Nikon D90 v4, First DSLR with HD video recording

jsc_tidus
post Sep 8 2009, 01:22 AM

Vader's Nephew
1,930 posts

QUOTE(Isepunye @ Sep 7 2009, 11:30 PM)
if using RAW, what softwere can read eh? i try PS CS4, cannot read the NEF files ler..

Added on September 7, 2009, 11:40 pmn yes, how to put spoiler thinggy? lol
nikon's capture NX 2?
calvin_gsc
post Sep 8 2009, 01:44 AM

10,261 posts

if using RAW, what softwere can read eh? i try PS CS4, cannot read the NEF files ler..

You have to download Adobe Camera Raw. Google it.

To use the spoiler tag
CODE
[SPOILER]Put what you want to spoiler between these tags[/SPOILER]

jsc_tidus
post Sep 8 2009, 02:38 AM

Vader's Nephew
1,930 posts

QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Sep 8 2009, 01:44 AM)
You have to download Adobe Camera Raw. Google it.

To use the spoiler tag
CODE
[SPOILER]Put what you want to spoiler between these tags[/SPOILER]

i thought camera raw is free when u already got photoshop.. i dont have it either but when u update any adobe products, if u have photoshop, it'll give u an option to download the camera raw software..
alpha_company
post Sep 8 2009, 04:03 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(FirezZ @ Sep 7 2009, 05:08 PM)
hi alpha_company,

saw the one with vr will be out but... was brain washed to get the one without motor.. lolz
so in general, made in china unit have more error compared to those made in japan ?
err.... just hope there wont be any problem with the back/front focus problems.....

as i am asking a fren who is in hk to get one unit for me @.@

so cant really test it before buy ..
or should i stop him from buying it for me ?
1. You're asking your friend to get you the one without motor?
2. Is it new or 2nd hand? Afaik, the one without motor is already discontinued and all 2nd hand here in malaysia.
3. You could tell him to get it for you but you have to take the risk...

Added on September 8, 2009, 4:09 am
QUOTE(HiroBoroi @ Sep 7 2009, 06:31 PM)
Some more nice pics. The price on the web page is USD 3495.  shocking.gif  Put metal body, change dis and dat, add 10,000 ringgit cry.gif  cry.gif to the price.  Hollywood prices. thumbup.gif

http://www.ducloslenses.com/
They custom make it for anybody who wants it? woww..

BTW, the vid in your previous post was captured using what?

Added on September 8, 2009, 4:13 am

Need to download Adobe Camera Raw like calvin_gsc said..

@jsc_tidus - it is free, you can update straight from photoshop or download it from the website. the Adobe Camera Raw is updated so that it can read new types of raw formats from new cameras like d3x etc...

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Sep 8 2009, 04:13 AM
HiroBoroi
post Sep 8 2009, 08:03 AM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Sep 8 2009, 04:03 AM)

Added on September 8, 2009, 4:09 am

They custom make it for anybody who wants it? woww..

BTW, the vid in your previous post was captured using what?
As promised, here is some real world footage shot with a RED One and the Duclos Lenses 11-16mm. It wasn't the only lens used, RPPs were there too. But you can pick out the wide shots. Pretty much anything wide was the DL 11-16.

Above is post by Matthew Duclos taken from the redforum link I posted earlier. I think "RPPs" means Red Pro Primes (lensses). Check out the prices here. shocking.gif

Cheapest prime lens is USD 5950 = 21000 ringgit. blink.gif shakehead.gif cry.gif
Cheapest zoom lens is ISD 8500 = 30000 ringgit. shocking.gif rclxub.gif doh.gif cry.gif

I think I need to see eye doctor oledi. My eyes pop out so many times seeing the prices of all these stuff. shocking.gif

jsc_tidus
post Sep 8 2009, 01:15 PM

Vader's Nephew
1,930 posts

QUOTE(HiroBoroi @ Sep 8 2009, 08:03 AM)
Above is post by Matthew Duclos taken from the redforum link I posted earlier. I think "RPPs" means Red Pro Primes (lensses). Check out the prices here.  shocking.gif

Cheapest prime lens is USD 5950 = 21000 ringgit.   blink.gif  shakehead.gif  cry.gif
Cheapest zoom lens is ISD 8500 = 30000 ringgit.   shocking.gif  rclxub.gif  doh.gif  cry.gif

