129 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

HDTV FAQ, For all Console users

metalgrindsolid
post Mar 3 2006, 12:01 AM

31 posts

Hai guys, finally my quest for HDTV is over. I bought Samsung 42" DLP TV. The quality on Xbox360 is superb! The free demo of 720p resolution movies on Xbox360 are so beautiful. Can't wait for the upcoming of new HD era with the release of HD DVD or Bluedisk player.

Unfortunetely, you have to stick and accept to current defination of DVD, 480. So you need a good DVD player with excellent upscaler for upscaling 480 to 720 or 1080 resolution. Anyone knows a good DVD player?
xxboxx
post Mar 3 2006, 07:17 AM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(metalgrindsolid @ Mar 3 2006, 12:01 AM)
Hai guys, finally my quest for HDTV is over. I bought Samsung 42" DLP TV. The quality on Xbox360 is superb! The free demo of 720p resolution movies on Xbox360 are so beautiful. Can't wait for the upcoming of new HD era with the release of HD DVD or Bluedisk player.

Unfortunetely, you have to stick and accept to current defination of DVD, 480. So you need a good DVD player with excellent upscaler for upscaling 480 to 720 or 1080 resolution. Anyone knows a good DVD player?
does the tv got dvi input? if got you can get a vga card with dvi out and connect to your tv and play some hi-res avi files. xbox1 with xbmc also can play video in 720p/1080i but not video encoded in h.264/hd-wmv.
SUSMatrix
post Mar 3 2006, 10:53 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Dun waste your money. Upscaling doesn't provide much improvement, if any at all. XBOX XBMC already upscale to 1080i/720p.

Just save your money for a BlueRay player or PS3. smile.gif

andrewng88
post Mar 9 2006, 03:14 PM

Delighting You Always
805 posts

dear all tv sifu, just saw a Sony KP-Fr43m91 projection tv at jusco selling at 3999 only, is it a good buy to use for ps2 and dvd ?
cylon
post Mar 9 2006, 04:00 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(andrewng88 @ Mar 9 2006, 03:14 PM)
dear all tv sifu, just saw a Sony KP-Fr43m91 projection tv at jusco selling at 3999 only, is it a good buy to use for ps2 and dvd ?
That's RPTV...rear projection tv. Not good for gaming coz burn-in issues.
Lord_Ashe
post Mar 9 2006, 04:02 PM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

QUOTE(cylon @ Mar 9 2006, 04:00 PM)
That's RPTV...rear projection tv. Not good for gaming coz burn-in issues.
Agreed. If you can afford it, look for plasma or LCD sets. You may even want to check out the Plaxio brand, Malaysia's answer to the price problem.

Failing that, CRT HDTV sets are heavy, but still satisfying.

Good luck!
cylon
post Mar 9 2006, 05:18 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Mar 9 2006, 04:02 PM)
Agreed. If you can afford it, look for plasma or LCD sets. You may even want to check out the Plaxio brand, Malaysia's answer to the price problem.

Failing that, CRT HDTV sets are heavy, but still satisfying.

Good luck!
In other word...dont buy...there's a reason why original game manuals gave a cautios warning on usage of RPTV and any projector of that matter for gaming.
SUSMatrix
post Mar 10 2006, 08:55 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(andrewng88 @ Mar 9 2006, 03:14 PM)
Like everyone else here...DON'T BUY. Projection TV and gaming is a NO-NO. Furthermore, for 4K. you might as well get a LCD. You might have a smaller screen, but you get a proper 16:9 display and frankly, i never like projection TV...i think the image quality is not even as good as CRT.

metalgrindsolid
post Mar 10 2006, 11:46 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Mar 3 2006, 07:17 AM)
does the tv got dvi input? if got you can get a vga card with dvi out and connect to your tv and play some hi-res avi files. xbox1 with xbmc also can play video in 720p/1080i but not video encoded in h.264/hd-wmv.
No Dvi input. But right now I connect my 360 through VGA. I'll give a try to DVI files on xbox till I get an original HD AV pack. Right now, I have a third party HD pack which seems giving me a ghosting or double images on screen.

The DVD playback on Xbox360 is way much better than my 3 years old Yamaha DVD player. Should wait for PS3 or HD DVD player coming out as advised by matrix. Yes, upscalling doesn't do much different to the image quality. already give it a try...
andrewng88
post Mar 10 2006, 03:31 PM

Delighting You Always
805 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Mar 10 2006, 08:55 AM)
Like everyone else here...DON'T BUY. Projection TV and gaming is a NO-NO. Furthermore, for 4K. you might as well get a LCD. You might have a smaller screen, but you get a proper 16:9 display and frankly, i never like projection TV...i think the image quality is not even as good as CRT.
oh projection TV is no no ( but this model with the non glare screen is so easy with the eyes), ok maybe will now consider Sony KV-DB34M61 jusco selling at 2999 doh.gif . so how about this sony is it the best CRT cause i think LCD and Plasma price is still not value for money.... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by andrewng88: Mar 10 2006, 03:33 PM
SUSMatrix
post Mar 11 2006, 09:02 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(andrewng88 @ Mar 10 2006, 03:31 PM)
oh projection TV is no no ( but this model with the non glare screen is so easy with the eyes), ok maybe will now consider Sony KV-DB34M61 jusco selling at 2999  doh.gif . so how about this sony is it the best  CRT cause i think LCD and Plasma price is still not value for money.... tongue.gif
For price/performance i think this model is unbeatable. Anothere good CRT option is the Philips 34" Pixel Plus 2 model which has the best image quality, however, this model doesn't support 720p and upscale to 1080i, and i think that come close to 4K. Still, u should check it out before u make any purchase.

