133 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Bottom

Guild Wars 2, Sequel to the CORPG game Guild Wars!

M1X
post Apr 17 2012, 08:38 AM

2,334 posts

To tell the truth I'm quite worried for what I paid. Will the art-style suit my liking? Will there be extensive character appearance functionality? Market other than broker/auction? Rare items/gears? Awarding events throughout the year? Extra contents for free or need to wait for expansion pack <- OMGGG? Cash shop (actually I wish there is one)?

Not even know where to start. I played range (bow) for years, tired. Recently love to play 2-hand sword (greatsword), maybe I should try something new in GW2 hmm... Not really the kind that like magic and assassino. Too bad that elementalist conjure weapon is limited in charge usage... or I'll go elementalist + greatsword for sure............................. something that out of conventional... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by M1X: Apr 17 2012, 08:39 AM
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Apr 17 2012, 08:53 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(M1X @ Apr 17 2012, 08:38 AM)
To tell the truth I'm quite worried for what I paid. Will the art-style suit my liking? Will there be extensive character appearance functionality? Market other than broker/auction? Rare items/gears? Awarding events throughout the year? Extra contents for free or need to wait for expansion pack <- OMGGG? Cash shop (actually I wish there is one)?

Not even know where to start. I played range (bow) for years, tired. Recently love to play 2-hand sword (greatsword), maybe I should try something new in GW2 hmm... Not really the kind that like magic and assassino. Too bad that elementalist conjure weapon is limited in charge usage... or I'll go elementalist + greatsword for sure............................. something that out of conventional...  whistling.gif
i think u think too much liao.
gw2 is gooding.
mistabean
post Apr 17 2012, 08:54 AM

160 posts

well, I am going from a necro to a ranger to a mentalist to a mesmer as what I am going to play first.

...at least it WILL be a salad though.
KromickoN
post Apr 17 2012, 10:47 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(M1X @ Apr 17 2012, 10:38 AM)

Not even know where to start. I played range (bow) for years, tired. Recently love to play 2-hand sword (greatsword), maybe I should try something new in GW2 hmm... Not really the kind that like magic and assassino. Too bad that elementalist conjure weapon is limited in charge usage... or I'll go elementalist + greatsword for sure............................. something that out of conventional...  whistling.gif
Let me try to help you calm down.. XD

1st, the art style as you know is quite westernize, the character creation itself inside has some asian faces (for humans that is...) Majority of the environment and graphics is westernized has a very brush like art feel. Extensive character appearance is available as they have a City clothes wardrobe and your basic armor wardrobe, as for how fashionable I'm not sure. GW1 did not have an auction house back then, the trade system was mainly flooded in the trade chat, and that was what kept social chat a live, I didnt get a chance to check if there was a auction house there though. Rare items/gears , definitely you gain them through instances, hardmodes, raids and they are unique to you and you can only loot them , others cant ninja (they are tradeable too), there are secret locations that lead to puzzle jumping games, that some say could take an hour or two and will lead you to a boss, and then if you succeed will provide you with a random of nice loots to benefit you.

They also mentioned that gears in gw2 is not overpowered, it has minor increases better than some, that way it could keep PVP balance, they although mentioned that the gears have better appearances.. (steampunk? westernize knight looks? maybe aion armor?) GW2 devs mention that this game through out is the end game content, from the start to beginning and have mention that they will continue to churn out more contents through out, but how fast? that has not been answered yet. If you've played GW1 , they had quite a lot of events, like the moon festival, dragon festival, christmas, halloween, etc etc and it included mini games. Mini games is part of GW2 now, if you go to the city you can initiate some mini games like bar fights, snow ball fights, shoot the pony, protect the cow launcher, "simon says" they have mentioned that they have around 40 mini games in the world at the moment. Back then in GW1, they relied by selling out expansion packs, who knows about this time though... and there is a Cash shop. What it contains? (top left corner of Ui with diamond logo) I dont know.
Heres a link regarding RMT: GW2 Mike O'Brien explains Microtransactions

In Gw2 some specific classes can use multi weapons to change different spells/abilities set, so If you's sick of Bow, you can go with some other weapon sets, you arent suppose to stick to one. For example,

Engineer : Guns, Guns... and more guns... (dual pistol, pistol and shield, Rifle, FLAMETHROWER, bomb, gear kit, Grenandes, elixir guns.., turrets)
Thief : Dual Pistol, Daggers, Dual Axe, Swords, Bow
Elementalist: Dagger, Scepter, Staff (btw, elementalist air attunment with dagger , its like a chick whipping out lightning like whiplash in ironman2)

They all have its unique set of spells for each class, weapon and gear (some being same) too much things to explain and explore, when the beta comes out, you have all the time to try it!

This post has been edited by KromickoN: Apr 17 2012, 10:48 AM
M1X
post Apr 17 2012, 11:18 AM

2,334 posts

Thanks for the info.

Yeah it's sort of normal I guess, after you play so many MMOs out there you will certainly take the best bit from every one of them, and hopefully they come together into one great game. So the expectation for this "new generation" MMO is rather high. sweat.gif

Art-style is actually something hard to describe, but with what NCSoft have under their flag it's actually quite good in term of design, idea, animation, etc. AION is very good in world design especially with the updated graphic engine, it's gorgeous. But it's equipment design kinda a little bit too "over-fantasy" to suit my liking (so I choose to skin them into costume). And yes I do want to see those skin/remodel/dye function appear in GW2.... These little functions can make players glues to the game for a long period. The biggest thing I will avoid in MMO is.... "cartoonish" visual style. This is why I am a little bit worried after watching those YouTube videos. But oh well the game is not finalize yet... Well if this game uses CryEngine (v2 on AION) or UnrealEngine3 (like NCSoft's Blade&Soul) I'll totally buy it. But this is suppose to be an upgraded GW1 engine is it?

