290 Pages « < 197 198 199 200 201 > » Bottom

Shoes for (real) men

tandynes
post Apr 30 2016, 11:52 AM

21 posts

What model of asics are good for running?

So far had the GT-2170 and it performs great, but looking to update it but i am willing to check out other comparable brands.
niakulah
post Apr 30 2016, 12:04 PM

Senior Artisan
1,277 posts

QUOTE(tandynes @ Apr 30 2016, 11:52 AM)
What model of asics are good for running?

So far had the GT-2170 and it performs great, but looking to update it but i am willing to check out other comparable brands.
Wrong thread bro. This is for dress shoes, not sports shoes.
niakulah
post Apr 30 2016, 12:07 PM

Senior Artisan
1,277 posts

QUOTE(andykok @ Apr 30 2016, 06:27 AM)
Any brown colour shoes recommended for budget rm800 or below ? I don wanna buy it online . So please suggest me brand that has shop in KL.

Thx in advance .
Check out Loake at P Lal Store in Jalan Gasing, PJ. You can get their made in England Shoemaker line at that price or slightly higher. Their made in India L1 line is slightly cheaper.
patryn33
post Apr 30 2016, 11:32 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Apr 30 2016, 12:07 PM)
Check out Loake at P Lal Store in Jalan Gasing, PJ. You can get their made in England Shoemaker line at that price or slightly higher. Their made in India L1 line is slightly cheaper.
Will be great if they update their prices
http://plal.com/store/uploads/images/Loake2014prices.pdf
niakulah
post May 1 2016, 07:49 AM

Senior Artisan
1,277 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 30 2016, 11:32 PM)
Will be great if they update their prices
http://plal.com/store/uploads/images/Loake2014prices.pdf
The last time I was there(around October iirc), those prices were still accurate. Just add 6% GST.
JW True North
post May 2 2016, 12:11 PM

41 posts

Robinson's Shoemakers is having 15‰ sales on everything until 2nd May. Free worldwide delivery for order above £150. Hurry. Promotional code: BANK15
JW True North
post May 2 2016, 12:13 PM

41 posts

After 15% discount, my Barker Flynn (Made in England) only cost around RM770. What a steal!
QuickFire
post May 2 2016, 12:58 PM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

Hey guys, bit if a plug here... I'm selling my pair of J. Fitzpatrick dark brown museum calf oxfords (7.5UK). Worn only once. Let me know if any of you are interested. It's a beautiful pair but I seldom dress formally so thought I'd rather get something else more casual instead.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry79627817
marver
post May 2 2016, 01:45 PM

Fragrance Enthusiast
688 posts

Can i ask all sifu here :
Anyone familiar with this house? Their design was quite nice.
Was looking at their burgundy double monk. Their burgundy was quite more to reddish which fit my preference smile.gif

But not sure about their leather.. Didn't have much info on the product and their leather. Any input or info>

http://www.skolyx.se/en/
WesGibbin
post May 4 2016, 10:34 AM

62 posts

I would love to see Bass Weejun in this thread.

Parking!
nikfs1881
post May 6 2016, 06:51 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(marver @ May 2 2016, 01:45 PM)
Can i ask all sifu here :
Anyone familiar with this house? Their design was quite nice.
Was looking at their burgundy double monk. Their burgundy was quite more to reddish which fit my preference smile.gif

But not sure about their leather.. Didn't have much info on the product and their leather. Any input or info>

http://www.skolyx.se/en/
It should be of a good quality. Checkout the information - about us- all of their shoe collections are manufactured by Yanko - a good shomaker from Spain. If you zoom in the photos of the sole, you'll see Yanko logo.

See Parisian Gentleman's recommendation:

https://parisiangentleman.co.uk/2015/08/23/...5-2016-part-12/

I would expect quality more or less similar to Carmina....
nikfs1881
post May 6 2016, 06:58 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ May 2 2016, 12:58 PM)
Hey guys, bit if a plug here... I'm selling my pair of J. Fitzpatrick dark brown museum calf oxfords (7.5UK). Worn only once. Let me know if any of you are interested. It's a beautiful pair but I seldom dress formally so thought I'd rather get something else more casual instead.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry79627817
I am actively doing the research on the Fitzpatrick shoe and i even exchanged messages with Justin himself. May pull the trigger by this weekend... Looks good from the photos but i have never seen JFitzpatrick in person.... What's your view on Fitzpatrick shoes? how does it compares to other big names that share the similar price category?

