Nikon D90 v4, First DSLR with HD video recording

alpha_company
post Aug 31 2009, 03:29 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(koptalker11 @ Aug 31 2009, 10:06 AM)
guys, anyone have the 70-200vr? is it worth the money or 80-200 is enough?
to be honest it depends on what u wanna do la..

AFS 70-200VR --- got AFS motor and VR
AFS 80-200 --- got AFS motor (no new ones, can only get 2nd hand)
AFD 80-200 two touch (Mark III) --- the latest AFD version but still in stock and cheaper too

All three focuses fast but the fastest would be the 70200 VR but at a much higher price. Keep in mind the weight too. An AFD 80200 is more comfortable handheld than a 70200VR which is really a muscle builder...hehe biggrin.gif

For a 2nd hand AFD 80200 MK-III (RM 3K), u can get urself an all rounder NEW 18200VR (RM 2.5K) + prime lens NEW AFD 50mm f/1.4 (RM 1k) which totals for around RM6.5K = price of a new 70200VR

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Aug 31 2009, 05:10 PM
alpha_company
post Aug 31 2009, 04:33 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

edited & corrected info..see post below

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Aug 31 2009, 05:07 PM
alpha_company
post Aug 31 2009, 05:06 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

Yes correct. There are 3 versions of AFD 80-200 f/2.8

MK 1 - Push pull - Do not have tripod collar
"Basic lens operation remains as an one-touch sliding zoom"

MK 2 - Also push pull - Do not have tripod collar
"The AF Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED lens still retains a one-touch sliding zoom design "

MK 3 - Two touch - Have tripod collar
"change from one-touch sliding zoom to dual rings design"

Info from mir.com.my

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Sep 4 2009, 03:45 PM
alpha_company
post Aug 31 2009, 06:50 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(HiroBoroi @ Aug 31 2009, 05:49 PM)
I hear that if VR losak - 600 ringgit  shocking.gif  ... if AFS motor losak - 1500 ringgit  blink.gif  cry.gif . Maybe somebody can confirm this.   hmm.gif Better go for the MK 3  if true.  biggrin.gif

Added on August 31, 2009, 5:51 pm
Yes  rclxm9.gif . So far so good.  thumbup.gif
waaahhh shakehead.gif vr rosak rm600 still considerable..but AFS motor rosak rm1500?? wtf..thats expensive.. If anybody wanna buy 2nd hand.. better avoid the AFS version because most do not have warranty anymore.

I cant confirm the prices for the repairs but a shopkeeper told me that it's better to have the AFD 80200 rather than the AFS 80200, because he said that quite a number of people came to his shop to repair their AFS 80200 because the SWM motor breakdown/cant function. It makes sense that a lens without a motor or vr or other internal motorized parts would be much sturdier and can last a harder beating in harsh conditions.

I cannot say that this is also a problem with the AFS-70200VR.. maybe it's much sturdier and better then the AFS-80200.

Added on August 31, 2009, 6:50 pm
QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 31 2009, 05:59 PM)
So far so good biggrin.gif, just a bit irritated with the default file naming system. But right now working well after changing it smile.gif.
Changed to what?

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Aug 31 2009, 06:59 PM
alpha_company
post Aug 31 2009, 10:05 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(HiroBoroi @ Aug 31 2009, 06:58 PM)
Better? Mua ha ha ha ... that's why they have to release a new version. A lot of reviews are saying that its only good for DX sensors.  biggrin.gif

Sucky sucky long lens  blink.gif
1. The 70200VR is overall better than AFS 80200. "that's why they have to release a new version" to replace the AFS 80200 with the 70200VR. That's why the AFS 80200 is discontinued whereas the older AFD 80200 is still produced.

2. Sorry that i didnt state that what i meant by "better" is in terms of the SWM motor & the overall body sturdiness aka the weather sealing etc & NOT sharpness nor IQ.

3. It's a good thing that 70200 is good for DX as this is a D90 thread. The 70200VR still works with FX bodies regardless.

4. Lenses are not made by god and are used by human beings.. people complaint a lot.. each lens has it's advantages and disadvantages..

