SVS Owners Thread V2.0, New PB and PC DSP are here!
Feb 2 2010, 11:02 PM
4,865 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
tubular? sounded nasty
Feb 3 2010, 09:47 PM
14,193 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Sbn / KL |
Tubular......
QUOTE Newbie question: Is it true that tubular woofers are easier to position as oppose to their traditional box siblings? Yes, it is indeed as cyclinder sub (PC) weight much lesser than the box sub (PB). So, it is easier to move around to get the correct position. Corner would be best in most cases. |
Feb 8 2010, 09:36 AM
1,136 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
Bought the PC12-NSD after much research and numerous trips to AV shops for auditioning. Shakes my sofa and rattles my plaster ceiling Spent the whole of Sunday going thro' King Kong, Matrix, T2 ROTF and Terminator Salvation. It gives a whole new 'visceral' experience to the show Thanks to HTkaki for the delivery and calibration. The surround sounds so much better and integrated after that. Finally feels like I am having a 7.1 system Tho' it was out of my initial budget of <2K, there was just too many good reviews and user feedback for me to ignore. |
Feb 8 2010, 03:36 PM
QUOTE(klimal @ Feb 8 2010, 09:36 AM) Bought the PC12-NSD after much research and numerous trips to AV shops for auditioning. Shakes my sofa and rattles my plaster ceiling Spent the whole of Sunday going thro' King Kong, Matrix, T2 ROTF and Terminator Salvation. It gives a whole new 'visceral' experience to the show Thanks to HTkaki for the delivery and calibration. The surround sounds so much better and integrated after that. Finally feels like I am having a 7.1 system Tho' it was out of my initial budget of <2K, there was just too many good reviews and user feedback for me to ignore. I bet you will re-watch all your movies again. Another new SVS owner is in the house; jediknight8820 |
Feb 8 2010, 03:42 PM
197 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
PC-12 NSD owner reporting in. collect/unpack/set-up/demo within the same day. this thing was 'huge', really need to get use to seeing it just sitting there.
Initial calibration done and the difference was 'drastic' - using KungFu Panda bluray. agree with the previous post that it rattles my 'plaster ceiling' but its not that bad - coz i'm using Subdude. Now need to further 'tweak' using SPL meter and check the best placement for this 'thing', also the 'burn-in' period. |
Feb 8 2010, 04:24 PM
Good to hear that
Still waiting for Reix to sort out his PC12-NSD placement to maximise the potential. knee_drag2002 got his PB12-NSD too but he is busy and needs to get a longer sub cable. nadky is trying to optimize his PC12-NSD while Jiauboy is doing the burn-in for his PB12-NSD. Boon3 is already enjoying his PB12-NSD. We have growing SVS members! Btw, feel free to join SVS Malaysia Owner and Fan Club on Facebook Group. On another note, you guys can audition SVS subs starting from 27th Feb 2010. Location map to be uploaded soon. Feel free to bring other subs for a shootout. |
Feb 9 2010, 10:17 AM
1,136 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
Burn in??
So I listened at my usual level of 50-52 onb my onky 607 Shouldn't be a problem I hope. OTOH, the figure 50hours seems to ring a bell What level should one use during the burn in period? This post has been edited by klimal: Feb 9 2010, 10:18 AM |
Feb 9 2010, 04:34 PM
klimal, your volume is not considered as loud so it sld be ok along the 'burn-in' process while you watch movie.
Anyway, here are some sneak peek of what to come : » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by htkaki: Feb 9 2010, 04:48 PM |
Feb 9 2010, 04:43 PM
3,569 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
QUOTE(htkaki @ Feb 9 2010, 04:34 PM) klimal, your volume is not considered as loud so it sld be ok along the 'burn-in' process while you watch movie. How much is this sexy baby? 2x SB is better than one PB rite?Anyway, here are some sneak peek of what to come : » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Added on February 9, 2010, 4:45 pm6.3A x 120v = 750watt amp This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Feb 9 2010, 04:49 PM |
Feb 9 2010, 04:50 PM
Sld be same price as PB13-Ultra since the MSRP is same as Ultra. However, there will be a pre-order for this whereby you will save about RM850. Yet to be confirmed.
