[PF] T.J.
post Sep 29 2010, 06:40 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(WjLye @ Sep 29 2010, 06:11 PM)
Wow...thanks for the effort to reply to my questions, thanks so much.
Hmm ? Why are you suprised that there are people interested in Qosmio F60 ?
I cant afford any more than this 1 actually. But from what i see there are a few models from Asus that have better specs than F60-S531 and even cheaper. Well it uses better processor (i5-460m) but weaker graphics (GeForce 310m). It's just that i'm worried Asus might not be long lasting as Toshiba do and i am very very concerned about overheating cause my previous laptop suffered badly from overheating and lousy hardware.
How about Toshiba vs Dell ? If compared Dell with Toshiba ? What's your opinion ?
So I'm guessing your budget is max RM3.2k?
LOL.... The Qosmio F60 is quite old already and is never really popular probably because of the poor specs. I think maybe because people in Malaysia prefer specs more than anything else kua... laugh.gif
The Asus A42Jv has better processor and graphic card than the Qosmio F60 o... i5-450/460M + GT335M. Well, as I've mentioned, it depends on whether you game alot or not lo.... if you don't game no point getting such a good GPU haha laugh.gif
The A42Jv is still currently the best budget gaming laptop around. But I'm not really sure about the built and heat (not to mentioned the rather troublesome Nvidia Optimus sweat.gif) .... can't expect too much from a budget-line laptop though; which is why I said it would be better if can get an Asus N-series notebook.

You won't have heating problems if you pick an integrated, or a weaker GPU... so in the end it still boils down to the question of whether you play games/3D designing or not lo.

Dell offers the best warranty around, you can get your laptop fixed in 1-2 days time without needing to wait for a few months (depending on severity) of other laptop brands. But Dell laptops, as far as I know, ain't really reliable.... so its kind of like you want to repair often (repair time: 1-2 days) or repair less (repair time: 1-2 months). But I still need to stress that sometimes it depend on luck and also how you take care of your lappy icon_rolleyes.gif
WjLye
post Sep 29 2010, 07:16 PM

98 posts

I think GT330m is already sufficient for me already. I dont really game much actually...some casual games maybe, and only for short period everytime.
I go for Qosmio cause i heard Toshiba is quite good (there are people saying otherwise also) and my friends' laptop which i seen by myself is quite low on heat that's why i wanted to get it. For me most important is the physical quality of the laptop rather than very very good specs but break down very often.
I have another Asus in mind too (but i aint sure of the exact model), but i am just worried about how durable is it and how good it's heatsinking is.

So are you satisfied with your Qosmio ? Whats the thing you are not satisfied with ?
[PF] T.J.
post Sep 29 2010, 07:43 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(WjLye @ Sep 29 2010, 07:16 PM)
I think GT330m is already sufficient for me already. I dont really game much actually...some casual games maybe, and only for short period everytime.
I go for Qosmio cause i heard Toshiba is quite good (there are people saying otherwise also) and my friends' laptop which i seen by myself is quite low on heat that's why i wanted to get it. For me most important is the physical quality of the laptop rather than very very good specs but break down very often.
I have another Asus in mind too (but i aint sure of the exact model), but i am just worried about how durable is it and how good it's heatsinking is.

So are you satisfied with your Qosmio ? Whats the thing you are not satisfied with ?
Mind stating the games that you are playing? If they are not very demanding perhaps even the G310M could handle them nod.gif
Hardware-wise Toshiba has never let me down. But their choice of offering both 32-bits and 64-bits OS is really getting on my nerves. If you run on 32-bits, your maximum amount of usable RAM would be around 2.98GB regardless of how many GBs of "Free" RAMs they give you. Oh, some drivers i.e. Nvidia driver won't work on 32-bit systems. And if you change to 64-bits and hoping that will solve the problem... well, it doesn't. The feather-touch buttons (multimedia keys) will stop working once you changed to 64-bits. I've tried downloading 64-bit drivers from US based Qosmios (only Malaysia units got 32-bits I think sweat.gif ). They only work temporarily, dunno why. Toshiba's technicians' explanations on this matter are not helping either haha laugh.gif

I've personally send a few letters to Toshiba Singapore and Japan to ask them to help solve this 32/64-bit matter so that the customers won't be cheated.
Well, if you don't mind that much (which most Toshiba users are like that), then everything will be fine hehe nod.gif
Do take note that not all Toshiba units are cool. The M500 series gets rather hot.

