Lord_Ashe
post Nov 28 2005, 08:32 AM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Nov 28 2005, 07:27 AM)
^is it a wide screen or normal 4:3?
with 720p support also?
It's a normal 29' 4:3 TV - with the Pixel Plus 2 engine, and support for 480p, 576p, 720p and 1080i. I just ran some games on my xbox last night - and lucky I have to work today or I won't be doing anything but stare, lol.
xxboxx
post Nov 28 2005, 08:47 AM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

you say have to look for it for months, is this model phased-out already? damn, wish hdtv price will come down quicker. sad.gif
Lord_Ashe
post Nov 28 2005, 09:05 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Nov 28 2005, 08:47 AM)
you say have to look for it for months, is this model phased-out already? damn, wish hdtv price will come down quicker. sad.gif
Yeah - it's pretty much discontinued. Philips has a new range out now with Pixel Plus 2 starting from 34" but without the 1080i capability and retailing for RM 3900. Weird - I guess they realised they were giving too many capabilities with the old line. Judging from how fast prices are going, I think it's viable that 32" and above hdtv LCD screens will be affordable in the next 2 years or so...till then, it's CRT, lol!
lightning69
post Nov 28 2005, 02:30 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Nov 28 2005, 09:05 AM)
Yeah - it's pretty much discontinued. Philips has a new range out now with Pixel Plus 2 starting from 34" but without the 1080i capability and retailing for RM 3900. Weird - I guess they realised they were giving too many capabilities with the old line. Judging from how fast prices are going, I think it's viable that 32" and above hdtv LCD screens will be affordable in the next 2 years or so...till then, it's CRT, lol!
720p is better than 1080i anyway so the is no need to have 1080i unless its 1080P. But i really don't want another 4:3 screen anymore. 16:9 is much better for movies.
xxboxx
post Nov 28 2005, 04:56 PM

5,261 posts

ya, i too hope can afford to get a widescreen hdtv. running 720p on 4:3 screen will mean a black border on top and bottom. so sad that no demand for widescreen in malaysia, i see j-drama even their pc monitor is wide screen. drool.gif
lightning69
post Nov 29 2005, 09:14 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Nov 28 2005, 04:56 PM)
ya, i too hope can afford to get a widescreen hdtv. running 720p on 4:3 screen will mean a black border on top and bottom. so sad that no demand for widescreen in malaysia, i see j-drama even their pc monitor is wide screen. drool.gif
There is demand but there is no supply. All Malaysian TV comes in 4:3 ratio except the newer DLP and LCD TV. Those are too expensive anyway. That is why i bought the Skyworth 16:9 crt HDTV because its widescreen.
Lord_Ashe
post Nov 29 2005, 12:47 PM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Nov 29 2005, 09:14 AM)
There is demand but there is no supply.  All Malaysian TV comes in 4:3 ratio except the newer DLP and LCD TV.  Those are too expensive anyway.  That is why i bought the Skyworth 16:9 crt HDTV because its widescreen.
That's right. A widescreen CRT here would be cheap, especially some of the lower end ones, but you're fortunate if you can get an Svideo input! I hear proper (meaning component input, and possibly HDTV support) widescreens CRT are on the way, but you're gonna have to wait.

So in the meantime, it's tough unless we have the moolah...
xxboxx
post Nov 29 2005, 05:26 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Nov 29 2005, 09:14 AM)
There is demand but there is no supply.  All Malaysian TV comes in 4:3 ratio except the newer DLP and LCD TV.  Those are too expensive anyway.  That is why i bought the Skyworth 16:9 crt HDTV because its widescreen.
is there really any demand? only the enthusiast in AV would know about wide screen. the average joe only know that tv is 4:3. btw, your widescreen tv, it's china brand izzit? how the quality compare to like sony or philips?
Lord_Ashe
post Nov 30 2005, 10:39 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Nov 29 2005, 05:26 PM)
is there really any demand? only the enthusiast in AV would know about wide screen. the average joe only know that tv is 4:3. btw, your widescreen tv, it's china brand izzit? how the quality compare to like sony or philips?
Here's a good article on the top ten HDTV myths that are out there. A lot of us sometimes base what we think we know on hearsay. Give it a click.

