124 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V30!, The Orange Legion

Seng_Kiat
post Aug 18 2009, 10:36 AM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(MemorableStudios @ Aug 18 2009, 08:49 AM)
loved this series of photos achew...

Added on August 18, 2009, 8:54 amhanafinoor:

bro any tips on creative settings for the a900?

want to minimize PP, if you have any particular settings, i would like to try that... thanks
bro how much u got your a900? .. wink.gif ..
MemorableStudios
post Aug 18 2009, 10:43 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Aug 18 2009, 10:36 AM)
bro how much u got your a900? .. wink.gif ..
about 7X00 ... smile.gif

mcline_007
post Aug 18 2009, 10:47 AM

394 posts

a 1st shot from 50mm f1.8
rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by mcline_007: Aug 18 2009, 10:47 AM
Kul | Mo0
post Aug 18 2009, 10:53 AM

Cow's Zeiss
3,844 posts

PTPTN can buy camera stuffs? GG! Gonna get a900 then. (:
Melv
post Aug 18 2009, 11:00 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(millenia3000 @ Aug 18 2009, 10:35 AM)
but honestly la ah.... can go for tammy oso... provided you don't shoot indoors, you dont really shoot at night, you're not into wireless flash.... and then can go for the 17-50 first laa... but generally, getting an external flash gun sure more penting la...

early warning, after getting a cobra... you'll want to get another one... and another one...
Hahahahahah....thx bro for the 'warning'! Actually i am suffering from light problems cause i shoot lot of indoors and events in dark....so i think the cobra is the way! rclxm9.gif icon_idea.gif
hanafinoor
post Aug 18 2009, 11:04 AM

2,062 posts

QUOTE(MemorableStudios @ Aug 18 2009, 09:49 AM)
loved this series of photos achew...

Added on August 18, 2009, 8:54 amhanafinoor:

bro any tips on creative settings for the a900?

want to minimize PP, if you have any particular settings, i would like to try that... thanks
i always stand on standard 0, 0, 0, 0, 0 if jpeg in normal shooting because I believe creative setting comes from software not the lens and it will be difficult to tweak in post processing in photoshop. Eg. sharpness - camera creative setting is not selective in sharpness where photoshop you can do masking and choose where you want parts to be sharpened. But in raw it doesnt matter tweaking will be done in sony raw converter. Lately with commercial shots I do everything in raw.
Seng_Kiat
post Aug 18 2009, 11:08 AM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Aug 18 2009, 10:19 AM)
Seng_Kiat: I would go for the Zeiss or B+W filters. Not sure which Hoyas are slim.

Show us a picture with EXIF? No you don't need to change anything. However, there is a difference in how Canon and Sony do flash;

In dimmer lighting, Sony defaults to 1/60s and pumps up the ISO to as high as possible to bring in enough ambient light. Often this means ISO1600 if your Auto ISO is set to 200-1600.

Canon picks a slower shutter speed; however I am not sure what Auto ISO will do. Though, by that I think the Canon would let in a lot of ambient light too. My guess is that Canon's rendition of flourescent is different with AWB.

Ok. Thanks for the info albnok. I will try to upload the picture later. I am in the office at the moment.
MemorableStudios
post Aug 18 2009, 11:21 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(hanafinoor @ Aug 18 2009, 11:04 AM)
i always stand on standard 0, 0, 0, 0, 0 if jpeg in normal shooting because I believe creative setting comes from software not the lens and it will be difficult to tweak in post processing in photoshop. Eg. sharpness - camera creative setting is not selective in sharpness where photoshop you can do masking and choose where you want parts to be sharpened. But in raw it doesnt matter tweaking will be done in sony raw converter. Lately with commercial shots I do everything in raw.
yeah, on a350 also i shoot in raw... but on this monster, either i purchase 2-3 more 16GB CF cards or shoot in JPEG..
what rig u r using? to process this 24MP RAWs will be.. ouchh...
achew
post Aug 18 2009, 11:24 AM

Photolithography Engineer
3,807 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Aug 18 2009, 08:04 AM)
@achew, I am using standard hood that comes with 1680CZ without a filter. is it cause the problem (vignetting)?