You can take a look at Asus U35/45Jc.... I personally think that those are rather well-built and should last nod.gif But I've read some reviews stating that they get rather warm upon prolonged usage... which is abit disappointing really since I'm planning to get one of those. cry.gif Still, heat problems can be solved by getting a decent cooler pad.

Apart from the OS problem and the extremely glossy nature of the F60, Its very good and nice looking too haha nod.gif
I regretted a bit for choosing a 15.6incher though haha, too large for me sweat.gif
WjLye
post Sep 29 2010, 07:53 PM

98 posts

They offer both 32bit and 64bit or all new units mandatory comes with 32bit ? If i opt-ed for 64bits when ordering, suppose they will make sure everything works then only deliver it to me ? Or the shop i buy from is gonna fix it for me ? For this i will have to clarify with the shop first.
Hmm... Asus A42Jv is quite a good pick too, good specs and good price. Still, i am concern for its durability.
Another pick for me is Dell Inspiron 15R, i5-460m + HD 550v which i cant find much review on its graphic. And as it's quite a new series i dunno anything about it's durability and heatsinking ability.

Can i ask a big favour from you ? Can you please take a few photos of your F60 ? Cause i cant find much photo for F60...all i can get for Qosmio is X500. Photos featuring it's speaker, keyboard, a clearer version of the bottom part of your laptop, feather-touch button ? Sorry to have you troubled, its okay if you cant or you dont want biggrin.gif
Cause i'm at my hometown and all the shops doesnt have this model on display. If want they have to order from their supplier.

This post has been edited by WjLye: Sep 29 2010, 07:58 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Sep 29 2010, 08:01 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(WjLye @ Sep 29 2010, 07:53 PM)
They offer both 32bit and 64bit or all new units mandatory comes with 32bit ? If i opt-ed for 64bits when ordering, suppose they will make sure everything works then only deliver it to me ? Or the shop i buy from is gonna fix it for me ? For this i will have to clarify with the shop first.
Hmm... Asus A42Jv is quite a good pick too, good specs and good price. Still, i am concern for its durability.
Another pick for me is Dell Inspiron 15R, i5-460m + HD 550v which i cant find much review on its graphic. And as it's quite a new series i dunno anything about it's durability and heatsinking ability.
To avoid having complaints, most sellers will just load 32-bit W7 during 1st time startup of the laptop. Well, you can ask them to load 64-bits for you but it will take 1-2 hours time and the feather-touch buttons probably won't work. Its risky since they only open up and start up the lappy AFTER you buy from them... sweat.gif
There's no solution at the moment. Teledynamics (they repair Toshiba laptops) kept on giving the excuse that we need to wait for the updated driver (which will probably never come) and also saying that "who ask you to switch to 64-bits" doh.gif Make sure to clarify the problem 1st ya nod.gif
It seems the old A42Jv (i5-450M+Gt335M) is rapidly running out of stock. Whereas the new one (i5-460M+Gt335M)... I'm not very sure it exists or not LOL... will need to go to lowyat plaza to check out things... Even though the A42Jv packs a lot of punch, I'm not confident with the built after seeing some display units.. Maybe I expect too much haha laugh.gif

Display units of Inspiron R series are often rather warm even though in air-conned room and in idle mode...

Here are some reviews, even though the specs may not be exactly the same but you can get a picture of what it's going to be like nod.gif
Dell Inspiron 15R: http://www.notebookcheck.net/Review-Dell-I...ok.36450.0.html
Qosmio F60: http://www.notebookcheck.net/Review-Toshib...ok.30544.0.html
WjLye
post Sep 29 2010, 08:20 PM

98 posts

Hmm...you just pushed me further towards F60. Hahah...
Wow...thanks for all the advice and info. Very very much appreciated. Well i'm still thinking...until i clarified with the shop.
Btw, your F60 is using Blu-ray Drive ? I tot it's using DVD-drive ? Maybe it's the difference between BD531 and S531.
Btw, does your model LOOKS the same with the 1 on the notebookcheck.net's review you linked ?

