QUOTE(Maniee27 @ Apr 26 2024, 03:24 PM)
Just plain old excel How much is your net worth?, gauging your financial performance.
How much is your net worth?, gauging your financial performance.
Apr 26 2024, 03:56 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
4,816 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
Apr 26 2024, 04:53 PM
667 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
Hi, want to share my experience…
My wife and I came from middle class families. Both of us graduated from Australian universities in the 90s, courses paid for by our parents. I managed to attain 1M net asset 7 years after working. However, due to financial obligations to siblings, parents from both sides and own family, wealth accumulation had been slower than I expected. Things only brightened up the last few years after obligations to siblings have been fulfilled according to my parent’s wish. Now I work 11 hr day, 6 day week, including public holidays, down from 14hrs previously, will reduce to 8-9 hrs next year to spend time with family Salary – 25% our monthly income. Private fund management. – 75% of total income. Age: 50+ Assets: Five properties, estimated 22M Two 10-year old cars worth 30k Equities invested in various countries about 12M. EPF 1M Business – Not appraised. Liabilities Loan – 5.5M Feel free to comment. This post has been edited by newbie99: Apr 26 2024, 05:03 PM |
Apr 26 2024, 05:11 PM
4,508 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Klang/Shah Alam |
QUOTE(newbie99 @ Apr 26 2024, 04:53 PM) Hi, want to share my experience… Glad to see many posting here with a lot of wealth but driving ordinary cars only. My wife and I came from middle class families. Both of us graduated from Australian universities in the 90s, courses paid for by our parents. I managed to attain 1M net asset 7 years after working. However, due to financial obligations to siblings, parents from both sides and own family, wealth accumulation had been slower than I expected. Things only brightened up the last few years after obligations to siblings have been fulfilled according to my parent’s wish. Now I work 11 hr day, 6 day week, including public holidays, down from 14hrs previously, will reduce to 8-9 hrs next year to spend time with family Salary – 25% our monthly income. Private fund management. – 75% of total income. Age: 50+ Assets: Five properties, estimated 22M Two 10-year old cars worth 30k Equities invested in various countries about 12M. EPF 1M Business – Not appraised. Liabilities Loan – 5.5M Feel free to comment. |
Apr 26 2024, 05:38 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
21,332 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Apr 26 2024, 05:42 PM
202 posts Joined: Nov 2015 |
QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Apr 26 2024, 09:34 AM) That's a very impressive return! I don't use CAGR but IRR (to be specific, XIRR) and barely caught up to KWSP returns U can achieve good return through trial and error too. Financial freedom can be achieve easily if u master these 3 things. Saving, Investing, Leveraging |
Apr 26 2024, 05:46 PM
430 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
QUOTE(newbie99 @ Apr 26 2024, 04:53 PM) Hi, want to share my experience… Seriously? How u manage to do that. Mind to share your investing journey? U r the top 0.1 percent in Malaysia.My wife and I came from middle class families. Both of us graduated from Australian universities in the 90s, courses paid for by our parents. I managed to attain 1M net asset 7 years after working. However, due to financial obligations to siblings, parents from both sides and own family, wealth accumulation had been slower than I expected. Things only brightened up the last few years after obligations to siblings have been fulfilled according to my parent’s wish. Now I work 11 hr day, 6 day week, including public holidays, down from 14hrs previously, will reduce to 8-9 hrs next year to spend time with family Salary – 25% our monthly income. Private fund management. – 75% of total income. Age: 50+ Assets: Five properties, estimated 22M Two 10-year old cars worth 30k Equities invested in various countries about 12M. EPF 1M Business – Not appraised. Liabilities Loan – 5.5M Feel free to comment. This post has been edited by koaydarren: Apr 26 2024, 05:47 PM |
Apr 26 2024, 06:36 PM
QUOTE(koaydarren @ Apr 26 2024, 05:46 PM) Seriously? How u manage to do that. Mind to share your investing journey? U r the top 0.1 percent in Malaysia. Ok. It's a long 37yr journey... will try to share when I can free up my time. Thasmita and koaydarren liked this post
Apr 26 2024, 07:46 PM
7,847 posts Joined: Sep 2019 |