Happy hunting!!

xxboxx
post Mar 12 2006, 03:54 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(metalgrindsolid @ Mar 10 2006, 11:46 AM)
No Dvi input. But right now I connect my 360 through VGA. I'll give a try to DVI files on xbox till I get an original HD AV pack. Right now, I have a third party HD pack which seems giving me a ghosting or double images on screen.

The DVD playback on Xbox360 is way much better than my 3 years old Yamaha DVD player. Should wait for PS3 or HD DVD player coming out as advised by matrix. Yes, upscalling doesn't do much different to the image quality. already give it a try...

yup, i and matrix also experience ghosting using third party HD pack.

ps3 using blu-ray drive. there will be 2 format for HD. one is blu-ray, another one is HD-DVD. this gonna be like VHS vs BETAMAX war. choose wisely, or just wait for the winner.
metalgrindsolid
post Mar 12 2006, 09:31 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Mar 12 2006, 03:54 PM)
yup, i and matrix also experience ghosting using third party HD pack.

ps3 using blu-ray drive. there will be 2 format for HD. one is blu-ray, another one is HD-DVD. this gonna be like VHS vs BETAMAX war. choose wisely, or just wait for the winner.
Does the original HD pack solve this? Asked around at Sg Wang Plaza but nobody selling it anymore sad.gif . Dvd playback on XBMC is much, much more better than dvd player that have an upscalling feature. If I can get rid of this ghosting issue, thanks god no more quest for a fine upscalling dvd player.

The war between HD-DVD and Bluedisk...yes, just wait and see the winner. More importantly, who give the lower price biggrin.gif .

My advice to anyone who want to upgrade from CRT to LCD...if you want to play PS2 on LCD that larger that 32", forget it. Better stick to CRT or buy Sony KV-DB34M61. My experience is that the image quality is totally suck even you turn on the progressive scan, it won't do much different. As you know that most PS2 games native resolution is only at 480. With CRT that have image viewing at 29" and 34" screen plus good black level, you'll never regret it.

xxboxx
post Mar 13 2006, 12:25 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(metalgrindsolid @ Mar 12 2006, 09:31 PM)
Does the original HD pack solve this? Asked around at Sg Wang Plaza but nobody selling it anymore sad.gif . Dvd playback on XBMC is much, much more better than dvd player that have an upscalling feature. If I can get rid of this ghosting issue, thanks god no more quest for a fine upscalling dvd player.

The war between HD-DVD and Bluedisk...yes, just wait and see the winner. More importantly, who give the lower price biggrin.gif

for my case, it did solve it. before this i was using third party cable, 480p mode the picture was like jumping, 1080i there's like a wave of line in the screen.

HD-DVD vs Bluray. a very expensive risky investment to jumps to. sweat.gif
SUSMatrix
post Mar 14 2006, 02:48 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(metalgrindsolid @ Mar 12 2006, 09:31 PM)

The war between HD-DVD and Bluedisk...yes, just wait and see the winner. More importantly, who give the lower price biggrin.gif .

My advice to anyone who want to upgrade from CRT to LCD...if you want to play PS2 on LCD that larger that 32", forget it. Better stick to CRT or buy Sony KV-DB34M61. My experience is that the image quality is totally suck even you turn on the progressive scan, it won't do much different. As you know that most PS2 games native resolution is only at 480. With CRT that have image viewing at 29" and 34" screen plus good black level, you'll never regret it.
You still can get from one gameshop in One Utama, LG(i think)...near Bee's Bakery. But i dunno really original or not. Go try ur luck there. And yes, ori MS pack have no ghosting. It' seems like all the crummy 3rd party HDAV Pack has this problem...i guess it pays to buy original in this case. smile.gif

Jonlam
post Mar 15 2006, 06:46 AM

119 posts

Is your Samsung 42" DLP TV model HL-R4266W? Is it a rear projection TV and how much and where did you buy it?

metalgrindsolid
post Mar 17 2006, 02:08 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(Jonlam @ Mar 15 2006, 06:46 AM)
Is your Samsung 42" DLP TV model  HL-R4266W? Is it a rear projection TV and how much and where did you buy it?
No, it's SP-42L6HX. I believe DLP is a different technology than RPTV. The price is RM5900 plus a free TV rack valued RM999 (but the salesperson told me that it actually come together with the DLP set unsure.gif ). I bought it at Best Denki.

Yes, the original MS HD pack doesnt give ghosting images. Borrowed MS pack from a friend. Hmm, better buy the ori one...thanks guys for all the help thumbup.gif .
ahpunk
post Mar 19 2006, 08:06 PM

78 posts

what are the big brands currently offering the HDTV/HDTV-ready in malaysia?
Lord_Ashe
post Mar 19 2006, 08:37 PM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

QUOTE(ahpunk @ Mar 19 2006, 08:06 PM)
what are the big brands currently offering the HDTV/HDTV-ready in malaysia?
If you're talking CRTs, Philips, Sony and Samsung have HD-ready sets.

All other technologies (plasma, LCD, DLP) are generally HD ready, regardless of brand.
xxboxx
post Mar 20 2006, 12:44 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Mar 3 2006, 10:53 AM)
Dun waste your money. Upscaling doesn't provide much improvement, if any at all. XBOX XBMC already upscale to 1080i/720p.

today is the first time i try playing dvd movie using XBMC with the HDTV laugh.gif
playing 2F2F, i try first on 480p then on 720p. although no much, but the difference is still noticable specailly on smaller text and object. so yeah, even dvd movie looks nicer on 720p than 480p. biggrin.gif

129 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0192sec    1.18    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:40 PM