Top 10 HDTV Myths
xxboxx
post Nov 30 2005, 08:23 PM

5,261 posts

"At a distance of 10 feet from the screen, the eye can't detect pixels smaller than 1 millimeter; so if you look at a 37-inch set from that far away, you won't notice significant difference between a high-definition image and a standard-def image."
i don't think anybody seat so far away from their tv. sweat.gif

"Today, vendors rate the life expectancy of high-quality plasma TVs at 60,000 hours. That works out to more than 20 years of use if you watch 8 hours a day, 365 days a year; it's also about the same lifetime claimed for LCDs and CRTs (the latter are similarly prone to burn-in because, like plasma TVs, they depend on phosphor-based displays)."
is this true or not? like this no problem using it to play games coz it has life expectancy of crt.

btw Lord_Ashe, today i see some philips tv with the HDTV (or only HD, not sure) Monitor printed on the front. is this the same as yours or EDTV in disguise?
Lord_Ashe
post Dec 1 2005, 12:49 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Nov 30 2005, 08:23 PM)
btw Lord_Ashe, today i see some philips tv with the HDTV (or only HD, not sure) Monitor printed on the front. is this the same as yours or EDTV in disguise?
AFAIK, you probably saw these on display:

Philips 34" HDTV monitor, which while definitely HD-ready, do not have the Pixel Plus 2 processing engine (which makes all the difference), or the RGB input at the back for HDTV sources. Resolution-wise, it goes up to 480p EDTV and 1080i only (pretty standard) via component inputs.

An alternative WITH Pixel Plus 2 and similar to mine would be here.

So while both offer 100Hz scanning, I can safely say without the additional Pixel Plus engine you're actually better off getting a comparable Sony CRT - at least Sony's engine makes a difference with regular broadcasts. As to why I'm harping Pixel Plus - well it's just something that has to be seen to be believed.

I have to say though that the 34" Pixel Plus 2 set will probably cost around RM 3800 which puts it on the pricier end of a CRT set. Add a bit more and you can go with a plasma/LCD display maybe?

This post has been edited by Lord_Ashe: Dec 1 2005, 01:07 AM
xxboxx
post Dec 1 2005, 07:49 AM

5,261 posts

both also looks about the same, i couldn't tell tongue.gif
but the one i see don't have rgb input, guess this is the model without Pixel Plus 2.
btw, the second link, is this the same model as yours? i read th pdf file, it only support 480p and 1080i. from philips website there's only 3 model with HD capabilities, and all 3 only have 480p and 1080i.

the tv, does the display look almost similiar with pc monitor? i mean without the interlace line like normal tv?
Lord_Ashe
post Dec 1 2005, 09:32 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Dec 1 2005, 07:49 AM)
both also looks about the same, i couldn't tell tongue.gif
but the one i see don't have rgb input, guess this is the model without Pixel Plus 2.
btw, the second link, is this the same model as yours? i read th pdf file, it only support 480p and 1080i. from philips website there's only 3 model with HD capabilities, and all 3 only have 480p and 1080i.

the tv, does the display look almost similiar with pc monitor? i mean without the interlace line like normal tv?
Hehe, both look the same because of the tendency for retailers to hook up the dinkiest (and I mean stupidest) kind of composite connection to "show off" the TV, with brightness and other settings tuned up way high...

You're right - I forgot to mention that strangely enough only my model (which has been discontinued, I guess) has support for 480p, 720p and 1080i. I couldn't find a similar PDF but it's stated on the manual. Hmm... I need to do a bit more testing, I think.

As for no interlace line - I played a bit of King Kong yesterday, and that looked pretty amazing for a CRT. Soul Calibur 2(ori) also looked extra crisp but that was at 480p. I'll need to see if I can push it higher...
lightning69
post Dec 1 2005, 12:08 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Nov 29 2005, 05:26 PM)
Yes, its china brand Skyworth. Quality wise to me are more or less the same.

xxboxx
post Dec 1 2005, 12:15 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Dec 1 2005, 09:32 AM)
Hehe, both look the same because of the tendency for retailers to hook up the dinkiest (and I mean stupidest) kind of composite connection to "show off" the TV, with brightness and other settings tuned up way high...

You're right - I forgot to mention that strangely enough only my model (which has been discontinued, I guess) has support for 480p, 720p and 1080i. I couldn't find a similar PDF but it's stated on the manual. Hmm... I need to do a bit more testing, I think.

As for no interlace line - I played a bit of King Kong yesterday, and that looked pretty amazing for a  CRT. Soul Calibur 2(ori) also looked extra crisp but that was at 480p. I'll need to see if I can push it higher...
one of the display set is a 42" plasma, and they hook up with only the composite cable! mad.gif while the demo of 2F2F still look nice, i would prefer to see it in 720p.

try with xbox games that support 720p such as hulk or soul calibur 2.

