Recommended GPS App For iPhone , Q&A Discussion Thread

unknowmaster
post Feb 5 2010, 12:46 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(rayth @ Feb 4 2010, 10:54 PM)
To all sifus. Whats the different btween PPG Pro and Lite? Bside the price? smile.gif
Junction View and 3D buildings

rayth
post Feb 5 2010, 01:01 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(unknowmaster @ Feb 5 2010, 12:46 AM)
Junction View and 3D buildings
Got it. Now going purchase PPG Pro. Thanks.
niaochu
post Feb 5 2010, 06:17 AM

45 posts

may sound a bit stupid here, but how does any of these gps software compares with Garmin XT? I'm a user of garmin right now and it's very updated with the latest map fr MFM...

This post has been edited by niaochu: Feb 5 2010, 07:49 AM
unknowmaster
post Feb 5 2010, 10:14 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(niaochu @ Feb 5 2010, 06:17 AM)
may sound a bit stupid here, but how does any of these gps software compares with Garmin XT? I'm a user of garmin right now and it's very updated with the latest map fr MFM...
If you have Jailbreaked your iPhone, You will be able to download the lastest MFM for papago and installed it into the phone.
For me the voice navigation lose to garmin but it has junction view. But I am not sure, maybe I am used to garmin too much whistling.gif
loowy
post Feb 5 2010, 11:13 AM

23 posts

you dont have to jailbreak your phone in order to change the map smile.gif
garyngkt
post Feb 5 2010, 12:25 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(loowy @ Feb 5 2010, 11:13 AM)
I'm using Papago Pro and I think its the best now for Malaysian roads and found it to be more stable in GPS connection compared to others. If don't use SSH method you mean modify the ipa file and load into iTunes?. BTW, do we update all the files from Papago MFM as I think some files not recommended to be updated eg. POI, am I correct?.
mmmbop
post Feb 5 2010, 03:04 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(DigitalTech @ Feb 4 2010, 04:08 PM)
I am downloading the latest map for Papago iPhone.

Can you explain where to find the maps folder in itunes?
1. open the .ipa file with winrar or the like.

2. change the extension of .psu from MfM to .psz

3. add all the new files from mfm into the maps folder of .ipa file, with exception of file with the extension of .kuf

That will do.

BTW, this is the first time ever I'm using dedicated satnav apps for iphone with GPS..the gmaps use A-GPS..

What I realize the iphone GPS receiver is not as good as other phone. there were several occurences of the receiver having problem in locking even while routing

This post has been edited by mmmbop: Feb 5 2010, 03:08 PM
shinutopia
post Feb 6 2010, 06:15 AM

Mobil phone GPS Tracking technology ,
u can tracking your lost phone, or your friends location....lol
for detail pls go this site check :h tt p://gps.ud999.com/cf.asp?dq760115
(can i sharing this website, if not pls delete it .thank you )

This post has been edited by shinutopia: Feb 6 2010, 06:30 AM
xphossis
post Feb 6 2010, 07:00 AM

Me Gusta!
878 posts

QUOTE(mmmbop @ Feb 5 2010, 03:04 PM)
1. open the .ipa file with winrar or the like.

2. change the extension of .psu from MfM to .psz

3. add all the new files from mfm into the maps folder of .ipa file, with exception of file with the extension of .kuf

That will do.
BTW, this is the first time ever I'm using dedicated satnav apps for iphone with GPS..the gmaps use A-GPS..

What I realize the iphone GPS receiver is not as good as other phone. there were several occurences of the receiver having problem in locking even while routing
where do we get the latest mfm maps?

is it specific iphone map?
futago
post Feb 6 2010, 07:21 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(myke @ Feb 4 2010, 10:43 PM)
i deleted PPG from iphone.. then sync back from itunes also the same problem sad.gif does this mean reinstalled successfully? location service is on.. battery is full, the satellite signal keep searching & searching, current location is still at Jln P. Ramlee as i'm in sri hartamas! my $19.99 is gone  mad.gif
Tried reinstalling twice, i am still stucked at Jln P Ramlee!!
my44
post Feb 6 2010, 09:18 AM

2,482 posts

Like I mentioned previously, to debug the GPS functionality, I will open Google Map app, touch the blue circle button to see whether your GPS can lock your position. After the tiny blue dot becomes smaller and more precise, quit the map and launch your 3rd party apps (papago, TomTom).

