of fancy franchises. They managed because the PS1 entry cost was low.

Anyhow, my definition of Blu Ray is = Truly Hyped-Definiton a.k.a JUNK.
Kinda not totally agree there. I believed the PS1 won the war due to a few reasons:

(1) They have the 3rd party support. This is #1 reason, everything else is second fiddle. And for some reason SEGA fails to court the developers like the Genesis era.

(2) Their hardware is actually better. The first true 3D console(Jaguar is too crappy to be even considered) and it beats the Saturn to a pulp. Sure the N64 was better but it was marred by the cartridge format and couldn't beat SONY for the reason #1 above, as developer prefer the CD-ROM format as it's cheaper to produce/more storage(which is really neaded at that time, unlike the Blu-Ray lies of the PS3) and publisher don't have to hold all the extra cart in stock in case a game bombs. Believe it or not, FMV woo a lot of people if done right...aka Final Fantasy 7.

(3) Franchise DOES plays a big part. They have NAMCO onboard with Ridge Racer, Tekken and Square's FF. Enough combo to move things at that time (although Ridge Racer and Tekken has lost their appeal now). It was the era where near-perfect arcade conversion was god, and the PS1 does it brilliantlly as it's the same hardware( System-11) of the NAMCO arcade boards.

The PS2 won becoz of the same reason #1 and they carry the success/brand name of the PS1 into the next-gen, but at the same time saw them making the mistake with the PS2 hardware which is inferior and tough to develop. Lucky for them, the 3rd party are still on board as I'm quite sure their business partners management team done an excellent job to retain 3rd parties and overlook their other weakness.

But with PS3, they've really gone overboard. They concentrate too much with the CELL crap and the dream of next-gen format(still sore from the Betamax wounds, i bet). All they're preaching is hardware and more hardware (which doesn't live up to expectations, like the PS2), at the expense of their customers.

I'm almost certain they'll not LEAD this generation as they'll lose tons of market share to Nintendo and MS. However, i do believe they've a very good chance to win the next-gen format war.

There's probably more Blu-Ray player in the world now than all the other HD-DVD players combined by now.

btw, with FullHD LCD(RM10K +) panels at sky rocket price...just how many people will be buying one soon??

This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 6 2006, 02:49 PM
PrivateJohn
post Dec 6 2006, 03:25 PM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

In terms of 3rd party support now, it can be said it's almost equal for ps3 & xb360.
It all boils down to who got the better 1st party games, features & services.

This post has been edited by PrivateJohn: Dec 6 2006, 03:25 PM
ikanayam
post Dec 6 2006, 05:13 PM

there are no pacts between fish and men
10,544 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 1 2006, 06:10 AM)
Cross Platform Games Graphics comparison:
Round 1: XBOX360 knocked out PS3

Just check out IGN.com.

Read the reviews on COD3, NFS Carbon and Marvel Ultimate Alliance.

It looks like the overpriced PS3 is worst than the older and cheaper XBOX360 in terms of graphics.

I don't care about those games, and they're not the games that push the platform, but it does say something,  feels like the previous gen again....PS3 overhyped and underperformed....hee-hee.
Just wanted to say a big I TOLD YOU SO to the people who said that i was drawing premature conclusions when i said the PS3 won't be graphically superior to the 360 a long time ago. I knew what i was talking about, as usual. Fact is, the 360 GPU is superior to the PS3 GPU.
SUSSetsunahq
post Dec 6 2006, 05:36 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(ikanayam @ Dec 6 2006, 05:13 PM)
Just wanted to say a big I TOLD YOU SO to the people who said that i was drawing premature conclusions when i said the PS3 won't be graphically superior to the 360 a long time ago. I knew what i was talking about, as usual. Fact is, the 360 GPU is superior to the PS3 GPU.
the ironic is too strong and it hurt my balls
limecity
post Dec 6 2006, 10:48 PM

How much does Xbox cost in Malaysia?
anyone?
redken
post Dec 7 2006, 07:05 AM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 6 2006, 02:47 PM)
Kinda not totally agree there. I believed the PS1 won the war due to a few reasons:

(1) They have the 3rd party support. This is #1 reason, everything else is second fiddle. And for some reason SEGA fails to court the developers like the Genesis era.

(2) Their hardware is actually better. The first true 3D console(Jaguar is too crappy to be even considered) and it beats the Saturn to a pulp. Sure the N64 was better but it was marred by the cartridge format and couldn't beat SONY for the reason #1 above, as developer prefer the CD-ROM format as it's cheaper to produce/more storage(which is really neaded at that time, unlike the Blu-Ray lies of the PS3) and publisher don't have to hold all the extra cart in stock in case a game bombs. Believe it or not, FMV woo a lot of people if done right...aka Final Fantasy 7.