"It seems to depend on which audience/group you'd like a consensus from. Many seem to find that the 70-200/2.8 behaves wonderfully while doing actual, real-life work on a full-frame body. Certainly it has behaved fine for me on actual 35mm film, and I've seen accounts from plenty of people using it on, say, a D700 doing PJ-ish style work where they're very happy. The other camp, which can find misery in less-sharp far corners of the frame while shooting wide open, may not be shooting a practical style that I understand. It's not a landscape lens, to be sure."

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Sep 1 2009, 07:18 AM
alpha_company
post Sep 1 2009, 02:07 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

the tamron lens has motor built in or not?
alpha_company
post Sep 1 2009, 02:39 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

Guys me and jsc_tidus are thinking of getting an uwa lens...im still in the dark with uwa lenses..

These two come in mind

Sigma 1020
- Lower built quality
+ Wider at 10mm and can go upto 20mm
- Quality control record not that nice..

Tokina 1116
+ Superb built quality
- A tad smaller at 11mm

IS THIS TRUE? need advice
http://www.kenrockwell.com/tech/digital-wide-zooms/chart.htm

http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/10-24mm.htm#compared

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxiFxui0W-M

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Sep 1 2009, 03:20 PM
alpha_company
post Sep 1 2009, 03:28 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(a.ihsan @ Sep 1 2009, 03:14 PM)
few reasons why I bought the Sigma :-

- the feel of the focus ring, magnificent
- it will auto-focus on my D60
- the HSM is awesome, very fast
- 10mm? thats freaking wide!

few reasons why I would buy the Tokina :-

- cheaper (i think)
- at f2.8, works well in low-light situations
- lighter
- smaller filter size, less money

whichever you go with, you won't regret it  wink.gif
One of the main/limiting reasons i would see a d5000/d60/d40 user buying the sigma 1020 (regardless of sharpness, IQ, distortions) is because it can AF on those bodies and the tokina 1116 cannot.

Sigma
- If the feel of the sigma is magnificent...then the feel of the tokina will be godly
- Will af on d5000 and lower end bodies
- Lighter than tokina
- Has HSM motor but not fixed aperture

Tokina
- The tokina 11-16 is around rm100 more expensive - basically almost the same price..
- Cannot AF on D5000 and lower end bodies
- IT IS HEAVIER than the sigma
- SAME FILTER SIZE

u got to get your facts right

btw, this..a user who has owned both but liked the tokina

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Sep 1 2009, 03:40 PM
alpha_company
post Sep 1 2009, 04:04 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Sep 1 2009, 03:37 PM)
alpha_company: why not get nikon UWA/
which model specifically? the expensive nikon 1224 isnt good as a much cheaper tokina 1116 proving that expensive doesnt necessarily mean better

"The Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 AT-X is the best ultrawide zoom available for Nikon DX cameras, better than even Nikon's more expensive 12-24mm AF-S DX. " - http://www.kenrockwell.com/tokina/11-16mm.htm#compare
alpha_company
post Sep 1 2009, 05:36 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(tom_k3nt @ Sep 1 2009, 05:10 PM)
dear all,

Do you guys facing any problem with the memory card?
I am using 16G Kingston Class 4 SDHC... Always when i take up to 600photo... It will pop up err msg - CHA.... It is actually the memory card error... After i change another normal SD Card... it can continue to take again... Is this memory card prob or camera prob? i check thru online... quite a number of user kena this problem...

Added on September 1, 2009, 5:11 pmBtw, the normal SD Card memory is really small... 1G only
I dont trust kingston at all..

go Sandisk or Transcend.. i recommend getting two 4GB Transcend Class 6 SDHC, each at around rm50. dont gamble on just one 16GB..if its lost/broken, all your images will go away with it cry.gif

It is HIGHLY advisable to reformat memory card after transfer of large amounts of images to computer to prevent errors..

i reformat mine after each assignment/work/outing.. thumbup.gif
alpha_company
post Sep 1 2009, 05:42 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Sep 1 2009, 05:35 PM)
alpha_company:
AF-S 10-24mm f/3.5-4.5G  DX ED
AF-S 12-24mm f/4.0G DX IF-ED
Price how much? compare to Tokina/Sigma?