A42Jv really stock out too fast...selling very fast and there's a online seller saying it's already phase out ? I thought it's just being replaced recently ? When you said R series is quite warm i am about to wipe this model off my mind. LOL.

OMG i'm so poisoned by Qosmio F60.
[PF] T.J.
post Sep 29 2010, 09:06 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(WjLye @ Sep 29 2010, 08:20 PM)
Hmm...you just pushed me further towards F60. Hahah...
Wow...thanks for all the advice and info. Very very much appreciated. Well i'm still thinking...until i clarified with the shop.
Btw, your F60 is using Blu-ray Drive ? I tot it's using DVD-drive ? Maybe it's the difference between BD531 and S531.
Btw, does your model LOOKS the same with the 1 on the notebookcheck.net's review you linked ?

A42Jv really stock out too fast...selling very fast and there's a online seller saying it's already phase out ? I thought it's just being replaced recently ? When you said R series is quite warm i am about to wipe this model off my mind. LOL.

OMG i'm so poisoned by Qosmio F60.
Yes, do check with the shops 1st... you can also get advices from lowyat forum sifus on what to get, just visit the recommendations thread nod.gif
Yeah, the BD532 (stopped production already) comes with i5-520M, a larger HDD space as well as a Blu-ray rewritable drive which, up til today I haven't really used yet haha laugh.gif The new BD-533 comes with i7.

Externally it looks exactly the same... but the Qosmio F60 in other countries comes with TV tuner- there's a big round "socket" at the back of the laptop... The ones here don't have and the "socket" is just replaced by a plastic lid haha sweat.gif

Yeap, A42Jv, I've already recommended several friends to get it hehe biggrin.gif The performance is insanely good for something so cheap rclxms.gif
Well... you can call me biased but I never really liked the Inspiron series, especially after the 6400 series..... the quality kept on deteriorating sweat.gif

LOL.... The Qosmio F60 is only good if you are using it for multimedia purposes. Do take note of the extremely sensitive glossiness of Toshiba laptops lo... If you can stand it then okay lo haha....

lee_what2004
post Sep 29 2010, 09:10 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

The ATi HD550v is basically ATi HD4650, slightly better than GT330M...
Though GT330M should have cooler temp and better overclockability...

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Sep 29 2010, 09:11 PM
just_kiing
post Sep 29 2010, 09:32 PM

28 posts

My Window 7 64bit no feather-touch buttons (multimedia keys) problem.

This post has been edited by just_kiing: Sep 29 2010, 09:34 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Sep 29 2010, 09:34 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(just_kiing @ Sep 29 2010, 09:32 PM)
My Window 7 64bit no feather-touch buttons (multimedia keys) problem.
The multimedia buttons can function?
Wah.... if that's the case I'm going to scold Teledynamics people again for giving me false information sweat.gif
Did you update your "Toshiba value added package" or you are using the original 1? O____O

If only I could get hold of your version of Toshiba Value Added Package then the problem will be solved laugh.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Sep 29 2010, 09:42 PM
just_kiing
post Sep 29 2010, 09:37 PM

28 posts

WjLye, you can check this one too:
http://erikuworld.blogspot.com/search?upda...0&max-results=7
[PF] T.J.
post Sep 29 2010, 09:44 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(just_kiing @ Sep 29 2010, 09:37 PM)
LOL... Someone actually read the blog ar sweat.gif
It was done by Eguy1314 and me laugh.gif
just_kiing
post Sep 29 2010, 09:44 PM

28 posts

To:PF T.J.
Original one a, my story is i brought it back still sealed in box, swith on the first time and asked to choose 32bit/64bit, I chose 64bit but did something wrong with the hard disk (partition maybe), then again i system recovery to change the hard disk setting again and of course i chose 64bit, no problem with feather touch button, formated again and chose 64bit 1 or 2 months back, no problem for the feather touch button.

