How much is your net worth?, gauging your financial performance.

newbie99
post May 8 2010, 12:55 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(stupidbump @ Jan 15 2010, 02:49 PM)
Please post according to this format if possible!
Would like to benchmark my current financial status.

I will start with mine.

Managed Savings to date: RM80000+-
Job: Mechanical Engineer
Field: Utilities
Salary Range: RM3000+-
Years Working: 2.5 Years
Part time: Online selling
Investments: Shares, FD, Loans
Liabilities: None
Properties Owned: None
Vehicles Owned: Proton Iswara A/B (Fully paid)
Future Plans: None atm
Planned ways to maximise weath: None atm

THANK YOU! FEEL FREE TO POST YOUR COMMENTS ETC...
You mentioned online selling for part time business. May I know what you sell online? How's the return like doing online business? You worked 2.5 years and you saved 80k, that's an achievement.
newbie99
post Jun 14 2010, 04:05 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 14 2010, 03:40 PM)
I think some ppl who have posted their net worth here arent telling the truth. Its silly to see someone who earns so high and yet believes in putting tonnes of money in FD. For what? Plus some have so much money sitting in FD so why bother taking a car loan? U get about 3.5% in FD and then take a loan and pay 3.5% to the bank. Does this make sense???

Some say they earn 500K per annum but then keep almost 300K in gov bonds and FD but only has 1 house as asset? Anybody who knows investment well enuf will know that u should invest in property especially in prime areas e.g Damansara, TTDI, Bangsar, etc. Plus you have 2 Japanese cars with an outstanding loan of 40K for the next 3 yrs. U earn 41,600 per month so u can easily pay off the loan with about 1.5 months salary and save a little on the interest rite? So why dont you? He has a 700K house whcih is fully paid up but he decides to keep a 40K 3 year loan active despite his RM41K/mth salary???

On top of that, he claims he pays 40K premium for 4 members of his family. A person earning 41K/mth can only afford to pay RM 833/mth/pax for insurance? Most insurances now have the investment tagged to it so the more premiums you pay the more its invested for you and yet this guy only pays RM833/mth/pax?? But ke keeps RM110K in FD with rubbish rates?

I think this is all bullshit. Common guys. If u wanna share then tell the truth la. Why need to boast and increase figures just to prove what? Ure only using a nick name here. Nobody knows you. So just tell the truth.

Anyway the following rough figures are mine. Nothing great but im working on it.

Job: Engineer
Married with no kids
Income: RM168,000 / annum

ASB: RM 255,000
EPF: RM121,000
Gold: RM 60,000
Cash in hand: RM22,000

Property (prime area) purchased at 475K in 2009 but worth 680K now (based on recent transactions)
15 year housing loan to finish in 14 years or earlier if i choose to.

Japanese car worth 45K now but loan paid off in full.

Currently paying insurance premium of RM 1100 / mth
Some people may earn a lot in salary, but dont know how to put their saving to good use.
He took a car loan, maybe just to avoid income tax office coming to look for him. Any cash sale property or car will be investigated. He will receive some borangs to fill to explain how he pays for the car/property if they are fully paid by cash.

There are people who dont really like to invest in property. He probably just waiting to migrate somewhere.. He kept a lot of his money in bonds and FD probably because they are very liquid, and he can cash out fast in case he needs it, eg for his kids education, or just to run away from this country when there's a revolution etc. tongue.gif

He is already so financially secured, and he probably feels like he doesnt need to be protected by insurance anymore, I guess.

This post has been edited by newbie99: Jun 14 2010, 04:39 PM
newbie99
post Jun 14 2010, 04:39 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 14 2010, 04:29 PM)
Yes. Maybe. But i highly doubt it.
By the way, this is mine, feel free to comment.

Age 38, married with one wife and 3 kids.

Property one - 2.5M
Property two- 2.2M
Property three- 300k
EPF-300k
Cars- driving parents cars.
Stocks- 2.5M
Alternate investment- 500k
Loans- 3.2M
Cash-min
FD/bonds-none

This post has been edited by newbie99: Jun 14 2010, 04:41 PM
newbie99
post Jun 14 2010, 05:14 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 14 2010, 04:54 PM)
Master Yoda says: "Precarious situation I see you have. Emergency fund have not but Gearing high you have"

Your gearing ration is almost 3:1 (very high), your acid test ratio is 0.16 (very low). If you are a listed company, I'd dump all your share and run far far far away.

Xuzen

Added on June 14, 2010, 5:08 pm

i) Change your housing loan to weekly repayment to save on the interest rate if you have not already done so.

ii) Very conservative investment appetite, but generally you should be fine.