Frankly, i like sigma because of HSM smile.gif hehehe...and I dont mind the f/2.8...it doesnt really matter to me..esp for UWA..

tom_k3nt: could it be ur kingston problem? im using Toshiba class 6 16gb and i have encounter anything like that thus far..
From the reviews i've read/seen on the net, these two are recommended :

- Nikon AF-S 10-24mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF DX - around RM3000
- Tokina AT-X 116 Pro DX 11-16mm - around RM23xx-24xx

i dont really take the f2.8 and HSM into account because its an uwa..not tele...but IQ is most important
alpha_company
post Sep 1 2009, 05:54 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

this guy on youtube owns both the sigma 1020 and tokina 1116

alpha_company
post Sep 1 2009, 06:01 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

yup...no worries about VR/AFS motor spoiling..no need vr on an uwa anyways..

but one thing i like is that the lens wont physically go in/out when zooming, which is very2 good. can last better in rain/moisture
alpha_company
post Sep 1 2009, 09:58 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(a.ihsan @ Sep 1 2009, 07:10 PM)
alpha_company : alright, I was dead wrong  shocking.gif

though you are right, most people with D40/x/D60 go with the Sigma basically to auto-focus.

what camera do you use? Tokina 11-16 is actually very very good

thumbup.gif
the definite plus for the sigma 1020 is:

- The widest u can get on a lens which is 10mm
- Has a speedy HSM (AFS equivalent)
- Can AF on D5000/D60/D40
- On D60/D40 bodies the Sigma's weight is more suitable because it is lighter

I use a D90...early ths year i owned a D60.
alpha_company
post Sep 1 2009, 11:27 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

a nice addon but not necessary at that focal range..

the thing that i would really like to see on the tamron 1750 or any other tamron is a high speed motor like Sigma's HSM, Nikon's SWM, Canon's USM or Sony's SSM. or if they want to cut costs, just take out the motor so that users with built in motor bodies like D90 can have faster af with their lenses.
alpha_company
post Sep 2 2009, 06:51 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Sep 2 2009, 01:20 AM)
1 function button only.. the other one is dof preview button, but u can assigned it to other function also.
so, its like this? bodies that have built in motor will focus faster with lens without motor?
It's not like that at all actually. Tamron DO NOT YET produce lenses with high-speed & silent autofocusing motors like HSM (Sigma), SWM (AF-S Nikon), SSM (Sony), USM (Canon).

There's basically two types of built in motor, Ring-type and Micro.
-- Ring-type is normally found in large-aperture and super telephoto lenses.
-- Micro is used in more compact lenses. Tamron lenses which have built in motor all use the micro type motor which is slower than the internal bdoy motor. It is also noisier.

Example:

Ring-type motor - Nikon AF-S 17-55mm f/2.8
Micro-type motor - Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 (A16NII - model number which indicate the built in motor version)

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Sep 2 2009, 12:51 PM
alpha_company
post Sep 2 2009, 08:12 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Sep 2 2009, 07:37 AM)
Some people like the distortion. But I don't.
yeah..me too.. afaik all ultra wide lenses have that prob but the distortion with the sigma is quite ugly at the edges at 10mm (at least imo) and the worst part is that the distortion is complex and cannot be fixed by software while other uwa's distortion is still correctable. can clearly see the faces of people getting stretched etc...just unnatural.. but if landscape only ok la..

how's my panning? the car is slow la..cant see the blurring effect in the background so much..unlike f1, a1 or other circuit races..hdr'ed it..hehe

Added on September 2, 2009, 8:13 am
QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 2 2009, 07:34 AM)
Sigma distortion is pretty ugly.
your advice on an uwa lens? or experience with any uwa lenses? care to share? need some info here.. biggrin.gif need one to use for weddings..to use for people photos basically..not just landscape only

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Sep 2 2009, 08:21 AM
alpha_company
post Sep 2 2009, 08:24 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 2 2009, 08:19 AM)
Been playing with Sigma 12-24 on FF, Nikkor 14-24 on FF, Tokina 11-16 on D90, Sigma 10-20 on 40D, Nikkor 10-24 on D60, Tamron 10-24 on D60, Tamron 11-18 on Canon and etc.

And my vote goes like this.
For FF
1. Nikkor 14-24
2. Sigma 12-24 (Freaking wide)

For DX
1. Tokina,
2. Nikkor 10-24
3. Sigma 10-20,
4. Tamron 10-24
5. Tamron 11-18.
1 being the best right? did u test any tokina 1224?

how wide can a lens do on FF? 12mm?

on a aps-c 10mm right?

