133 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Bottom

AMD® Socket AM2&AM3 Overclocking V20, The times moves on..Can AMD Survive?...

verdict
post Nov 30 2009, 05:50 PM

Time is Flying By
2,458 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 30 2009, 06:21 PM)
uz tried running Prime95 again, same result... hmm.gif

Added on November 30, 2009, 5:23 pm

sheesh... that's the last thing that i want to do...

anyway, how long's the warranty of AMD CPU??? 3 yrs???

Yes 3 years warranty! it take me a least 2 or 3 weeks to wait for the RMA!

astria
post Nov 30 2009, 05:52 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

so, do u guys suggest me to RMA it???

if yes, wat do i tell them??? problem with running Prime95???
8tvt
post Nov 30 2009, 06:27 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

can u share what setting ur using?
astria
post Nov 30 2009, 06:32 PM

22,158 posts

well, i juz ran again with Core Temp logging the temperature, and of course, it shut down again...

then i boot up and check the log, and see that it surpassed 100C during the test... the worst thing is i never realize it... doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

opened up and see that there's very little thermal compound on the CPU, somehow... now cleaning and reapplying thermal compund...
uzer85
post Nov 30 2009, 06:34 PM

love............love......
3,812 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 30 2009, 06:32 PM)
well, i juz ran again with Core Temp logging the temperature, and of course, it shut down again...

then i boot up and check the log, and see that it surpassed 100C during the test... the worst thing is i never realize it... doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

opened up and see that there's very little thermal compound on the CPU, somehow... now cleaning and reapplying thermal compund...
even without thermal paste, core temp wont reach 100C yo~

probably heatsink didnt fit properly. hmm.gif how the result now?
astria
post Nov 30 2009, 06:41 PM

22,158 posts

still applying... trying very hard to ve an even layer...

Added on November 30, 2009, 7:00 pmdang... now the mobo throws me a VGA error... doh.gif

This post has been edited by astria: Nov 30 2009, 07:00 PM
superb88
post Nov 30 2009, 08:38 PM

170 posts

hi guys i'm currently using X3 720, jz got a new cooler recently, Hyper212 +, i tried overclocking it to 3.4ghz with 1.393V set in bios, only changed the multiplier. Its still not stable, can never do prime95 large ftt test... should i try adding the voltage, it feels high 2 me ad.. my temp's 31-33 idling and 38-40 full load
-pWs-
post Nov 30 2009, 08:41 PM

8,545 posts

Temp is ok. List out every single details for us to help you.

-pWs-
superb88
post Nov 30 2009, 08:53 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Nov 30 2009, 08:41 PM)
Temp is ok. List out every single details for us to help you.

-pWs-
oh i'm sry, forgot bout that, my specs

CPU: x3 720
MOBO: MSI 770-c45
RAM: 4gb ddr3 1333mhz
PSU: Acbel 510 E2
GRAPHICS: HD 4670 512gddr4

is there anything else i left out? i think my PSU should b enuf, mobo also quite ok for OC-ing rite? I jz wanna get it stable at 3.4ghz. Previously when i was on stock cooler, my comp was very stable at 3.0ghz 24/7, nvr BSOD or crashed b4, only thing i can only do prime95 small fft test, large and above, sure fail. now on new cooler, i up the voltage from 1.3 to 1.393 and set my multiplier to 17 for 3.4ghz also can do small test only, large sure fail..

anything 2 check for?

antonio
post Nov 30 2009, 08:56 PM

AMD Phenom II & Intel i7 Overclocker
4,032 posts

QUOTE(superb88 @ Nov 30 2009, 08:53 PM)
oh i'm sry, forgot bout that, my specs

CPU: x3 720
MOBO: MSI 770-c45
RAM: 4gb ddr3 1333mhz
PSU: Acbel 510 E2
GRAPHICS: HD 4670 512gddr4

is there anything else i left out? i think my PSU should b enuf, mobo also quite ok for OC-ing rite? I jz wanna get it stable at 3.4ghz. Previously when i was on stock cooler, my comp was very stable at 3.0ghz 24/7, nvr BSOD or crashed b4, only thing i can only do prime95 small fft test, large and above, sure fail. now on new cooler, i up the voltage from 1.3 to 1.393 and set my multiplier to 17 for 3.4ghz also can do small test only, large sure fail..

anything 2 check for?
set 1.425v vcore, fan at full speed, prime 'SMALL' at 3.4, 3.5, 3.6ghz...see what happens...

and make sure CPU-NB is 1.275v and DDR3 ram is 1.7v

4GB DDR3 1333mhz is very straining whistling.gif

This post has been edited by antonio: Nov 30 2009, 08:57 PM
superb88
post Nov 30 2009, 09:30 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(antonio @ Nov 30 2009, 08:56 PM)
set 1.425v vcore, fan at full speed, prime 'SMALL' at 3.4, 3.5, 3.6ghz...see what happens...