I think I need to see eye doctor oledi. My eyes pop out so many times seeing the prices of all these stuff.  shocking.gif
with that price, i rather go for D3X doh.gif
alpha_company
post Sep 8 2009, 02:36 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(HiroBoroi @ Sep 8 2009, 08:03 AM)
Above is post by Matthew Duclos taken from the redforum link I posted earlier. I think "RPPs" means Red Pro Primes (lensses). Check out the prices here.  shocking.gif

Cheapest prime lens is USD 5950 = 21000 ringgit.   blink.gif  shakehead.gif  cry.gif
Cheapest zoom lens is ISD 8500 = 30000 ringgit.   shocking.gif  rclxub.gif  doh.gif  cry.gif

I think I need to see eye doctor oledi. My eyes pop out so many times seeing the prices of all these stuff.  shocking.gif
yeah.. i saw those prices before.. man the RED is some piece of equipment.. if im not mistaken, it can also fit NIKON mount lenses on.

just look at the design of it..it's like those ancient transformers in transformers 2 movie. red can also take much much better hd vids and even better still pics than dslrs..at least that is what they claim..

Added on September 8, 2009, 2:37 pm
QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Sep 8 2009, 01:15 PM)
with that price, i rather go for D3X  doh.gif
well..i would rather go for the RED as it is good in both video and still pics..only thing is that it's bigger.

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Sep 8 2009, 02:37 PM
FirezZ
post Sep 8 2009, 04:52 PM

Naise kukUpi
1,993 posts

hi, i am asking a fren to check there..
so risk, he might be getting a 2nd hand unit coz i told him it is ok for new / used unit....
adv to check on the non motor.. err it has been disconti.

risk hmmm... still waitng for a call from him on the updates... else.. no deal there tongue.gif
jsc_tidus
post Sep 8 2009, 06:34 PM

Vader's Nephew
1,930 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Sep 8 2009, 02:36 PM)
yeah.. i saw those prices before.. man the RED is some piece of equipment.. if im not mistaken, it can also fit NIKON mount lenses on.

just look at the design of it..it's like those ancient transformers in transformers 2 movie. red can also take much much better hd vids and even better still pics than dslrs..at least that is what they claim..

Added on September 8, 2009, 2:37 pm

well..i would rather go for the RED as it is good in both video and still pics..only thing is that it's bigger.
they even have their own branded CF cards.. notworthy.gif

Added on September 8, 2009, 6:43 pmit looks like Sony is going to compete with RED.. sweat.gif

IFA, Berlin, 4-9 sept 2009: the A850 replaces the A900 (you already know that part)

(BTW: don't miss Leica announcing the M9 on the last day of the IFA on 9/9/09)

CES, Las Vegas, January 7-10 2010:
Sony announces the A950. Basically it is a A900 with a 32 Mpix sensor. No video mode. High iso.

So this means that Sony keeps 2 FF DSLRs in offer, one at 1500$ street price (MSRP 2000$) and one at 2000$ (MSRP 2500$).

Expect a 600mm lens to be announced between january and april.

(Side note: this leaves Nikon and Canon to announce a D4 and a 1D mark 4 respectively around march).

From this point onwards, Sony communication will be focalized on the soccer World Cup 2010 (in june). Sony was accepted to be one of the only 6 FIFA partners already in 2007, time to get the investment back...

NAB, Las Vegas, april 10-15.
Sony announces the A1000. This will be a revolutionary camera, basically a DSLR video camera hybrid. Sony wants to use NAB, because this camera is mainly a video camera. Sony feels that RED is eating too much market share from their Cinealta line, so they need a cheaper offer along their more traditional camcorders. Expect the A1000 to look a bit like the RED, costs roughly the same and be able to take 32 MPix pictures while filming in HDV at the same time. Expect a 28-300 lens with SSM (typical video range and SSM is silent, which is important for video).
Around the same time, the A2x and A3x line is replaced by smaller, cheaper crop cameras with video. Expect a very cheap A150 without built-in AF motor.

