Shoes for (real) men

QuickFire
post Jul 7 2016, 09:25 PM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

QUOTE(Kelvw @ Jul 6 2016, 07:12 PM)
I don't have any other indulgences hence I could spend a bit more on shoes now.
Correction: shoes and RL purple label. laugh.gif

Anyway, anyone been to WJ recently? The last I was there at end of March, the owners mentioned that we can expect new Carmina makeups by May/June, and WJ's own shoe trees by May. But so far I haven't heard anything.

Can't remember where I heard this from, but there is supposedly a new men's wear store opening in Publika, carrying Cheaney's and Fox Umbrellas. Can't remember the name.
chiahau
post Jul 7 2016, 10:36 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

Looking at www.herringshoes.co.uk makes my wallet looks sad.

Saw a few pairs of Loakes which are pretty decent thou.

Brogues are more formal for meeting and desk diving rather than oxfords, no?

Kinda lost touch with high end office shoes laugh.gif
niakulah
post Jul 7 2016, 11:02 PM

Senior Artisan
1,277 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Jul 7 2016, 10:36 PM)
Looking at www.herringshoes.co.uk makes my wallet looks sad.

Saw a few pairs of Loakes which are pretty decent thou.

Brogues are more formal for meeting and desk diving rather than oxfords, no?

Kinda lost touch with high end office shoes laugh.gif
Shoes with brogueing are certainly less formal than shoes without, whether or not they are oxfords(yes oxfords can also be brogues at the same time).

I would say that in Malaysia, any single leather sole or synthetic sole dress shoe in a dark colour would be considered formal enough for meetings (my own opinion, I'm sure others will disagree).

With the exception of "contemporary" designs such as Barker's Creative line of shoes:
http://www.barker-shoes.co.uk/shop/collect...tive-collection
nikfs1881
post Jul 8 2016, 12:11 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(Kelvw @ Jul 6 2016, 07:12 PM)
I don't have any other indulgences hence I could spend a bit more on shoes now. It used to be guitars but I'm happy with the ones I have now and the prices these days are insanely expensive. Furthermore shoes requires less space and relatively much cheaper smile.gif

Yeah nikfs1881 is correct, it's the summer sale season and much bargains to be had. Cheaney had pretty good bargains on the website, the rest you would have to visit the stores. CJ's sale is ok generally as it's about 10% - 15% off some of the handgrades, Seconds are much cheaper but gotta know where to spot the faults. However I do enjoy having a chat/banter in these shops whenever I'm down in London as they are ever so friendly. EdwardGreen not so much.

@Nik I don't know if EG sale is still on or not. I need to drop by tomorrow for shoe trees. Where are you based? You seemed to travel quite a bit. As CJ, most shops carry almost the same selection however Canary Wharf is quieter which is nice.
Thanks man for the tips. Stopped by EG earlier today immediaty after i arrived in London. Bought a pair of boots which i thought was a pretty good deal for EG. The sad part is the shoe tree costs gbp95 but not as overpriced as GG shoe tree which costs Gbp150

Will update the full pic later.
nikfs1881
post Jul 8 2016, 12:12 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Jul 7 2016, 09:25 PM)
Correction: shoes and RL purple label. laugh.gif

Anyway, anyone been to WJ recently? The last I was there at end of March, the owners mentioned that we can expect new Carmina makeups by May/June, and WJ's own shoe trees by May. But so far I haven't heard anything.

Can't remember where I heard this from, but there is supposedly a new men's wear store opening in Publika, carrying Cheaney's and Fox Umbrellas. Can't remember the name.
Do you know how much is the retail price for Fox Umbrella at WJ&co?
Kelvw
post Jul 8 2016, 02:11 AM

1,591 posts

I think too many Purple Label already lol.. in fact i just bought one more. Realised how bad it was when the RL guys at Bond St. commented on my shopping habits today . Damn paiseh. I swear I wasnt it just so happened I found what I wanted. sleep.gif

Anyways, dropped by EdwardGreen today. Not much on sale atm. The shoetrees are bloody expensive for what it is compared to CJ Handgrade trees but no choice though. My generic trees doesn't fit as snuggly. May get an Abbeyhorn later as well. Those shoe horns are so nice when slipping the foot in the shoe.

