Arowana Lovers V4, Arowana

jamestan_85
post Jun 28 2010, 02:42 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(leggedy @ Jun 25 2010, 10:55 PM)
urs is highback right?  highback will only reach level 5 shine level, max...if u get to reach like quarter of level 6, then u are super lucky edi
Yea is high back...will all the scales at level 5 have shine? or only a few scales?.. it just started to appear at the edge of the scale only.... with abit shine.... if more than 12 inch it cant reach level 6 right/?
leong2084
post Jun 28 2010, 03:39 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(se_eugene @ Jun 28 2010, 02:40 PM)
i just buy it cos of pure interest..hehe... the owner also say it is because of comm fight but im not sure le...
hmm.. i also not pretty sure.. all scar just look the same to me..haha.. i scare it might be any scale problem oni..
hmm.gif this one u better check with your lfs oh, cuz rite, i have seen before aro's kena this red parasite thingy on the scales ar...its like eating into the body wan...if detected early like mine ar, its easy to get rid off...

it happens randomly to anyone during wc cuz the water from the resevoir might have contained it....cant be helped

it usually grows a reddish like around the scales on a patch of the body...then it slowly eats in like freaking zombies...

but dont worry yet lol not trying to scare you...just concerned only...cuz i'm very thankful to have been an active reader in a many arowana forums which i learnt about it early enuf before it happened otherwise i wud've probly done it too late...

also thats the reason why we boil our water before we drink lol....these kinda shits actually are in our tap water mad.gif

the remedy is simple....ingredients, japanese yellow powder, rm1 bag of white salt from the lfs.

just about 2-3 spoons (included with the jap yellow powder pack) after a wc.
1/2 the bag of rm1 salt.
leave the covers of the tank closed to keep the heat from escaping....get the temp to go up to 32deg cel.

Do not feed for the first 3 - 4 days to let the water be clean and for them to clean thier tummies. Lfs said it can be cuz of some food they ate that gave them that parasite too.

leave for a week and you will see improvement.

if there is, then just continue as normal per weekly wc but keep adding the salt in but just gradually lesser and lesser, like 1/4 of the 1/2 bag of salt left....then next week the other 1/4

But that is IF it is this case la....

if its just due to comm fight then just add some salt will do to help them relax and prevent itch lol

hope this helps

This post has been edited by leong2084: Jun 28 2010, 03:47 PM
wmkr
post Jun 28 2010, 03:45 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(se_eugene @ Jun 28 2010, 01:25 PM)
hi guys, im new in breeding dis species of fish.. i notice that something wrong with my fish scales... i post the picture and hope u all can tell me wad is going on~
wow nice bro.. like the yellow tail.. mg/xb drool.gif
se_eugene
post Jun 28 2010, 06:22 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(leong2084 @ Jun 28 2010, 03:39 PM)
hmm.gif this one u better check with your lfs oh, cuz rite, i have seen before aro's kena this red parasite thingy on the scales ar...its like eating into the body wan...if detected early like mine ar, its easy to get rid off...

it happens randomly to anyone during wc cuz the water from the resevoir might have contained it....cant be helped

it usually grows a reddish like around the scales on a patch of the body...then it slowly eats in like freaking zombies...

but dont worry yet lol not trying to scare you...just concerned only...cuz i'm very thankful to have been an active reader in a many arowana forums which i learnt about it early enuf before it happened otherwise i wud've probly done it too late...

also thats the reason why we boil our water before we drink lol....these kinda shits actually are in our tap water  mad.gif

the remedy is simple....ingredients, japanese yellow powder, rm1 bag of white salt from the lfs.

just about 2-3 spoons (included with the jap yellow powder pack) after a wc.
1/2 the bag of rm1 salt.
leave the covers of the tank closed to keep the heat from escaping....get the temp to go up to 32deg cel.

