97 Pages « < 86 87 88 89 90 > » Bottom

SVS Owners Thread V2.0, New PB and PC DSP are here!

AlamakLor
post May 28 2011, 09:08 AM

9,856 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ May 26 2011, 11:43 PM)
If you power the surrounds with the 4311 (even if set up in zone 2) can you still use it in pre-amp mode?
AFAIK yes, you can run the amp in preamp mode and assign zone2/3 to additional surround. Audyssey still works. That's what I read on AVS and I also set the AVR to do so but haven't connected the speakers yet. This is one other reason why I chose the 4311 over the 7005 as I don't need additional amp to power my 2 more surrounds

SVS' pricing is relatively high even in NA, few of their subwoofers are now selling over 500USD more than just a few years ago. My initial choice wasn't even SVS but HSU VTF15 however shipping kinda killed the value part of it so I paid more to grab the SVS locally (400usd additional premium for shipping, duties, and taxes to my place for the VTF15). Rythmik is also a very serious contender and most of the time these 3 would get mentioned whenever someone is looking for a subwoofer and I'd say most of the time in the USA people would go with HSU as the very first choice. People who shop in big box store would tend to go with Velodyne which is also significant value for money. Competition is really intense and SVS is definitely losing some appeal.

This post has been edited by AlamakLor: May 28 2011, 09:20 AM
jchong
post May 28 2011, 06:02 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ May 28 2011, 09:08 AM)
AFAIK yes, you can run the amp in preamp mode and assign zone2/3 to additional surround. Audyssey still works. That's what I read on AVS and I also set the AVR to do so but haven't connected the speakers yet. This is one other reason why I chose the 4311 over the 7005 as I don't need additional amp to power my 2 more surrounds
Ok I gotta look into that. I thought using the pre-amp mode means the entire amp section of the 4311 is shut down. If say you assign zone 2/3 to the surrounds, can the 4311 just power up 2 channels for the surrounds? Even if it can, that kinda defeats the purpose of pre-amp mode doesn't it because you have some portion of the power section being used?
AlamakLor
post May 28 2011, 06:08 PM

9,856 posts

I believe the amp section of the AVR is modular. In the sense that zone 2/3 spot different modules. So even if you had the extra zone running, I can't imagine how much "contamination" you'd get since 80% of the amp section is not running. Once I got my speaker wires in I'll hook em up to do a quick test. I believe other owners may shed some light on this, I just got the receiver and I was assured in AVS that it would work as I mentioned
TShtkaki
post May 28 2011, 10:22 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

To be frank, I do not find much distinct improvement when using pre-amp mode for the 4311. It is very minimal to say the least. Maybe I am asking too much from this 'integrated' receiver.

Or probably, I should get a proper a/v processor.
ronaldjoe
post May 29 2011, 12:35 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ May 28 2011, 06:02 PM)
Ok I gotta look into that. I thought using the pre-amp mode means the entire amp section of the 4311 is shut down. If say you assign zone 2/3 to the surrounds, can the 4311 just power up 2 channels for the surrounds? Even if it can, that kinda defeats the purpose of pre-amp mode doesn't it because you have some portion of the power section being used?
QUOTE(htkaki @ May 28 2011, 10:22 PM)
To be frank, I do not find much distinct improvement when using pre-amp mode for the 4311. It is very minimal to say the least. Maybe I am asking too much from this 'integrated' receiver.

Or probably, I should get a proper a/v processor.
So I presume you guys are going for 5509?
TShtkaki
post May 30 2011, 09:07 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

5509 not in my plan as yet.

kiding, i hope you did enjoy the experience of the dual subs yesterday smile.gif

This post has been edited by htkaki: May 30 2011, 09:08 AM
Kiding
post May 31 2011, 02:37 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ May 30 2011, 09:07 AM)
5509 not in my plan as yet.

kiding, i hope you did enjoy the experience of the dual subs yesterday smile.gif
I'm very impress with your dual sub setup, very punchy and feeling great impact, LFE is coming every where, damn, I'm thinking to get another SB12 or PB12 sub, but not in the near future lah.... no money already.

Last night I was watching the Iron man 2, the flying iron man chasing scene was damn alive, just like it flew over you, the SB12-NSD front cover grill even drop out due to too many LFE, the SB12-NSD is really powerful in my small room. my problem for this sub is the standing wave issue, it is pretty difficult to eliminate the 30hz dip, before moving the sub to the back corner, the 30-50 hz is totally gone at my sitting spot, but moving listening spot 1-2 meter away, you can hear it very loud. after moving sub to the back corner, the dip move to 20-30hz, but much better than placing at the front corner.

DannyOP
post Jun 1 2011, 11:07 AM

5,220 posts

Kidding how big is your room btw? I'm looking for a place with ideal room size for home theatre.. Hopefully won't have the same bermuda triangle in my current room which eat up all the bass.

