Octopus HMC UV filter

ahtsong
post Aug 18 2009, 01:53 PM

1,106 posts

QUOTE(tanjq87 @ Aug 18 2009, 01:49 PM)
anybody use this octopus hmc uv filter?
Octopus HMC UV filter
i just got one 77mm for my Sig 1020.....
tanjq87
post Aug 18 2009, 01:57 PM

483 posts

QUOTE(ahtsong @ Aug 18 2009, 01:53 PM)
i just got one 77mm for my Sig 1020.....
how is it? good?
gizmo_pony
post Aug 18 2009, 02:01 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(tanjq87 @ Aug 18 2009, 01:49 PM)
anybody use this octopus hmc uv filter?
Octopus HMC UV filter
Bought for my kitlens 18-70 55mm for RM 30 at DigitalsMania, Pudu Plaza. Build quality 9/10.

But produces flares like this one Flare
tanjq87
post Aug 18 2009, 02:13 PM

483 posts

QUOTE(gizmo_pony @ Aug 18 2009, 02:01 PM)
Bought for my kitlens 18-70 55mm for RM 30 at DigitalsMania, Pudu Plaza. Build quality 9/10.

But produces flares like this one Flare
oh that's badddd!
i thought HMC supposed to be good..
ahtsong
post Aug 18 2009, 02:15 PM

1,106 posts

i don have this problem...maybe my sig 1020 got a better hood...to cut the flare..

but i believe it won preform like Hoya Pro-1D or B+W...how much u pay how much u got la...

since my sig 1020 is not my daily walk around lens and only for landscape when travel...so i don see why i need to invest few hundred more on it.
Seng_Kiat
post Aug 18 2009, 02:15 PM

5,580 posts

albnok,

as promise, here are the pictures taken:

EXIF:
Camera Model: A700
Lens: 1680CZ
Color Reprenstation: sRGB
Focal Length: 55 mm
F-Number: f4.5
Exposure Time: 1/160
ISO Speed: 100
Metering mode: Center Weighted Average
Exposure Program: Manual
Exposure Compensation: 0 step

The wall should be in white (at least look whiter rather than bluish) ..

btw guys, what UV filter r u using with 1680? ..
Sp00kY
post Aug 18 2009, 02:20 PM

3,366 posts

gizmo_pony : not sure bout phottix for sony...but phottix for canon isnt that good.although the capacity is higher than the ori batt but it can take less shots...heard that octopus is better....
Ranceed
post Aug 18 2009, 02:21 PM

296 posts

Seng Kiat: When i use flash.. i always set the WB to 4900-5100 with M1 if in normal lighting or in assist of fluorescence light on my a700..

some sample:

This post has been edited by Ranceed: Aug 18 2009, 02:25 PM
gizmo_pony
post Aug 18 2009, 02:22 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(tanjq87 @ Aug 18 2009, 02:13 PM)
oh that's badddd!
i thought HMC supposed to be good..
it should have the same quality as the normal hoya, according to the seller, but the high-end hoya one not available at that time.

IF you have extra money, please buy the high-end one, or else, probably you'll get one like mine tongue.gif
MemorableStudios
post Aug 18 2009, 02:29 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(gizmo_pony @ Aug 18 2009, 02:22 PM)
it should have the same quality as the normal hoya, according to the seller, but the high-end hoya one not available at that time.

IF you have extra money, please buy the high-end one, or else, probably you'll get one like mine  tongue.gif
speaking about UV/MC filters..

which ones are better

1) Sony Carl Zeiss
2) Hoya
3) B&W or B+W

???
gizmo_pony
post Aug 18 2009, 02:29 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(Ranceed @ Aug 18 2009, 02:21 PM)
Seng Kiat: When i use flash.. i always set the WB to 4900-5100 with M1 if in normal lighting or in assist of fluorescence light on my a700..

some sample:

eh, who is this ? macam kenal je
albnok
post Aug 18 2009, 02:32 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

Seng_Kiat: Hmmm, that is rather blue. You're on AWB with wireless flash, correct? Your flash is direct, and not bouncing off anything right? Also, what filter are you using on the CZ? Does it have a tint when you put the filter by itself on a white piece of paper?

I am a bit confused as to where the flash is, because it looks like you have one bouncing off the floor (could be bluish marble?) and one from the popup (shadow from the glasses and nose.)
gizmo_pony
post Aug 18 2009, 02:36 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Aug 18 2009, 02:20 PM)
gizmo_pony : not sure bout phottix for sony...but phottix for canon isnt that good.although the capacity is higher than the ori batt but it can take less shots...heard that octopus is better....
phottix battery has less 100mAh, that is 1500mAh ...
Ranceed
post Aug 18 2009, 02:39 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(gizmo_pony @ Aug 18 2009, 02:29 PM)
eh, who is this ? macam kenal je
She is a lawyer..if not mistaken.. smile.gif

Seng_Kiat
post Aug 18 2009, 02:52 PM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Aug 18 2009, 02:32 PM)
Seng_Kiat: Hmmm, that is rather blue. You're on AWB with wireless flash, correct? Your flash is direct, and not bouncing off anything right? Also, what filter are you using on the CZ? Does it have a tint when you put the filter by itself on a white piece of paper?

I am a bit confused as to where the flash is, because it looks like you have one bouncing off the floor (could be bluish marble?) and one from the popup (shadow from the glasses and nose.)
albnok,

Yes, I was using AWB on wireless flash. Yes, the flash was direct to the subject from the right side, not bouncing. No filter paired/used with 1680CZ. I was using built-in flash to trigger the wireless flash.

FYI, I face same WB problem if I use built-in flash (without cobra) in AWB. I have no problem if the flash off.
gizmo_pony
post Aug 18 2009, 02:58 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(Ranceed @ Aug 18 2009, 02:39 PM)
She is a lawyer..if not mistaken.. smile.gif
yup, she is. my cousin. you did her wedding ?
MechaHerc
post Aug 18 2009, 03:02 PM

アルファ ソニ
1,967 posts

QUOTE(gizmo_pony @ Aug 18 2009, 02:58 PM)
lol, small world huh laugh.gif laugh.gif
Ranceed
post Aug 18 2009, 03:08 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(gizmo_pony @ Aug 18 2009, 02:58 PM)
haha..small world indeed..

it's my bro job. i just help/tag along with him..

more pics of her here
gizmo_pony
post Aug 18 2009, 03:12 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(MechaHerc @ Aug 18 2009, 03:02 PM)
lol, small world huh  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
indeed !!! btw i did not attend her reception at istana, only at putra hotel... laa. You were there as well ? Hi, rugi, if not can shake hands. haha... Hmmm, at that time, me still don't have dslr blush.gif

124 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0257sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:30 AM