Credit card V8, Anything about it

MilesAndMore
post Oct 23 2009, 01:27 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(dinozilla @ Oct 22 2009, 06:58 PM)
i intend to have 1 local bank and 1 foreign bank....
right now i hav maybank and hsbc+citibank...undeciding between keeping hsbc or citi now
You have to compare the privileges offered by both HSBC and Citibank to see which one is better suited to you. If you want a well known global brand name then no doubt it is HSBC.

Citibank is shrinking fast. One of their latest casualties is Germany. Citibank has 340 branches in Germany and they have since sold off all their retail banking business to a French bank in August last year. Rebranding of all Citibank Germany 340 branches will only start next year. It's tata Citibank Deutschland cry.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Oct 23 2009, 05:03 PM
ahgan84
post Oct 23 2009, 01:41 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Oct 23 2009, 12:47 PM)
You'll probably find the answer if you backtrack and read all the posts.
CC is about what you think is best for your lifestyle - different ppl have different expectations of what they want their cc to offer them. IMHO, just on the basis of no annual fee does not mean the card is good.

And what is your definition of "good" ? Good CS, good merchant discounts, good cash rebates, free for life ? There's no 1 card that can offer you all - careful on your question or you are going to get flamed for asking such a generic question and it definately shows that one did not read all the posts.
I'm applying credit card for emergency use, like accident or something. So, good for me is just free annual fee for life because I think I'll probably will use it very less. And also for petrol rebate because I own a car. Other's supermarket shopping discount not necessary because I usually don't stick to just one supermarket. Near my house got Jusco, Carefour, Giant, Econsave, Bintang and Tesco. Usually i choose the cheapest...hehe... So, what else does you guys consider?
MilesAndMore
post Oct 23 2009, 01:57 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(ahgan84 @ Oct 23 2009, 01:41 PM)
I'm applying credit card for emergency use, like accident or something. So, good for me is just free annual fee for life because I think I'll probably will use it very less. And also for petrol rebate because I own a car. Other's supermarket shopping discount not necessary because I usually don't stick to just one supermarket. Near my house got Jusco, Carefour, Giant, Econsave, Bintang and Tesco. Usually i choose the cheapest...hehe... So, what else does you guys consider?
Apply for CIMB Bank Mastercard and Maybank AMEX Gold credit card (without Maybankard logo). Both credit cards are free for life. AMEX Gold gives you 5xMR for every Ringgit charged at Jusco, Carrefour, Tesco, Giant and a few other supermarkets. You will also get 5xMR when you pump at SHELL, Caltex etc. 5xMR is about the equivalent of 2.5% cash rebate.

You will also need a CIMB Bank Mastercard as not all places accept AMEX. So just keep the card in your wallet as a backup card and for emergency purpose.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Oct 23 2009, 01:58 PM
SeanChang
post Oct 23 2009, 02:10 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(spikey2506 @ Oct 22 2009, 11:14 PM)
It's two weeks now since I submitted my conversion form to Ikhwan Amex. Will start bugging them next week for prompt action.
Convert frm which card?
How's the conversion? Easy?
SUSbtr999
post Oct 23 2009, 02:56 PM

115 posts

can i pay my due balance from online banking like maybank2u or cimbclicks?
he-sham
post Oct 23 2009, 03:27 PM

1-2-3-4
1,248 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Oct 22 2009, 06:37 PM)
1. Call Citibank
2. Ask the CS politely whether the annual fee can be waived.
3. If you are nice then likely they will waive it for you.
4. No threathening tones or threats please.

CC users are civilised folks. If you can't get the waiver then either pay the AF or consider cancelling the card.
hmmm..my shell citibank just been charged annual fee by citibank...

but i remember their promotion when i subscribed, (the brochure come together with the card) saying that spend rm50 in the first month to get 3 years annual fee waiver......

& i did spend more than rm50 in the first month...so should i accuse them for false marketing/dishonest promotion or what....

This post has been edited by he-sham: Oct 23 2009, 03:27 PM
hye
post Oct 23 2009, 04:14 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

No need. Just tell them the situation and ask them to investigate.
These CS are human after all ... if you are nice to them, I'm sure they are more than happy to help you. Plus, I'm sure on a daily basis they encounter 1:10 nice customer vs. nasty customers. Be that nice customer and I'm sure you'll get your way.

It always works for me ... but I'm not asking anyone to be "gay" about it.

SeanChang
post Oct 23 2009, 04:22 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(he-sham @ Oct 23 2009, 04:27 PM)
hmmm..my shell citibank just been charged annual fee by citibank...
not sure bout shell citi t&c, but every year when i see the annual fee charges on my bill, i just call cs & request to waive it.
The condition given is i must swipe min 12x in the coming 12 months.

Maybe u can do it too if they say it's not waive as per when u sign up? smile.gif
ks98
post Oct 23 2009, 04:49 PM

460 posts

The problem is related to my Shell Citibank CC. I see my rebate has been carried forward for a few months and asked Citibank CS. This is what I got:

"Thank you for your e-mail dated 10/22/09 regarding rebate.

Please be informed that the rebate will only offset Shell transaction
once reach above RM20. Kindly use the card at Shell to allow rebate on
the next statement."

To me, this is an unfair practice coz the rebate is not only come from fuel charges. I use the CC for my grocery purchase as well and then they want me to buy Shell petrol to get the rebate? This is ridiculous!!!