If your apps still indicate 'searching for GPS signal' then it's not the GPS chip that have issues. It's the apps.
Rikef
post Feb 6 2010, 09:23 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(futago @ Feb 6 2010, 07:21 AM)
i also got the same problem..
intothefantasy
post Feb 6 2010, 02:00 PM

1,561 posts

i have a fren brought this papago and i tried it, but i cant really see the junction view...how to active it? and also i dint see 3d buildings....i am sure is not lite tho...
SUSkhalpowers
post Feb 6 2010, 03:41 PM

1,966 posts

QUOTE(futago @ Feb 6 2010, 08:21 AM)
Bro..u must turn on the ppg when u dlm keta maa..im sure now u stuck at jln pramlee coz u not navigate from the car rite..b4 this i also face same prob ,after i install then i try use it from my room but tha location show me at jln pramlee...hehe..

Added on February 6, 2010, 3:47 pmWhen inside the car..try search poi..after got tha results go to navigate..then ur current location should be ok...

This post has been edited by khalpowers: Feb 6 2010, 03:56 PM
yuvanesh
post Feb 6 2010, 04:09 PM

<<ASSASSINO>>
1,231 posts

QUOTE(khalpowers @ Feb 6 2010, 03:41 PM)
Bro..u must turn on the ppg when u dlm keta maa..im sure now u stuck at jln pramlee coz u not navigate from the car rite..b4 this i also face same prob ,after i install then i try use it from my room but tha location show me at jln pramlee...hehe..

Added on February 6, 2010, 3:47 pmWhen inside the car..try search poi..after got tha results go to navigate..then ur current location should be ok...
well bro gps works with satelite...so if you want to use it pls u need a ope space...not your room... doh.gif
SUSkhalpowers
post Feb 6 2010, 05:33 PM

1,966 posts

QUOTE(yuvanesh @ Feb 6 2010, 05:09 PM)
well bro gps works with satelite...so if you want to use it pls u need a ope space...not your room... doh.gif
Hehe.. rclxm9.gif

Ps im so excited after install ppg looo..cannot wait ..hehehe
red-queen
post Feb 6 2010, 06:30 PM

1,310 posts

Hi all,

i just isntalled my papago and updated it with the latest maps from malfreemaps. everything is working superbly well!!

anyways, for those who need help on how to update the maps feel free to pm me or msn me (meng2108[at]hotmail[dot][com])

here are the steps that i used:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Courtesy of bro sfliu:

And heres the steps, and remember guys, "PLEASE BUY THE ORIGINAL SOFTWARE" its only USD9.90 from itunes..support the developer and get the free update in future.

1. Of cource, buy Papago Taiwan from itunes and install into your iphone (it might take sometime to download, 465MB)
2. Download Papago Android X5 map (please dont ask me where to download)
3. Extract it, you will be able to see 28 files in total.
4. SSH your iphone (please google yourself to find out how to SSH into your iphone, I am using WinSCP, but you need wifi connection)
5. go to /private/var/mobile/Applications/C3C25D61-0DD8-4E90-8288-AC3E7A1A82CE/PAPAGO! Taiwan.app/Navi/Maps/TW (if you cant find the C3C25xxx folder, try open the rest one by one, im not sure whether the folder name will be the same or not)
6. Replace the Android X5 map with the files inside the folder, and remember, please change the Octal permission to 0755 for each file you replace (26 files).
7. Unplug your iphone sync cable, give your iphone a kiss, say thanks to malfreemaps & me

Courtesy of bro scaremonger:
rename MapAniPOI.psu -> MapAniPOI.psz
rename Papago.dbp -> papago.dbp
rename standard.mb6 -> Standard.mb6
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This post has been edited by red-queen: Feb 7 2010, 04:31 PM
benny838
post Feb 6 2010, 08:20 PM

128 posts

Just bought papago pro few days ago, served me well, value for money.
safilo
post Feb 6 2010, 08:24 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(loowy @ Feb 5 2010, 11:13 AM)
Hi, can you elaborate please. I have download new MFM Pagago map, and update the maps in the .ipa. However, always got error during installation (resources had been modified ..)

Overall, I am happy with the Papago Pro edition. 19.95 well spent.
To use the lastest map, have to jb the iphone. It would be great if someone can share with us how to install new maps with the Papago For Iphone without the need for jb.
red-queen
post Feb 6 2010, 08:29 PM

1,310 posts

The steps i provided is for jb phones. I heard can use winrar to bundle the maps for non jb phone

91 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0474sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 01:21 AM