QUOTE(newbie99 @ Apr 26 2024, 04:53 PM) Hi, want to share my experience… Congrats and thank you for sharing! We are around the same age and it’s interesting to note that we have similar portfolio profiles… not identical, but similar enough.My wife and I came from middle class families. Both of us graduated from Australian universities in the 90s, courses paid for by our parents. I managed to attain 1M net asset 7 years after working. However, due to financial obligations to siblings, parents from both sides and own family, wealth accumulation had been slower than I expected. Things only brightened up the last few years after obligations to siblings have been fulfilled according to my parent’s wish. Now I work 11 hr day, 6 day week, including public holidays, down from 14hrs previously, will reduce to 8-9 hrs next year to spend time with family Salary – 25% our monthly income. Private fund management. – 75% of total income. Age: 50+ Assets: Five properties, estimated 22M Two 10-year old cars worth 30k Equities invested in various countries about 12M. EPF 1M Business – Not appraised. Liabilities Loan – 5.5M Feel free to comment. One thing I am ashamed to admit is how much money I’ve blown on cars…. I don’t gamble, smoke, drink, do drugs or womanize…. But my glaring weakness is in things that go fast on 4 wheels. Damn it. newbie99 liked this post
Apr 26 2024, 10:51 PM
1,590 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
QUOTE(furuku89 @ Apr 26 2024, 01:51 PM) I recently started to do watch collection as asset and also heavily invested on PRS I love thiz Taycan and high maintenance wife. All others post are boring most converted from foreign currency, those converted you all win liao lo convert to myr.Age: 35 Industry: Investment Banking Salary: 2.2M on 2023, 1.6M on 2022, 1.1M on 2021 Saving/Asset: 1. Saving: 230K (50K in balance fund, 50K in bond) 2. PRS: 797K 3. EPF: 188K (130K in equity invest via EPF) 4. Watch Market Value: More than 300K++ (4 branded watches) 5. Myvi 2012 full payment 6. Crz 2013 full payment 7. Brz 2013 full payment 8. SSPN: 8K Liabilities: 1. Property A, 30 Years, RM 2K monthly 2. Property B, 30 Years, RM 2K monrhly 3. Porsche Taycan GTS 2023, RM 8.5K monthly 4. Insurance RM 3.6K monthly 5. Maid RM 1850 monthly 6. Upcoming housing loan, RM 12K monthly on 2024 7. High maintenance wife 8. No credit card outstanding 9. Spent alot on luxury goods and clothing This post has been edited by kelvinfixx: Apr 26 2024, 11:16 PM |
Apr 27 2024, 08:28 AM
QUOTE(kelvinfixx @ Apr 26 2024, 10:51 PM) I love thiz Taycan and high maintenance wife. All others post are boring most converted from foreign currency, those converted you all win liao lo convert to myr. You can't blame those who predicted the future correctly and moved their assets - or moved themselves - out of the country early enough not to suffer the horrendous depreciation in value that came with years of mismanagement, corruption, cronyism, nepotism and abuse of the NEP under successive regimes. I'm lucky I hopped on that train before it left the station. principaleng, newbie99, and 1 other liked this post
Apr 27 2024, 08:52 AM
8,667 posts Joined: Aug 2019 From: Penang <-> Singapore |
QUOTE(hksgmy @ Apr 27 2024, 08:28 AM) You can't blame those who predicted the future correctly and moved their assets - or moved themselves - out of the country early enough not to suffer the horrendous depreciation in value that came with years of mismanagement, corruption, cronyism, nepotism and abuse of the NEP under successive regimes. It's never too late to board the train. I'm lucky I hopped on that train before it left the station. I hopped on one back in August 2023 to Singapore. Never look back bro. wongmunkeong and hksgmy liked this post
Apr 27 2024, 08:55 AM
758 posts Joined: May 2019 |
QUOTE(newbie99 @ Apr 26 2024, 06:36 PM) Looking forward newbie99 liked this post
Apr 27 2024, 08:55 AM
758 posts Joined: May 2019 |
Apr 27 2024, 09:25 AM
4,500 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
QUOTE(newbie99 @ Apr 26 2024, 04:53 PM) Hi, want to share my experience… You have done incredible bro. Congrats!My wife and I came from middle class families. Both of us graduated from Australian universities in the 90s, courses paid for by our parents. I managed to attain 1M net asset 7 years after working. However, due to financial obligations to siblings, parents from both sides and own family, wealth accumulation had been slower than I expected. Things only brightened up the last few years after obligations to siblings have been fulfilled according to my parent’s wish. Now I work 11 hr day, 6 day week, including public holidays, down from 14hrs previously, will reduce to 8-9 hrs next year to spend time with family Salary – 25% our monthly income. Private fund management. – 75% of total income. Age: 50+ Assets: Five properties, estimated 22M Two 10-year old cars worth 30k Equities invested in various countries about 12M. EPF 1M Business – Not appraised. Liabilities Loan – 5.5M Feel free to comment. You are a workaholic. Good to see that you plan to dial down the work. At 50s, you need to prioritize your health. Physical, mental and emotional health. So that you can still enjoy life in your 60s, 70s, 80s and even beyond. newbie99 liked this post