Already ask Citibank to look into this... may be have to use other CC in future...

Nowadays, I can get same rebate with my Amex on fuel & grocery... just that Amex is not as popular as Visa/Master, otherwise Amex will become my primary card to replace this Shell-Citibank CC...

This post has been edited by ks98: Oct 23 2009, 04:50 PM
MilesAndMore
post Oct 23 2009, 05:00 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(btr999 @ Oct 23 2009, 02:56 PM)
can i pay my due balance from online banking like maybank2u or cimbclicks?
Yes, you can.

QUOTE(ks98 @ Oct 23 2009, 03:02 PM)
I see my rebate has been carried forward for a few months and asked Citibank CS. This is what I got:

the next statement."

They did mention about this in their website. Similar rule applies to Citibank cash back range of credit cards.

QUOTE(TrafficRobbers @ Oct 23 2009, 03:28 PM)
i just got 2 credit cards from public bank

1 visa and 1 mastercard

both card got a writing "total combine credit line limit 4000"

i showed to public bank staff, and he said each card have rm 4000 limit (so total rm 8000)

but when i called public bank card centre, they said (without seing the card) the total is rm 4000 only

which is the truth? pls advise

RM4000. Staff at Public Bank card centre can check it through their computers. They do not have to see your credit card to find out the the exact credit limit of your cards.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Oct 23 2009, 05:01 PM
Krovaxq
post Oct 23 2009, 05:23 PM

Single Ghost
731 posts

hi, just a quickie.

In regards of CC applications, the income bracket is compulsory to be met? what if below the bracket, coz I remember I have friends who earns below 30k annually, still able to use CC.

1 more, how do freelancers apply for CC (or it's illegible) they need proof of income, if 1 works with no official payslip nor EPF, can use 3 months bank statement to make application?

thanks in advance.
mars1069
post Oct 23 2009, 05:35 PM

2,207 posts

now application is easier, as long as you have CC card from other banks, u can apply new one with a copy of CC & IC. If u apply for the first time, i think annual income RM24K or lower can apply. my colleague's pay only RM1800 also can get approval.
hackqym
post Oct 23 2009, 05:35 PM

29 posts

WTF!! govt forced bank to imposed annual charge RM50 for main card and supp RM25 for every card! I just watched 2010 budget. The rules start in Januari 2010. Haih... start to thinking which card to cancelled.
Chester
post Oct 23 2009, 05:36 PM

2,380 posts

Budget 2010 says G will charge RM50 for each principal card, and RM25 for each extra Credit cards that we own including charge card. sweat.gif
stacko
post Oct 23 2009, 05:45 PM

628 posts

Terrible, I have to pay 8xRM50 + 2xRM25 = RM450. Certainly must cancel inactive cards, all banks must be jumping!
Gen-X
post Oct 23 2009, 05:47 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

PM said 11miliion cards in circulation and 250K charged card, budget really innovative on ways to get more income for government.

Looks like I have to start cancelling my CC

rachel_xxx
post Oct 23 2009, 05:49 PM

2,294 posts

QUOTE(Chester @ Oct 23 2009, 05:36 PM)
Budget 2010 says G will charge RM50 for each principal card, and RM25 for each extra Credit cards that we own including charge card. sweat.gif
I am wondering why is it prudent spending have to do with charging us service charge for owning credit cards! So if one has to pay service charge then he/she won't swipe the card to the max? Or they expect us to bring plenty of cash all the time.... doh.gif
PrinceCaspien
post Oct 23 2009, 05:52 PM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(ks98 @ Oct 23 2009, 04:49 PM)
The problem is related to my Shell Citibank CC. I see my rebate has been carried forward for a few months and asked Citibank CS. This is what I got:

the next statement."

To me, this is an unfair practice coz the rebate is not only come from fuel charges. I use the CC for my grocery purchase as well and then they want me to buy Shell petrol to get the rebate? This is ridiculous!!!

Already ask Citibank to look into this... may be have to use other CC in future...

Nowadays, I can get same rebate with my Amex on fuel & grocery... just that Amex is not as popular as Visa/Master, otherwise Amex will become my primary card to replace this Shell-Citibank CC...
Bro,

your card is Shell Citibank, i repeat SHELL, so your rebate is from petrol usage loh, if you use more on grocery, just go to citibank and see which CC discount package which suit you and ask the to change it to that, you can't expect Citibank to discount on other transaction other than shell petrol as your card already written Shell. If they allow you to have rebate on other purchase, what's the point they embosed SHell on their card? correct or not bro?
stacko
post Oct 23 2009, 05:55 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 23 2009, 05:47 PM)
PM said 11miliion cards in circulation and 250K charged card, budget really innovative on ways to get more income for government.

Looks like I have to start cancelling my CC
Assuming 75% principal and 25% supplementary card holders, that is RM500 million to the Government. Brilliant! And we can afford another submarine.
PrinceCaspien
post Oct 23 2009, 05:55 PM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(rachel_xxx @ Oct 23 2009, 05:49 PM)
I am wondering why is it prudent spending have to do with charging us service charge for owning credit cards! So if one has to pay service charge then he/she won't swipe the card to the max? Or they expect us to bring plenty of cash all the time....  doh.gif
1 card only RM50 so 1 month is only RM4.111111, only those with multiple cards will cry...so cancel all small limit card and keep 1 highest limit card.

127 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0269sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:27 AM