This post has been edited by just_kiing: Sep 29 2010, 09:50 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Sep 29 2010, 09:49 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(just_kiing @ Sep 29 2010, 09:44 PM)
To:PF T.J.
Original one a, my story is i brought it back still sealed in box, swith on the first time and asked to choose 32bit/64bit, I chose 64bit but did something wrong with the hard disk (partition maybe), then again i system recovery to change the hard disk setting again and of course i chose 64bit, no problem with feather touch button, formated again and chose 64bit 1/2 months back, no problem for the feather touch button.
Err.... actually partitioning the HDD can be done without reformatting the laptop haha laugh.gif
I wonder what went wrong with my feather touch buttons... hmm.gif
My guess is the version of Value Added Package loaded into Qosmio F60-S531 are different from that of Qosmio F60-BD531. Maybe will try to ask Eguy1314 to convert his Qosmio into 64-bits and see whether the multimedia buttons work or not hmm.gif

Well, at least this issue is finally going somewhere (no thanks to Teledynamics technicians sweat.gif )
just_kiing
post Sep 29 2010, 09:56 PM

28 posts

To WjLye,
Nvidia GT 330m old already e,
Nvidia GT 4xxm already available, think twice.
The frame of the screen kind of scratch, maybe when the screen is closed la. Are u considering LED backlit key board? Full HD screen? The blueray burner kind of waste for me. Never use till now, only dvd.
[PF] T.J.
post Sep 29 2010, 10:06 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(just_kiing @ Sep 29 2010, 09:56 PM)
To WjLye,
Nvidia GT 330m old already e,
Nvidia GT 4xxm already available, think twice.
The frame of the screen kind of scratch, maybe when the screen is closed la. Are u considering LED backlit key board? Full HD screen? The blueray burner kind of waste for me. Never use till now, only dvd.
Well, he's not into gaming so it doesn't really matter what's the GPU... Some more the 4xx series will definitely be very expensive cry.gif
As a multimedia laptop, the bluray + speakers will be a great plus! But the rewritable ability of the Blu-ray drive.... that one I also dunno when I'm actually going to use it LOL....
WjLye
post Sep 29 2010, 10:12 PM

98 posts

Thanks for all the comments and advice. smile.gif
So for the first run out of the box i can actually choose whether to run on 32bit or 64bit after that ?
I dont need very new graphic card as i dont play much game, and i couldnt afford laptop with GT 4XXM too. So i think laptops with GT330m and GT335m are okay for me.
Nop, i dont need backlit keyboard, i dont need FULL HD screen(but if it does have and the machine is within my budget then yes, why not ?) and i dont need Blu-ray burner. I just need a decent, lower-middle class laptop that are okay with some casual gaming like CoD and Warcraft(which almost every system can play), and most importantly does not get overheat easily and does not have any hardware problem easily. I need something reliable.

p/s: Wat's with Toshiba Value Added Package ?
just_kiing
post Sep 29 2010, 10:26 PM

28 posts

To WjLye,
Ya, you can choose to use 32bit or 64bit Window 7.

14" Laptops http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1363185
13"/15" Laptops http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1422707

This post has been edited by just_kiing: Sep 29 2010, 10:35 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Sep 29 2010, 10:28 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(WjLye @ Sep 29 2010, 10:12 PM)
Thanks for all the comments and advice. smile.gif
So for the first run out of the box i can actually choose whether to run on 32bit or 64bit after that ?
I dont need very new graphic card as i dont play much game, and i couldnt afford laptop with GT 4XXM too. So i think laptops with GT330m and GT335m  are okay for me.
Nop, i dont need backlit keyboard, i dont need FULL HD screen(but if it does have and the machine is within my budget then yes, why not ?) and i dont need Blu-ray burner. I just need a decent, lower-middle class laptop that are okay with some casual gaming like CoD and Warcraft(which almost every system can play), and most importantly does not get overheat easily and does not have any hardware problem easily. I need something reliable.

p/s: Wat's with Toshiba Value Added Package ?
You will get the option to choose 32-bit/64-bit each time you restore your laptop to out-of-the-box state, including the 1st time opening the laptop.
This feature is very handy when you want to reformat your laptop since it helps you reformat as well as installing the OS you want plus all the drivers automatically.
Toshiba Value Added Package is a driver involved in controlling the multimedia buttons as well as the FN keys iirc. Without it, those buttons won't work.
WjLye
post Sep 29 2010, 10:42 PM

98 posts

Hmm...okay. Once again thanks for all the advices and comments.
Wait till i get my laptop i'll update you guys !!! tongue.gif
Or wait till i thought of more problem then i will be back to bug you guys.

111 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0194sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:56 AM