97 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

SVS Owners Thread V2.0, New PB and PC DSP are here!

mpyw
post Feb 10 2010, 03:02 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Feb 10 2010, 02:47 PM)
SVS us "upping" the ante....I wonder how the subwoofer community is going to react to the 13s and 16s.....

More choices for us, and with htkaki as the distri we can expect some pretty good launch prices, as he states.
another round of 15% off and RM1000 1st prize lucky draw??? tongue.gif brows.gif sweat.gif
JiauBoy
post Feb 10 2010, 03:29 PM

727 posts

most welcome hahahha biggrin.gif
klimal
post Feb 10 2010, 03:54 PM

1,136 posts

Last night I played Terminator Salvation's gas station scene and was lirerally blown away shocking.gif shocking.gif
This is the first time I felt infrasonic bass in my home notworthy.gif
And this is just the DVD version.Can't wait to lay my hands on the BD
The sofa was giving me a back massage each time the mecha took a step forward and the rumble of the tow truck is astounding.
I am so glad I busted my budget to get this PC12-NSD.
It is worth every sen.
My son cringed in fear watching *ahem* DVD9 version of Jurassic park too. And he's 10 years old doh.gif
To anyone in the market for a sub, this is one you must not miss. thumbup.gif
JiauBoy
post Feb 10 2010, 04:02 PM

727 posts

if play game lagi strong. how come no one talk abt pb12-nsd.

tested on bd t2 salvation. not bad at all but i cant on too loud.
TShtkaki
post Feb 10 2010, 04:56 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

knee_drag2002 and Boon3 are having the PB12-NSDs.

mpyw, no lucky draw lah but I have pre-order price for those early birds.

kiam
post Feb 10 2010, 11:19 PM

183 posts

pb13u or sb13+? sad.gif
knee_drag2002
post Feb 10 2010, 11:34 PM

PB12-NSD owner checking-in. Still playing around with the placement of the sub, and having limited options make it even more difficult.

Nevertheless, this is one kick-@$$ sub. My entry level set-up(if you can call it that;a 5 yr old Sony AVR and 5 channel speakers) surprisingly is not overwhelmed by the massive earth-moving bass this sub gives out. Well controlled and the LFE is just awesome.

As in klimal's case, I was also tempted to look for something below my 1.5K budget, but the reviews from fellow SVS sub owners made me change my mind, and I am sure glad I did. Can't wait for the 50 hours 'run-in' period to finish, then I can crank the volume up to 11. Woohoo

thumbup.gif
JiauBoy
post Feb 11 2010, 07:58 AM

727 posts

just curious, normally how loud u guys turn on the speaker?

mine max i did is -20, is that normal?
Boon3
post Feb 11 2010, 08:06 AM

15,942 posts

I also don't do too loud. Usually around -25db and max around 20db.
arremie
post Feb 11 2010, 09:47 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Feb 11 2010, 08:06 AM)
I also don't do too loud. Usually around -25db and max around 20db.
same here
ronaldjoe
post Feb 11 2010, 09:50 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(JiauBoy @ Feb 11 2010, 07:58 AM)
just curious, normally how loud u guys turn on the speaker?

mine max i did is -20, is that normal?
Same here. Sometimes -18 or -16.
Rerun audyssey few days ago. Sub trim was -3db by audyssey. I added 3db manually.
I set my avr's volume cut off max at -10.

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Feb 11 2010, 09:57 AM
JiauBoy
post Feb 11 2010, 10:04 AM

727 posts

i see. think i will increase the center volumn
anfieldude
post Feb 11 2010, 10:37 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Feb 11 2010, 09:50 AM)
Same here. Sometimes -18 or -16.
Rerun audyssey few days ago. Sub trim was -3db by audyssey. I added 3db manually.
I set my avr's volume cut off max at -10.
Wow! Thats a 6dB increase from Audyssey. Do you have a SPL Meter to verify if the speaker levels are matched when u add 6dB to the sub trim?

Run to run variation and the mic variations of +/- 2dB but 6dB seems kinda high.
arremie
post Feb 11 2010, 10:41 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(JiauBoy @ Feb 11 2010, 10:04 AM)
i see. think i will increase the center volumn
without power amp i have to run my center 2-3db hotter
JiauBoy
post Feb 11 2010, 10:45 AM

727 posts

some noob question... whats the cross over for? i should connect my speaker here?
klimal
post Feb 11 2010, 11:01 AM

1,136 posts

When Max@htkaki calibrated my system with the spl meter, 75db reference level was equivalent to 59 on my onky 607.
I usually watch at the 50 mark.
How will this translate, in terms -db levels?
anfieldude
post Feb 11 2010, 11:11 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(klimal @ Feb 11 2010, 11:01 AM)
When Max@htkaki calibrated my system with the spl meter, 75db reference level was equivalent to 59 on my onky 607.
I usually watch at the 50 mark.
How will this translate, in terms -db levels?
The 59 is in relative terms. If you go into setup, u can change it to absolute and you will know how many dB is its. It depends on your trims as the trims will decide the max dB on Onkyo systems.
klimal
post Feb 11 2010, 11:25 AM

1,136 posts

anfieldude,
Oh....i wasn't aware one could change the volume levels to dB .
I have the 607 and need to go thro' the manual again.
Thanks for the heads up!
ronaldjoe
post Feb 11 2010, 11:46 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Feb 11 2010, 10:37 AM)
Wow! Thats a 6dB increase from Audyssey. Do you have a SPL Meter to verify if the speaker levels are matched when u add 6dB to the sub trim?

Run to run variation and the mic variations of +/- 2dB but 6dB seems kinda high.
Anfield sifu, I don't have SPL to test. But it sounds good to me. sweat.gif
1st audyssey run: sub trim -2db, manual setting 1db
2nd audyssey run: sub trim -3db, manual setting 0db

I would rerun audyseey later as it was raining that time.
Audyssey trims on other speakers were pretty consistent tho.

There was one time, the volume was put at -10 for like an hour with "This is it".
I didn't notice it until I looked at AVR. The sound was loud but clean and no distortion.

anfieldude
post Feb 11 2010, 11:52 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Feb 11 2010, 11:46 AM)
Anfield sifu, I don't have SPL to test. But it sounds good to me.  sweat.gif
1st audyssey run: sub trim -2db, manual setting 1db
2nd audyssey run: sub trim -3db, manual setting 0db

I would rerun audyseey later as it was raining that time.
Audyssey trims on other speakers were pretty consistent tho.

There was one time, the volume was put at -10 for like an hour with "This is it".
I didn't notice it until I looked at AVR. The sound was loud but clean and no distortion.
I doubt the PB13 would distort, u don't have anything to worry about that. It has plenty of headroom.

However, what I meant was that it would be hotter than the rest of the speakers. What can happen when it is too hot, is that it can muddle up the rest of the spectrum as it will take longer to decay. However, what's important is what u like...don't worry abt what I blabber. So enjoy ur sub....

97 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0217sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:31 AM