Xuzen
Emergency fund? 6 months? I have around 8 months reserve ... It's under "Cash- minimal" section. I usually keep about 70-80k cash in a few currencies. Gearing absolute amount is high, but I can finish paying all loans in 5years, hehe, better than most listed companies..
newbie99
post Oct 6 2010, 08:06 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(Agefactor @ Sep 28 2010, 08:09 AM)
ways others manage your money. if i want to criticize u i also can say
"what???? 14k salary a month and driving 45k car? some one wife also got no car?" but i think it is not good to say so.

good luck rich man!
Actually what's wrong with taking in 14k a month and driving a 45k car? I take home more than him, and my father's 40 year old car, which i drive daily to work, is worth less than 1k (quotation from used car saleman). Since my work place is less than 5 mins from my house, and the car is still working, i see no point in spending extra for a new car.
newbie99
post Oct 6 2010, 08:59 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Oct 6 2010, 08:57 PM)
there is no problem with that, just that some people find it hard to believe. If i say that Im taking not even 5k salary, but im driving a 200k car,people will not believe me also. smile.gif
Then you probably have other alternative income, or u didnt declare your salary 'properly'... smile.gif
newbie99
post Oct 7 2010, 11:32 AM

667 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Oct 7 2010, 10:58 AM)

Marital Status: Single

Asset(s): gadgets around 10k tongue.gif

Study loan: parent pay.

Insurance: full coverage.

Car: japanese car 100k(parent let me drive). Downgrading to toyota corolla because fc problem.
Investment:
unit trust: 200k (parent put in my public mutual acc)

Cash in Bank: rm2-3k(monthly allowance rm1.5k. Can save up to rm800 monthly.

I go back my hometown once a month to harvest bird nest though. My parents cant harvest as it is abit rough kind of works.
Wow! Your parents have been very generous with you. Hope you treat them well. Your monthly allowance is the same as my starting pay! And 200k in unit trust! Goodness, guess the saying 'money does not come easy' does not apply to u..
newbie99
post Oct 8 2010, 12:45 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Oct 8 2010, 12:34 PM)
His portfolio if from vanguard, there is only two ways to get in. Either you have an account in the US (which I think Dreamer have), or you willing to invest in their Dublin domiciled offshore fund, with minimum US 100,000 investment.  laugh.gif

By the way those are not unit trust, they are low cost index funds, in the case of Dreamers, they are mixed index funds.
Any idea what's the annual return like over the last 20 years?
newbie99
post Oct 11 2010, 08:34 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Oct 9 2010, 01:39 PM)
i think everyone do that. The difference is the amount. I might have 1k to spare, you? 10k? others maybe 500.. some 20k
So what is a good networth for a person age 35 and 40?
newbie99
post Jan 25 2011, 05:02 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(126126 @ Jan 25 2011, 04:10 PM)
Came here because i have seen some good advise given by forumers.

My UT is very minimal. Around 20k from those old days when we save whilst we are still kids. Amanah saham etc. the rest are on foreign currency FDs. I personally do not trust UT consultants. Why? Because they all have vested interests. They want you to invest so that they can take a cut from you. Which is why if i buy shares, I buy directly from the stock mkt. I guess the same can be said for insurance agents. Actually i dont have much insurance at the moment. premium max 5k per annum. I believe possibly the type of insurance i need to buy is perhaps health insurance? Pls correct me if I am wrong.

You are absolutely right on the Bursa blue chips. I believe u cant go wrong when the index is way way down.

I have read about professionals who supposedly give sound advise on how to invest. I do not know how good these ppl are, but if they are so good shouldnt they be practising what they know instead of charging you to teach you?
I think u r not able to retire yet. You net asset is less than 7m, each kid will suck u dry 1m for their tertiary education (if you want to give them the best). U keep a lot of cash, why? For business use? Use it on something with higher return. And why invest only 40k in stock market? You are still young and u should be able to tolerate more risk. Dont confine yourself to Bursa only, look at other foreign markets, like China, India, Indonesia, Phillipine etc.
For comparison, i have about the same as u in net asset, and slightly older. Since i am still healthy and i can tolerate higher risk investment, 1/2 of my asset is in stocks, 1/3 in properties, the rest in art pieces. I keep minimal cash, just enough for 6 months.
newbie99
post Jan 25 2011, 05:11 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(126126 @ Jan 25 2011, 04:53 PM)
I have yet to see a good UT/insurance consultant. So far those i have met have not impressed me. Maybe it also has to do with the standards I expect from them. Some of those fellers are all showy, nice car, nice watch, nice everything, but knowledge is zero. Will is done but insurance bit i do not think its inadequate. Maybe you can enlighten me on how much insurance i should buy and why so?