Marketingwise, Sony communication will be axed on the FIFA:
-a pro SLR with the A950 (*)
-a new type of camera with the A1000, perfectly positioned to celebrate the convergence between photo and video on the fields
-Sony video pro stands will assist the Sony soccer photographs and videographs
-all this so that the typical soccer fan wants to buy a camera of the same brand than the pros: the new A2x-A3x line.

(* a photograph which uses a photo camera incapable of video pays less FIFA royalties to be on the spot, that counts on a budget)

(Summer: A850 ceases production silently. Camera stays in program until stocks are cleared, just like the A900.)

Fotokina, Köln, september 8-10:
Sony announces the A5x, to replace the present "5" line. At the same time, a new FF DSLR is announced, the A820. Basically, a A850 with a 32 Mpix sensor and a smaller, plastic body. SD card replaces the CF slot. Video mode, built-in flash, simplified viewfinder. 1500$ MSRP, street price around 1000$ for christmas.

The A950 replacement is to be announced at CES 2011.

This post has been edited by jsc_tidus: Sep 8 2009, 06:43 PM
blstz
post Sep 8 2009, 09:43 PM

832 posts

Hey guys i need some opinion on which flash to get. It'll be my first external flash. Since SB800 has been discontinued, there's only two choices left, SB600 and SB900.

I've been doing some research and found that some people recommend getting two SB600 over one SB900, some recommended the SB800 over SB900(when SB800 was still in production), some say get the most powerful one. rclxub.gif

I'll be using the flash for normal usage like events and portraits, stuff like that. I also like the multi angle rotating flash head of the SB900. Also, if i would wanna play with Nikon CLS, would my built in flash be sufficient to be the master?

Also read complains about the SB900 overheating very easily. Any flash owners here that can help me out? unsure.gif

Thanks biggrin.gif

calvin_gsc
post Sep 8 2009, 09:56 PM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(blstz @ Sep 8 2009, 09:43 PM)
Hey guys i need some opinion on which flash to get. It'll be my first external flash. Since SB800 has been discontinued, there's only two choices left, SB600 and SB900.

I've been doing some research and found that some people recommend getting two SB600 over one SB900, some recommended the SB800 over SB900(when SB800 was still in production), some say get the most powerful one.  rclxub.gif

I'll be using the flash for normal usage like events and portraits, stuff like that. I also like the multi angle rotating flash head of the SB900. Also, if i would wanna play with Nikon CLS, would my built in flash be sufficient to be the master?

Also read complains about the SB900 overheating very easily. Any flash owners here that can help me out?  unsure.gif

Thanks  biggrin.gif
If CLS is gonna be your main usage. Then by all means get 2 SB-600. You can get more creative with more flashes. The built in flash is sufficient to be the master for 2 flashes.
utopian86
post Sep 8 2009, 10:00 PM

1,239 posts

QUOTE(Isepunye @ Sep 8 2009, 12:30 AM)

Google is ur best help! Plus if your using microsoft xp, just go to their website and download

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details...&displaylang=en

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details...&DisplayLang=en

HiroBoroi
post Sep 8 2009, 10:34 PM

1,319 posts

I've been doing some research and found that some people recommend getting two SB600 over one SB900, some recommended the SB800 over SB900(when SB800 was still in production), some say get the most powerful one.  rclxub.gif

Also read complains about the SB900 overheating very easily. Any flash owners here that can help me out?  unsure.gif

Thanks  biggrin.gif
Best option is for you buy ONLY ONE SB-600, then poison your friend to buy the other SB-600 drool.gif . Invite your friend over, so you can borrow his SB-600 biggrin.gif AND you use him as your machai to hold the off camera flashes. thumbup.gif ... and if your friend got pretty little sister ... whistling.gif
Isepunye
post Sep 8 2009, 10:38 PM

world famous isepunye
2,537 posts

Thanks  biggrin.gif
im SB900 user... using the TTL function, yes it will easily too heat.... too fast to get hot. from what i see, i recommend SB600 for normal usage and SB900 for scenery function. but if u use manual, it become less heat. since this is my first external flash, im not reli know for the function. hope sifu can explain more...

any1 want to organize tt to teach me how to use flash? laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
fisherman10
post Sep 8 2009, 10:47 PM

