141 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

PC Audio Please Recommend... a 2.1 or 5.1 speaker set V3, Comparison and advice needed.

aspire2oo6
post Nov 17 2009, 09:58 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(darkcurves @ Nov 17 2009, 02:47 AM)
Distance does make a difference. When playing for Left4Dead on 5.1, i cant hear my rear speakers because placed too far behind. I have to crank up the rear volume. Still, i believe 2.1 is better than 5.1.
2.1 and 5.1 comparision is very subjective. There no such thing as which is better because 2.1 cant perform a 5.1 surround and a 5.1 can perform both 2.1 or 5.1.

For 5.1 surround placing of the speaker are very crucial if u misplace u will say 5.1 is crap due to human mistake.

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Nov 17 2009, 09:59 AM
temptation1314
post Nov 17 2009, 10:41 AM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

Hi all,

Yesterday just browse thru shops in lowyat, and found out somes 5.1 speakers selling around RM200-RM300
*Please recommended me a decent 5.1 around this budget. thanks tongue.gif

Another question, is it possible and recommended to mod the wires, as I need the wires for satellite to be longer than the usual.
dlyz
post Nov 17 2009, 12:33 PM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

Distance and room accoustic makes a difference.

But generally you get better SQ from headphones cos there is no room accoustic affect headphone and also, cost of components i guess. Speaker cabinets is also a factor in the cost of a speaker. Example, my speaker has bitumen in it. I think tats the stuff they use to make roads lol. Then labor cost, according to dynaudio, 80% of the cost of making speaker cabinet is labor cost. That why to get a speaker of good SQ, there is a price to pay. smile.gif
aspire2oo6
post Nov 17 2009, 02:54 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(dlyz @ Nov 17 2009, 12:33 PM)
Distance and room accoustic makes a difference.

But generally you get better SQ from headphones cos there is no room accoustic affect headphone and also, cost of components i guess. Speaker cabinets is also a factor in the cost of a speaker. Example, my speaker has bitumen in it. I think tats the stuff they use to make roads lol. Then labor cost, according to dynaudio, 80% of the cost of making speaker cabinet is labor cost. That why to get a speaker of good SQ, there is a price to pay. smile.gif
This i totally agree with you. Both also using different techology.
Further more speaker can share the audio when headphone only 1 person at 1 time
dantwt
post Nov 18 2009, 11:24 AM

OverD
1,308 posts

What about good 2.0 speakers? To be used for iMac. (not sure if there's dedicated sound card or jus crappy built-ins)

Want a 2.0 instead of 2.1 / 5.1 for simplicity preference.

Some of the ones i can find are :
-Logi Z5 / Z10
-Altec Lansing FX3022 (Im aware of the lousy QC lately)
-Edifier R1900T3 bookshelf
-Creative T20 (T40 too expensive)

Any suggestions to narrow down my options? Or suggest other models? Budget within RM400-500.

History : Used Altec 45.1 for several years already. Pretty happy with its SQ for the price i paid.

THanks
bulibulizaimon
post Nov 18 2009, 04:47 PM

PSN : bulibulizaimon
4,667 posts

Currently im using Edifier M1335, issit woth to change to Divoom VOOM 2? Tight budget here, or should i stick to my M1335? Or any suggestions?
chingwooi
post Nov 19 2009, 06:30 PM

~Doctor Wannabe~
5,124 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 16 2009, 10:42 PM)
distance make the difference on a speaker. Omg if distance is not the factor try put a 5.1 surround speakers left one 1m away the right 1 put 2m away see wat will happen?

If who compare a headphone and a speaker system doesnt know much about sound. Try go to a hifi shop and tell the seller u comparing a headphone and a speaker system u see who will be laughed
Just for your info a headphone or earphone is like electromagnetic radiation magnet imagine u use it for radio it able to get reception. Your body is the antenna itself.
Haha, don't get me wrong, what I'm trying to say there is distance is not the factor that causes the diff in sound quality btw the multimedia speakers and the HD650. IMO, HD650 sound will always b btr than those multimedia speakers no matter how you place them wink.gif
Chingu
post Nov 19 2009, 06:41 PM

Hi,Why not u try Stereo Bluetooth speaker,the brand is 'Blueaudios' with 4" or 5" Subwoofer,the price range between RM168 to Rm228 with acceptable sound quality,u can find it at Sri Computers or Viewnet.
dlyz
post Nov 20 2009, 04:28 PM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

QUOTE(chingwooi @ Nov 19 2009, 06:30 PM)
Haha, don't get me wrong, what I'm trying to say there is distance is not the factor that causes the diff in sound quality btw the multimedia speakers and the HD650. IMO, HD650 sound will always b btr than those multimedia speakers no matter how you place them  wink.gif
Never try HD650 before but i believe it. Price to performance ratio too far... even tho we are comparing durian with nanas. nod.gif
aspire2oo6
post Nov 21 2009, 01:33 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

Haha i didnt know HD650 was so overprice. Definately very unfair comparison.

Logitech z-5500D = RM1400 vs HD650 = RM2100 (headphone only)

I better buy Bose companion 5 only RM1800.

chingwooi
post Nov 22 2009, 12:57 PM

~Doctor Wannabe~
5,124 posts

Hmmm, I tot you said you owned both Z5500 and HD650.... but you're not aware of the price? Anyway, The price of HD650 varies depends on where you get them, it can be as cheap as below Rm1k if you got them from overseas or as high as Rm2.2k if you get them locally.
~yy_r|c
post Nov 22 2009, 11:46 PM

hello to all the pro out there,

i hvn own any speakers before but i wish to have one in like a week time

i more interested in watching movies and gaming..mostly moviess!
i now confusing about choosing Edifier or Altec Lansing
Both of them seems cool to me and i prefer 2.1 coz really no budget for 5.1.
I need more suggestion which model should i get
coz mostly forumer leave bad comment for the newest version of AL..

pls state which model so i can go lowyat to test it out.... thanks guys...
bdway, my budget is RM250 +/-
dantwt
post Nov 24 2009, 09:54 AM

OverD
1,308 posts

Repost :

What about good 2.0 speakers? To be used for iMac. (not sure if there's dedicated sound card or jus crappy built-ins)

Want a 2.0 instead of 2.1 / 5.1 for simplicity preference.