Feb 9 2010, 04:58 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Feb 9 2010, 04:50 PM) Sld be same price as PB13-Ultra since the MSRP is same as Ultra. However, there will be a pre-order for this whereby you will save about RM850. Yet to be confirmed. Aiyak, I faint liao for this price... But the size so much more compact than PB. Is the SB13 using new driver as well? SVS 12.3" driver will be replaced by 12.4" driver. So the existing 13.3" driver => ??.?" driver for this new SB. |
Feb 10 2010, 09:55 AM
It looks like the proven 13-Ultra to me :
![]() SVS has been using 12.4" driver for its PC12-Plus since early last year. The SB12-NSD will employs a new driver as compare to SB12-Plus. Expect better performance. As for SB13-Plus, it will not blow away F113 but it is very near to its performance. Impressive for this price range. |
Feb 10 2010, 09:58 AM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Feb 10 2010, 09:55 AM) It looks like the proven 13-Ultra to me : Would this SB13 plus have some calibration wizard like F113?![]() SVS has been using 12.4" driver for its PC12-Plus since early last year. The SB12-NSD will employs a new driver as compare to SB12-Plus. Expect better performance. As for SB13-Plus, it will not blow away F113 but it is very near to its performance. Impressive for this price range. |
Feb 10 2010, 10:57 AM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Bro, patient..... more news on the way This post has been edited by htkaki: Feb 10 2010, 11:06 AM |
Feb 10 2010, 10:59 AM
1,814 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
wow SB13Plus sealed i see woofer nice htkaki how about to playing music will be good bass tight ???
or i most wait SB16 Ultra sealed i want see picture svs woofer 16inch |
Feb 10 2010, 11:10 AM
QUOTE(logit85 @ Feb 10 2010, 10:59 AM) wow SB13Plus sealed i see woofer nice htkaki how about to playing music will be good bass tight ??? Million dollar question for me to answer you that or i most wait SB16 Ultra sealed i want see picture svs woofer 16inch Tight bass is definitely but tight how to you judgment difficult. Know not of exquisite taste you. I am not sure about the SB16-Ultra but definitely it is going to be the reference model of SVS. Pay very much expect for this. How much budget have got you? |
Feb 10 2010, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Feb 10 2010, 11:10 AM) Million dollar question for me to answer you that If it's around RM12k, then can consider la.Tight bass is definitely but tight how to you judgment difficult. Know not of exquisite taste you. I am not sure about the SB16-Ultra but definitely it is going to be the reference model of SVS. Pay very much expect for this. How much budget have got you? Need to sell PB |
Feb 10 2010, 11:31 AM
1,814 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
QUOTE(htkaki @ Feb 10 2010, 11:10 AM) Million dollar question for me to answer you that ohh u not sure sb16-ultra ok i like to buy two subwoofer so which batter i take SB13 or SB16Tight bass is definitely but tight how to you judgment difficult. Know not of exquisite taste you. I am not sure about the SB16-Ultra but definitely it is going to be the reference model of SVS. Pay very much expect for this. How much budget have got you? i can wait to long hehe SB16 Ultra sealed i want see picture svs woofer 16inch can u do picture to get 16inch woofer svs |
Feb 10 2010, 12:03 PM
5,989 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Feb 10 2010, 02:47 PM
3,858 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
QUOTE(jchong @ Feb 10 2010, 12:03 PM) Good to see more updated info on the new sealed models. Interestingly, for the SB13 and SB16 they spec the FR at +/- 6dB limits. SVS us "upping" the ante....I wonder how the subwoofer community is going to react to the 13s and 16s.....More choices for us, and with htkaki as the distri we can expect some pretty good launch prices, as he states. |
| Change to: | 0.0328sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:06 AM |