91 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Recommended GPS App For iPhone , Q&A Discussion Thread

myke
post Feb 2 2010, 05:12 PM

165 posts

eh guys, i know this sound stupid as i'm new GPS user, bought PPG Pro yesterday and found out it can't detect my current location ohmy.gif i can search thru maps but cant navigate, btw my location is in KL... any guru can help?!
angelflames
post Feb 2 2010, 05:22 PM

148 posts

Your Iphone is 3G or 3GS right?
myke
post Feb 2 2010, 05:58 PM

165 posts

yeap 3Gs.. is't something to do with poor satelite signal?

harmeet15
post Feb 2 2010, 06:09 PM

Winners don't make excuses
2,729 posts

QUOTE(mmmbop @ Feb 2 2010, 04:43 PM)
Can you guys please check which MFM version the 6.2 is using?
its 090626
yuvanesh
post Feb 2 2010, 06:19 PM

<<ASSASSINO>>
1,231 posts

QUOTE(myke @ Feb 2 2010, 05:58 PM)
well maybe that can be the problem...if doesnt work again try reinstalling the app on your phone...
harmeet15
post Feb 2 2010, 06:22 PM

Winners don't make excuses
2,729 posts

QUOTE(myke @ Feb 2 2010, 05:12 PM)
eh guys, i know this sound stupid as i'm new GPS user, bought PPG Pro yesterday and found out it can't detect my current location  ohmy.gif i can search thru maps but cant navigate, btw my location is in KL... any guru can help?!
QUOTE(myke @ Feb 2 2010, 05:58 PM)
check ur settings>general> location service is on or nt..
it shud be working
i just got it yest n trying it out..working fine
E1 - AKG
post Feb 3 2010, 12:11 AM

Your personal audio store!
6,439 posts

sorry 2 sound stupid, wats d std gps app tat came wif d iphone blink.gif
yuvanesh
post Feb 3 2010, 12:24 AM

<<ASSASSINO>>
1,231 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Feb 3 2010, 12:11 AM)
sorry 2 sound stupid, wats d std gps app tat came wif d iphone  blink.gif
well actually the std one is the maps..by google.. hmm.gif
SUSkhalpowers
post Feb 3 2010, 01:19 AM

1,966 posts

Hi guys ..want to clearified y my ppg show my location at jln pramlee suppose now im in shah alam.. I try restart but still same..my current location is on..

Added on February 3, 2010, 1:25 am
QUOTE(myke @ Feb 2 2010, 06:12 PM)
eh guys, i know this sound stupid as i'm new GPS user, bought PPG Pro yesterday and found out it can't detect my current location  ohmy.gif i can search thru maps but cant navigate, btw my location is in KL... any guru can help?!
Ur problem like me la bro...how come the current location show me at jln pramlee rite now...wtf..now my gps good signal..n i more thing i discover after i install this ppg my g maps also pening ..y arr??..any sifoo can solve my prob..tqvm

Added on February 3, 2010, 3:34 amProb settle..reinstall true itunes..yeahh..

This post has been edited by khalpowers: Feb 3 2010, 03:34 AM
yuvanesh
post Feb 3 2010, 12:05 PM

<<ASSASSINO>>
1,231 posts

QUOTE(khalpowers @ Feb 3 2010, 01:19 AM)
Hi guys ..want to clearified y my ppg show my location at jln pramlee suppose now im in shah alam.. I try restart but still same..my current location is on..

Ur problem like me la bro...how come the current location show me at jln pramlee rite now...wtf..now my gps good signal..n i more thing i discover after i install this ppg my g maps also pening ..y arr??..any sifoo can solve my prob..tqvm

yes actually who are facing the gps connection problem...just try reinstalling the app..it will be fine.. sweat.gif
kurt5301
post Feb 3 2010, 02:41 PM

39 posts

can somebody help me please? i'll be going to temerloh tomorrow. can somebody with papago check how detail is the map coverage there. if the map is ok, i'll buy the app. thanx in advance!!
ryan_giggs
post Feb 4 2010, 09:55 AM

94 posts

hi guys,

Yesterday i tried with Papago with iphone setting "Airplane Mode" ON....but my iphone 3gs cannot get the signal from satellite at all after I was driving on the road for 20mins......but once i turn OFF the "Airplane Mode" which means my phone line is back with 3G ON, the GPS can detect my location instantly.

