4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Nikon D90 v4, First DSLR with HD video recording

HiroBoroi
post Aug 31 2009, 05:49 PM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Aug 31 2009, 05:06 PM)
Yes correct. There are 3 versions of AFD 80-200 f/2.8

I hear that if VR losak - 600 ringgit shocking.gif ... if AFS motor losak - 1500 ringgit blink.gif cry.gif . Maybe somebody can confirm this. hmm.gif Better go for the MK 3 if true. biggrin.gif

Added on August 31, 2009, 5:51 pm
QUOTE(a.ihsan @ Aug 31 2009, 01:29 PM)
haha exactly! aah can't wait to get it all biggrin.gif
anyway, is everybody happy with their D90?
wink.gif
Yes rclxm9.gif . So far so good. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by HiroBoroi: Aug 31 2009, 05:51 PM
HiroBoroi
post Aug 31 2009, 06:14 PM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(@meno @ Aug 31 2009, 06:01 PM)
Yeap, pretty much there.
My money would be on an Mk 1 as it's the most affordable.
But the thing is, the tripod collar does make a lot of a difference.

Eventhough the Mk1 and Mk2 are 400g lighter than the Mk 3, but it's still pretty heavy at 1.2kg...
The push pull has a lot of zoom creep shakehead.gif . If you can live with that, then by all means get it. The "Mk 3" also has its problems. icon_question.gif

Plastic ring cracked
Manual focus clutch breaks

HiroBoroi
post Aug 31 2009, 06:58 PM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Aug 31 2009, 06:50 PM)
waaahhh shakehead.gif vr rosak rm600 still considerable..but AFS motor rosak rm1500?? wtf..thats expensive..

I cant confirm the prices for the repairs but a shopkeeper told me that it's better to have the AFD 80200 rather than the AFS 80200, because he said that quite a number of people came to his shop to repair their AFS 80200 because the SWM motor breakdown/cant function. It makes sense that a lens without a motor or vr or other internal motorized parts would be much sturdier and can last a harder beating in harsh conditions.

I cannot say that this is also a problem with the AFS-70200VR.. maybe it's much sturdier and better then the AFS-80200.

Added on August 31, 2009, 6:50 pm

Changed to what?
Better? Mua ha ha ha ... that's why they have to release a new version. A lot of reviews are saying that its only good for DX sensors. biggrin.gif

Sucky sucky long lens blink.gif
HiroBoroi
post Sep 1 2009, 05:57 PM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Sep 1 2009, 05:54 PM)
this guy on youtube owns both the sigma 1020 and tokina 1116

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxiFxui0W-M
Wow ... no VR no internal motor. Build quality very solid. The AF/MF clutch oh so nice. Very little distortion, very sharp. Wah ... I think I like this one thumbup.gif . Sum more got nice distance scale drool.gif . Only thing is the filter size is 77mm. Die la if wan to get R72 cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif .
HiroBoroi
post Sep 2 2009, 09:13 AM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 2 2009, 08:26 AM)
Nope. The only 2 famous UWA i didn't manage to play is Nikkor 12-24 f/4 and also Tokina 12-24 f/4.

12mm is quite well already. 18mm equivalent on FF smile.gif
Does the Tokina 11-16 work with older film cameras such as the Nikon F90, F100? Anybody knows? This is because it doesnt have the aperture ring. So I know it wont work on my FM2. Also is this Tokina easy to find? I'm also reading about bad batches and focus problems on online discussions. Have you encountered this? hmm.gif
HiroBoroi
post Sep 2 2009, 09:25 AM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Sep 2 2009, 08:12 AM)
how's my panning? the car is slow la..cant see the blurring effect in the background so much..unlike f1, a1 or other circuit races..hdr'ed it..hehe

Added on September 2, 2009, 8:13 am

your advice on an uwa lens? or experience with any uwa lenses? care to share? need some info here..  biggrin.gif need one to use for weddings..to use for people photos basically..not just landscape only
HDR is like PP la. No point to do PP if the original image isn't nice. Best to work on the composition, shutter speed to get the right blur effect. Once everything is nice, then only you decide to HDR or further PP. smile.gif

With regard to UWA specifically the Tokina 11-16 for weddings, I think the range is too limited and it is very very wide at the long end. I have no experience doing any paid photography, but I imagine with so much going on during a wedding, you don't want to be taking on and off lenses in order to capture the moment, unless of course you have two camera bodies with two different lenses attached. Even then, perhaps a normal wide will be more than enough. hmm.gif

Added on September 2, 2009, 9:30 am
QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 2 2009, 09:21 AM)
I don't think it will works on film cameras as this is a DX lenses. (Correct me if I wrong).