Do not feed for the first 3 - 4 days to let the water be clean and for them to clean thier tummies. Lfs said it can be cuz of some food they ate that gave them that parasite too.

leave for a week and you will see improvement.

if there is, then just continue as normal per weekly wc but keep adding the salt in but just gradually lesser and lesser, like 1/4 of the 1/2 bag of salt left....then next week the other 1/4
But that is IF it is this case la....

if its just due to comm fight then just add some salt will do to help them relax and prevent itch lol
hope this helps
wow bro, that is so nice of you to help me out.. reli appreciate ur help notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
but if i straight add the yellow powder and salt inside the water.. will it cause anything eventhough it is not the parasite problem?
and i just notice that, the other side of the arowana doesn't have the scar whilst only one side of them have the scar

Added on June 28, 2010, 6:26 pm
QUOTE(wmkr @ Jun 28 2010, 03:45 PM)
wow nice bro.. like the yellow tail.. mg/xb drool.gif
heheh thanks ya bro.. but den im just a newbie here dono much of the slangs and kinds.. have to start learning now.. dono wad is yellow tail,mg,xb.. oni noe my fish is a high back oni... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by se_eugene: Jun 28 2010, 06:26 PM
leong2084
post Jun 28 2010, 08:28 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(se_eugene @ Jun 28 2010, 06:22 PM)
wow bro, that is so nice of you to help me out.. reli appreciate ur help  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
but if i straight add the yellow powder and salt inside the water.. will it cause anything eventhough it is not the parasite problem?
and i just notice that, the other side of the arowana doesn't have the scar whilst only one side of them have the scar
lol lets not go jumping into conclusion yet to put in the yellow powder and salt haha

best to make sure....but yeah adding in the salt and yellow powder at the same time is no issue, i did it last 3 weeks back....the fishes act like ntg happened..smile.gif

but if you can identify it to be that kinda fungus (which happens randomly to anyone...blame Indah plz)

here are some pix altho in a much worse condition for you to take example of:
(note i took this off other sites sweat.gif )

Here you will see how the fungus looks like on the scales... this is the worsened case, i managed to spot mine when it was even barely starting
yes =.=" thats how much attention i pay to my lovely aro wub.gif

so if you think thats disgusting enuf, the next pic will show what happens if its not being treated....

but DON'T PANIC!!!! doh.gif

this is IF and ONLY IF you really identify it to be like that....lol

best is to get your lfs or someone with some good camera to take the pic to see clearer....otherwise you gonna need to use instinct and feel it

sit down and meditate...and put your mind into the arowana and feel what its feeling whistling.gif

but all in all...the yellow powder wont do nuts to your aro if its just comm fight -> scales got punched off etc....but better try to do less of this kinda things cuz not so good for arowana if done too much blink.gif

on a note here....some ppl experience sore throat even when they drink plenty of water...

just look at the above picture and you can see why .....thats y...even doctor recommend...boil water first before drinking!!!
it happens to our pets....imagine what its doing to us doh.gif

This post has been edited by leong2084: Jun 28 2010, 08:30 PM
se_eugene
post Jun 28 2010, 11:12 PM

24 posts

hi there bro leong.. i will go ask the seller again.. but then those are my father fish.. he say wait 1 more week if conditions getting worse, den he'll ask the seller..
thank you for ur effort in helping me.. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
leggedy
post Jun 28 2010, 11:14 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(jamestan_85 @ Jun 28 2010, 02:42 PM)
Yea is high back...will all the scales at level 5 have shine? or only a few scales?.. it just started to appear at the edge of the scale only.... with abit shine.... if more than 12 inch it cant reach level 6 right/?
usually that's wat happen to a highback lo..max is level 5 full shine...then level6 scale and head part will be a dark coloured..wont go up want...the different btwn highback and RTG is jz slight different
RTG will go up to like 4.5level scale
while highback will reach full level 5
then RTG gold shine will be dimmer compare to highback..but they will looks exactly the same if u didnt look carefully..

Added on June 28, 2010, 11:17 pm
QUOTE(se_eugene @ Jun 28 2010, 11:12 PM)

hi there bro leong.. i will go ask the seller again.. but then those are my father fish.. he say wait 1 more week if conditions getting worse, den he'll ask the seller..
thank you for ur effort in helping me..  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
hey how many aro u have there a?

This post has been edited by leggedy: Jun 28 2010, 11:17 PM
se_eugene
post Jun 28 2010, 11:19 PM

24 posts

Added on June 28, 2010, 11:17 pm
hey how many aro u have there a?