and make sure CPU-NB is 1.275v and DDR3 ram is 1.7v

4GB DDR3 1333mhz is very straining  whistling.gif
wat do u mean by straining? u mean for prime 95 large fft test? I tried on my previous setting of 3.4ghz at 1.393V, it was all fine 2day and on small fft test prime95, then when encode vid jz now, 15mins then blue screen z z zz

now i up to 1.409V, CPU-NB should up so much? cuz my default only 1.24V if i'm not wrong then ram I up to 1.71V but on CPU-Z, it still shows 1.5V though i rmb setting it to 1.71V in bios

now temp's at full load's 41-42, higher liao, idling's 33-34, gonna test its stability, hope it works...
XiuKeong
post Nov 30 2009, 09:54 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,437 posts

Can I know which is the MSI distributor? Is it ScanArt?
antonio
post Nov 30 2009, 10:27 PM

AMD Phenom II & Intel i7 Overclocker
4,032 posts

QUOTE(superb88 @ Nov 30 2009, 09:30 PM)
wat do u mean by straining? u mean for prime 95 large fft test? I tried on my previous setting of 3.4ghz at 1.393V, it was all fine 2day and on small fft test prime95, then when encode vid jz now, 15mins then blue screen z z zz

now i up to 1.409V, CPU-NB should up so much? cuz my default only 1.24V if i'm not wrong then ram I up to 1.71V but on CPU-Z, it still shows 1.5V though i rmb setting it to 1.71V in bios

now temp's at full load's 41-42, higher liao, idling's 33-34, gonna test its stability, hope it works...
I mean its hard for the CPU to work with a large amount of ram when overclocking....

Small FFT doesnt or almost NOT strain the memory....

CPU-Z dun have Vdimm display, only SPD which is data/information regarding the module stored in the chip on the PCB...

1.425 would be a good sub low voltage...1.475v or 1.512v would be the max for 24/7

If you dare, just 1.55v like me wink.gif

CPU/NB up so much??? There isn't a white paper that shows how much should we apply, just that every manufacturer sets it in the bios according to their spec...some 1.15v some 1.2v some even 1.275v...I would prefer 1.35v to help stablize the IMC to work with high amount of Ram

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Nov 30 2009, 09:54 PM)
Can I know which is the MSI distributor? Is it ScanArt?
Yap...why???wanna RMA sweat.gif
XiuKeong
post Nov 30 2009, 10:28 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,437 posts

QUOTE(antonio @ Nov 30 2009, 10:27 PM)
I mean its hard for the CPU to work with a large amount of ram when overclocking....

Small FFT doesnt or almost NOT strain the memory....

CPU-Z dun have Vdimm display, only SPD which is data/information regarding the module stored in the chip on the PCB...

1.425 would be a good sub low voltage...1.475v or 1.512v would be the max for 24/7

If you dare, just 1.55v like me wink.gif

CPU/NB up so much??? There isn't a white paper that shows how much should we apply, just that every manufacturer sets it in the bios according to their spec...some 1.15v some 1.2v some even 1.275v...I would prefer 1.35v to help stablize the IMC to work with high amount of Ram
Yap...why???wanna RMA sweat.gif
Yes. Thats the only option I have now. Bios sudah kaput.
uzer85
post Nov 30 2009, 11:50 PM

3,812 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Nov 30 2009, 10:28 PM)
i got MSI mobo to RMA too~ blush.gif

where to send ar?? rclxub.gif
XiuKeong
post Nov 30 2009, 11:53 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,437 posts

QUOTE(uzer85 @ Nov 30 2009, 11:50 PM)
i got MSI mobo to RMA too~ blush.gif

where to send ar?? rclxub.gif
I pass to my friend for RMA. I don't have free time sad.gif
-pWs-
post Nov 30 2009, 11:53 PM

8,545 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Nov 30 2009, 10:28 PM)
Go back to the shop, cant?? icon_rolleyes.gif

-pWs-
XiuKeong
post Nov 30 2009, 11:55 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,437 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Nov 30 2009, 11:53 PM)
Go back to the shop, cant??  icon_rolleyes.gif

-pWs-
Shop at Perak. The seller willing to RMA for me but takes more time. Rather send to the distro at KL.
uzer85
post Dec 1 2009, 12:11 AM

3,812 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Nov 30 2009, 11:53 PM)
Go back to the shop, cant??  icon_rolleyes.gif

-pWs-
1 year passed already. can still ask the shop where i buy the mobo send it for me? hmm.gif
-pWs-
post Dec 1 2009, 12:13 AM

8,545 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Nov 30 2009, 11:55 PM)
Shop at Perak. The seller willing to RMA for me but takes more time. Rather send to the distro at KL.
OMG. So far. sweat.gif sweat.gif

QUOTE(uzer85 @ Dec 1 2009, 12:11 AM)
1 year passed already. can still ask the shop where i buy the mobo send it for me? hmm.gif
Yea. Guess you need to pay for it. hmm.gif

-pWs-

133 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Top

0.0301sec    1.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:09 PM