Apr 27 2024, 09:27 AM
QUOTE(Thasmita @ Apr 27 2024, 08:55 AM) Only buy what you can afford. I would never buy a car on a loan. If I'm going to enjoy it, I'll enjoy it debt free.It's not applicable for everyone. It's just how I'd (stupidly) do it. |
Apr 27 2024, 09:35 AM
QUOTE(hksgmy @ Apr 27 2024, 08:28 AM) You can't blame those who predicted the future correctly and moved their assets - or moved themselves - out of the country early enough not to suffer the horrendous depreciation in value that came with years of mismanagement, corruption, cronyism, nepotism and abuse of the NEP under successive regimes. I think the correct mental model here is to earn/hedge in strong currency and spend on weak currency. In this era of globalization and investment across the globe is made so easy with a click of button. Everyone can do it but do you have the conviction and knowledge to do it. I'm lucky I hopped on that train before it left the station. I always see people complain about Malaysia but why there are people that can still do well. It doesn't make sense to complain about your country when you yourself are the controller of your own destiny. wongmunkeong, hksgmy, and 1 other liked this post
Apr 27 2024, 09:39 AM
QUOTE(koaydarren @ Apr 26 2024, 05:46 PM) Seriously? How u manage to do that. Mind to share your investing journey? U r the top 0.1 percent in Malaysia. A very short summary.. I am not trained in finance, so take my words with a pinch of salt.If you are not in finance line, you will need good contacts to give you good and reliable information. Get to know your fund managers and invest in their funds to get their reports, and be helpful, nice and generous to everyone. For example, if I meet hksgmy and wife one day, i will treat them to Michelin star dinner. Risk management. So the saying goes 'take care of the downside, and the upside will take care of itself'. I used to concentrate my investment in around 10 stocks when I first started but now I invest in 20+ stocks in a few countries. My rationale is by investing in about 20+ instead of 10 stocks, the potential portfolio return is still the same but i can mitigate the risk if one company suffers. Take calculated risks. I refinanced my properties in AFC, GFC and Covid to invest in stocks. It generally took 2 months to get the loans approved, so timings were good, because each time, the loans were approved when stocks were near rock bottom. I dont invest in property now as property didnt give me the return equities gave me. This post has been edited by newbie99: Apr 27 2024, 10:04 AM |
Apr 27 2024, 09:45 AM
14,959 posts Joined: Mar 2015 |
"you yourself are the controller of your own destiny.".... Is only applicable and subjected to your own capability, capacity, wisdom and foresight at that moment you are steering your destiny. You can only see how your destiny unfolded later. There is a limit to what and when you can control. |
Apr 27 2024, 10:02 AM
QUOTE(jyll92 @ Apr 27 2024, 09:35 AM) I think the correct mental model here is to earn/hedge in strong currency and spend on weak currency. In this era of globalization and investment across the globe is made so easy with a click of button. Everyone can do it but do you have the conviction and knowledge to do it. Here's a better scenario... earn in a strong currency that holds its value, and earn enough to retire anywhere you choose, even in an equivalent first world countryI always see people complain about Malaysia but why there are people that can still do well. It doesn't make sense to complain about your country when you yourself are the controller of your own destiny. |
Apr 27 2024, 10:04 AM
QUOTE(hksgmy @ Apr 27 2024, 10:02 AM) Here's a better scenario... earn in a strong currency that holds its value, and earn enough to retire anywhere you choose, even in an equivalent first world country if i tell you i can achieve this feat while residing in Malaysia will you believe me? The key to achieve this is investment and leveraging.The reason is simple there is no way your earning in stronger currency will compound better than s&p500 for example over a long period of time. My goal is simply just to match s&p500 or outperform it This post has been edited by jyll92: Apr 27 2024, 10:07 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0190sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:43 AM |