[/quote]

very little oni..hehe.. 10 blush.gif
leggedy
post Jun 28 2010, 11:39 PM

93 posts

O.o how much u brought for one fish?
se_eugene
post Jun 28 2010, 11:50 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(leggedy @ Jun 28 2010, 11:39 PM)
O.o how much u brought for one fish?
its my father who bought it.. not me.. hehe
leggedy
post Jun 29 2010, 12:08 AM

93 posts

lol..ur dad told u is highback a?
hmm, but i doubted they are crossback...coz all of their shine edi at level 5-6... @@
a highback will never reach that shine...but still, the picture u caught are all blurry up..try to snap some clearer one, then i can tell u
se_eugene
post Jun 29 2010, 12:32 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(leggedy @ Jun 29 2010, 12:08 AM)
hmm, but i doubted they are crossback...coz all of their shine edi at level 5-6...  @@
a highback will never reach that shine...but still, the picture u caught are all blurry up..try to snap some clearer one, then i can tell u
huh seriously? nvm.. tmr i'll post up more clearer photo.. stay tuned =)
helangkawi
post Jun 29 2010, 01:13 PM

it's a tarp!
657 posts

QUOTE(leong2084 @ Jun 28 2010, 11:40 AM)
ooh...didnt know that  hmm.gif

something new for me lol...giving me ideas about tiling the bottom to make it look more....shower room style...like...more pleasant to the eye

do you get like dirt being trapped under?

Added on June 28, 2010, 11:42 am
lol if you are the fish u will also behave like that ma tongue.gif

imagine big giant looking above you....put the hand in and grabbing here and there....scary rite  sweat.gif
haha..ya lor..so kawaiii....when she start to sit down quietly at the bottom laugh.gif

guys i have a question about WC

for right now, i am doing weekly WC for my aquarium...because of my aquarium setup is not inside my house, so i used to take a water from the direct pipeline

so because of the direct pipeline have a high percentage of chlorine inside it, usually i will prepare the water in another tank for about 12 hours...let say tomorrow at 2pm i will do the water change, so tonight at around 1am i will start to fill the water tank with the water from direct pipeline..and i will pour anti-chlorine a bit then i will leave there until 2pm tomorrow for water change

and i just do about 25% of the water change.

my question is, is it ok to use water from the house tank (refer to the picture)? as the water from house tank also coming from the direct pipeline..but the water inside there should have a low chlorine percentage and not very high like water from direct pipe line right?

i am thinking to move my aquarium inside my house but i am thinking whether it will become difficult to do WC later on if i use the old method, take water from direct pipe line, then put chlorine and then leave it for 12 hours...but i am afraid to use water from my house tank because of i don't know whether it safe or not from high percentage of chlorine inside there

could some one who has experience help me on this please?

This post has been edited by helangkawi: Jun 29 2010, 01:16 PM
leong2084
post Jun 29 2010, 01:49 PM

89 posts

hahaha your pic so cute

the water storage u refering to is danki water rite tongue.gif

yeah my experience is for 2 years, i've been using the water directly from the danki water tank to do wc for my fish tanks tongue.gif

my method is remove 30% water, add in ac (just make sure its a good brand like nutrafin etc) then wait for a minute or two...then only pour in water directly from the danki water thru a hose..

but your current method is safer actually....storing the water in a seperate tank and dosing it with ac then next day to do the actual wc....

either way is ok wan in my opinion tongue.gif

helangkawi
post Jun 29 2010, 01:59 PM

it's a tarp!
657 posts

QUOTE(leong2084 @ Jun 29 2010, 01:49 PM)
hahaha your pic so cute

the water storage u refering to is danki water rite tongue.gif

yeah my experience is for 2 years, i've been using the water directly from the danki water tank to do wc for my fish tanks tongue.gif

my method is remove 30% water, add in ac (just make sure its a good brand like nutrafin etc) then wait for a minute or two...then only pour in water directly from the danki water thru a hose..

but your current method is safer actually....storing the water in a seperate tank and dosing it with ac then next day to do the actual wc....

either way is ok wan in my opinion tongue.gif
err i draw the picture to make it easy to understand, i also don't know how to describe it sweat.gif laugh.gif

danki water? is it the direct water from the main pipe to our house?

or danki water is the water from the main pipe and go through another pipe to our house water main tank?

ya lor, i thought it more safe to use current method...but it's kinda hard if i want to move my aquarium inside...because lots of water level involve later..it's more easy if i can take water directly from the main tank and just put it inside the aquarium

because last time i have experienced changing water from direct pipe..i do about 45% of WC, but just about 1 hour my fish died sweat.gif cry.gif
leong2084
post Jun 29 2010, 02:14 PM

89 posts

hahaha yeah direct from pipe outside the house is high chlorine poisioning chances wan....