Some of the ones i can find are :
-Logi Z5 / Z10
-Altec Lansing FX3022 (Im aware of the lousy QC lately)
-Edifier R1900T3 bookshelf
-Creative T20 (T40 too expensive)

Any suggestions to narrow down my options? Or suggest other models? Budget within RM400-500.

History : Used Altec 45.1 for several years already. Pretty happy with its SQ for the price i paid.

THanks
aspire2oo6
post Nov 26 2009, 11:40 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(chingwooi @ Nov 22 2009, 12:57 PM)
Hmmm, I tot you said you owned both Z5500 and HD650.... but you're not aware of the price? Anyway, The price of HD650 varies depends on where you get them, it can be as cheap as below Rm1k if you got them from overseas or as high as Rm2.2k if you get them locally.
Dont get me wrong not everyone in the world are as rich as u can afford to buy a headphone for RM2100 like u. I got mine for free as a present. You are rich i am not. Thanks mate nod.gif
dlyz
post Nov 27 2009, 09:09 AM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 26 2009, 11:40 PM)
Dont get me wrong not everyone in the world are as rich as u can afford to buy a headphone for RM2100 like u. I got mine for free as a present. You are rich i am not.  Thanks mate  nod.gif
Bro, this comment unnecessary doh.gif . We are discussing, not arguing. Besides, i dun feel chingwooi said anything to provoke you, just read it in positive view. Peace.

Btw, i work for every cent to buy my toys since secondary school. I have been a dishwasher boy even flex.gif

Now, i know ppl say dun compare apple and oranges. But for me, i still like to compare with the condition keep in mind the price and type of fruit we are comparing. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by dlyz: Nov 27 2009, 09:10 AM
aspire2oo6
post Nov 27 2009, 10:01 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(dlyz @ Nov 27 2009, 09:09 AM)
Bro, this comment unnecessary  doh.gif . We are discussing, not arguing. Besides, i dun feel chingwooi said anything to provoke you, just read it in positive view. Peace.

Btw, i work for every cent to buy my toys since secondary school.  I have been a dishwasher boy even flex.gif 

Now, i know ppl say dun compare apple and oranges. But for me, i still like to compare with the condition keep in mind the price and type of fruit we are comparing.  whistling.gif
i am also discussing maybe chingwooi try argue i dont know? If ppl compare an apple with an orange means they dunno what they are buying

Its like a car and a plane both does it job take you to your destination but one is faster one is slower one different comfort etc etc. Logical you are unable to compare?
I dunno thats just my opinion.
Fawkes
post Nov 28 2009, 01:09 AM

584 posts

What's the best speaker for RM1K+ budget?

Usage will be mainly for games and music, maybe a little bit of movie.

I was thinking of Logitech Z-5500D, is there any better speaker than that for the price range and the purpose?

I want a speaker with good quality and doesn't spoil easily as well, first time into buying a good speaker, so what else do I need to take note before buying a speaker?

I know it will still depend on my ears and preference in the end so I'm planning to audit the speaker this weekend and maybe buying it during PC Fair depending on the price and freebies.
dlyz
post Nov 28 2009, 08:50 AM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

Car and plane ah, can compare speed, smoothness of ride, noisy engine etc. sweat.gif Anyways let get back to topic.

Fawkes, i recommend u try Z5500 and Edifier S750. Im not sure the price for edifier, but i have tried it before and its a nice speaker. I like the tight bass and fact it has a tweeter. But u must go try urself. If you have ipod with familiar songs... shud request the promoter to let you use it as source.

For Z5500 is it the newer batches got more problem with control pod? mine still problem free for nearly 4 years.
chingwooi
post Nov 28 2009, 02:42 PM

~Doctor Wannabe~
5,124 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 27 2009, 10:01 AM)
i am also discussing maybe chingwooi try argue i dont know? If ppl compare an apple with an orange means they dunno what they are buying

Its like a car and a plane both does it job take you to your destination but one is faster one is slower one different comfort etc etc. Logical you are unable to compare?
I dunno thats just my opinion.
Haha, that's really funny, if what i said above is also considered as trying to irk you.... Speechless man~ U said u owned HD650 and I was surprised that u r not aware of the price, that's why i asked, I didn't say anything that trying to start an argument until now( did i even say that i bought my HD650 for RM2.1k? I tot I said price of GD650 varies depends on where u bought it from? Pls read carefully ) may b u r a little bit sensitive boss, but obviously ur frens are the one tat is god dang rich
if they really did gv u the HD650 as a gift. thumbup.gif May b u r not aware of the price that's why u din noe that HD650 is indeed a very gd cans that needs proper setup to drive it thus it doesn't shine to ur ears.

Anyway, I'm not rich, I collected all the money all by myself little by little to purchase all the item I've owned , not even a single cent from my parents.

This post has been edited by chingwooi: Nov 28 2009, 02:44 PM
corad
post Nov 29 2009, 10:56 AM

Hard to see, the dark side is.
2,403 posts

currently been using a klipsch 2.1 GMX for nearly 7 years ... (damn i feel old now tongue.gif)

any suggestions of other 2.1 speakers ? spending cap ~RM3k ish ... general purpose usage of course, games, movie, different music ...

141 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:37 PM