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Dec 1 2005, 12:08 PM)
Yes, its china brand Skyworth.  Quality wise to me are more or less the same.
next time if you want to go china, do a bulk sales for the tv. happy.gif
xxboxx
post Dec 2 2005, 02:27 PM

5,261 posts

Lord_Ashe, are you sure your tv support 720p? i was browsing xbox-scene when i stumble on this article
Basically CRT HDTV displays are still the highest quality display over any other format (DLP, Plasma, LCD, LCoS). However in the xbox 360's case, all games natively support 720p but unfortunately CRT televisions do not support 720p native. Instead they upscale everything to 1080i in which loss can occur. So if you want to display games in their native resolution, going to Plasma or LCD is the way to go.

However from a technical standpoint, there is one CRT that kind of words around the technical jargon and can do 720p native - the JVC 34" widescreen HDTV. Instead of converting all signals to 1080i, it actually converts signals to 1500i which is a few extra lines on top of 1440i resolution. 1440i is the same as 720p. Since the picture is interlaced (have the picture is shown every other time) across 1440 lines (720 on the first, 720 on the second), it can actually show 720p received signals accurately without compromising quality because the resolution is exactly divisible by 2.

So, to sum it up, unless you have a 1500i CRT TV (JVC is the only one that currently does this), then you will not be getting the most out of your picture, no matter the cable

lightning69
post Dec 2 2005, 03:29 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Dec 2 2005, 02:27 PM)
Lord_Ashe, are you sure your tv support 720p? i was browsing xbox-scene when i stumble on this article
That is wrong....crt HDTV don't have native resolution like plasma or LCD which fix-pixel. And crt HDTV do suppport 720P, 1080i and even 1080P. We just don't have them in malaysia.

You can refer to my earlier post for the CRT HDTV i bought from china and look at its spec that say 720P, 1080i and 1080P.

xxboxx
post Dec 2 2005, 05:36 PM

5,261 posts

according to the article:
CRT televisions do not support 720p native. Instead they upscale everything to 1080i in which loss can occur. So if you want to display games in their native resolution, going to Plasma or LCD is the way to go.

meaning it can display 720p, but at some loss of line, unless the tv support 1440i/1500i (which is double of 720p line). 1080 if divided 2 will only be 540 lines.

This post has been edited by xxboxx: Dec 2 2005, 05:37 PM
lightning69
post Dec 3 2005, 05:54 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Dec 2 2005, 05:36 PM)
according to the article:

meaning it can display 720p, but at some loss of line, unless the tv support 1440i/1500i (which is double of 720p line). 1080 if divided 2 will only be 540 lines.
there is no such thing as 1440i/1500i. HD standard is 720P/1080i/1080P. And newer crt these days can fully support these. The only disadvantages of crt hdtv is that part of the tube might be covered the frame so one might not see the whole picture. A minor disadvantages considering the price you pay.
SUSMatrix
post Dec 4 2005, 06:28 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Nov 27 2005, 11:53 PM)
Wow that really sounds like a bargain!

After going around for months I finally found one of the few remaining Philips 29" Pixel Plus 2 CRT sets. Snagged it for RM 2400 and am happily gawking at my DVDs and xbox! Even Astro looks nicer, lol.

It doesn't have 1080p, but 1080i support for HDTV will have to be good enough for an average Joe like me...
hI,

Can tell which model is it?

I'm currently looking for a new HDTV...since my old 29" SDTV KO liao, it gives me a good reason to!!

But i've a hard time deciding. My current choice is the SONY DB29M61 which is currently the ONLY CRT HDTV which supports 1080i/720p/480p/576p etc...and i think it's the cheapest HDTV in the market!!(Only RM1900).

However, i'm also looking at the Philips Pixel Plus 2(the old Pixel Plus models all sold out i guess) and saw some on display in SENQ. Can't remember the price though.

Pixel Plus really makes a difference, i think it's the best looking of all the technology mumbo-jumbo of other tv's out there. However, as highlighted by other poster, the Philips model only plays 480p and 1080i.

So i'm wondering, can i play 720p XBOX games with Philips TV? Does it do upscaling (or whatever conversion) to 1080i??

Really headache...cannot decide!!

129 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0246sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:29 PM