The danki water i'm referring to is the water that goes through from the main pipe outside the house to a storage tank located above your house in the roof (usually =.=)

That water is stored there as a backup for you to use wan ma tongue.gif

So being stored there the water is already actually aged...therefore lower chances of chlorine poisoning for your fish smile.gif

If wana move the tank to inside the house is ok also, just that u need to make sure the tap u open is from a pipe that draws water from the danki

For my case i have my aquarium in my bed room tongue.gif my aro sleeps with me haha
So i use a 15ft long hose connected from a tap directly connected from a pipe that draws the water from the danki which the water has been aged there for god knows how long tongue.gif
There was a time when i was total noob...i didnt use ac...i just pour water directly from danki water to the tank and added the fish in....even that time i was lucky there was no issues lol...but plz...'do not try this at home' laugh.gif

This post has been edited by leong2084: Jun 29 2010, 02:15 PM
helangkawi
post Jun 29 2010, 02:35 PM

it's a tarp!
657 posts

QUOTE(leong2084 @ Jun 29 2010, 02:14 PM)
hahaha yeah direct from pipe outside the house is high chlorine poisioning chances wan....

The danki water i'm referring to is the water that goes through from the main pipe outside the house to a storage tank located above your house in the roof (usually =.=)

That water is stored there as a backup for you to use wan ma tongue.gif

So being stored there the water is already actually aged...therefore lower chances of chlorine poisoning for your fish smile.gif
If wana move the tank to inside the house is ok also, just that u need to make sure the tap u open is from a pipe that draws water from the danki

For my case i have my aquarium in my bed room tongue.gif my aro sleeps with me haha
So i use a 15ft long hose connected from a tap directly connected from a pipe that draws the water from the danki which the water has been aged there for god knows how long tongue.gif
There was a time when i was total noob...i didnt use ac...i just pour water directly from danki water to the tank and added the fish in....even that time i was lucky there was no issues lol...but plz...'do not try this at home' laugh.gif
i think while you are sleeping, you aro just open the top cover and swim to your bed and sleep near you tongue.gif

owh that is danki water...

hmm..because i am going to locate my tank in the hall room, i think the best is to pull a hose from the toilet, since the toilet get the water from danki tank also

thanks bro for you advice thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Added on June 29, 2010, 2:41 pmbonus question from me tongue.gif

what size is suitable to start make aro eating cricket?

now mine is about 2.5"..and i am thinking to buy a small size cricket to feed it

This post has been edited by helangkawi: Jun 29 2010, 02:41 PM
byakuya8283
post Jun 29 2010, 02:52 PM

QUOTE(BenSow @ Jun 27 2010, 02:51 PM)
wat's the road name?

Added on June 27, 2010, 2:59 pmi jus got back from lfs spent rm2 on these:

first time my lfs sell so large...
i dun know but d shop near shell bandar tasik selatan aroun there
leong2084
post Jun 29 2010, 03:01 PM

89 posts

haha np tongue.gif

criket for 2.5inch aro ar...mmm...dunno lol...better ask the sifu's bruttha bear and byakuya lol
wmkr
post Jun 29 2010, 03:11 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(leggedy @ Jun 29 2010, 12:08 AM)
hmm, but i doubted they are crossback...coz all of their shine edi at level 5-6...  @@
well i have to agree with u there.. as the tail is yellowish in colour under white tank should be more to xb/mg fries tongue.gif

Added on June 29, 2010, 3:13 pm
QUOTE(leong2084 @ Jun 29 2010, 03:01 PM)
haha np tongue.gif

criket for 2.5inch aro ar...mmm...dunno lol...better ask the sifu's bruttha bear and byakuya lol
safe give the those mw that have just change their shell...or small small cricket...but take the kicking leg out tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wmkr: Jun 29 2010, 03:13 PM

127 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Top

0.3759sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:27 PM