Quite easy to find. Price tagged at RM 2,3xx lately.

I never face any focus problems. So far so good smile.gif

A photo taken by Tokina 11-16 smile.gif

icon_rolleyes.gif
Wow!! Nice pic. I know its a DX, but if you put it at the long end, you don't have any vignetting at all. So basically you can still use this lens like a prime on FF. And 16mm on FF is very very wide. thumbup.gif Good to have lens that can do double duty instead of being specific for DX only. Dats why I lub wub.gif the D series lenses. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by HiroBoroi: Sep 2 2009, 09:30 AM
HiroBoroi
post Sep 2 2009, 09:48 AM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(foogray @ Sep 2 2009, 09:33 AM)
This is by no means a great picture, but I think it shows off 2 things the Tokina 11-16 excels at, low light photography of massive objects.
Straight RAW conversion, resized 50%.
Arrrrggghhhhh!!! I curse alpha_company for posting about this Tokina. vmad.gif mad.gif Now after seeing foogray's pic at wide open 2.8, kenot tahan oledi ... now have to find out cost of 77mm R72. Calculate again how much longer to prolong the grass diet/hunger strike. cry.gif

HiroBoroi
post Sep 2 2009, 01:53 PM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(darthbaboon @ Sep 2 2009, 12:05 PM)
My original plan was for the 12-24mm f4 Tokky. It's cheaper compared to the 10-24mm... you save about 1k. Never buy the 12-24mm f4 Nikkor... overpriced at almost 4k. Alternatively 10-20 siggy but the new fixed aperture one doesn't take 77mm filter (82mm I think).

Just watch for the QC issues. I couldn't stand it... which was why I went all out instead.
What does all out mean? Does it mean 6K ringgit Nikon F2.8 nano nano lens? shocking.gif
HiroBoroi
post Sep 2 2009, 01:55 PM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 2 2009, 09:52 AM)
77mm R72 infrared filter ?
Yup ... but I think it will be bloody expensive and probably hard to find as well. doh.gif
HiroBoroi
post Sep 2 2009, 02:27 PM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Sep 2 2009, 02:00 PM)
77mm is easy to find. I think a few shops have it. The price is a killer. Its a bit too expensive for me to consider it.

Easily half the price I paid for a D70s.
Easy to find? blink.gif You mean like Maybank ATM machines? shocking.gif Ohh ... not good ... not good. cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
HiroBoroi
post Sep 6 2009, 10:16 AM

1,319 posts

Dum dee dum ... browsing ... browsing ... browsing ... surfing ... surfing ... surfing ...

then saw this shocking.gif

user posted imageuser posted image

here!

Price USD 3K shakehead.gif cry.gif

and the pics ...

p/s - You can forget about 11 frame per second oledi. This is 30 frames per second. biggrin.gif
HiroBoroi
post Sep 7 2009, 08:47 AM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(luzzio @ Sep 7 2009, 05:51 AM)
herrooo. been abit since i last came here.

spam:

Added on September 7, 2009, 5:53 am
that looks like a transformer lol
Hey ... long time no see. Overall nice pics. thumbup.gif The last bird pic really amazing. shocking.gif thumbup.gif
HiroBoroi
post Sep 7 2009, 06:31 PM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Sep 7 2009, 03:56 PM)
1. The Tokina 1116 is re-done by putting on a metal body right?

2. The vids are captured using RED???
Some more nice pics. The price on the web page is USD 3495. shocking.gif Put metal body, change dis and dat, add 10,000 ringgit cry.gif cry.gif to the price. Hollywood prices. thumbup.gif

http://www.ducloslenses.com/
HiroBoroi
post Sep 8 2009, 08:03 AM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Sep 8 2009, 04:03 AM)

Added on September 8, 2009, 4:09 am

They custom make it for anybody who wants it? woww..