1,372 posts

i've read around and they say that after the new updated firmware for SB900, it doesnt overheat that much in TTL already. but i cant remember specifically what version and you need a d3/d700 to update the firmware.
maybe nikon SC can do that for free? anyone can confirm this?
jsc_tidus
post Sep 8 2009, 10:55 PM

Vader's Nephew
1,930 posts

QUOTE(fisherman10 @ Sep 8 2009, 10:47 PM)
i've read around and they say that after the new updated firmware for SB900, it doesnt overheat that much in TTL already. but i cant remember specifically what version and you need a d3/d700 to update the firmware.
maybe nikon SC can do that for free? anyone can confirm this?
D300 also can update the SB900 firmware nod.gif

What has been introduced in 5.02 FW :

While shooting uninterrupted with your SB900 flash set in i-TTL mode; images received right before firing ceased were prone to be overexposed. This issue has been corrected and also metering precision and # of times the flash fires have been increased as a result

With the Speedlight SB-900 set in TTL auto flash mode and used with a camera supporting the Creative Lighting System, the flash mode will auto change to A mode according to camera’s communication status. Previously this flash mode was maintened but has been modified so that TTL-auto-flash mode is restored once the SB 900 again automatically recognized a CLS capable camera.

This post has been edited by jsc_tidus: Sep 8 2009, 10:55 PM
blstz
post Sep 8 2009, 10:56 PM

832 posts

Havent really tried CLS out yet but i think it's quite cool. Although i might say that i wont be doing a lot of photoshoot that i'll be placing flashguns here and there. More of a walk and snap person if u know what i mean.

If i use CLS with my built in flash as commander, will the flash actually goes off together with the remote flash? So there will be two source of flash light?

oh ya that's what i heard also about overheating while using TTL mode. Is there a flaw in the way it choose its flash power in TTL mode? For newbies like me, prefer to use auto TTL. Does the new SB900 firmware solve the problem? (edit: just saw the last two posts. anyone can confirm less overheat for SB900 after firmware upgrade?)

Is the SB600 power sufficient for indoor event coverage and maybe day time fill flash? Because this would be a one off buy, not planning to sell off this unit in the future. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by blstz: Sep 8 2009, 10:58 PM
jsc_tidus
post Sep 8 2009, 10:59 PM

Vader's Nephew
1,930 posts

QUOTE(blstz @ Sep 8 2009, 10:56 PM)
Havent really tried CLS out yet but i think it's quite cool. Although i might say that i wont be doing a lot of photoshoot that i'll be placing flashguns here and there. More of a walk and snap person if u know what i mean.

If i use CLS with my built in flash as commander, will the flash actually goes off together with the remote flash? So there will be two source of flash light?

oh ya that's what i heard also about overheating while using TTL mode. Is there a flaw in the way it choose its flash power in TTL mode? For newbies like me, prefer to use auto TTL. Does the new SB900 firmware solve the problem?

Is the SB600 power sufficient for indoor event coverage and maybe day time fill flash? Because this would be a one off buy, not planning to sell off this unit in the future.  tongue.gif
r u doing weddings? well if u do, if the wedding place is to be held on a hall (+very high roof one), u might want to add some extra exposure to the flash.. not sure with this, since i didnt have SB-600..

i use SB-900, works like a charm even in school hall.. tongue.gif

Added on September 8, 2009, 11:01 pm

oh ya that's what i heard also about overheating while using TTL mode. Is there a flaw in the way it choose its flash power in TTL mode? For newbies like me, prefer to use auto TTL. Does the new SB900 firmware solve the problem? (edit: just saw the last two posts. anyone can confirm less overheat for SB900 after firmware upgrade?)

Is the SB600 power sufficient for indoor event coverage and maybe day time fill flash? Because this would be a one off buy, not planning to sell off this unit in the future.  tongue.gif
never experienced any overheating yet with my SB-900.. even used it from 9.00am till 5.00pm, with cheap cheap GP rechargeable AAs.. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by jsc_tidus: Sep 8 2009, 11:01 PM
Isepunye
post Sep 8 2009, 11:03 PM

world famous isepunye
2,537 posts

im using energizer rechargeable battery and had heat issue~! is there anywhere we can update the firmware??? i want to update
the_tranny
post Sep 8 2009, 11:05 PM

566 posts

You can cancel the built in flash so that it wont fire and acts only as commander.

126 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0352sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 09:32 AM