btw...how much the component cable cost.....
HDTV FAQ, For all Console users
Feb 17 2005, 06:54 PM
159 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
btw...how much the component cable cost.....
Feb 18 2005, 10:59 AM
1,923 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: NL/MY |
Well, I believe the fact that the 1920x1080 is interlaced merits a mention... and makes things a little more logical.
Mar 2 2005, 10:03 AM
199 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
On the matter of component input, I have a TV with one component input
but multiple devices capable of component output - DVD, XBOX and PS2. Is there a switcher/selector of some kind that I can get? Will the passive A/V selector work at all? I kind of doubt it myself. What is the difference between the component cable vs RCA audio/video cable? The plugs look the same. I can only think that the cable quality is different. |
Mar 17 2005, 10:57 AM
78 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sarawak |
currently, we do have HDTV broadcast yet, probably in another 5 to 10 yrs, but it already becoming a standard at the states, their regulation to make sure all the broadcaster capable of broadcast HDTV by year 2006.
Apr 24 2005, 11:16 PM
574 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Lion's Den |
Is it worth getting a Sony KV-DA29M61 to play PS2?
May 1 2005, 04:23 PM
2,619 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: KL |
to agingamer- component is like ddr2 ram and rca is like edo ram. so component is faster,better,o k?
if your tv has only one component input, u can hook up your multiple components sources through a av receiver such as yamaha or onkyo.... its worth getting one ok if you dun have one yet to ilfr- yes, a bigger tv is always better for everytng! |
May 22 2005, 06:37 PM
11,305 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
The ULTIMATE HDTV.
http://www.audiorevolution.com/equip/princeton/ THE reference standard monitor for those who wants only the bext out of their vieweing needs. |
May 25 2005, 11:50 PM
1,709 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kedah Khap Khoun Khap (4K) |
I've been reading about this "burn in " defects on plasma tvs at gamefaqs.com board. Many of them experience it after using the tv for quite some time.
Is this true? |
May 25 2005, 11:54 PM
3,658 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Zaryl @ May 25 2005, 11:50 PM) I've been reading about this "burn in " defects on plasma tvs at gamefaqs.com board. Many of them experience it after using the tv for quite some time. yaIs this true? every plasma can "burn in" when the iamge still too long at the same place... brand like sony can clear the "burn in"..but the plasma will more expensive ....and after you clear it..the life span of plasma reduce |
May 25 2005, 11:57 PM
3,658 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
vcd quality like 0.1mp image runnig at 25/30 fps
dvd quality like 0.4mp image runnig at 25/30 fps hdtv quality like 2.0mp image running at 25/30fps coreect me if i wrong |
May 26 2005, 04:25 AM
4,289 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Behind You |
QUOTE(silkworm @ Jan 28 2005, 10:00 PM) 100Hz scan is not HDTV, that's for certain. (still having bad memories of that Samsung Tanto, eh stringfellow?). An interlaced picture consists of an odd and even field. A 100Hz Scan TV (for eg, Panasonic Tau Giga) takes each field, and fills in the gaps by repeating each available line. This is called line-doubling. A line-doubled field becomes a "frame" as in "frames per second". The newly reconstructed frames are then displayed twice, thus achieving 100Hz or 100fps. On certain TVs, when playing videogames there may be a noticeable lag between controller input and on-screen action. so it is not good to buy Panasonic for gaming ?Obviously, line-doubling makes vertical "jaggies" even more apparent. Sometimes line-doubling is called "bob" de-interlacing. Because the odd and even lines are offset by 1 line, the even "frame" ends up one line lower than the "odd" frame. When showing still pictures, the image may appear to "bob" up and down. The Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers (SMPTE) HDTV standard fixes the vertical refresh rate at 30Hz for all the HDTV modes ( edit: 480p is EDTV, oops |
May 27 2005, 04:24 PM
322 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE to agingamer- component is like ddr2 ram and rca is like edo ram. i still dont get it. i think u mean "component = ddr2 ram and composite = edo ram". so.. is the same RCA cable used for composite can also be used for component? btw, just bought LG 29-RT47FDVX with x-wave wireless feature. havent got my hifi amplifier yet (sent for repair), so couldnt try the wireless... seems cool huh.. but dont know how the quality is like. |
Jun 2 2005, 09:30 AM
322 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
sad... the x-wave wireless sound quality is bad. much more noise than normal radio station. maybe because i use external antenna (outside the house), so the transmission signal is not strong enough to reach outside the house....
Jun 6 2005, 10:25 AM
3,410 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Wangsa Maju, Kuala Lumpur |
So erm any price guides on HDTVs? :-p
Jun 6 2005, 02:43 PM
1,513 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Kuching - Klang |
i got 2 questions to ask...
i saw recently got a lot of LCD tv.. and the price a little exp too.. what are the advantages of LCD tv over those Big HDTV in terms of image quality if i am particularly hooking it up for consoles and preparing also for next-gen consoles? the only thing i know is LCD saves up space for smaller room and also not harmful to eyes health wise.. also should i go widescreen or normal ratio 16X9 , 4X3? i dun think many games has widescreen option though! |
Jun 14 2005, 07:50 PM
78 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sarawak |
for me, LCD is only save space, nth more compare to real HDTV in term on performance or quality, some of the cheap brand will had a very bad viewing angle, so not bad if u got a dark theather room...
not sure about the current market pricing, but at least at this point of time i prefer real HDTV as i do not have good experience with LCD..... |
Jun 15 2005, 02:17 AM
1,949 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: SBW/KCH/PER |
Can this tv plays hdtv games or movies? http://www.sony.com.my/sonystyle/product/p...ubcategoryid=31
Aug 5 2005, 09:43 PM
39 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: currently: Saudi Arabia |
Thanks for the guide, I'm deifnitly saving/bookmarking this page and will return when I'm ready to actually make a purchase hehe...
imo the only reason to by a HDTV is for the "next gen consoles" so I'll wait to see which I'm gonna get, then purchase a HDTV afterwards (assuming I can still afford one |
Aug 6 2005, 08:32 PM
1,650 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
sorry to hijack but i just cannot find a place to discuss tv
i am no gamer but need to buy a tv for normal viewing my plan is to get plasma/lcd in couple of years so whatever i am buying is for about 2-3 years I limited myself to 2 choice a 34 inch Panasonic- at about RM2600- no HD ready, 100 h progressive scan or a 29 inch Sony, the one mentioned here- KV DA 29M61- which i believe have better specs, slightly cheaper at 2500... Is the 5 inch worth sacrificing? Is the Sony picture really more superior? My normal usage- football, cartoon, HBOs, DVDs... sorry guys for hijacking the topic! |
Aug 26 2005, 02:27 AM
192 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
what's a good 1080p DLP screen now ?
| Change to: | 0.0276sec