Anyway, too bad 7.5uk is not my size, otherwise, you'll be doing me a big favour. I may need to order directly after all....
QuickFire
post May 6 2016, 01:16 PM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

QUOTE(nikfs1881 @ May 6 2016, 06:58 AM)
I am actively doing the research on the Fitzpatrick shoe and i even exchanged messages with Justin himself. May pull the trigger by this weekend... Looks good from the photos but i have never seen JFitzpatrick in person.... What's your view on Fitzpatrick shoes? how does it compares to other big names that share the similar price category?

Anyway, too bad 7.5uk is not my size, otherwise, you'll be doing me a big favour. I may need to order directly after all....
Are you also looking at the Magnolia in dark brown? What's your usual size?

I'm still a small timer... only handled Loake 1880, Meermin, Carmina, and now J. Fitzpatrick. In terms of build and finishing, both Carmina and JFP are pretty much on par. Welt looks clear, no defects on the leather. My Carmina has a Cuban heel (where the heel at the sole is contoured, more aesthetically pleasing. Google for pictures), but this is exclusive to the Inca last I believe. This is I believe why the Inca lasted shoes from Carmina costs a bit more than the other lasts. The Inca is purported to have better finishing. Anyway the Magnolias have no defects that I can see, maybe some veining on the leather but I think that is expected for musem calf shoes.

If I'm not mistaken, JFP uses oak bark-tanned soles which are extra durable. The sole certainly feels solid to the touch, more so than my other shoes. Leather on my Magnolias also feel softer than my Loake 1880s when they were new.

Meermin to me is below average, especially since they bloody squeak after a half day of walking. I've heard many people having this problem. The suede is also no match to Carmina's suede, which exhibit a glorious iridescence. Stroking the suede will reveal different shade of colour depending on the angle.

So based on my limited experience...

Carmina = J. Fitzpatrick > Loake > Meeemin

Kelvw
post May 8 2016, 08:39 AM

1,591 posts

Just picked up another pair of Cheaneys today, quite a unique colour in charcoal.
niakulah
post May 8 2016, 09:36 AM

Senior Artisan
1,277 posts

QUOTE(Kelvw @ May 8 2016, 08:39 AM)
Just picked up another pair of Cheaneys today, quite a unique colour in charcoal.
Pics, you tease.

This post has been edited by niakulah: May 8 2016, 01:24 PM
marver
post May 8 2016, 12:58 PM

Fragrance Enthusiast
688 posts

QUOTE(Kelvw @ May 8 2016, 08:39 AM)
Great to see you bro Kelvw,
Let the picture speaks... laugh.gif
Kelvw
post May 9 2016, 08:52 AM

1,591 posts

haha devil.gif

Here's the Attleborough in Charcoal. Quite an unusual colour which I have been looking for. It's almost grey-ish.

the rest of the Cheaneys

absorb-d
post May 9 2016, 04:51 PM

1,115 posts

QUOTE(Kelvw @ May 9 2016, 08:52 AM)
haha  devil.gif

Here's the Attleborough in Charcoal. Quite an unusual colour which I have been looking for. It's almost grey-ish.

the rest of the Cheaneys

wow absolute beauty there
looks like they even designed for reinforced/diff material heel tap?
niakulah
post May 9 2016, 05:06 PM

Senior Artisan
1,277 posts

QUOTE(absorb-d @ May 9 2016, 04:51 PM)
wow absolute beauty there
looks like they even designed for reinforced/diff material heel tap?
It's called a dovetail heel bro. Usually with leather heels you would have a dovetail or half or quarter rubber piece.
marver
post May 9 2016, 08:59 PM

Fragrance Enthusiast
688 posts

QUOTE(Kelvw @ May 9 2016, 08:52 AM)
haha  devil.gif

the rest of the Cheaneys

A pair of unique and nice one bro... Rarely seen a charcoal colour finish leather.
How abt the damage?
Was wondering how many pair of fine shoe you own right now. confused.gif

This post has been edited by marver: May 9 2016, 09:13 PM

290 Pages « < 197 198 199 200 201 > » Top

0.0410sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 06:50 AM