We also like the tradability of gems and gold because it makes the rest of the game’s economy more compelling. We’ll have a player-to-player Trading Post in the game—it’s like an auction house but better—which we’ll discuss in an upcoming blog post.

Can't wait to get that detail. One distinctive feature a MMO that I spent over 2 years in it is the market system. Full player-to-player trading on everything available in the game. The most important bit is the automated price regulation (reduce price over time if players undercut you to keep items selling). I hate auction house, it is clumsy in navigation, inefficient in displaying large amount of data, limited time for item posting (like 24 hours up to 7 days), cannot buy in amount we wanted, no automated price regulation... If anyone played Atlantica you'll know what I mean, I think DragonNest have that function too but I never played it.

I usually love direct-damage-dealing sort of class... Once the beta weekend here I gonna play 24-hours non stop whistling.gif whistling.gif

This post has been edited by M1X: Apr 17 2012, 11:28 AM
KromickoN
post Apr 17 2012, 11:41 AM

29 posts

Haha, great at least you can answer some questions for your own, that should be settled. Hopefully the game will be what it is for you. Relax, the game isn't really cartoonish (except sylvari and asura) the others seem fine. I was in the beta, so i can tell you its no where close to Wow cartoonish.
bontotalan
post Apr 17 2012, 12:21 PM

Lalafell - FFXIV -
935 posts

so how's the beta guys?
TSheaven
post Apr 17 2012, 12:40 PM

369 posts

NCsoft is the MMO publisher, Aion is made by a different team/studio under NCsoft with CryEngine, GW2 is made by Arenanet using their own engine.
yitjuan
post Apr 17 2012, 05:47 PM

arc reactor
688 posts

QUOTE(Ahmaz @ Apr 16 2012, 11:33 PM)
So why do people "sell/trade" Paypal on LYN? is it just basically currency exchange in a way?
In the early days, (circa 2004-6) we had no way to link our debit cards to Paypal. People who needed to purchase an item through eBay had to topup their paypal with money, they got this from sellers who had no way to transfer their money to Malaysian bank.

Nowadays it's less and less common because

1) you can link your bank account to Paypal
2) you can pay without a Paypal balance
3) you can withdraw your paypal balance to bank account

most of the times someone sells their paypal balance is because they want to avoid the paypal withdrawal charges (i think it's 2.5% of the money)
yitjuan
post Apr 17 2012, 07:16 PM

arc reactor
688 posts

Screenshot of the first Guild Wars Beta!

dopp
post Apr 17 2012, 07:20 PM

1,733 posts

isnt that gw1 ?!!
Agent5
post Apr 17 2012, 07:23 PM

89 posts

what a memorable SS. When is it ?
KromickoN
post Apr 17 2012, 07:30 PM

29 posts

that was the final beta , before the release. I remember they spammed many gwens back then and killed me:(

tshin810
post Apr 17 2012, 07:31 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(yitjuan @ Apr 17 2012, 07:16 PM)
Screenshot of the first Guild Wars Beta!
Oh, so much improve in GW2. This looks like MU biggrin.gif

Added on April 17, 2012, 7:39 pmNews from twitter:
Player:
Aiden, some pre-purchasers are starting to lose their minds and common sense about the BWE, can we expect to hear anything soon?@GuildWars2

GW2 Admin:
@rice012rice We will definitely be announcing it soon (yes, I know I'm announcing an announcement!!) tongue.gif ^AT

This post has been edited by tshin810: Apr 17 2012, 07:39 PM
Agent5
post Apr 17 2012, 07:45 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(tshin810 @ Apr 17 2012, 07:31 PM)

Added on April 17, 2012, 7:39 pmNews from twitter:
Player:
Aiden, some pre-purchasers are starting to lose their minds and common sense about the BWE, can we expect to hear anything soon?@GuildWars2

GW2 Admin:
@rice012rice We will definitely be announcing it soon (yes, I know I'm announcing an announcement!!) tongue.gif ^AT
losing minds and common sense ... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
dante1989
post Apr 17 2012, 11:39 PM

288 posts

is something wrong with the pre purchase? my friend trying to buy for me but he says theres error
KromickoN
post Apr 17 2012, 11:45 PM

29 posts

What error is it? provide a code or something.

@M1X, yeah it maybe in french, but this is an idea view of the microtransaction shop in GW2.

http://youtu.be/MffRPYRY8Aw

This post has been edited by KromickoN: Apr 18 2012, 12:56 AM
dante1989
post Apr 18 2012, 07:24 AM

288 posts

apparently he gets this error "there is an error processing your request" thats all he told me

alex82
post Apr 18 2012, 08:04 AM

^_^
371 posts

QUOTE(dante1989 @ Apr 18 2012, 07:24 AM)
apparently he gets this error "there is an error processing your request" thats all he told me
use firefox and select tool > start private browsing, then try buying it
bueloo
post Apr 18 2012, 10:17 AM

"@rice012rice We will definitely be announcing it soon (yes, I know I'm announcing an announcement!!) tongue.gif

i call this, kurang hajar.. tongue.gif arenanet why u do this to us!!

133 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Top

0.0319sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:36 AM