@albnok, yes, I understand that florescent lamp is not pure white. But last time with my A300 or my 40D and I set AWB with flash on. I am still getting almost accurate WB. but my A700 with flash on and AWB, it gives me totally off WB. I have no problem if AWB with flash off. sad.gif. FYI, I am shooting with CZ1680 with no filter (just in case filter is the problem). btw, any recommended filter for 1680?

Do I need to change anything like ambient light from the camera menu, etc? I have not change anything since I bought it.
yes..the hood comes wth 680 does cause that prob =)
neo_lam
post Aug 18 2009, 11:25 AM

Player
1,921 posts

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ Aug 18 2009, 10:53 AM)
PTPTN can buy camera stuffs? GG! Gonna get a900 then. (:
can....i am planning to do tht too...lol!!
but now dunno get wat stuff for my a700.....any recommendations?
tanjq87
post Aug 18 2009, 11:28 AM

483 posts

QUOTE(neo_lam @ Aug 18 2009, 11:25 AM)
can....i am planning to do tht too...lol!!
but now dunno get wat stuff for my a700.....any recommendations?
CZ1635, CZ2470 and SAL 70200 tongue.gif
achew
post Aug 18 2009, 11:32 AM

Photolithography Engineer
3,807 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Aug 18 2009, 10:19 AM)
Seng_Kiat: I would go for the Zeiss or B+W filters. Not sure which Hoyas are slim.
last friday i was chatting with 1 of the manager from france...he told me he only use BW filter and he has whole set of it!!! lol...but he also said he only bought the biggest diameter filter of his lens..and he got himself those adapter to convert the rest of his lenses' diamater...so all of them could share the same diameter size....he was soooooo stubborn and insisting..at least use BW filter..or dont use anything at all.....lol...i was too shy to tell them most of my filters r probably cost only 1/10 of his bw.. blush.gif
bysquashy
post Aug 18 2009, 11:33 AM

Wireless Bliss [3GPP R14]
2,884 posts

Only saw Chiggy in KLPF. Manage to get remote control.

Didn't get the maggi bowl diffuser because can't spot the difference compared to bounce card of F58. May be I should do it properly in a shop rather than the cramped place.

As for SAL50F18, didn't spot it anywhere in KLPF. Flying off to Jakarta tomorrow, no time to buy already..........
Kul | Mo0
post Aug 18 2009, 11:38 AM

Cow's Zeiss
3,844 posts

tanjq87 : damn killer la the prices of those lenses. LOL.

neo_lam : you're a student too? Cool!

This post has been edited by Kul | Mo0: Aug 18 2009, 11:40 AM
Braynumb
post Aug 18 2009, 11:39 AM

Yea, Still Broke
1,409 posts

QUOTE(Melv @ Aug 18 2009, 09:32 AM)
Guys, if i have to choose between the cobra and tammy 17-50, which one shud i GET FIRST?
get the flash first... then get the tammy...
Kul | Mo0
post Aug 18 2009, 11:41 AM

Cow's Zeiss
3,844 posts

Come leh. TT this week. (:
neo_lam
post Aug 18 2009, 11:42 AM

Player
1,921 posts

QUOTE(tanjq87 @ Aug 18 2009, 11:28 AM)
CZ1635, CZ2470 and SAL 70200  tongue.gif
but tried 85 and 135 CZ last few days....poison me deeply...mayb get one of this 2 lenses 1st..

Added on August 18, 2009, 11:42 am
QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ Aug 18 2009, 11:38 AM)
tanjq87 : damn killer la the prices of those lenses. LOL.

neo_lam : you're a student too? Cool!
yeah....poor student....how old r u bro??

This post has been edited by neo_lam: Aug 18 2009, 11:42 AM
Braynumb
post Aug 18 2009, 11:44 AM

Yea, Still Broke
1,409 posts

Pictar sepam of last saturday's Flash Workshop! C&C Please...

#1 The two models for our two groups.
#2 Our Group's Model! Kawaiii... tongue.gif

C&C Are Most Welcomed!
Kul | Mo0
post Aug 18 2009, 11:45 AM

Cow's Zeiss
3,844 posts

Poor my @$$ la. (: I'm 18 only. (:
neo_lam
post Aug 18 2009, 11:46 AM

Player
1,921 posts

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ Aug 18 2009, 11:45 AM)
Poor my @$$ la. (: I'm 18 only. (:
i am 21...so i think u r the youngest among all the alpharian in lowyat...

124 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0250sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:28 PM