Foreign currency has given me some small gains, particularly AUD. The rest are performing so so only, esp GBP and EUR, since it has dropped, but climbing up again.... Overseas prop to me is similar to Malaysian prop. At least i m familiar here. Over there you need someone to monitor for you, maintain, etc. Not easy unless you travel there often and know everything inside out.
Dont go for those UT consultants. I have not met a good one either. You are considered high networth person. Go for those dedicated fund made for high networth people, those that require at least 1m to join. You pay them 1% fee, and they do take profit sharing from u if the fund performs above certain percentage, eg7-8%. More motivation for the fund manager to do well! There are a few of these funds around in Malaysia.

The other way is to join private banking. They can give u good deals they dont give to public, etc private placement, IPO. And they can arrange for u to meet companies CEO locally and overseas, so u can talk to them and ask them for private placement, and maybe who knows, getting privileged information..

This post has been edited by newbie99: Jan 25 2011, 05:17 PM
newbie99
post Jan 25 2011, 05:20 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Jan 25 2011, 05:15 PM)
u mean icap izit? (not the bursa listed) but those for the private investor profile  rclxms.gif
might as well invest in hedge fund in usa, they can do shorting & their comm is way much higher than puny 10%
since market is way too high now  brows.gif
icap is one of them. Hedge fund can be dangerous, and u have to know it well. Usually they are very secretive with their operations, and that's why i avoid them. Some of the funds in Malaysia which invests overseas are done by very good financial analysts who also managed their own personal funds. A small number of them give 50-60% return the last 2 years.
newbie99
post Jan 25 2011, 05:34 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Jan 25 2011, 05:25 PM)
do u want to hav a piece of facebook ipo? if u got the money, go invest there & can even exit b4 it is listed  cool2.gif
http://www.sharespost.com/
haha.. facebook? the ipo is going to be huge? big elephant cannot run! look at Petrochem!
newbie99
post Jan 26 2011, 04:37 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(126126 @ Jan 25 2011, 05:45 PM)
Yes still far away from 7m. However, i seriously doubt I will allocate 1m each for their education. I am a firm believer in educating them the right way, not the expensive way.

I think i keep too much cash too. Not savvy enough to invest them. Which is why i am still learning. Read loads of places where u earn 30% upwards pa on certain investments but i believe the harsh reality is u dont earn this much. Ppl tend to tell u stories of their best achievements and mask those underperforming and lost making ventures....

My experience with private bankers, again, not too rosy. They seem to know some of their product well but most products are not right for me. again, some of them have vested interest so i always take their advise with a pinch of salt. Where can I learn more about investment for HNWI? 1% is alright as long as performance is there....

Wow collector of art pieces. Well done!

Added on January 25, 2011, 5:54 pmThank you for your helpful guidance so far.

Will explore these oppotunities. However, am not keen in overseas properties. Already too much on my plate over here and seeking other ways to diversify my portfolio to be a more rounded one.
True, educating them the right way, but even the right way may cost a lot of money. Look at how much foreigners are paying for tertiary education in US, UK and Australia. You need 1m for the fee and living allowance if they have good enough result to get into good universities in those countries. Dont let money be the limiting factor for their education.

There are ways of making returns of more than 10-15% yearly. You just have to read up a lot and explore various investment tools, and to explore those non-conventional investment like paintings, teapots, wines, tea leaves, coloured stones, semi-precious stones, metals etc.

They are some pretty good private bankers, but usually if you want to do things 'properly', u need to give them instructions! Foreign private bankers and local private bankers are the same. It's just that foreign private banks offer more investments or 'gambling' tools. Just invest in things that u understand!

The best way to know is to get to know the people with hands-on experience, eg rich private investors. Sometimes they will shed sincere advice... Dont bother getting advice from those ppl with vested interest. Afterall how good their advice can be if you are already much more successful than them..tongue.gif

Art pieces, u can enjoy.. they should be able to retain their value. Dont get conned though with faked stuff!

Added on January 26, 2011, 4:43 pm
QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 26 2011, 10:42 AM)
Here goes mine, pls comment:

Salary: 350k p year

Properties: 2.5m  (no loan)
Cash: 500k
Rental income : Approx 45k p year
Preciousmetals/commodities:  2m
Stock mkt: 1m
EPF: 1m
Insurance- Accident-2.2m.....Life......1.5m.....hospitalisation

2 kids- 16yrs & 12yrs

i need to provide 1 m each for their education.

Hows my portfolio?
Can i retire by 56 yrs old?

TIA
The most expensive courses in UK and Australia are probably Dentistry and Medicine. Average current cost around RM120k a year. 5-6 year course will set u back 720k. If your child fails one year, have to repeat the whole year, another RM120k byebye. If your child can save on his/her living expenditure, 20-30k per annum, should be enough.. so about 1.1-1.2M for the course (include benefits like yearly flying back to see papa and mummy, and occasional hang-out with friends, plus one year extra tuition fee in case they fail).