(3) Franchise DOES plays a big part. They have NAMCO onboard with Ridge Racer, Tekken and Square's FF. Enough combo to move things at that time (although Ridge Racer and Tekken has lost their appeal now). It was the era where near-perfect arcade conversion was god, and the PS1 does it brilliantlly as it's the same hardware( System-11) of the NAMCO arcade boards.

The PS2 won becoz of the same reason #1 and they carry the success/brand name of the PS1 into the next-gen, but at the same time saw them making the mistake with the PS2 hardware which is inferior and tough to develop. Lucky for them, the 3rd party are still on board as I'm quite sure their business partners management team done an excellent job to retain 3rd parties and overlook their other weakness.

But with PS3, they've really gone overboard. They concentrate too much with the CELL crap and the dream of next-gen format(still sore from the Betamax wounds, i bet). All they're preaching is hardware and more hardware (which doesn't live up to expectations, like the PS2), at the expense of their customers.

I'm almost certain they'll not LEAD this generation as they'll lose tons of market share to Nintendo and MS. However, i do believe they've a very good chance to win the next-gen format war.

There's probably more Blu-Ray player in the world now than all the other HD-DVD players combined by now.

btw, with FullHD LCD(RM10K +) panels at sky rocket price...just how many people will be buying one soon??
I couldnt read minds of game developers or CEO like u do. Till then i would just trust my fingers. thumbup.gif

SUSMatrix
post Dec 7 2006, 03:17 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(ikanayam @ Dec 6 2006, 05:13 PM)
Hey, don't steal that from me. I told the "I TOLD YOU SO" here in this thread somewhere earliar as well. LOL.

SUSMatrix
post Dec 7 2006, 03:20 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(PrivateJohn @ Dec 6 2006, 03:25 PM)
In terms of 3rd party support now, it can be said it's almost equal for ps3 & xb360.
It all boils down to who got the better 1st party games, features & services.
Not really equal. Until i see major CAPCOM, KONAMI and SQUARE-ENIX games on board (and i don't mean 3rd rate games like FFXI, Dynasty warriors or some other stuff no one cares about), the XBOX360 is still very weak in terms of japanese support.

It could change, but until then, my money is on the WII.
zio
post Dec 7 2006, 03:58 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Capcom is on Xbox 360. Heck there is even rumours that Microsoft will buy over Capcom.

Square-Enix is also on Xbox 360. Not so sure about Konami, but there are news that says Konami is pressuring Hideo Kojima to make MGS4 multi-platform.
SUSMatrix
post Dec 8 2006, 12:13 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Dec 7 2006, 03:58 PM)
Capcom is on Xbox 360. Heck there is even rumours that Microsoft will buy over Capcom.

Square-Enix is also on Xbox 360. Not so sure about Konami, but there are news that says Konami is pressuring Hideo Kojima to make MGS4 multi-platform.
CAPCOM - Do i see games like DMC4, or the next-gen Omnimusha? There's some games for MS platform, but i still think it's not the full support given.

Square-Enix?? Don't kid urself. Show me the games and i'll believe you. And please dun talk about that FFXI which isn't a real FFX game anyway.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 8 2006, 12:16 AM
acougan
post Dec 8 2006, 12:56 AM

590 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 8 2006, 12:13 AM)
CAPCOM - Do i see games like DMC4, or the next-gen Omnimusha? There's some games for MS platform, but i still think it's not the full support given.

Square-Enix?? Don't kid urself. Show me the games and i'll believe you. And please dun talk about that FFXI which isn't a real FFX game anyway.
hehe, the onimusha team is actually working on Lost Planet:EC. based on the successful dead rising, producer Keiji Inafune has basically risen to top of the capcom food chain and it basically calling the shots for several capcom development studio. clover is no more, and shinji mikami is a contract worker for RE5. DMC and Monster Hunter franchise will go multi-platform, me thinks tongue.gif tongue.gif

for square enix, its hard to say. while FFXIII may not go multi-platform, it has smaller franchises can that be ported - saga series, mana series, grandia series, fm series, FF spin-offs, DQ spin-offs, tri-ace projects, etc...

as for konami, i'm pretty sure a version of MGS will come to 360. whether its MGS4 port or another spin-off or remake project, remains to be seen

and yes i agree, all jpn publishers will be hedging their bets and spending development staff & money on WiiDS games icon_rolleyes.gif

55 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0288sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:58 PM