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Sep 2 2009, 08:24 AM
alpha_company
post Sep 2 2009, 12:49 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

EDITED: sorry for the mistake..i didnt notice. thanks for pointing it out Sp00kY

It's not like that at all actually. Tamron DO NOT YET produce lenses with high-speed & silent autofocusing motors like HSM (Sigma), SWM (AF-S Nikon), SSM (Sony), USM (Canon).

There's basically two types of built in motor, Ring-type and Micro.
-- Ring-type is normally found in large-aperture and super telephoto lenses.
-- Micro is used in more compact lenses. Tamron lenses which have built in motor all use the micro type motor which is slower than the internal bdoy motor. It is also noisier.

Example:

Ring-type motor - Nikon AF-S 17-55mm f/2.8
Micro-type motor - Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 (A16NII - model number which indicate the built in motor version)

Added on September 2, 2009, 12:59 pm
QUOTE(HiroBoroi @ Sep 2 2009, 09:25 AM)
HDR is like PP la. No point to do PP if the original image isn't nice. Best to work on the composition, shutter speed to get the right blur effect. Once everything is nice, then only you decide to HDR or further PP.  smile.gif

With regard to UWA specifically the Tokina 11-16 for weddings, I think the range is too limited and it is very very wide at the long end. I have no experience doing any paid photography, but I imagine with so much going on during a wedding, you don't want to be taking on and off lenses in order to capture the moment, unless of course you have two camera bodies with two different lenses attached. Even then, perhaps a normal wide will be more than enough.  hmm.gif

Added on September 2, 2009, 9:30 am

Wow!! Nice pic. I  know its a DX, but if you put it at the long end, you don't have any vignetting at all. So basically you can still use this lens like a prime on FF. And 16mm on FF is very very wide.  thumbup.gif  Good to have lens that can do double duty instead of being specific for DX only. Dats why I lub wub.gif  the D series lenses.  biggrin.gif
Yes the range of Tokina 1116 if compared to Sigma 1020 is limited but maybe that is why the IQ is better than the Sigma. A DX normal wide at 18mm is definitely not enough, ask any who does weddings or events.

Lets say you have a group photo and you dont have enough space to move backwards...what will u do to take the whole group in your shot? UWA.

To put a bride and groom in a short distance away from my camera so that they are clearly seen in the pic and at the same time have a wide scenery...this aint possible with even the tamron 1750. not wide enuff...

Yeah, I go shooting with a friend or two..this aint rambo where i can just shoot alone, i need backup..

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Sep 2 2009, 01:13 PM
alpha_company
post Sep 2 2009, 01:14 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(HiroBoroi @ Sep 2 2009, 09:13 AM)
Does the Tokina 11-16 work with older film cameras such as the Nikon F90, F100? Anybody knows? This is because it doesnt have the aperture ring. So I know it wont work on my FM2. Also is this Tokina easy to find? I'm also reading about bad batches and focus problems on online discussions. Have you encountered this?  hmm.gif
The aperture is one thing..another thing is that the tokina 1116 is for DX and not FF. 11mm is probably dont work on an FF..

The widest would probably be 12mm that is the FF lens, Sigma 12-24mm f/4.5-5.6 HSM

Added on September 2, 2009, 1:32 pm
QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Sep 2 2009, 10:18 AM)

Correct me if i'm wrong, tamron is using MICRO MOTOR smile.gif...
all AF-S lenses using Ring type?

A good question here. Canon publicly gives out info on their USM lenses (which is good), though most dont even read it anyways i think.

The bad thing here is that Canon labels USM on all their motorized lenses and it includes the slower & noisier micro motor type. Now the only way to find out whether a USM lens is micro or ring type is to check the details of the lens, which the average user wont really know about. But still they give out the details to the public.

Nikon on the other hand states that ALL of their AF-S lenses come with SWM motor. I wouldnt really believe this because why other big companies like Canon do not equip ALL their lenses with ring type USM? There are some disputes on ringtype and microtype on Nikon AFS lenses. Some say theres an indicator whether a Nikon AFS lens is ring or microtype. The indicator is whether they have fulltime manual override (M/A position on AF control switch) as opposed to just M and A. THIS IS YET TO BE PROVEN..so dont trust it fully..

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Sep 2 2009, 01:32 PM

0.0397sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:26 PM