This post has been edited by newbie99: Jan 26 2011, 04:43 PM
newbie99
post Jan 26 2011, 05:30 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(126126 @ Jan 26 2011, 05:11 PM)
Yes you are right re cost of MBBS degrees. That also is assuming you send them now. fast forward 10 years the price will be much higher. From my time to now i think the cost fees also already doubled up!! Not to mention those pre-U courses, and if you want to send them there for college, secondary school etc etc....  rclxub.gif 

Yes i am actually looking at 10-15% pa. I believe this is fair. I know property has given me tremendous yields but we do not know how long more the party will last. Interesting on the private banker bit. Anybody that you can recommend?

Sorry but not familiar with art pieces. Any particular type that you focus/collect? Eastern art or western art?

U have a MBBS degree? no wonder your 'salary' is so high.

When it comes to private banking locally, i believe CIMB is the most established. Foreign ones, u can try Credit Suisse, DBS, each one has it's pros and cons. Most need 1m local currency equivalent to open an account. Some 2m.

I collect asian arts, only a few pieces, mostly chinese pieces, as chinese market is huge, and they pay premium to buy from u. Western art is already a matured market. Vietnamese, Indonesian, and Chinese art pieces are the ones that should command good price in 5-10 years (they are already on their way up).
newbie99
post Jan 27 2011, 03:39 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(126126 @ Jan 27 2011, 03:20 PM)
After awhile, you realise that money is not everything.

Haha.. guess you have achieved the level until you realise that money is not everything. Happiness, health and well being, and the time you have with your family are much more important.

I agree with you there are quite a number of people out there, earning much more that you. But after a while, you will feel money is just money.. nothing more...
newbie99
post Apr 6 2013, 08:53 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Apr 6 2013, 01:09 PM)
Got 6 figure or not...?

To see if you have the required networth for your age use the following formula ...
Thomas J. Stanley's and William D. Danko's expected net worth formulas

Formula 1: Expected net worth = age x 0.1 x gross income.
    Formula 2: Expected net worth = age x 0.112 x gross income.

Marotta Asset Management's expected net worth formulas

Formula 3: Expected net worth = (adult years / 240 + 0.1) x adult years x gross income; where "adult years" = age - 20.
    Formula 4: Expected net worth = [(age / 166) - 0.15] x age x gross income.
Gross income is before tax per year.

You all can calculate if you all pass or fail.... wink.gif

Report here.  laugh.gif
Hi Gark,
What is a good score based on Thomas J. Stanley's and William D. Danko expected net worth formulas?
Can include investment assets like auctionable gems, paintings and work of arts? Or just base on property, cash and shares?
What is the downside of the formula? I asked because mine is almost 5x the value calculated, and I am not feeling rich.

This post has been edited by newbie99: Apr 6 2013, 08:57 PM
newbie99
post Apr 6 2013, 09:10 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Apr 6 2013, 09:02 PM)
Liquid net worth. Property, cash, stocks, bonds, ut minus all liabilities.

1x means you just got enough to survive. If yours is 5x means you belong to effluent group.
Not effluent, but maybe super frugal group.
newbie99
post Apr 9 2013, 11:10 AM

667 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Apr 9 2013, 10:54 AM)
Hi Everyone,

Anyone can share the experience their success or failure playing margin during/after 2008 Financial Crisis ?
I didnt use margin to take up the opportunity presented during the Global Financial Crisis, but i refinanced my house and used the money to pick up cheap stocks. I took calculated risk because i felt it was the best opportunity after Asian Financial Crisis to reap huge return.

This post has been edited by newbie99: Apr 9 2013, 11:46 AM
newbie99
post Apr 9 2013, 03:39 PM

667 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Apr 9 2013, 01:50 PM)
I oso spam....

Marital Status: does it matter ? wife and gf also asset , lol my ma oso got asset
Asset(s): or Liability ?

Property: current value
1. RM500k Outstanding Loan: RM 140k, 10 yrs
2. RM550k Outstanding loan: RM 0
3. RM2.5m Outstanding loan: RM 0
Car - depreciating asset?  NO car..i take Bus
Market Value:
Liability (ies):
Study loan:

Insurance:
Life: RM1.2M
Medical: RM50k pa
Accident:  RM2M

Investment:
UT: RM250k
Equities: RM1.2M
Precious Metals : RM1.3M

Cash in hand
RM500k 

EPF: RM1.35M 

Total Asset: RM8.15M

Total Liability: RM140k

Net Asset: RM8.01M      sweat.gif
Wow! 1.3M worth of precious metal! Gold or silver?

0.0233sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:29 PM