QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 8 2009, 01:55 AM)
my z-5500D is entering its 4th year already still works great. Havent found a speaker to replace my z-5500D yet
Entry level hifi/ht PC Audio Please Recommend... a 2.1 or 5.1 speaker set V3, Comparison and advice needed.
Nov 8 2009, 08:43 AM
1,827 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Miri, Sarawak |
Nov 9 2009, 11:07 AM
Basshead go for Z5500
This post has been edited by dlyz: Nov 9 2009, 11:11 AM |
Nov 14 2009, 11:01 AM
Different people, different taste, you cant say he is right or wrong. Just my opinion.
I do agree with him generally headphones are musical compare to Z5500 but dont mean Z5500 is bad, i had try a entry level sennheiser and hated it haha. Depend on taste. Back 4 years ago, when i was research Z5500, i did come across negative reviews, mostly complain bass.... i can say, after i start play hifi, i understand what they mean. But 1 sen product 1 sen performance.... i accept Z5500 and i still love it. This post has been edited by dlyz: Nov 14 2009, 11:17 AM |
Nov 17 2009, 12:33 PM
Distance and room accoustic makes a difference.
But generally you get better SQ from headphones cos there is no room accoustic affect headphone and also, cost of components i guess. Speaker cabinets is also a factor in the cost of a speaker. Example, my speaker has bitumen in it. I think tats the stuff they use to make roads lol. Then labor cost, according to dynaudio, 80% of the cost of making speaker cabinet is labor cost. That why to get a speaker of good SQ, there is a price to pay. |
Nov 20 2009, 04:28 PM
QUOTE(chingwooi @ Nov 19 2009, 06:30 PM) Haha, don't get me wrong, what I'm trying to say there is distance is not the factor that causes the diff in sound quality btw the multimedia speakers and the HD650. IMO, HD650 sound will always b btr than those multimedia speakers no matter how you place them Never try HD650 before but i believe it. Price to performance ratio too far... even tho we are comparing durian with nanas. |
Nov 27 2009, 09:09 AM
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 26 2009, 11:40 PM) Dont get me wrong not everyone in the world are as rich as u can afford to buy a headphone for RM2100 like u. I got mine for free as a present. You are rich i am not. Thanks mate Bro, this comment unnecessary Btw, i work for every cent to buy my toys since secondary school. I have been a dishwasher boy even Now, i know ppl say dun compare apple and oranges. But for me, i still like to compare with the condition keep in mind the price and type of fruit we are comparing. This post has been edited by dlyz: Nov 27 2009, 09:10 AM |
Nov 28 2009, 08:50 AM
Car and plane ah, can compare speed, smoothness of ride, noisy engine etc.
Fawkes, i recommend u try Z5500 and Edifier S750. Im not sure the price for edifier, but i have tried it before and its a nice speaker. I like the tight bass and fact it has a tweeter. But u must go try urself. If you have ipod with familiar songs... shud request the promoter to let you use it as source. For Z5500 is it the newer batches got more problem with control pod? mine still problem free for nearly 4 years. |
Dec 1 2009, 05:52 PM
QUOTE(corad @ Nov 29 2009, 10:56 AM) currently been using a klipsch 2.1 GMX for nearly 7 years ... (damn i feel old now Such a big budget, please consider hifi system. 1k or less for speaker, 1.5k ish for amp, sub i not sure 700-1k? a couple hundred for cables.any suggestions of other 2.1 speakers ? spending cap ~RM3k ish ... general purpose usage of course, games, movie, different music ... |
Dec 2 2009, 08:54 AM
1k... try seach audio engine powered bookshelf.... hifi.. hard to do unless everything 2nd hand, but ussually very old.
Dec 2 2009, 11:31 PM
QUOTE(Fawkes @ Dec 2 2009, 12:55 PM) Where to buy or audit Audio Engine? Googled around and the A5 seems not bad? If you go for old stuff, proly 1k can get you started with amp, speaker and cable. But if you want new stuff 2-3k. 2k you need to hunt really well.What do you call those system with separate amp and speakers? Hifi system? What's the min budget to get a good one? If I've no other choice I think I'll have to go back to Z-5500D. >.< |
Jan 18 2010, 08:22 AM
Yes always audit and logi subs are always boomy. Altec old models are far better than the new ones too.
Jan 19 2010, 10:02 AM
how can tat be... i have 2 set of speakers running beside my cpu and never hang.... strange...
im more worried tat i overload the wall socket... This post has been edited by dlyz: Jan 19 2010, 10:03 AM |
Jan 19 2010, 10:30 AM
just move the subwoofer first and see what happens...
Jan 20 2010, 08:48 AM
What floorstander u using?
I too have floorstand + z5500, no prob. |
Jan 21 2010, 06:46 PM
QUOTE(power911 @ Jan 20 2010, 10:58 PM) not sure if it's a floorstanding speaker but that's what everyone call it here lol if it stands on the floor then its a floorstander/tower speaker lol, how many watts is ur amp? if u change ur speaker, might yeild better sound...it's a sony ss-d201 connected to my nad 302 amp |
Jan 22 2010, 11:52 PM
the first number stands for how many speaker the 2nd number stand for subwoofer.
2.0 = 2 speaker 2.1 = 2 speaker, 1 subwoofer 5.1 = 5 speaker, 1 subwoofer |
Jan 23 2010, 08:27 AM
mp3 320kpbs or mp3 LAME still acceptable on your speakers. add a soundcard for a more controlled sound. but flac is better.
Jan 23 2010, 03:41 PM
converting flac from mp3 is useless and pointless.... whats lost can never get back.
Jan 23 2010, 08:03 PM
ya, i know, just adding a point.. sorry if it sounded wrong
Jan 23 2010, 11:01 PM
HD onboard i have tested before on my office PCs vs my psc805. The soundcard is much better. Bass is more realistic and tighter, highs more sweet, etc.
If your not high demand user, maybe it would be enuf, but, if you feel you want more, SC is a good thing to add to your pc. |
| Change to: | 0.0331sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:12 PM |