AMD® Socket AM2&AM3 Overclocking V20, The times moves on..Can AMD Survive?...

superb88
post Nov 30 2009, 08:38 PM

170 posts

hi guys i'm currently using X3 720, jz got a new cooler recently, Hyper212 +, i tried overclocking it to 3.4ghz with 1.393V set in bios, only changed the multiplier. Its still not stable, can never do prime95 large ftt test... should i try adding the voltage, it feels high 2 me ad.. my temp's 31-33 idling and 38-40 full load
superb88
post Nov 30 2009, 08:53 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Nov 30 2009, 08:41 PM)
Temp is ok. List out every single details for us to help you.

-pWs-
oh i'm sry, forgot bout that, my specs

CPU: x3 720
MOBO: MSI 770-c45
RAM: 4gb ddr3 1333mhz
PSU: Acbel 510 E2
GRAPHICS: HD 4670 512gddr4

is there anything else i left out? i think my PSU should b enuf, mobo also quite ok for OC-ing rite? I jz wanna get it stable at 3.4ghz. Previously when i was on stock cooler, my comp was very stable at 3.0ghz 24/7, nvr BSOD or crashed b4, only thing i can only do prime95 small fft test, large and above, sure fail. now on new cooler, i up the voltage from 1.3 to 1.393 and set my multiplier to 17 for 3.4ghz also can do small test only, large sure fail..

anything 2 check for?

superb88
post Nov 30 2009, 09:30 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(antonio @ Nov 30 2009, 08:56 PM)
set 1.425v vcore, fan at full speed, prime 'SMALL' at 3.4, 3.5, 3.6ghz...see what happens...

and make sure CPU-NB is 1.275v and DDR3 ram is 1.7v

4GB DDR3 1333mhz is very straining  whistling.gif
wat do u mean by straining? u mean for prime 95 large fft test? I tried on my previous setting of 3.4ghz at 1.393V, it was all fine 2day and on small fft test prime95, then when encode vid jz now, 15mins then blue screen z z zz

now i up to 1.409V, CPU-NB should up so much? cuz my default only 1.24V if i'm not wrong then ram I up to 1.71V but on CPU-Z, it still shows 1.5V though i rmb setting it to 1.71V in bios

now temp's at full load's 41-42, higher liao, idling's 33-34, gonna test its stability, hope it works...
superb88
post Dec 1 2009, 01:21 PM

170 posts

finally after some advice from antonio, I finally got my comp stable at 3.4ghz on prime95 blend test for 1.5hrs without a prob. My settings for my X3720 on MSI 770-C45 are

Vcore = 1.391V
CPU-NB = 1.26V
RAM = 1.71V

My temp's 32-33 idling and 41-42 at prime95 full load, funny thing is that if i put my ram voltage any less than 1.7V, my comp sure BSOD on prime95 blend test, is it OK to up ram voltage? from 1.5 to 1.71? looks so much increase 2 me and i got no ram cooling
superb88
post Dec 1 2009, 02:25 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Dec 1 2009, 01:44 PM)
1.7vdimm is still safe bro..
sis ah khoo said ddr3 can increase up to 2.0vdimm..if antonio, sure he will push further..
at least the cpu cooler fan will take the warm air from the ram...so air does flow..
oh good, makes me feel better hearing that, haha, this is my first time pushing my CPU so far, was always on stock cooler nia, now jz got aftermarket only start to OC more heavily, very NEW to it haha

I jz did prime95 blend test for 2.5hrs ad, can i assure my system is stable now? or how long i should do prime95 to be consider decent? heard some ppl say, some pc might crash around 4th hr or so, but i got no patient 2 waitla, should i do overnight test?
superb88
post Dec 2 2009, 03:08 PM

170 posts

CPU-NB clock speed for Phenom II is 2000mhz rite?

now I oc it to 2400mhz at CPU-NB voltage of 1.26V

my clock speed for my x3 720 is 3.4ghz at 1.391V

Ram's 4gb ddr3 1333mhz with dram voltage of 1.71V

my question is, is the overclocking of CPU-NB justifiable? the increase in 400mhz will help? cuz i dun rly know wat it does, but i read from some articles saying it will but depends on yr CPU clock speed and all..

its jz so confusing, I heard alot of ppl OC-ing CPU jer for basic overclocking, barely heard of ppl going for CPU-NB speed, so is this necessary? sry for noob question...

ALSO, my temp's idling at 31-33 and at full load 42-43, will CPU-NB speed increase, increase my temp as well?
superb88
post Dec 6 2009, 04:35 AM

170 posts

hi all again, i'm jz wondering how come there's a great temp diff btw my comp and my cousin's comp. Both of us uses the same hardwares and same casing except our CPUle

Mobo: MSI 770-C45

My proc: X3 720 overclocked to 3.4ghz, 1.37V (IDLE : 29-31C, FULL : 38-40C)

His: X4 955 at stock 3.2ghz, 1.35V (IDLE: 39-41C, FULL: 50-51C)

Both of us use Coolermaster Hyper212+ as our CPU cooler

As u can c, the temp diff is nearly 10C or more btw our CPUs, I know mine is jz X3 but will the extra core make such a BIG diff? afterall, I overclocked mine to a higher clock and has a higher voltage than his...

I'm jz worried his CPU cooler is not installed properly. Is this normal guys? 10 degress for the extra core with lower clock speed and voltage

but the CPU temp difference btw our comps is very very significant

This post has been edited by superb88: Dec 6 2009, 04:39 AM
superb88
post Dec 6 2009, 06:12 PM

170 posts

hi all again, sry for keep posting continuously on this thread, I jz wanna ask one thing. I jz increase my x3 720 to 3.5ghz

CPU Vcore: 1.391V
CPU-NB: 1.26V
Mem: 1.71V

OK, so i did a stability test with prime95 blend test, I was so glad that it went stable for the first 4.5 hrs with no issue, temp's 42-43C MAX at full load...then I went out and came bak after another 4-5hrs later and found out that my comp BSOD

Can I consider my comp to be stable? or should I upped more voltage? cuz it survived the first mayb 5-6hrs of prime95 blends test then BSOD later...

0.0359sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:28 PM