HDTV FAQ, For all Console users

xxboxx
post Dec 9 2005, 03:17 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 6 2005, 09:26 AM)
Lord Ashe: Can u tell me whether your Philips TV does upscaling/conversion of 720p to 1080i??

Example, when u play SC2 (XBOX) on your TV, how do you know which resolution it's running? Is it set from the game or TV?? Does it runs SC2 in 720p mode by upscaling to 1080i??

I think need to check out the Pixel Plus 2 prices soon.
all of SC title only support 480p, no 720p.

Lord_Ashe, "hulk: ultimate destruction" support 720p and 1080i. try disable 1080i from xbox dashboard and see if the game display 720p.
Lord_Ashe
post Dec 9 2005, 05:13 PM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Dec 9 2005, 03:17 PM)
all of SC title only support 480p, no 720p.

Lord_Ashe, "hulk: ultimate destruction" support 720p and 1080i. try disable 1080i from xbox dashboard and see if the game display 720p.
Hmm. Okay, thanks for the input. I'll do that the moment I can! Strangely the back of my original SC2 says 720p support.

Hmmmm.

This post has been edited by Lord_Ashe: Dec 9 2005, 05:21 PM
xxboxx
post Dec 10 2005, 04:41 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Dec 9 2005, 05:13 PM)
Hmm. Okay, thanks for the input. I'll do that the moment I can! Strangely the back of my original SC2 says 720p support.

Hmmmm.
i wouldn't know about the back cover, coz i didn't have the ori. my info came from www.hdtvarcade.com/xboxlist.htm
you can also disable 480p and 1080i and see if SC2 would run on progressive mode.
SUSMatrix
post Dec 10 2005, 11:11 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Dec 10 2005, 04:41 PM)
i wouldn't know about the back cover, coz i didn't have the ori. my info came from www.hdtvarcade.com/xboxlist.htm
you can also disable 480p and 1080i and see if SC2 would run on progressive mode.
I think the info there is wrong. It is known that SC2 supports 720p and has been mentioned in various reviews in online sites.

btw, how do u disable the 480p/1080i mode? From software or tv??

Updated:
Check http://www.hdtvarcade.com/xboxlist.htm properly again.

SC2 XBOX support 720p ler.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 10 2005, 11:15 PM
xxboxx
post Dec 11 2005, 07:48 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 10 2005, 11:11 PM)
I think the info there is wrong. It is known that SC2 supports 720p and has been mentioned in various reviews in online sites.

btw, how do u disable the 480p/1080i mode? From software or tv??

Updated:
Check http://www.hdtvarcade.com/xboxlist.htm properly again.

SC2 XBOX support 720p ler..  thumbup.gif
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
now i realize SC2 as in soul calibur 2
all this while i thought it was splinter cell 2 blush.gif

to disable progressive mode is from MS dashboard, but the option only visible if you have the component cable.
SUSMatrix
post Dec 11 2005, 11:50 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Dec 11 2005, 07:48 AM)
doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
now  i realize SC2 as in soul calibur 2
all this while i thought it was splinter cell 2 blush.gif

to disable progressive mode is from MS dashboard, but the option only visible if you have the component cable.
Thanks. Now i know why i don't have such option...:0

btw, just read that XBMC can upscale DVD movie to 720p/1080i from 480p...and i was thinking about buying an expensive RM1K+ DVD player for that...ha-ha!

CerebralRogue
post Dec 12 2005, 04:13 PM

287 posts

Man I have to agree with you guys, most of the dudes in SenQ and even some in Harvey norman just don't know their stuff. Brought my Star Wars Episode 3 to try and I'm quite disappointed that the LCDs refresh rate is quite bad. The first space battle scene just stutters and lags. Didn't happen to the plasmas and crts. Looked at the Samsung Slimfit, but somehow the display just wasn't that great. Dunno whether it was the settings or what. But seriously these fellas don't even know how to set their dvd players to progressive scan.
lightning69
post Dec 12 2005, 05:12 PM

2,298 posts

Got my TV oledi. Was a little disappointed that it only supports 720p and 1080i(50/60hz) and not 1080P as stated in the brochure.

However it did come with a quality assurance note that the picture tube is made in japan by mashusita/ toshiba.

I have not try it out because i have no place to put it now until i move to my new house early next year.
jacky
post Dec 12 2005, 05:38 PM

Freak kiasu
1,271 posts

lightning69, which model you got?

mine to share?

p/s: Sony Bravia LCDs looks like a good deal... thumbup.gif (178degree viewing angel)
Lord_Ashe
post Dec 12 2005, 11:52 PM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(jacky @ Dec 12 2005, 05:38 PM)
lightning69, which model you got?

mine to share?
p/s: Sony Bravia LCDs looks like a good deal... thumbup.gif (178degree viewing angel)
Bravia's really good for LCDs. Have to agree that even with all the shopping around I've done, the current gen plasmas and LCDs just don't feel/look right. Of course, it could also be that some of the models here aren't even current and the connections...ugh...
SUSMatrix
post Dec 14 2005, 09:11 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Dec 12 2005, 05:12 PM)
Got my TV oledi.  Was a little disappointed that it only supports 720p and 1080i(50/60hz) and not 1080P as stated in the brochure.