Nik: post it up quick! We could have met up for a cuppa tea if I knew you're at EG today. I thought you went there yesterday. Did you drop by G&G?
nikfs1881
post Jul 8 2016, 07:44 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(Kelvw @ Jul 8 2016, 02:11 AM)
I think too many Purple Label already lol.. in fact i just bought one more. Realised how bad it was when the RL guys at Bond St. commented on my shopping habits today . Damn paiseh. I swear I wasnt it just so happened I found what I wanted. sleep.gif

Anyways, dropped by EdwardGreen today. Not much on sale atm. The shoetrees are bloody expensive for what it is compared to CJ Handgrade trees but no choice though. My generic trees doesn't fit as snuggly. May get an Abbeyhorn later as well. Those shoe horns are so nice when slipping the foot in the shoe.

Nik: post it up quick! We could have met up for a cuppa tea if I knew you're at EG today. I thought you went there yesterday. Did you drop by G&G?
Yes, agree! the quality of the shoe tree is somewhat of the same quality with CJ bench grade with the price tag of CJ handgrade trees! Overpriced for what it is but not as overpriced as GG trees nvtheless!

Yes, indeed, it wouldve been nice to meet you in person! Maybe next time i'm in London, will PM you! Am off to Scotland tomorrow for a week.

So which EG model did you buy? Did you buy the EG shoe trees? Would love to see the pic of your latest haul!

To be honest, i was contemplating whether i should buy the shoe trees or i could possibly use one of the generic trees at home too but was persuaded by a nice and pleasant saleslady. Anyway, i bought the Shannon IX two tone (getting out of my comfort zone this time - endorsed by the wife). Camera phone doesnt do justice - somehow the colour is not so accurate.

This post has been edited by nikfs1881: Jul 8 2016, 07:47 AM
Kelvw
post Jul 8 2016, 09:30 AM

1,591 posts

Nice one bro! That's an elegant pair of boots. Which lasts are they on?

Yeah I bought the EG shoe trees and it fits perfectly. I'll post a pic in comparison to my generic tree. EG fills up the toe area much better. But I'm still gonna bitch about how expensive it is but at the same time I'm pleased with it.

Will post some pics of the shoe as well. smile.gif

Meanwhile check this out, the new BBC documentary about bespoke JohnLobbs shoes.

This post has been edited by Kelvw: Jul 8 2016, 10:00 AM
QuickFire
post Jul 8 2016, 10:38 AM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

QUOTE(nikfs1881 @ Jul 8 2016, 12:12 AM)
Do you know how much is the retail price for Fox Umbrella at WJ&co?
If memory serves me right, around RM 800.
chiahau
post Jul 8 2016, 12:15 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jul 7 2016, 11:02 PM)
Shoes with brogueing are certainly less formal than shoes without, whether or not they are oxfords(yes oxfords can also be brogues at the same time).

I would say that in Malaysia, any single leather sole or synthetic sole dress shoe in a dark colour would be considered formal enough for meetings (my own opinion, I'm sure others will disagree).

With the exception of "contemporary" designs such as Barker's Creative line of shoes:
http://www.barker-shoes.co.uk/shop/collect...tive-collection
Nah, I'm not talking about in Malaysia purely.

Something more internationally accepted
marver
post Jul 8 2016, 12:24 PM

Fragrance Enthusiast
688 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Jul 8 2016, 10:38 AM)
If memory serves me right, around RM 800.
Fuuuhh... the price sounds scary to me for a pair of Ump...brella.
Flash back few week or a month ago,There's a drop on Massdrop for Kent Wang Solid Stick Umbrella.
Price was still decent and looks so so classic wink.gif
Comes with few choices selection of canvas and the stick (Chestnut,Whangee & Tiger Hickory).
Kinda like the combination of Black / Navy Canvas with Chestnut which on classic feel.