BTW, the vid in your previous post was captured using what?
As promised, here is some real world footage shot with a RED One and the Duclos Lenses 11-16mm. It wasn't the only lens used, RPPs were there too. But you can pick out the wide shots. Pretty much anything wide was the DL 11-16.

Above is post by Matthew Duclos taken from the redforum link I posted earlier. I think "RPPs" means Red Pro Primes (lensses). Check out the prices here. shocking.gif

Cheapest prime lens is USD 5950 = 21000 ringgit. blink.gif shakehead.gif cry.gif
Cheapest zoom lens is ISD 8500 = 30000 ringgit. shocking.gif rclxub.gif doh.gif cry.gif

I think I need to see eye doctor oledi. My eyes pop out so many times seeing the prices of all these stuff. shocking.gif

HiroBoroi
post Sep 8 2009, 10:34 PM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(blstz @ Sep 8 2009, 09:43 PM)
Hey guys i need some opinion on which flash to get. It'll be my first external flash. Since SB800 has been discontinued, there's only two choices left, SB600 and SB900.

I've been doing some research and found that some people recommend getting two SB600 over one SB900, some recommended the SB800 over SB900(when SB800 was still in production), some say get the most powerful one.  rclxub.gif

I'll be using the flash for normal usage like events and portraits, stuff like that. I also like the multi angle rotating flash head of the SB900. Also, if i would wanna play with Nikon CLS, would my built in flash be sufficient to be the master?

Also read complains about the SB900 overheating very easily. Any flash owners here that can help me out?  unsure.gif

Thanks  biggrin.gif
Best option is for you buy ONLY ONE SB-600, then poison your friend to buy the other SB-600 drool.gif . Invite your friend over, so you can borrow his SB-600 biggrin.gif AND you use him as your machai to hold the off camera flashes. thumbup.gif ... and if your friend got pretty little sister ... whistling.gif
HiroBoroi
post Sep 11 2009, 09:12 AM

1,319 posts

Saw this one a while back.

Why live your life through a view-finder? hmm.gif

HiroBoroi
post Sep 16 2009, 09:38 AM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(luzzio @ Sep 16 2009, 05:15 AM)
if im not mistaken, the d90 and d3000 have the same sensor so image quality shouldn't be any different. I've held the d3000 and it's tiny, with less controls. u get what u pay for.

yes, buying a cheaper body will give ur lens budget more breathing room. lenses do make alot of difference anyway, more so than the body most of the time.

its all about priorities. but if u want to keep your body for a long time and improve our gear bsed on lenses, then i'd suggest splurging that 1k more for a d90 instead of a d3000.
Nope. The D3000 is using same sensor as the D60. It is a CCD sensor. The D5000 has the same sensor as the D90 which is CMOS. I think the newer CMOS sensor is the one that has very low noise at high ISOs. Yup, if you can afford it, get the D90. The D5000 is nice but you have this recall problem. You don't know whether all the new D5000 out there have are from the good batch. Nikon is not transparent about bad batch serial numbers.

If you're gonna buy a few lenses in the future, better go for D90 as well as it has the in body motor. Then get the D series lenses. Image quality is same or better than the AF-S/G lenses except you don't have the SWM motor. biggrin.gif
HiroBoroi
post Sep 16 2009, 11:45 AM

1,319 posts

de Havilland Chipmunk

HiroBoroi
post Sep 16 2009, 04:26 PM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Sep 16 2009, 01:42 PM)
#2, nice shot!
To take pic #2, kindly transfer the following amount to your local Leica dealer. whistling.gif

Leica M9 --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------> 26790
Leica Telephoto 75mm f/2.0 APO Summicron M Aspherical Manual Focus Lens------------------------------------> 11755
Total (excluding camera straps, filters) ------------------------------------------------------------------> 38545 (Ringgit only)

HiroBoroi
post Sep 16 2009, 09:48 PM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Sep 16 2009, 06:44 PM)
laugh.gif a meteor shower in ur wallet lah after that..
shocking.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

We Are Not Amused

Added on September 16, 2009, 9:50 pm
QUOTE(ulet @ Sep 16 2009, 09:08 PM)
taken at KL base?
Taken at RMAF Sungai Besi Museum. I dun know if its called KL base. I think its also called RMAF Simpang? flex.gif

This post has been edited by HiroBoroi: Sep 16 2009, 09:50 PM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0828sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:30 PM