However it did come with a quality assurance note that the picture tube is made in japan by mashusita/ toshiba.

I have not try it out because i have no place to put it now until i move to my new house early next year.
blink.gif Feel sorry for you man...kena con by china conman......seriously it's better to buy a Philip Pixel Plus or even SONY HDTV locally for that price....if problem occurs (touch wood)...who can fix and where to find spare parts?? A bit risky...

Anyway, hopefully you won't have any problems with it!

btw, just saw Toshiba HDTV on display in SENQ The Curve. Dunno about the quality as the input is probably some sucky composite signal...can't tell...but i think the price is a bit high..can't remember exactly. think RM3K+ but not sure whether it's for 29" or 34".

Lord Ashe: Also saw the Philips 29" Pixel Plus 2 at HSL (Mid Valley)...wah-lau...how come so expensive one?? I think either RM2999 or RM3999!!!! Maybe wrong price tag ah........ sweat.gif

Gotta go check out DESA when got free time.

SUSMatrix
post Dec 14 2005, 09:14 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Dec 12 2005, 11:52 PM)
Bravia's really good for LCDs. Have to agree that even with all the shopping around I've done, the current gen plasmas and LCDs just don't feel/look right. Of course, it could also be that some of the models here aren't even current and the connections...ugh...
Yeah...when you surf US sites...you can see a lot of models reviewed which is not available here...dunno why. And i actually think LCD and PLASMA ain't all that great if you look closely...but then again...with the crap setup in our Malaysian showrooms...who can tell anything!!!

Lord_Ashe
post Dec 14 2005, 09:26 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 14 2005, 09:14 AM)
Yeah...when you surf US sites...you can see a lot of models reviewed which is not available here...dunno why. And i actually think LCD and PLASMA ain't all that great if you look closely...but then again...with the crap setup in our Malaysian showrooms...who can tell anything!!!
LOL yeah man. I was trying to see if the Philips Pixel Plus 2 LCD sets would be comparable to the Bravia series - as of now I haven't seen ANY! All that's available are the older Pixel Plus sets that look somehow...wrong. In fact, a lot of times, even the high end Plasma displays look wrong.

I guess a user-friendly place that does not have to break the bank is still a dream...
agingamer
post Dec 14 2005, 10:48 AM

199 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Dec 14 2005, 09:26 AM)
LOL yeah man. I was trying to see if the Philips Pixel Plus 2 LCD sets would be comparable to the Bravia series - as of now I haven't seen ANY! All that's available are the older Pixel Plus sets that look somehow...wrong. In fact, a lot of times, even the high end Plasma displays look wrong.

I guess a user-friendly place that does not have to break the bank is still a dream...
I am also perplexed why I am seeing poor setups at most showrooms.
Some showed Astro ESPN that looked so bad that its a turn off. shakehead.gif

Is cost (cabling, hidef players, etc.) the reason why they have such poor setups?

Lord_Ashe
post Dec 14 2005, 11:25 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(agingamer @ Dec 14 2005, 10:48 AM)
Some showed Astro ESPN that looked so bad that its a turn off.  shakehead.gif

Is cost (cabling, hidef players, etc.) the reason why they have such poor setups?
IMHO that shouldn't be a reason, since these showrooms also stock the necessary cables/players. For example, since most LCD/plasma displays these days are HDTV ready - all they need is an HDTV source. I suspect however that the showrooms lack HDTV source devices, unlike us gamers who have our consoles that can at least output ONE flavour of progressive scan. True, these showrooms also have DVD players that support progressive, but I'm seeing that they're just plain lazy or ignorant to hook up their displays properly. A simple example would be Astro. Even on my entry level Pixel Plus 2 set, Astro on a cheap S-video can look pretty good (depending on the source, some shows are better than others) and I've seen a 43" TV in a showroom hooked up to an ESPN feed that looked like it came over regular terrestrial signals! So yeah, while HDTV settop boxes may be expensive, hooking up their high end TVs to progressive scan DVD players with component cables is not!

At the end of the day, the bottom line is to flood the potential buyer with so many specs and features that they end up buying the most expensive TV, not to help them make a good buying decision. Sad, innit?

cylon
post Dec 14 2005, 12:03 PM

882 posts

The're using cascading concept..used 1 astro, hooking it up to a tv , and from that tv to multiple tv's usually via rf cable.
SUSMatrix
post Dec 14 2005, 02:12 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

I guess so...some of those ASTRO signal are so bad it look worst than all the TV's in my house!!! I guess those splitting and splicing of the signal has taken it's toll.

