and, why i can't access to itunes store directly thru my 3gs??? anything to do with it's a locked/factory unlock iphone???
hope 2 hear from u guys soon
This post has been edited by Yeevelin: Oct 19 2009, 10:15 PM
iPhone Club v10 - iPhone related news & Questions, Super-N00b FAQ/Q&A Thread
Oct 19 2009, 09:29 PM
3 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
and, why i can't access to itunes store directly thru my 3gs??? anything to do with it's a locked/factory unlock iphone??? hope 2 hear from u guys soon This post has been edited by Yeevelin: Oct 19 2009, 10:15 PM |
Oct 19 2009, 09:39 PM
46 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Hi guys, I hope I'm in the right place and I hope you guys can help a newbie out
Anyways, I've just bought a used iPhone today (iPhone 3G) and was told that this was a jailbreaked version and that I should only use iTunes 8 (iTunes 9 is not possible or something like that). This phone is now filled with applications and has never been synced with my iTunes before. After reading the FAQ I think my phone is from US (AT&T) and in the pdf doc it is stated that it is locked to the carrier (AT&T) and they do not have authorized unlocking. Ok, so my question is : 1. I want to restore this phone to original settings (ie no jailbreak) and to remove all the applications in this phone. Can I do this through using iTunes Restore function? I wanted to do this but when iTunes told me they will restore the phone and update to the latest firmware I became hesitant and thought better to ask you guys first. If I do this, since it is AT&T phone, would this phone be locked hence making it unusable in Malaysia? 2. If the above way is not possible, how do I keep the jailbreak but remove EVERYTHING from the phone (ie. factory default/hard reset)? I would like to have the phone in a fresh state (jailbreak notwithstanding) and empty of all the silly applications I have in there. Is a hard reset able to do this? Is it even safe to hard reset this AT&T phone? I hope you guys can help me. I guess my questions are kinda basic and simple but I've scoured the web and can't find answers specific to my needs so I hope I can get some help here. Thank you! iPhone Generation : 3G Unlocked? (or Part Number): MB048LL (looks like it's AT&T) Current Firmware : 3.0.1 (7A400) Current network: Using DIGI iTunes Version : iTunes 8.2 PC/MAC : PC Jailbreaking software : Not sure Problem Encountered : Want to reset the phone to original settings (as in no jailbreak and no applications whatsoever) Steps Taken So Far : None yet |
Oct 19 2009, 09:50 PM
13,495 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: KL, Malaysia |
@mooneysuzuki,
Please read the pinned threads. |
Oct 19 2009, 09:52 PM
5,786 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: VIC - The Place To Be |
QUOTE(IceMaN @ Oct 19 2009, 09:19 PM) My phone is a locked unit from australia. If i hav to upgrade to OS3.1.2 den i have to jailbreak and unlock again? as i have already advocated many times, since your unit is from australia, just pay off the one-time unlocking fee and solve all future upgrading and restoring.Added on October 19, 2009, 10:13 pmdetermine the origin of your iPhone first of all. optus? virgin? vodafone? telstra? This post has been edited by nokia2003: Oct 19 2009, 10:13 PM |
Oct 19 2009, 09:55 PM
@Yeevelin,
Ring in song instead of music tune?! Er I don't quite understand what you're asking. But if it's on how to create ringtones, please refer to the pinned threads- http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/868281 http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1000739 |
Oct 19 2009, 10:03 PM
i hav a question...
i can't connect the itunes store directly thru my 3gs... it appears : 'The itunes store is not supported in this country'. is anyone knows the reason why??? izit bcos it's a locked version iphone or wat? hope to hear from u guys soon... thanks 4 helping... |
Oct 19 2009, 10:08 PM
@Yeevelin,
The MY App Store doesn't have Songs; just apps. Nothing wrong with your iPhone |
Oct 19 2009, 10:51 PM
82 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
my gps seems not working. i tried standing in the open, day, night & usual spot where i get fastest locking, but no avail. I hav tomtom, igo, googlemap, sygic, ndrive but all these can't lock despite trying the abovesaid.
i restarted iphone, & reset network settings oso same. Is there a way or app to diagnose whether gps chip gone faulty? setup: i3gs, 3.1.2 fw, JBed. |
Oct 19 2009, 11:25 PM
46 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Oct 19 2009, 11:34 PM
57 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Oct 19 2009, 09:52 PM) as i have already advocated many times, since your unit is from australia, just pay off the one-time unlocking fee and solve all future upgrading and restoring. I have 2 units having the same prob. 1 is from Optus. Another is japan set.Added on October 19, 2009, 10:13 pmdetermine the origin of your iPhone first of all. optus? virgin? vodafone? telstra? |
Oct 19 2009, 11:35 PM
5,786 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: VIC - The Place To Be |
Oct 19 2009, 11:47 PM
@mooneysuzuki,
Sorry but I don't know how to tell if the iPhone is officially unlocked unless U do a physical check. If the set is an AT&T set, I'm 99.9% sure it is not officially unlocked. |
Oct 20 2009, 12:13 AM
597 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
QUOTE(Yeevelin @ Oct 19 2009, 09:29 PM) and, why i can't access to itunes store directly thru my 3gs??? anything to do with it's a locked/factory unlock iphone??? hope 2 hear from u guys soon |
Oct 20 2009, 12:42 AM
327 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
hi.. i want to ask, if my iphone is jailbroken, and i`m using a maxis line not registered for the iphone, can i still use the iphone if i un-jailbreak it?
is my question understandable? haha.. and does anyone how to delete the apps cydia, icy, winterboard and so on? and i have 2gb size in my "others" section.. what could they possibly be? thanks in advance! |
Oct 20 2009, 01:35 AM
25 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
Anyone can help me? I am using 2g iphone with digi line. When i am using edge n my phone cannot receive call or sms. Any solution or i have to live with it. Any expert out there pls help...!!!
Oct 20 2009, 03:18 AM
Hi all, i have just bought a iPhone 3GS 32G from HK airport, and using my existing DiGi sim card, phone wise everything is normal and manage to access almost all features including internet and others
The issue here is, I wanted to share the internet access of this iphone with my MacBook, I have gone thru the thread of Internet Tethering tweak but it was not working on my phone. My firmware is 3.1.2 Advise needed here on what shall I do? I found some article on jailbreaking my iphone and use the PDANet solution from Cydia, but i am not too sure on how to do this jail breaking. Appreciate if any sifu here can help... |
Oct 20 2009, 05:18 AM
102 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Hi all.
Last nite iphone 2g got stuck in the middle of the day. I then restart the phone to rectify the problem. However, the phone just went off back after been turned on. It went loading after turned on, but later turned off before getting into standby screen. Anybody has idea how to repair this? This phone has history of comm port problem. Is this has strictly to do with comm port and only can be rectified by changing the board or is there any other viable solutions? Thanks |
Oct 20 2009, 08:14 AM
18 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Hi all.....
is it different iphone from different country, the supported language also different? how we enable it ? for example vietnamese? i need to do some software to support this |
Oct 20 2009, 08:39 AM
56 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Ampang/Petaling Jaya |
hi all....
need some help here...my iphone is unlocked set and i just jailbreaked my iphone last week...but then this morning i try to restored my iphone...and when it comes to activate carrier service... it show "THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH YOUR IPHONE- we're sorry,the iphone you connected is not recognized and cannot be activated for service" any sollution??i try to restore it back,but same problem appear... |
Oct 20 2009, 09:28 AM
55 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
i wonder when Iphone will be equip with hd radio or high quality radio.....anyone hear any development on this?
| Change to: | 0.0790sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:40 AM |