This post has been edited by DannyOP: Jun 1 2011, 02:00 PM
Kiding
post Jun 1 2011, 01:15 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Jun 1 2011, 11:07 AM)
Kidding how big is your room btw? I'm looking for a place with ideal room size for home theatre.. Hopefully won't have the same bermuda triangle in my current room which eat up all the base.
My room is 2.74m (H) x 2.86m (W) x 5.53m (L) , it is not a rectangular shape room, the width reduce to 2m at the back there for toilet entrance. the room ratio is 1:1.04:2.02, it is not a good one as it close to 1:1:2, the ideal ratio is 1:1.14:1.39 or 1:1.4:1.9

DannyOP
post Jun 1 2011, 04:47 PM

5,220 posts

Thanks for your info, yours is longer than my current space.. but good to know the sb12 is working well in a slightly longer room.
TShtkaki
post Jun 1 2011, 05:43 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Room always play a big role in any system. It is good to know that more and more people are beginning to place importance in it smile.gif

kiding, you are the first to sample my repositioned and re-fine tuned dual subs smile.gif The roaring engines of Zero fighter planes in Pearl Harbor is very good. You can feel the weight and powerful engines of the Zeroes. Every shots and explosion have the scale and body in it yet details are not lost. Glad that you enjoyed the session.

This post has been edited by htkaki: Jun 1 2011, 05:47 PM
DannyOP
post Jun 1 2011, 07:02 PM

5,220 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 1 2011, 05:43 PM)
Room always play a big role in any system. It is good to know that more and more people are beginning to place importance in it smile.gif

kiding, you are the first to sample my repositioned and re-fine tuned dual subs smile.gif The roaring engines of Zero fighter planes in Pearl Harbor is very good. You can feel the weight and powerful engines of the Zeroes. Every shots and explosion have the scale and body in it yet details are not lost. Glad that you enjoyed the session.
Yea .. Never did I know I will end up house hunting just because of subwoofer and projector haha but luckily managed to convince my co partners to sponsor a new building.. Now deciding on location and size. Slightly away from city can get much bigger space for the same price but lose out on transport feasibility.

Hope that one day can consider the likes of sb13+ or pb13u when space permits.

This post has been edited by DannyOP: Jun 1 2011, 07:06 PM
TShtkaki
post Jun 2 2011, 09:33 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Jun 1 2011, 07:02 PM)
Yea .. Never did I know I will end up house hunting just because of subwoofer and projector haha but luckily managed to convince my co partners to sponsor a new building.. Now deciding on location and size. Slightly away from city can get much bigger space for the same price but lose out on transport feasibility.

Hope that one day can consider the likes of sb13+ or pb13u when space permits.

Happy hunting! Remember to throw a cocktail HT warming party (not house warming tongue.gif )

If space permits, I ll go for dual PB13U. The output of PB-U in sealed mode is 6dB higher than SB13. Speaking of which, I am still waiting for my PB13-U to be here.
DannyOP
post Jun 2 2011, 11:04 PM

5,220 posts

wah.. dual pb13u.. can't imagine what improvements it will have over the current setup. Must ask u to play the shooting scene from book of eli whether it will be a kaino killer smile.gif
TShtkaki
post Jun 7 2011, 09:45 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Jun 2 2011, 11:04 PM)
wah.. dual pb13u.. can't imagine what improvements it will have over the current setup. Must ask u to play the shooting scene from book of eli whether it will be a kaino killer smile.gif

The current setup is only being auditioned by kiding thus far. IMHO, it is slightly better than before (only ronaldjoe, hokiman and anfieldude auditioned before).

The dual PB13-U might not materialize after all due to space constraint issue. I would probably take one home for my own usage. Anyway, it is already very good for now and I am quite happy with it smile.gif

mpyw
post Jun 7 2011, 04:19 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 7 2011, 09:45 AM)
The current setup is only being auditioned by kiding thus far. IMHO, it is slightly better than before (only ronaldjoe, hokiman and anfieldude auditioned before).

The dual PB13-U might not materialize after all due to space constraint issue. I would probably take one home for my own usage. Anyway, it is already very good for now and I am quite happy with it smile.gif
Aiks...no place to put?
My room got plenty of empty space wor....brows.gif tongue.gif
TShtkaki
post Jun 8 2011, 08:51 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jun 7 2011, 04:19 PM)
Aiks...no place to put?
My room got plenty of empty space wor....brows.gif tongue.gif
My peasant' kandang home still got enough space for PB13-U nia tongue.gif

Boss, after upgrading your pj, maybe you can consider dual subs. If you are free, please come down lah. It will be a far cry from the systems that you auditioned before.

On another note, I just bought another toy whistling.gif
WereWolf84
post Jun 8 2011, 09:02 AM

984 posts

Elites always have new toys to play with notworthy.gif
TShtkaki
post Jun 8 2011, 11:19 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(WereWolf84 @ Jun 8 2011, 09:02 AM)
Elites always have new toys to play with  notworthy.gif
Elite stays in mansion. My toy is considerably cheap lah blush.gif Cannot compare to million RM posh house tongue.gif

TShtkaki
post Jun 20 2011, 10:41 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

SB12-NSD review in The Star smile.gif :

http://sites.thestar.com.my/audio/story.as...9&sec=afreviews

97 Pages « < 86 87 88 89 90 > » Top

0.0281sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:34 PM