I think the reason they've such a poor setup is they're uneducated (in terms of product knowledge) coupled with no directions from their management/supervisor ( who probably tell them to sell the most expensive product to customer where possible, and if not possible, just sell them anything!!). The problem is they're still taking that the customers nowadays are ignorant like maybe 10 years ago and just try to con their way out by bombarding people with all sort of tech jargon (without knowing what it means themselves).

They still haven't realized this is year 2005 already.....*sigh*....

mzaidi
post Dec 14 2005, 07:08 PM

Jerk
1,484 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 10 2005, 11:11 PM)
SC2 XBOX support 720p ler..  thumbup.gif
SC2 does support 720p, but 16:9 ratio is only during FMV. During normal gameplay, SC2 in 720p will be displayed in 4:3 ratio.

http://felixmcli.org/sc2-xb720p.shtml
xxboxx
post Dec 14 2005, 08:31 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 14 2005, 09:11 AM)
blink.gif  Feel sorry for you man...kena con by china conman......seriously it's better to buy a Philip Pixel Plus or even SONY HDTV locally for that price....if problem occurs (touch wood)...who can fix and where to find spare parts?? A bit risky...

2k for a 720p/1080i tv is still way cheap in malaysia. heck, almost all crt in malaysia didn't support 720p, or by cheating it with upscale to 1080i. plus only 2k for widescreen!!! drool.gif

no, it's just that most staff didn't have decent knowledge in AV.

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Dec 14 2005, 11:25 AM)
IMHO that shouldn't be a reason, since these showrooms also stock the necessary cables/players. For example, since most LCD/plasma displays these days are HDTV ready - all they need is an HDTV source. I suspect however that the showrooms lack HDTV source devices, unlike us gamers who have our consoles that can at least output ONE flavour of progressive scan. True, these showrooms also have DVD players that support progressive, but I'm seeing that they're just plain lazy or ignorant to hook up their displays properly. A simple example would be Astro. Even on my entry level Pixel Plus 2 set, Astro on a cheap S-video can look pretty good (depending on the source, some shows are better than others) and I've seen a 43" TV in a showroom hooked up to an ESPN feed that looked like it came over regular terrestrial signals! So yeah, while HDTV settop boxes may be expensive, hooking up their high end TVs to progressive scan DVD players with component cables is not!

At the end of the day, the bottom line is to flood the potential buyer with so many specs and features that they end up buying the most expensive TV, not to help them make a good buying decision. Sad, innit?

totally true! at jusco over here they got progressive scan dvd player playing HD demo disc outputting it to a 34" plasma widescreen, and they choose to connect using those yellow composite cable!! doh.gif shakehead.gif

EDIT: some more nice info from xbox-scene.com
They UPconvert from 720p to 1080i. No CRT display on sale right now has 720p native. They just don't do it. It will ACCEPT a 720p signal, but then it just converts it to 1080i. Even the Sony XBRs, which some say are the best of the direct view CRTs, convert 720p to 1080i.

Consumer television, large format CRTs just can't do a 720p signal. They don't have enough vertical scanning frequency to do it. Thats why. The big Sony XBRs have the display size and resolution available with their screens. But, they've yet to make one with a high enough scanning frequency to actually resolve 720p. They will do 480p, but all other HD signals sent to one will be converted to 1080i.

You have to look at it in a scanning frequency view. The frequency of a CRT is measured as horizontal lines per second. After seeing what it takes, you'll understand......

480i - 480 lines x 30 frames = 14.4kHz
480p - 480 lines x 60 frames = 28.8kHz
1080i - 1080 lines x 30 frames = 32.4kHz
720p - 720 lines x 60 frames = 43.2kHz
1080p - 1080 lines x 60 frames = 64.8kHz

Thats why large format CRT PC monitors cost so much back in the day. To get them to be able to show such high resolutions, they had to have very high frequency electron guns....

1600x1200 @ 85Hz = 102kHz
1920x1440 @ 85Hz = 122kHz

You can see there, the high frequency required for desktop CRT displays. Even now, the 24" Sony FW900, which most people say is the best of the consumer CRTs, and is now almost 4 years old, still costs about $1000 new these days. Its just very expensive to get CRTs to display that much picture. With LCDs, its easy. You just build a panel with that many pixels, and your done. But, its not that easy with CRT.

This post has been edited by xxboxx: Dec 15 2005, 08:06 AM
Ken6800
post Dec 15 2005, 08:40 AM

248 posts

Sorry to jump on, but I stopped at component inputs three years ago and I am now quite confused!

Are new DVD players able to output in HD? 720p etc? I know DVDs are not HD, but does it improve the picture quality?

129 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0244sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:23 PM