Maybe can wait for the do another drop if anyone would interested to get an umbrella.

https://www.massdrop.com/buy/kent-wang-umbrella

SweetPuff
post Jul 8 2016, 01:41 PM

2,021 posts

Just saw in KLCC Parkson offering selected Kenneth Cole shoes at 50pc off. Sub RM400 for the Country Club Oxford. Looks... okay.

Kelvw
post Jul 9 2016, 03:54 AM

1,591 posts

Shoe trees day

I would expect a nicer box rather than a generic plain white one. Or atleast make it worth the £95 ffs. doh.gif

It is rather nice looking, but I much preferred the pull ring instead

In comparison to my generic tree. Can't see a big difference from the pic but noticeable when placed on top of each other.

Kelvw
post Jul 10 2016, 07:56 PM

1,591 posts

and here's the shoe, just realised I haven't posted it up.

Comes with a shoe care guide in a rather nice textured paper. Also as seen in Nik's post. Shoe bags are thick and sturdy although I think CJ Handgrade bags are much more luxurious

I really like EG's use shoe cloth rather than the use paper wrappings

EG Beaulieu in Midnight Antique calf, more like a cross between blue/grey depending on light. It's quite difficult to capture.
The burnishing is rather nice too.

Fits like a glove the first time.

Fiddle waist and closed channel soles wub.gif

Light green blue insoles

Sorry if it's too many photos

TSkotmj
post Jul 10 2016, 11:14 PM

The Coatmaker's Apprentice
3,802 posts

Much nice!
chiahau
post Jul 11 2016, 11:59 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

Anywhere to shop for shoes in Bangkok?

I'm game if the location is not too far from my current stay, somewhere near Erawan Shrine
Kelvw
post Jul 12 2016, 10:26 AM

1,591 posts

@nikfs1881 you do realise that to resole your EG shoes, it would cost about £200? ouch... I wonder if it's the same for G&G.

nikfs1881
post Jul 12 2016, 05:10 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(SweetPuff @ Jul 8 2016, 01:41 PM)
Just saw in KLCC Parkson offering selected Kenneth Cole shoes at 50pc off. Sub RM400 for the Country Club Oxford. Looks... okay.

Nice. You bought them?
nikfs1881
post Jul 12 2016, 05:19 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(Kelvw @ Jul 12 2016, 10:26 AM)
@nikfs1881 you do realise that to resole your EG shoes, it would cost about £200? ouch... I wonder if it's the same for G&G.
Yes, so i was told! That's crazy! And for us in Malaysia it's even crazier - have to factor in shipping cost too!

I dont know for sure how much GG charge for resoling but i doubt i would need resoling for my GG anytime soon - only wear them on a special occassion. 😬

Btw, i was in CJ Birmingham yesterday. Nice bunch of people. Spent more than one and half hours there yesterday speaking and molesting various shoes!Attached Image
nikfs1881
post Jul 12 2016, 05:20 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(Kelvw @ Jul 10 2016, 07:56 PM)
and here's the shoe, just realised I haven't posted it up.

Comes with a shoe care guide in a rather nice textured paper. Also as seen in Nik's post. Shoe bags are thick and sturdy although I think CJ Handgrade bags are much more luxurious

I really like EG's use shoe cloth rather than the use paper wrappings

EG Beaulieu in Midnight Antique calf, more like a cross between blue/grey depending on light. It's quite difficult to capture.
The burnishing is rather nice too.

Fits like a glove the first time.

Fiddle waist and closed channel soles wub.gif

Light green blue insoles

Sorry if it's too many photos
Lovely colour and awesome shoes! Great choice man! Like that unique insole!

This post has been edited by nikfs1881: Jul 12 2016, 11:53 PM

290 Pages « < 205 206 207 208 209 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:13 PM