So, does this mean that our iphone 3gs with "A-GPS" chip will only work when we have the 3G line ON? I'm trying to save money by not using 3G data but only the A-GPS to get signal from satellite but doesn't work..... cry.gif

Anyone try before ah?
my44
post Feb 4 2010, 10:22 AM

2,482 posts

@ryan_giggs
Yes, the GPS function will only work with telephone. Turning on the Airplane Mode will turn off the GPS as well (I wish Apple could separate these two though)

I'm using TomTom v1.0 map (Singapore/Malaysia) currently. If anyone scroll back a few pages, you will notice my previous reviews of TomTom (MY/SG) vs Sygic (MY/SG/TH). Also had a 3-day driving experience with TomTom Thailand a few weeks ago.

One thing I notice with my current phone. Turning on Location Service and launching my TomTom apps will result in "Waiting for GPS signal" indefinitely. My workaround: I launch Google's map and touch the round circle to pin point my current location. After that I relaunch TomTom and the signal is now locked.
yuvanesh
post Feb 4 2010, 10:47 AM

<<ASSASSINO>>
1,231 posts

QUOTE(ryan_giggs @ Feb 4 2010, 09:55 AM)
hi guys,

Yesterday i tried with Papago with iphone setting "Airplane Mode" ON....but my iphone 3gs cannot get the signal from satellite at all after I was driving on the road for 20mins......but once i turn OFF the "Airplane Mode" which means my phone line is back with 3G ON, the GPS can detect my location instantly.

So, does this mean that our iphone 3gs with "A-GPS" chip will only work when we have the 3G line ON? I'm trying to save money by not using 3G data but only the A-GPS to get signal from satellite but doesn't work.....  cry.gif

Anyone try before ah?
but following on my experince...my line was barred for a couple of days by maxis...but i could connect and use the gps as usual...normally barred meansyour internet connection and line is cut off right...but this still work i meant both sygic and papago...

This post has been edited by yuvanesh: Feb 4 2010, 10:47 AM
DigitalTech
post Feb 4 2010, 10:49 AM

974 posts

Currently I'm using Papago Lite.

I would like to know how do I update my maps?
mmmbop
post Feb 4 2010, 03:25 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(DigitalTech @ Feb 4 2010, 10:49 AM)
Currently I'm using Papago Lite.

I would like to know how do I update my maps?
Download map from MfM. Install. copy and paste in the .ipa file of the resepective Maps folder in iTunes.
gyver
post Feb 4 2010, 04:05 PM

1,067 posts

Thanks for all the good review on papago pro guys. I just bought and still downloading from iTunes. Didn't know that the price was higher than USD19.90 before. So thankful for the good deal.

EDIT:

First time GPS user here. Was waiting for this software for quite some time since I am using non jailbreak iphones. I will test this both on my iphone 3G and 3GS and give some reviews later. I am currently on a Celcom 3G unlimited package, and with all the 3G problems lately with Celcom, I hope the 3G problem would not affect too much on the performance of the A-GPS.

This post has been edited by gyver: Feb 4 2010, 04:11 PM
DigitalTech
post Feb 4 2010, 04:08 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(mmmbop @ Feb 4 2010, 03:25 PM)
Download map from MfM. Install. copy and paste in the .ipa file of the resepective Maps folder in iTunes.
I am downloading the latest map for Papago iPhone.

Can you explain where to find the maps folder in itunes?
myke
post Feb 4 2010, 10:43 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(yuvanesh @ Feb 2 2010, 06:19 PM)
well maybe that can be the problem...if doesnt work again try reinstalling the app on your phone...
QUOTE(harmeet15 @ Feb 2 2010, 06:22 PM)
check ur settings>general> location service is on or nt..
it shud be working
i just got it yest n trying it out..working fine
QUOTE(khalpowers @ Feb 3 2010, 01:19 AM)

QUOTE(yuvanesh @ Feb 3 2010, 12:05 PM)
yes actually who are facing the gps connection problem...just try reinstalling the app..it will be fine.. sweat.gif
i deleted PPG from iphone.. then sync back from itunes also the same problem sad.gif does this mean reinstalled successfully? location service is on.. battery is full, the satellite signal keep searching & searching, current location is still at Jln P. Ramlee as i'm in sri hartamas! my $19.99 is gone mad.gif
rayth
post Feb 4 2010, 10:54 PM

108 posts

To all sifus. Whats the different btween PPG Pro and Lite? Bside the price? smile.gif

91 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0537sec    1.02    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:08 AM